Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 234 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Matthew James Burns
Thu, Jan 11, 2018, 2:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

I like this film. It is still Star Wars. It was my first Star Wars at the big screen too - so nostalgia plays a part I surpose, too. It has some pretty shoddy acting in places, I completely agree. But it is mostly enjoyable, exciting and has a great story going on within, if you actually pay attention.

It has a dreamlike look to it - A sort of dark fairytale vibe. I liked it.
Set Bookmark
matthew
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 12:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

It looks like we're going to be in the mirror universe for the remainder of the season. There are a lot of potential storyline threads to follow for the next several episodes so that's not a problem. Hopefully, like ST:ENT's controversial third season, the show uses its narrow setting to tell a variety of stories, to avoid the audience growing restless.

One mystery I'm curious to see revealed is the identity of the Emperor. Two theories I'm already intrigued by are Philippa Georgiou (the captain of the Shinzou in the original universe) and Saru. Both offer some great potential. With Georgiou you have an easy connection to draw to Sato (the Enterprise character who became Empress of the Mirror Universe in the great two-parter "In a Mirror, Darkly") as well as a great payoff to Burnham's character. With Saru, you have an alien secretly leading an Empire of anti-aliens, not to mention an alien who, in our universe, is by nature meek and timid, but in the Mirror Universe could be ruthless and cruel.

Another idea I hope I'm right about is that Lorca is actually from this Mirror Universe. There's a load of questions that concept would raise but without thinking it through too deeply I think that's the biggest shock they could pull out of this show so far, and it would go a long way to explain why he has been so un-Starfleet in his thinking and actions.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 6:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

At the end, when Sisko asked Kira ‘If you hated (your mother) so much, why did you save her?’, I really wanted Kira to say ‘She’s family. It’s the most important thing.’
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

I stand corrected. Quark finally won a Tongo game about 4 episodes after this, which apparently was his 207th win in a row.

Which begs the question: Why does everyone else keep playing with Jadzia and Quark? Presumably they’re playing for money, so everyone else must be down a ton.

(Yes, this is all tongue in cheek, and it can be argued that they don’t show the hands where a non-main character wins, because the show isn’t about those people)
Set Bookmark
Matt
Wed, Jan 3, 2018, 5:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

I’m surprised Quark played Tongo with Jadzia so much... I don’t think he ever won a single hand against her.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 4:01am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Also, I really liked how visibly upset Kelly was about the whole thing. That's something you wouldn't see in Trek, and it's exactly the kind of "ordinary people" characterization that will set Orville apart.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 3:59am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I'm sure they've used the cloaking technology before with the shuttle.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 12:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Is this really the season finale? After 12 episodes? What happened to the trusty 26? What do the actors do for the rest of the year?
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 12:28am (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

As others noted, this movie had a cool effect in that it actually makes ANH a better movie.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I enjoyed this one more than TFA. It started slow to setup the story, but I really enjoyed the 2nd half of this one. The best part was the end when Darth boarded the rebel ship and single handedly took out 2 whole corridors of troops using only his lightsaber and the Force. He literally threw people through the celiling as he raged for thr stolen data.


It was a great ending as a prequel to setup ANH. The final battle visuals were good. The movie wanted us to care about the different characters. The blind guy kicking ass with the Force was fun, and the droid is actually pretty funny. Much better than TFA imo. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 11:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Not a bad movie but definitely nothing special. Too much of a rehash of ANH. The villain was a pimple faced brat and a CG gargoyle that didn't resonate at all. Rey defeats the villain after learning about the force the day before. The movie had a feeling of political correctness that seemed hollow. I probably expect too much from these new Star Wars movies as nothing will recapture the feeling that the originals gave me in my youth.
Set Bookmark
Matt Strathearn
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 11:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

Jedi is my favorite. We have the great scenes in the desert in Jabbas palace, Luke as a fully fledged Jedi, the Emperor actually makes Vader look like a saint, the awesome space battle, and Luke going apeshit on Vader in an epic Saber clash. Rebuilding the Death Star didn't bother me either.

Sure the Ewoks were a bit hokey. However, I don't see them as "little bears that defeated the empire forces," like many do. They just helped the rebels tip the scale in their favor as the empire didn't account for them at all. ESB was great because it expanded the Star Wars universe and wasn't afraid to be dark, but Jedi is more visually appealing, and kept the tension and the stakes extremely high in a "David vs Goliath" kind of way. A common theme in movies, but to me Jedi knocks it out of the park. It's not common for the final part of a trilogy to be so good.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 10:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Great episode.

I echo the sentiments here but wanted to mention how I love the comic relief in this episode. The scene when Kurn was eating with the crew was classic.

As Picard was carving a turkey, Kurn asks, "how long has this bird been dead? It looks like it has been lying in the sun for quite some time."

Geordi reminds him that they cook much of their food and that they use the replicator.

Kurns response, "ah yes, I heard about that. I shall try some of your burned, replicated bird meat," as he slaps a Turley leg on his plate.

Then Picard explains what a delicacy caviar is, and that he was able to obtain some for this dinner, Kurn says, "I'm honored," as he scrapes some caviar on top of the turkey leg. Omg this sequence had me rolling.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 3:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Not one of my favorites. The Prime Directive debate wasn't much different than previous ones. The alien girl was the only one of her species they encountered, and it was just too cheesy for me. I agree with others that Data just seemed goofy in this one.

I did like the sub plot with Wesley learning how to be in command. It is very relatable to anyone in the corporate world. This part raises the episode to 2 stars from me.

The visuals of the planet look great on Blu-Ray.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Burns
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

This episode is now nearly 20 years old! It holds up well I think. The VFX look good even by todays standards.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

I agree with you Kapages.

@Doug:

Get over yourself. This is a TV show. We all have problems, and Ive been there before. I didn't disparage him or his "condition" in any way. Maybe you should heed my advice and try not being offended by everything for a change. And quit hiding behind political correctness to the point where you can't even think for yourself.

Set Bookmark
matthew martin
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 9:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

I think the last two episodes have really redeemed the series, at least in my eyes. I was ready to write the whole thing off but last week was great and this week's A plot was fantastic, I thought.

It was classic Trek, and had a great twist with Saru not actually being mind-controlled, but actually just being a weak-willed person who made a bad choice.

The B and C plots were nothing but overt set-ups for the midseason finale. I get the need to get all your pieces in place, but the B plot failed to do anything for me and the C plot (all two scenes of it) was so slight it isn't even worth mentioning.

The A plot was stellar though and gives me hope that they can pull off a good finale. Their goal to shoot for is Kobol's Last Gleaming.

Good luck Disco
Set Bookmark
matthew martin
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I've been losing interest over the past month. To me, every episode since the premiere night has been worse than the one before it.

But this was easily my favorite episode thus far. Other than the stupid rave, this felt like pure Trek. High concept, sci-fi gimmick, mixed with a human story under the surface.

Fantastic. Not perfect, a little clunky and maybe a bit rushed but really really great. 9/10 for me.
Set Bookmark
matthew
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 5:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

motion to change the short-hand name of the show to "Disco"

It's so much nicer than STD...
Set Bookmark
matthew
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 12:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

I get wanting to show the future as we see it in 2017 but continuity is a thing too. The show constantly shows off casual technology that was simply not available in the 23rd century as established by the Original Series. It’s one thing to take the tech used in TOS and modernize the way it’s visualized (like the way the show uses food replicators), but to introduce new tech like the Holodeck that was clearly not available ten years in the future (in the show’s timeline) is frustrating.
Set Bookmark
Matthew
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Also this was the day I cancelled All Access. There are plenty of alternative means of watching the show. I'm not paying another nickle to a wannabe netflix with ads that can't even play a show with buffering for half an hour.
Set Bookmark
Matthew
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

This show would be a lot better if Lorca had been the centerpiece and star instead of Michael. If they had done something like Breaking Bad, where the star is conflicted, dark, unethical, highly driven and occasionally amoral yet still compelling and fascinating (Lorca is all of those things to me), it'd make for some strong drama.

Instead he's a side character while Michael reads her too-long lines exposition-heavy dialogue with the flat, wooden delivery of someone pretending to be a vulcan.

It's frustrating, like the rest of the show.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 3:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

The reason Riker gets let off the hook is because Pressman revealed that he was acting under the orders of one corrupt Admiral. Riker used this situation to stand up to Pressman. One of my favorite episodes.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 2:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Too Short a Season

Not my favorite eposode. However, its underrated here. It resonates a bit louder post the 9/11 terrorist attacks.


In this story, Jameson had supplied weapons to a faction of people to get out of a hostage situation. These people then used the weapons to create terrorism and a war that lasted 40 years. It made this man regret his decision, because many more lives were lost than he was able to save by giving in to terrorist demands.

Historically, there are many instances where the US has intervened on behalf of one side or another during a conflict. Many times giving modern weapons to 3rd world nations. An example being helping the Middle East against the Russians. Well, after time has gone by, those same people we armed with guns, tanks, munitions, etc have built sophisticated terrorist cells all over the world and continue to expand to this day.

They owe thanks to the US for getting it started by handing them sophisticated weaponry.

This episode shows powerful insight into the powers of terrorism, 14 years before the United States finally started taking them seriously. Similar to the impact of the episode "the High Ground," which is an even better episode.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 2:43am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

I agree with grumpy otter this episode does nothing for me. Maybe a nice Halloween episode. Not the worst episode but Im not sure how this one rates higher than Gambit from an enertainment perpspective. Other than a dark mystery, there's not much else to go back to.
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.