Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 60 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Luke Matrix
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 5:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

I think it's a neat episode with great acting by both Siddig and William Sadler. Like a few commenters have already said I think the inclusion of Section 31 is an interesting story element because of how they clash with the Federation ideals. I don't think having a secret cabal doing what they think is best for the Federation changes anything about our characters and the rest of Starfleet, because while our hero characters have been by necessity good blokes we've seen plenty of bad or misguided eggs like Ronald Tracy, John Gill, Janice Lester, Garth of Izar, Admiral Cartwright, Eric Pressman, Norah Satie, Vice-Admiral Kennelly, Admiral Leyton and Admiral Doherty. Section 31 is just a bunch of pricks who've been doing it longer.
My only quibble with the episode is having Section 31 be in the shadows for over 200 (or 300) years. Now on the one hand I think it's a cool story idea that around the time of First Contact a bunch of people got together to further Earth's agenda as they ventured into the stars. I like seeing different factions played off one another, like seeing SG1 vs the NID, or the Machine team vs Samaritan, and it was fun seeing them back in Enterprise. But on the other hand I feel like it diminishes the individual if they retcon that S31 had a hand in every major plot in Star Trek. Cartwright was just a disillusioned guy who made a deal with his counterpart Chang. Doherty was just a dumb idiot suckered in by whatsisstretchyface. Not everything needs to be connected.
Set Bookmark
Luke Matrix
Sun, May 29, 2016, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

In regards to the issue of things being similar in the alternate timeline with ship and crew, I feel that's just a necessary thing for both budget and story usage. I don't want to see a bunch of characters I've never seen before and have no emotional connection with. I love seeing my favourite characters in a different world and seeing what might have been. And they're not going to build new sets or a new model of the Enterprise-D. They barely had time to get the C made and had to take some liberties with the studio model versus the conceptual art. Even simply redressing the bridge cost a bunch of extra money. At some point there just has to be a suspension of disbelief in order to tell the story they want to tell.
Set Bookmark
Luke Matrix
Sun, May 22, 2016, 2:22am (UTC -6)
Re: Jammer Goes to L.A.: Voyager Pitch: Momentum

Jammer I made a concept picture of this episode, posted here at deviantart fav.me/da3gvc4
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Wed, Nov 4, 2015, 8:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

I tried watching this but turned it off after 10 minutes. It's biggest crime it's just so boring. Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Tue, Oct 13, 2015, 9:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

I thought this was great fun and laughed a whole bunch, especially in the final scene with Picard fearing what his doppleganger had been up to. Both plots were pretty well done and I like the simplicity of the planet working together storyline. I like seeing Picard keeping the cool head. Everything on the Enterprise was gold.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Mon, Sep 14, 2015, 4:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: By Inferno's Light

This episode was pretty great and I remember desperately watching a tape of it one morning before school. The resigning the Khitomer Accords was a great moment.
The only thing I've come to not like is the blowing up the star idea, I just feel like these kind of planet killer ideas should change the game a whole lot more than they do, and if they're don't they should just leave it alone. And I feel like it would be very bad press in regards to SPOILERS I GUESS that treaty they sign at the end of the year. I guess Shakaar could make a big deal about it with Weyoun but I guess there's nothing he could do about it anyway.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: E2

I think Elliott's idea about same-sex crew members hooking up would've been neat and could've had some interesting conversations between say Reed and Trip.

REED: So apparently I hooked up with Rivers.
TRIP: Rivers? Really? Huh.
REED: Yeah. what's wrong with Rivers?
TRIP: Nothing, no I just thought maybe you'd be more attracted to someone like Kelby.
REED: Well Rivers is handsome in an unconventional way.
TRIP: You know who would've really made a good match for you? Major Hayes.

(My dialogue is garbage)

I did like the design of the old-Enterprise and thought Lorian was great.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Mon, Jul 13, 2015, 11:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Jammer didn't finish posting TNG reviews until almost 20 years had passed since the series ended and if it takes that time this time then so be it. He'll either get to it sometime or he won't.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Mon, Jul 13, 2015, 11:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

I was so bored watching this film. I realised after it though that I've not really liked any of Nolan's films prior so maybe I just can't get down with his works. I like McConaughey but he felt like more a robot than his robot buddies he had along for the ride. Some of the decisions they made didn't make a whole bunch of sense and some story elements seemed really vague. It did look very nice and had some nice music and a couple of nice scenes where it was more a music video I guess.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 12:51am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

@dlpb. Yeah it's amazing how the slingshot around the the sun for time travel is based on real physics. Or those parallel Earth planets that Kirk stumbled on every other week. Or the dopey space probe that collides with another probe and becomes a deathray. Or the terraforming device that's intended to work on moons and planets, and yet turns a nebula into a planet. Star Trek has routinely taken liberties with depictions of science, as well it should because it's not trying to be science-fact, it's science fiction.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Fri, Dec 5, 2014, 6:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I really enjoyed most of this but that ending was a little weak. The callbacks to prior episodes was nice. my highlight was the speech Picard gave about destroying a man based on the blood he carries, it feels as appropriate as ever.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Mon, Nov 17, 2014, 6:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

I really enjoyed watching this. The remastered version includes a couple of pretty neat battle scenes with the Klingons but they don't intrude too much, they just really emphasise that Kirk and Spock are going to be on their own for a while. It was really great watching them muck about a bit on the planet. Kirk's mutual disgust with Kor at the Organians seemingly pacifism was funny and probably in character for Kirk but feels a bit out of place against the Federation's ideas about acceptance and understanding of other cultures. Sulu was great in his brief bit as acting-Captain.

My only problem with it was that it dragged a bit in place and it stuck to the same few rooms for most of the duration. There was obviously something going on with the Organians and it was just a matter of how long until the revelation came and if that would be worth it. The planet seemed deserted except for the room the council was in and there were only ever a handful of Klingons, and even though I understand budgetary concerns it still feels lacking. The ending seems a bit simplistic but since it didn't seem to stop the Klingons being adversaries I'm just just going to believe it affects this region of space only.

John Colicos as Kor was fantastic, such an amazing antagonist but not really a villain, almost like he's playing a recurring character and it's such a shame he never came back. I really like his version of the Klingons which feel more like Cardassians than the 24th century Klingons and Kor's deviousness reminds me of the layered characters of Garak or Dukat. I was watching Generations the other day and to go from those stupid cartoon Klingons to something like this was striking.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Thu, Nov 13, 2014, 6:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

I just watched this for the first time today and it's very interesting to see where the story of TWOK came from. I've known about the plot for ages since reading the Chronology back in 1993 but it's a whole over thing to see it play out.

It's a really interesting story and Khan is a pretty great character and villain. Ricardo Montalban really sells the part for the most and I love the whole background with them finding out bits and pieces of the Eugenics Wars. It's easy to make fun of that stuff now having passed those dates and noting the technology divide of their imagined future and our past but as a kid I would have loved that, same way I loved the future's of Back to the Future or Terminator or Days of Future Past.

But there are a few parts that really stick out and stop it from making it a great episode in my mind. There's things that you can excuse as products of the time, like the stunt guys getting too much exposure in the fight scenes, I don't think they were meant to stand-up to much scrutiny because the maybe the viewers were less discerning and they also didn't have replay function to confirm things at the time. But things like Kirk makes some really stupid decisions, like giving Khan access to the ship's database despite clearly recognising that Khan is hiding something. It stands out to me but civilians seem to get away with a bunch of stuff on these starships, David Marcus just wanders onto the bridge in middle of a battle in TWOK and another 1990s guy blunders into the Romulan encounter in TNG's The Neutral Zone.
There's something disturbing about the Khan/McGivers relationship, like some kind of spousal abuse going on. He basically threatens to break her arm and uses her confused attraction to him to get her to betray the crew, like some messed up space stockholm syndrome. And then at the end no one realises any of this and Kirk gives her a choice of court martial or going with Khan. It's like the lesser of two evils, but we'resupposed to think it's actual love that's won out? This whole thing leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I mean, maybe she grew to love him, maybe she already did, but from TWOK I got the impression it was this real love coming from a real connection between the two and I guess it just disappoints me.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Mon, Nov 3, 2014, 9:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

I don't even remember much of this episode save them having some weird language. I just keep coming back to this page to read the last paragraph about Jammer's ideal plot for this episode.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Sat, Nov 1, 2014, 9:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

From what I remember reading about the behind the scenes of this arc is that it was an evolution and experimentation by all the writers in doing a continuing story like this over multiple episodes, so I can't judge it that harshly if things don't add up or make complete sense. It had just never been done before in Trek. They talk about how in the writer's rooms there was confusion about what was going on with which events take place where and when. I think now about the story rooms of Lost and how everything was mapped out over half a season to get some consistency, or even back then for Babylon 5 you have one person writing complete seasons. ron moore even talks about with the inner light how the focus was on the episode and telling a good story and it's not until later they thought about the repercussions, so it's not hard for me to see when this episode came out they're still in that serialising transition period, so i cut them a little slack.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Thu, Oct 30, 2014, 8:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

@Robert Cheers for that! I have read it and will probablybe thinking about this for a long time now and it seems a lot of other people will too. There's a passage on a reddit page linked there that I love:

PICARD: "I don't understand you! Return me to my ship!"

DARMOK: "Not sure if serious."

PICARD: "Wait. Are you saying that this is a complex bonding ritual in which we strand ourselves on a planet with a partially invisible monster?"

DARMOK: "Shut up and take my money!"

PICARD: "We shall be fast friends until the end of the episode."

DARMOK: "HA! HA! I'm using Forbes' insoluble dry plates!"

at the very least it makes you think and for that reason alone it's a valuable episode. i will be checking it out very soon.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Tue, Oct 28, 2014, 8:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

@Robert. I would really like an article now extrapolating memes as a fully functional language like these Tamarian guys.

I've never seen this episode.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 2:58am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

So I was pumped for Star Trek 09 and I think because I had high expectations for it and then didn't enjoy it I think it made it even worse in my mind. On the other hand with Into Darkness I was slightly curious about it but otherwise cold to it, so when I finally saw it I didn't completely hate it, and because my expectations were zero I have a more positive feeling to it. There's a bunch of films like Star Trek III, Star Trek V, Phantom Menace and this one that are pretty terrible but I can't help thinking a bunch about what could've been done to make these more interesting, to me at least. I find that appeal a lot more interesting than something like Nemesis or Insurrection, where I'd just throw them out completely and start again.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 9:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

I like seeing the best actor/actress for the part. If Joe Asian-actor does a great job as Ambassador Spivok of Vulcan, awesome.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 5:12am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

How many people would like the next movie to be:
(1) a continuation of events from the last two movies, such as a war with the Klingons, contact/racism directed at the Romulans, expanding on what the Vulcan survivors are up to, some more Khan stuff
(2) a completely new story with minimal or no references/homages/ripoffs to any other star trek episode/movie
(3) some 50th anniversary special, using these new guys as the main cast but with cameos from as many people as possible from all across the franchise
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Sat, May 3, 2014, 7:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Actually, if I could redo that list I'd probably move The Search for Spock up one group. When I think of that it seems I think about all the parts that annoy me, when there's actually some good scenes too.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Sat, May 3, 2014, 4:46am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

My ranking of the trek films would probably go:

Good
The Wrath of Khan
The Voyage Home
The Final Frontier
The Undiscovered Country

Okay
Generations
First Contact

Boring*
The Motion Picture
The Search for Spock
Insurrection
Nemesis
Star Trek
Into Darkness

*there are moments in these that I probably enjoy, but I don't really give a shit about the whole package.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 6:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

@Rob in Michigan. Love, love, loooooove those ideas. I remember when I first watched 'Valiant' and how Jake and Nog talk about how Starfleet sending Nog on some mission to Ferenginar or somewhere might lead to the Ferengi helping out in the war. I was really just hoping to see some of those big Ferengi ships we saw on TNG turn up on DS9. That second point, man I remember thinking up strategies where the Tholians and Gorn would make some kind of appearance, or at least just their ships. Plus, anyone remember in Voyager's 'Scorpion' where they talk about the Breen having organic ships? I always hoped those guys would show up with a Vorlon-type ship, but on the good guys side. Around about this same time Babylon 5 had the end of it's 4th season and they have that combined fleet of all the major races heading to liberate Earth. I would have loved something like that!
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Mon, Apr 7, 2014, 10:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Gene Roddenberry was a pretty cool guy. But
scifi.stackexchange.com/questions/17993/what-evidence-exists-supporting-that-roddenberry-thought-of-tos-as-non-canon he was also kinda nuts, which still makes him a pretty cool guy.
Set Bookmark
Matrix
Sun, Sep 15, 2013, 2:38am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

just came across this on memory alpha, thought i'd share:

Prior to the writing of this episode, actor Robert Picardo suggested a story idea that was similar to how this episode turned out, as both involved a holographic depiction of Lewis Zimmerman. Shortly after completing work on Star Trek: Voyager's second season, Picardo explained, "I would like an exploration of the man that developed my program. I have suggested a story idea to them about this Doc Zimmerman character, and what would make him design the emergency medical hologram program. Specifically, I've suggested that he no longer practices medicine. In doing volunteer work in the most upsetting medical emergency situations, he witnessed something that has rendered him unable to practice anymore, so he creates the holographic doctor program to complete him as a doctor. He doesn't have it anymore to interact directly with patients. In other words, he is a very frightened, and uncommunicative, an unentitled, shy, pathetic man, versus his creation. We would meet them both on the Holodeck. He would be in the ship's memory banks.

while the swarm story was beyond boring i really like the two docs interaction, along with kes' involvement in the story. i hadn't seen this episode yet when they showed a clip in the star trek 30 years special back in 96, but rather than be spoilerific it was actually quite fun for 14 year old me to see, as if i was seeing something from the future.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.