Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 62 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Markus
Mon, Aug 7, 2017, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Why is that characters always act so incredibly unrealistically in alternate timelines? Their premature celebration over the slipstream drive made absolutely no sense and was totally out of character. They would never act that way in the "real" timeline.

Otherwise an okay episode. 2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 4:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

This episode was a metaphor for the writing staff admitting they had run out of ideas and were bored.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I feel that this is the episode where Voyager admitted it was stillborn and have up any attempt to be a successful series. With the exception of Seven, all the the characters just atrophy throughout season 4 and become caricatures of themselves.

This episode, while it would have been fine mid season, was particularly disappointing as a season finale. The reset button gets hit yet again, nothing happens, and Voyager continues on its way. The end.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 1:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

The irony being that an episode titled "unforgettable" was the most forgettable episode of the entire series.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Aug 3, 2017, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

The whole thing just feels a little too pointless. The concept they were going with just wasn't strong enough for a two parter and it has too much filler. If they'd condensed this to one episode I could see it being a solid 2.5 stars, but as a two-parter I give them 1.5 stars each.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Jul 29, 2017, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

The thing that annoyed me most in this episode was Janeway's statement "We can't pick and choose which laws we'll follow". Janeway has done EXACTLY that many times throughout the series.

The writers really messed her character up. You just never know what you're going to get from her - it's whatever the plot demands.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Jul 27, 2017, 7:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Jammer must have been in a bad mood when he watched this one. This episode was hilarious and Janeway turned in a particularly solid performance. Sure, you could nitpick this one to death, but at the end of the day it was very entertaining. Solid 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Jul 23, 2017, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

I really liked Kes and I was sorry to see her go. Mostly, I liked Jennifer Lien as an actress. I just found her calm delivery to be a little bit "different" from what you usually see out of sci-fi women and I admired the confidence she showed in her character. I think it's a bit of a missed opportunity that her acting career never really took off after this because I found her quite talented.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

In true Star Trek fashion, all the other species on this ship are trapped there for years and years until the Federation swoops in to save the day and escape in less than a half hour.

This episode felt like it started with the idea of the crew displacement then had to find a way to explain it. The whole premise, while interesting at first glance, just made no sense. Why not just transport the entire crew at once? Why do they need to be replaced rather than just removing them? Why nine minutes and twenty seconds between displacements?

1.5 stars for a neat idea that couldn't find a way to make any sense.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Terrible episode, probably partly because I'm a Kim hater and I find his acting as interesting as a box of nails. Nothing comes out of this episode, no impact on anything, just utterly forgettable.

Complete non sequitur here, but I've seen just about enough Star Trek planets where it seems the entire population including the world leader fits into one room.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

I didn't think this episode was so bad. I'm finding Jammer's reviews on Voyager overall to be fairly harsh and tending to focus strongly on plot elements. It ignores that Voyager is, more so than any of the other Trek series, primarily focused on character development. This was an important episode for Neelix and Tuvok's relationship as well as for them individually. 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Jul 12, 2017, 10:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

Finally! Now this is the kind of space adventure I signed up for when I started watching Voyager. A welcome adventure with a fun, tight script is a nice diversion from the mostly plodding and unfocused first two seasons of this show. 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Mon, Jul 10, 2017, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

It seems this episode got a lot of negative reviews. I actually enjoyed this one, I thought the virus masquerading as a memory idea quite original and relatively easy to swallow. I thought it was hiliarious when Sulu recognized Janeway, that was way out of left field.

A solid 2.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Jul 9, 2017, 6:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

Is it bad that I badly wanted to see the crew all get wiped out by that lava eruption, just so I could see something of consequence happen on this show?
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Jul 9, 2017, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

"Our captain was bitten by an insect on a planet 70 light years from here. I don't have any other information that I can provide you beyond that. Can you help?"

"Oh yes we know exactly what you're talking about! We'll send you a serum."

Besides the absurdity of the above exchange, it was also ridiculous that the doctor gave up when they already knew there was something in the environment of the planet protecting the patients. I'm normally not a nit picker but this episode suspended credulity beyond belief. Just pure lazy writing - they could have easily come up with a slightly more reasonable reason to abandon Janeway on the planet with just a little effort.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Jul 8, 2017, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

This was a fun episode with a few surprises that have been elaborated on well here. The reset button on this one bothers me a lot, but that's Voyager for you.

The one nitpick I have is, why didn't they evacuate everyone to the other vessel when self-destructing? Sure, it would be weird to have duplicates of the entire crew, but it seems like it would be the obvious choice before killing yourselves unnecessarily.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Fri, Jul 7, 2017, 12:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

I enjoyed this episode a lot for the lack of a ship-destroying threat alone. Voyager needed more of these types of quieter episodes.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Fri, Jul 7, 2017, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Death Wish

I have to dissent from the majority on this one - I found the episode mediocre. The first part before we get to the crux of the episode was extremely silly in a way that only Q episodes can be, and this one more so than most.

The actual court case, yes it brought up philosophical questions, but I just didn't think it raised any particularly interesting points for either side that haven't been heard throughout society for ages. It just didn't feel like it had much originality to add to the debate.

Measure of a Man it was not. 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Jul 4, 2017, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Terrible, bland, and probably insulting. I hate when Star Trek attempts to explain spirituality with science. Especially when the characters continue treating it in a spiritual manner. If they understood the science behind it, they'd leave behind the mumbo jumbo.

I only finished this one out of a sense of completionism, and it wasn't easy. 1 star.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Jul 4, 2017, 1:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

I enjoyed the one! It's interesting reading the reviews and seeing where tastes differ. Kes performed well and I like that she got to play the hero of the episode. I also think it was better that the alien's motives were left unknown and mysterious. More "weirdness" like this is what Voyager should have been more about. This episode had some TOS vibes to me as well. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Mon, Jul 3, 2017, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

With a girlfriend like that, no wonder Harry was desperate to get back to Voyager. What a terrible cliché she was, making the entire thing all about her the entire episode and not listening to a thing he said.

Terrible episode. I hated the deus ex machina ending; when all seemed lost, it turns out aliens were monitoring and there to help all this time.

This one had an interesting premise and a better script, acting, and resolution could have saved it, but it was not to be. 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Jul 2, 2017, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Overall I found this episode stronger than you would expect from the gimmicky presence. The scene in the cargo bay where Janeway realizes that no one is staying behind was particularly powerful. It was a moment of validation for a Captain who faced multiple near-mutinies in the first season.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Mon, Aug 18, 2014, 3:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Interestingly I really enjoyed this episode, and much more than 15 years ago when I first watched it (one reason is the terrible German synchronization voice of Adam, the English is much better). Aside from the annoying music, these silly Herbert-shoutings, the forced Russian dialect of Irina and the once again insanity of the villain, I found it quit compelling - much more so than the similar fifth ST-movie. I especially liked Spock's role here. What was a bit
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 17, 2014, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

The Voyager should have gotten the Enterprise's engines... Imagine it: 1.000 lightyears in about a day? Voyager would have been back in a matter of weeks!
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Aug 17, 2014, 8:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

I seem to be the only one who really enjoyed this one. I remember that the first time it was a big mystery to me why there was this duplicate. And even now I find the idea to infect Kirk interesting. Sometimes an interesting story is worth at least some logical flaws, as this duplicate certainly was. The effect was nice.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.