Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 32 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 2:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

I do not think it gets better each time I view it but you appreciate it others. Now, the 4 time, I liked it more than the other times. I t manages to show characters and Nog, Quark and Ezre really manages to define and underline who they are. In the matter of Quark you even get to believe that his Ferengi fasade that he puts up only is there to cover that he has a heart. The four guest actors also make convincing appearance, perhaps Vargas the least. There is a lot of philosophical and moral issues in it and it is Quark who delivers it. He stands for the conscious in a contrast to Bashir , Sisko and company who delivers what is necessary. This episode is good because it lets the character to swap and show another side of themselves without exaggerating to much.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 1:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

O'Brian is titulated liutenant by Data , ????
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

2.5 fair judgement , I agree. There plot had possibilities but it became a little bit boring. The idea if describing a Klingon crew with low moral was interesting. And I enjoyed the song. I must also say the character Jadzia Dax gives many possibilities and they was well used in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Maquis
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 12:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Has anyone considered the Biblical implications of the name "Michael"? In Judaism the archangel Michael was the protector of Israel (Earth) and was prophecised to arise again during endtimes for a war against Satan.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 7:35am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

In spite of the acting, this story hat a good theme. Jake once decided not to go in is fathers footsteps. Here is the explanation why. I also believe that this is a consequence of the Roddenbery universe. War is not good. Even if i liked the The Siege of AR-558 because of it's heroism I liked this episode beaus Jake shows that there are other qualities of mankind then being a good soldier. Among them empathy, which he shows in the scene with the self injured soldier.

Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 4:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

Well, I understand there is a financial aspects in not having to many main actors. Still this exploring inside was definitely as interesting, i believe there would have been space for for more of such episodes.

The character Harren is recognisable (Asperger syndrome?) also Tal Celes feels real. Billy Telfer on the contrary does not really fit in. It was also disturbing with that he had a relationship Tal Celes. With a girlfriend he is not really an outsider.

Even though this was not in itself a fantastic episode I found it entertaining and good.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Sep 2, 2017, 4:32am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I have always liked the character of Hoshi, also the acting. A shy but clever hard working "Good Girl". Mostly giving support and solving problems. Even if she on several occasions have shown that she does not back out of a physical fight her lesser weight is a disadvantage. By adapting her role to being a member for the galactic "light brigade" she skilfully uses her female influence on her male surrounding and takes the chans when she gets it. Good and funny eve if her last line sounds very silly.

Flox complete lack of moral and his joyful participation in all kind of experiments is also enjoyably. in fact all the others also get a very god possibility to explore the dark side. Significant is that the dark side of ensign Mayweather is as pale in the normal universe. It is a pity and to me a puzzle why this character was not used more.
Set Bookmark
maq
Fri, Sep 1, 2017, 2:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Now, the third time, I really enjoyed this episode. Enterprise gets threatened by a strange unknown Phenomena having g an impact on the judgement of several crew members including the captain. The Vulcan saves them giving some more knowledge about the Vulcan "Paranormal" Mental capacity and and its interaction with the human species. LGM was yesterday, now SGW "Slenderer Green Woman" was the threat. And T'Pol was really funny but Trip got the last word.

It is en episode they you remember either because you find it is silly and sexistic or you like because you are a silly sexist ;-)
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 7:02am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

I can agree about the plot not fitting in really but I still found it entertaining.

Archers subtitle transfer from a logical point of view to insanity was well acted and convincing.

When I first watched it it though found it unrealistic to believe that the crew would not react. Yes it is USA produced but still when the commander slowly goes insane it must be able to stop him and this point would have come earlier in a real world. But of course it has ti be dramatised to explore this unrealistic behaviour.

Now , 2017, I see it with other eyes.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Aug 13, 2017, 5:36am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Re watching it again, third time, I would say I liked it better now than the previous viewings.

Scientifically or not, the most irritating thing was that due to the story plot it had to go very fast. I accept the cloning but growing something from 0y to 35y in 8 days was "unrealistic".

Though I think it was more about the moral dilemma. And it was at least three visible. Plox who used a dubious method, also admitting leaving out the option for a normal life span. Archer prepared to commit a "murder" and T'Pol's very mixed feelings which she for the firs time showed. But was the kiss her possibility to show her own feelings or was it a final logical gift to someone who loved her and scarified himself.

I join the comment from Mallory R. "Perfect science fiction story."

Set Bookmark
maq
Wed, Mar 2, 2016, 2:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Can an anti american half pacifist like this episode. Yes he can ! If I wanted to dislike it I could probably find several reasons but chose to like it. It is different, it is dirty. Except for Sisko it is the softie part of DSN9 who has to rice over their limits. They do it well. Quark who sometimes just have to be a funny ridiculous character serves us with various serious concerns. Sometimes it gets a little bit pathetic but not disturbing.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Dec 20, 2015, 12:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Enjoyable, funny, chaotic, great music. But definitely not a Standard TOS. Beware of that both Kirk and especially Spock are very tolerant. Kirk do understand that he is not the right person to deal with this, he takes Spock's advice. The crew get a great time.

They (the establishment) though identifies the false prophet, they try to warn, but the followers does not listen. A theme valid also today.

In the end Kirk and Spock shows great understanding.

"let the sun shine in"

I believe this is a Episode I will re-watch soon.



Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Dec 20, 2015, 11:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

It was rather one of these dreams where someone tries to leave or go somewhere but sits in a jam an cannot leave. For havens sake McCoy, why did you not bream up as soon as you had the medicine!!!

But the story was not about saving Enterprise again, and I liked it. The two alfa men fighting over a female. Both actually just wants to posses, even if Kirk says something else. This fight though is the catalyst for Raynas development to become a human being as well as it crushes her realising its consequence.

Spock realises how senseless this is, tries to warn bit his boss does not want to listen. An excellent example on both modern and old management.

Yes this episode had potential to be something more, but I still enjoyed it as it was.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Dec 14, 2015, 4:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

Sorry, also this was funny, yes I missed Spock grip, or Kirk saying send them to the Brig or even Mccoy saying "Captain, they are all dead". Why did they not set the phaser on 1/4 stun.

Captain Kirk did save Enterprise by doing the unexpected, he did what was right. Even in the very dark situation he did not beat or hurt the children. They where innocent. He met them on their own level, treated the with respect and dignity. He destroyed the devil by showing and exposing it.

But I agree, it was, as some other plots have been, quite silly.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Dec 14, 2015, 3:21am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

This is really horrific, disgusting and bad very bad. That was my first thought. I mostly enjoy the poor episodes because they can be funny. Here it is difficult to laugh.
I don’t know if Mr Shatner suffered doing this, as a Canadian had certainly not learnt to fall in tears when the USA flag was hailed.
My first reaction was disgust. But when reading the comments above I saw it in a slightly other way. Was it really some sort of appeal to be critical and open minded there? Kirk saying that the freedom is there also for the “Kohms”.
I do have my difficulties to put this episode into the normal “star trek universe”. It do though force any sensible person to reflect.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Dec 14, 2015, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

With which eyes should you watch any Star Trek? With those that you scientifically analyses the world or the ones that amuses you?

I chose the second one and found this, very ridiculous story, really enjoying. Yes I am a man who can survive and even enjoy the antiquated sexism in the story.

Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Dec 12, 2015, 7:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

It is not one of the episodes I will watch again and again. Still Yes I was entertained. Slightly irritated that it was again a two man show, Kirk and Spock. It missed the opportunity to involve Uhura and Chekov more than their were. The two scenes where they jointly tried to escape was inspiring but they then just fell flat. So if I was entertained it was due to nostalgia and still to win without supreme violence.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, Dec 10, 2015, 7:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: I, Mudd

Now reviewing all TOS in the proper sequence I had my doubts if I really shoud watch another Mudd story. I did not like the first one so much. Luckily I did. I had 50 minutes of funny entertainment. A complete contrast to the Domesday machine. Still it worked. It is good that not every episode tries to be comic but every now and then something in this style is refreshing.

Sexsistic, yes ! But it is funny and partly reflect the time in which is was created.

What really puzzled me was how they came back on the ship again. As I understand someone must man the Transporter and all staff was transferred to the planet.

Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Dec 6, 2015, 11:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

Greg, a good analyse, we are of the same age and seems to have similar feelings. Each serie responds to it's won time and concept. There are qualities within them all. With modern eyes having experienced the improved storytelling TOS is sometimes very ridiculous but relating it to its own you realise how new thinking it was.

With today's eyes TOS is still sexsistic, in those day very modern. One may wonder which approach Gene Roddenberry would have had to the world like it looks today.

This is also one of my favourites, containing very much of the best of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Dec 6, 2015, 8:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

Yes, definitely not a hit. How many times is he able to just walk out of the sick bay and strolle around on Enterprise? Sci fi is a little bit like an alternative universe to me. You buy the concept of warp, parallel universe, time travel, beaming etc but expect some sort of clever behaviour of the human beings being a couple of hundred years ahead of us. Sometimes there is in TOS, this time not. The only positive with this episode was that it gave me a remaining memory that must be more than 45 Years. Yes, this episode created a strong impression on me in my childhood. At least a credit for that.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Dec 1, 2015, 4:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

Yes, a hit, I do not like giving stars but I enjoyed this very much. This is the Star trek that I remember from my childhood. Unless that I then, at the age of 8th, was not so fascinated of Yeoman Rand's and Lt Uhura's spare-some uniforms. It was funny, it showed daily aspects, the teamwork, that violence, also when proper selected according to the situation, may not solve your problem, list and cunning will do and that compassion gave the success.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Nov 29, 2015, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Dagger of the Mind

Good episode. Mccoy have concerns and Kirk fulfils his task.
Regarding Dr Noels skirt, Well we are in two different times late 1960 and 23 Century. Obviously the length was appropriate in those times.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Nov 28, 2015, 3:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Ok story and playing. I liked it. The only really irritating thing was when T'Pol was held by the villain. Is she not a Vulcan , stronger than a human man and good in material arts? But she just hangs there. Poor not to show some Vulcan feminism.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Nov 20, 2015, 3:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Seems as if I like the ones that no other likes. If you can beam deterium from a desert you can also fight a bully without killing him. Good western. Good feminism with Hoshi as marskwoman and T'Pol beating a Klingon twice as big as her. A Klingon might scare the shit out of you but you still have better chances as against a tiny female Vulcan.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Nov 20, 2015, 1:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Well, ok, no action but tries to contrast 4 different approaches to the world. If it is something that a I did not like the first time I watched the Enterprise the first time it was the character of Archer. Her really full fills the exceptions of a stupid uncultivated and ignorant American. Hard to believe that such person should command a starship. But the second time now, Archers character is as much SF as the the warp drive and time travel. It is there to entertain us. T'Pol has a very Erotic appearance by just being the opposite. Episodes like this tries to show conflicts and contradictions in ourselves. Every now and then they can be enjoyable.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.