Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Louis M Brantmeyer
Fri, Aug 18, 2017, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

*The episode, not the killing
Set Bookmark
Louis M Brantmeyer
Fri, Aug 18, 2017, 10:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

Man, Picard kills a LOT of people in this episode! I really enjoyed it however.
Set Bookmark
Louis
Thu, Jan 12, 2017, 12:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

Is it just me or is the face Charlie makes not the most hilarious thing you've ever seen? It seems over the top. It's so bad it's good!
Set Bookmark
Louis
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 5:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Woohoo! Congrats on finally posting it, Jammer!

Even handed, balanced, nuanced, and well-written (if a bit long), sir. Thanks!
Set Bookmark
Louis
Sat, Jan 9, 2016, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Worf's "Death to the opposition" is the greatest line in all of star trek, i laughed for quite a while after that.
Set Bookmark
Louis B
Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 1:44am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Hey Jammer!

I love your reviews. ~86% of them at least.

REVIEW STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS!!!

Please.

Love,
Louis

P.S. Thanks
Set Bookmark
Louis
Sun, Jun 3, 2012, 6:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

Even granting that, Data still would have killed at least some people before the crew as a whole could restrain him.
Set Bookmark
Louis
Sun, Oct 9, 2011, 5:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

So Harry is dating a little girl now?
Set Bookmark
alicelouise
Thu, Jan 24, 2008, 12:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

I saw this episode. I concluded that the Vulcans and the Romulans have more in common than either would like to admit.

It was also a great perspective. Star Trek always previoulsly justified the Vulcans as always good. In ST: Enterprise they're shown to be priggish and secretive.

During ST:TNG some people had even said that the Romulans were Vulcans needing Prep H. ;-).

BTW in the TOS episode "Amok Time" it was a little disingenouous of T'Pau NOT to warn Kirk of Vulcan rituals.
Set Bookmark
alicelouise
Thu, Jan 24, 2008, 11:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

On the the other hand, in TOS there was plenty of material where Capt. Kirk had to make very hard choices.

Start with the pilot: "Where No Man has Gone Before"-he had to sacrifice his best friend to save the Enterprise crew.

"Dagger of the Mind"-a rehabilitiation facility where experimentation is done on "criminal" minds. At the very best it shows a very lax Federation. At worst it shows a government like the Alliance on "Firefly".

The Cloud Minders-A Federation member world that enslaved most of it's population to mining of a needed resource.

A Private Little War-The Federation and arming one faction against the Klingon sponsored faction. A good follow up would be to see how this world is doing now that the Federation and the Klingons are best buds.

This might belong on one of the TOS blogs. It does show that Gene Roddenberry was willing to green light episodes that showed virtue having to grapple against vice in TOS. TNG got rid of that DS9 might have brought it back. I don't think any of the other commanders had to do the grappling of Sisko ITPM; to bring this post back to it's original episode.
Set Bookmark
alicelouise
Wed, Jan 23, 2008, 11:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Just curious, was Gene Roddenberry around at the creation of DS9? DS9 is a great show; but, in some ways it isn't Star Trek. That DS9 was on a different path than TOS and TNG became apparent in its 1st season.

I think that Roddenberry was okay with the idea of something like the Borg challenging the Star Trek verse's existence. What measures are taken to challenge the Dominion (the creation of section 31, biowarfare against the Changelings, and, gaining an ally by the worst type of subterfuge) may not have been acceptable to the Great Bird of the Galaxy. In fact there is an apocryphal story that he put the kibosh on teh use of a cloaking device in ST productions because "the Federation doesn't sneak around."

I personally thought DS9 was some of the best Trek and made welcome, realistic developments.

Just my .02
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.