Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 20 (Showing 1-20)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Some of you take these shows way too seriously! Iove this episode. It's not even a "guilty pleasure" for me. I outright love "Genesis." I also loved "Masks" and "Sub-Rosa." Those are some of my favorite S7 episodes. Yes, it didn't make sense but it was highly entertaining, which is all that matters to me!
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 10:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

I will never understand all the Neelix hate. I always liked the character. I liked his relationship w/Kes, and I liked him when in the later seasons. He was a good character IMO. I enjoyed his send off. It was sweet though we could have gotten another scene w/him and Naomi.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 12:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

I like this episode, but I'm probably in the minority in NOT liking Picard's speech to Wesley or Wesley confessing. That always bothered me. At the end of the day, no one forced that guy to participate. It's a shame he died, but that's the risk they all took. I wanted Wesley to stick w/the lie and not confess. Picard's speech had me rolling my eyes at the time.

I've always liked my characters a bit darker and w/some edge, which is probably why ST: DS9 is my favorite. Darker characters. Less goody-goody actions. More human dilemmas and moral questions. That said, this is a good episode!

I loved Nick Locarno. He was interesting and definitely not irredeemable, IMO. think the royalty reason is the probably the real reason why he was not brought onto Voyager. RDM did a great job w/Nick. I really liked the character and was happy to see "him" on Voyager when it premiered. At the time, I thought "Tom Paris" was "Nick Locarno" since I didn't remember "Nick Locarno" was the name of the character on TNG. I just assumed it was the same character from this episode. I thought it was cool that they brought back the "character" and gave him a role on the new series, esp since he was such an interesting character. It wasn't until I saw this episode again that I realized they were two different people. LOL! I like to think of them as the same person though.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

@Stefan - it is definitely reminiscent of "Christine," esp. that scene w/B'Elanna choking in the shuttle. I love that movie, which is probably why this episode is one of my favorite Voyager episodes.

I don't understand the hate for it. I enjoyed this one. Plus, Tom Paris was my favorite Voyager character, so I enjoyed any episode that focused on him. Yes, Threshold is one my favorite episodes too. LOL!
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

4 stars for me!

I love this episode. First, it involves my favorite DS9 character: Garak, and second, I loved seeing him go crazy and taunting Nog and O'Brien. I also like that the episode started w/Garak being kind of sad that ppl are no longer leery of him as they were in the past. Well, that changed after this episode. Haha!

When I first got my series DVDs for Christmas, this was among the first episodes I sought out to watch, incl. The Wire, ITPM, Duet, and the Visitor. Any episode involving or centering around Garak is a great episode to me. LOL! This episode was no exception - IMO.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Sat, Aug 12, 2017, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

Ouch . . . Startrekwatcher! LOL! I just watched this episode, and I enjoyed it like I did the first time around.

Tom was my favorite character on Voyager, and I loved all the episodes that centered on him - Threshold, Alice, the Chute, etc. I think this was a nice way to advance the Tom/B'Elanna relationship. B'Elanna was open to Tom about her feelings on their relationship, and Tom made it clear that he prioritized her over everything.

And I will never truly understand the hate for Neelix. I thought he did a great job narrating the race. He made it fun.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

I'm late to the party, but I always like Neelix. I'm not sure why so many hate him. I really enjoyed this episode. It was on BBC America a couple of days ago. It's very touching AFAIC.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Tue, May 2, 2017, 4:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

About the doctor not telling her patient, that's something that already happened in our history and it's still happening.

Most intersex people are never told by their doctors about their condition, they just give them meds or surgery to "fix" (meaning hide) their condition because most of the society is ignorant about intersex conditions and how sex is not binary so the individual can be lead to a life of reject, humiliation and worse.

So when I saw that this episode it was a very natural thing to do, they just tried to give her the most humanitarian option, considering her life is almost done. That revelation would destroy her entire world, partner, career, etc.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Sat, Nov 26, 2016, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

can't find this addressed anywhere: Janeway felt a moral imperative to destroy the Caretaker array lest it fall into the wrong hands, even at the consequence of leaving them stranded 75k light years from home. But there isn't even a moment's consideration given to what will become of the tetryon reactor, or keeping it out of the wrong hands THIS time..for the benefit of being only 3 years closer to home. ??

I also dislike the loose ends. Why is the tractor beam that drew the tetryon reactor into subspace shrugged off and forgotten? Perhaps this will come up later in the series (watching for the first time), but it seems unrealistic that they would all just laugh it off and forget about it.
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

I actually like Data's emotions being used as a plot point. Don't get me wrong, I want to see him feel and emote just as much as the next Trekkie, but you have to stop and think outside the fandom. Would that ever really happen? Is his goal even realistic or good for his character? We were introduced to him by this need and want to become more human, so whenever the writers try to sneak them in or give him some, it always ends up being backed out of. Data is his quest, and I think we needed this episode 2-parter to remind us of that. (Lore coming back was awesome, btw)
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

I love this episode, (definitely one of Riker's best), but also because I love the amount of emotion and raw energy being thrown at us. The psychological manipulation, the horrifying treatment, and the amazing monologue Riker gives during the play. But in the opening scene, I felt the most disturbed not when Riker was playing the Insane Person, but how Data was playing the Doctor. His voice was so serene, and so level it was creepy. Brent Spiner has done a lot of things, but never has he made me unsettled. All in all, I love this, and I will always come back to this episode.
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

I think the only reason I kept watching this one is because I got hooked on Picard's smiley face. It was FINE, but not great.
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Thu, Mar 17, 2016, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

Although it does make him sound like a prostitute. (Is that even possible for him?)
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Thu, Mar 17, 2016, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

I liked this episode, being very young when I saw it, and I still do. I personally think I was distracted by how much I was face palming and laughing through out the episode to see it's faults. I like Data' reaction to the virus. He has this sort of swagger that makes him seem on the verge on stupid and sassy, and it's incredibly funny. I honestly don't like Tasha all that much, but this did give me a (sort of?) positive light. The sex scene with her and Data raised my eyebrows with this line:

"And what I want now is gentleness. And joy. And love. From you, Data."
Not the best choice, honey. Love the reply, but it made it even more eyebrow-worthy:
"I am programmed in multiple techniques, a broad variety of pleasuring."

Oh dear.
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Thu, Mar 17, 2016, 3:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I found this episode so cute, and I did cry several times. Kudos to Hallie Todd, I loved her acting, I really think some android genes were spread. I actually like the fact that she won't be a recurring character. I loved Lal, but I didn't like her effect on the show. That's my usual opinion on these kinds of situations, because relations between other characters become stressed, and too focused around the child. I love my babies, and I don't want them excluded from the spotlight.
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Thu, Mar 17, 2016, 3:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

Let's start with the first thing. Mental Rape. This trope has been used in an episode before, in fact, the exact WORDS I said were also Riker's dialogue. Who did it happen to? If you guessed Deanna, you win a prize! She is the most motherly, sweet, and understand of our characters, but she's also the most vulnerable. I wanted to see more out of Troi, and this took me farther away from that wish.
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Wed, Mar 16, 2016, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

I watched his episode, didn't like it, but for only one reason. (The funeral was hysterical) IT'S CREEPY TO SEE DATA HITTING ON SOMEONE. I love Data and his character for the fluffy goof he is. To see him hijacked is disturbing for me, especially at the gain of everlasting life and love of Kareen. This proved that Data isn't really dating material in the episode "In Theory." To bring it up here, before that episode even aired is more proof that our lovable metallic android really isn't the best relationship partner. Graves using Data to "love" Kareen seemed wrong not just for the age difference, but the fact that you are using someone else's body to do it was too much for me.
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Wed, Mar 16, 2016, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Big Goodbye

I didn't care for the plot, but the costumes were to DIE for. I love Beverly's pink outfit, plus her imitating the forties woman with her lipstick. Not to mention, I think Data looked pretty sexy in that pinstripe suit. >////< Anyone else?
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Tue, Mar 15, 2016, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

I love this episode so very much. (Not just because of the hilarious "grin" when Data is dancing) I love it because of the way Data tackles emotional situations. He's so adorably ignorant in the importance of matters, he actually makes us look at cold feet in a positive light. (another example, Yar's death) I would definitely make this a four star-rating, and recommend this to all Data fans.
Set Bookmark
allisa
Thu, May 5, 2011, 7:10am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Scar

Just curious why everyone assumes that Starbuck is actually hung up on Anders? It seems to me that it was framed by the writers as just her latest excuse to build walls, bury feelings and drink. She had a fling and thought he was dead: perfect excuse to indulge her inner demons. I don't think it was love at all. I think it was another revelation of one of her many, many issues.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.