Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 36 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Apr 1, 2018, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Perhaps not a perfect 4, but damn close. I do agree with Luke that the non-believers (namely Dax and Bashir) come out as arrogant and non-sensical, to an extent that goes against their established personalities. This is the biggest flaw of the episode.

It might be that I've just forgotten all the details in regard to Kai Winn's character development, but personally I find her somewhat in tune with the the Winn I've come to known. Sure, her actions are more than questionable, but in her defence, Sisko could show her a lot more consideration and basic respect. It's like the whole DS9 crew has decided that she is what she is and therefore they don't even have to apologize to her when they just take an ancient artefact from their home.

She admittedly is a pain in the ass, but what choice do they leave her? In the end, she's a human like everybody else.

Anyway, an amazing episode which I will gladly return to. As a man of faith, episodes dealing with Bajoran religion adds yet one more nuance to the already deep story arc of DS9.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 6:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

This is likely in my ds9 top 5 episodes of all time. Absolutely genius.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 5:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

This is so amazingly, freakin', ass-kickin' good that it's beyond words.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

In it's core it's not only still today a relevant social commentary, but also about recognising the power of a great vision, to stand up for your beliefs, and ultimately the mystery of existence. That, if anything, is damn fine science fiction.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

@Paul York - You get your magnificent 7 episode in season 6's "the magnificent ferengi", albeit with a slightly different cast.

PS. But I guess you know that by now.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 7:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

I have an excessive amount of appretion for Dukat.

Nearly flawless episode.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Mar 5, 2018, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I also don't really buy the story 100%. Nevertheless it was an interesting episode with a good drive. I did enjoy "Soldiers of the Empire" more though.

2,5/4
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Mar 1, 2018, 5:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

As many have already pointed out, the extreme last 10 minutes is a slap to the face of any intelligent Trek-fan. I do buy Sisko as a villain, after all he's been one since mid Season 3 anyway, at least according to his acting. But I find it repulsive to see Worf (and everybody else on the Defiant for that matter) following Siskos orders without hesitating (I guess they were scared of Psycho-Sisko?).

The fact that Starfleet doesn't even raise an eye brow is also utterly ludicrous. Normally, I let the lack of reprimands for violations slip, but POISONING A PLANET WITH HUMAN CHILDREN ON IT? Gimme a break. They'll have to work hard to build up the sympathy I felt for the characters before this episode.

Thank God that Quark, Garak and Dukat didn't have anything to do with this.
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 2:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

I'm late to the party, but I'll add my two cents.

As I see it, the real reason Janeway is so opposed to sharing technology with the Kazon is not so much because she cares about destabilizing their society, it's all about preventing the Kazon from gaining a technological advantage over the rest of the Quadrant.
Way back in "Caretaker," the Kazon made it very clear that they wanted to dominate and oppress the Ocampa, and steal their water and the technology the Caretaker gave them.
If the Kazon got superior tech from Voyager, it wouldn't be very long at all before they started using it to change the balance of power of the Delta Quadrant in their favor by subjugating everyone else.

THAT would be the greatest Prime Directive violation of all.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 5:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

So far season 4 continues to deliver stellar Trek material like this one. Meaney portrays a shattered O'Brien flawlessly, sucking you right in from the very beginning.

A couple of things I'd like to mention which other commentators barely have.

1. In a comment a few episodes back, someone said that in S4 Avery Brooks started to play Sisko basically as a villain. This is a spot on observation which makes me enjoy the Captain a lot more in this season compared to the earlier ones. He's an ambivalent character which unfortunately in 1-3 feels a bit to righteous in the light of his actions, now I feel he is more in tuned with what he is. True, when he yells at the newly released O'Brian he shows that he is bothered, but still you get the feeling he knows what the hell he's doing and isn't afraid to hold himself back. He's alive and it is entertaining!

2. I really wish they would have skipped that last scene of cringe-o-rama. I've never cared much for Molly, now I wish she was the one being implanted with 20 years of Argrathi prison.

4/4

PS. Btw, I agree 20 is too long, 5-6 years would've benefited the story more.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jan 20, 2018, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

Absolutely smashing episode with a smooth flow from the first minute to the last. I really like that they shed some light on the whole emissary issue, which I for one, didn't feel they had properly dealt with until now. However, I can see that people with faith in nothingness (i.e. atheism) roll their eyes to this one. For everybody else it should be a treat.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

The scene with the holographic waiters is enough to give this Episode nothing less than three Nausicaan Bulls Eye's out of four.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jan 11, 2018, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

For the first time ever I was turned on and crying at the same time.
3.5/4
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Sat, May 20, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Yanks said

Makes sense JP. I guess my point was why couldn't they just pluck Voyager back by Earth?


My take is that they considered Voyager's temporal incursion to be bad enough, giving them a boost by sending them back to the Alpha Quadrant was just simply out of the question. I get the idea that the Temporal Prime Directive is all about preserving history as they know it, so putting Voyager back home is a clear violation of that.

As to why the Temporal Prime Directive never came into play to fix all those other incursions into the past made on the other series, perhaps, just maybe, the Temporal Prime Directive only came to be because history was changed somehow. Another paradox, maybe? ;)
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Sat, May 20, 2017, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Time Travel episodes are not inherently a bad thing: City on the Edge of Forever, Yesterday's Enterprise... And part one of Future's End. All quite good.

I actually get a kick out of Time's Arrow for campy reasons. I can't help it, I just love Guinan in that one.
Set Bookmark
Don Lee
Mon, Mar 6, 2017, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

Good silly fun. I think my favorite part, though, is when Janeway and Paris are walking to the holodeck, Paris is explaining what J. will have to do as Arachnea, the discussion is going back and forth fast and furious, and all the while J. Is examining the datapad for the "parameters of (her) costume." The look on her face is priceless.

A moment in an earlier scene may have been my imagination: Janeway's just asked, archly, who's going to play Arachnea and, just before she realizes it's her, I thought I saw her look teasingly ("yeah, it's you!") at Seven.
Set Bookmark
DLee
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 4:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

Nice to still see Jammer's reviews available online. I read these when they were published on USENET (anyone know what that is?? hahaha)

While I've watched these 2 episodes a few times before, I had forgotten James Worthy had guest starred. Nice to see him in there. At 6'9" tall, he towered over Worf. I thought Worf was around 6'5'?? But he looked awfully small.

Overall, this was entertaining. I'd give it at least 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

The scene with crazy Riker still chills me to the bone.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sat, Sep 17, 2016, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

> There's a really nice touch where Spock opens Ambassador Spock's personal effects and inside we see the cast photo from Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country.

When I saw that, I couldn't help but think "oh yeah Star Trek 6, that movie was much better than this one."
Set Bookmark
Eileen
Thu, Mar 10, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

One thing I'm surprised about: no one has mentioned the links to Bladerunner. Kira's planted memory that only she would know and Deckard's "You ever told anyone that story?" Ghemor's "It's time to go" vs Roy's "It's time to die."
Set Bookmark
Fleetlord
Sat, Sep 12, 2015, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

I think y'all might be taking "the treaty must be maintained at any cost" a little too literally. I didn't take it as "the Cardassians will be marching on Earth by next week", but more like "the current administration invested a lot in this treaty, and if Starfleet f***s it up, both of our heads are gonna roll."

I think this episode and later ones all through DS9 establish Cardassia as the "Iran" of the Star Trek universe -- a second-tier power with delusions of grandeur and just enough capacity to be a destabilizing influence and overall Pain in the Ass. Starfleet -could- crush the Cardassian fleet just as the U.S. military could conduct an invasion of Iran and defeat their army in the field in a matter of weeks -- but for various diplomatic and political reasons, that's not going to happen, so we get to play carrot-and-stick with them instead.
Set Bookmark
Fleetlord
Tue, Aug 18, 2015, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

Regarding the "Measure of a Man", I don't find that to be a plot hole at all. It has been established that a significant portion of Federation society (maybe a majority?) including a lot of powerful Starfleet brass, view androids as tools, not sentient life. That's not the kind of social prejudice that just goes away after one season. "Measure of a Man" was a significant victory, but it didn't settle the argument any more than Martin Luther King's speeches or even the Civil Rights Act ended all racism forever.
Set Bookmark
Mark Lee
Fri, Jul 24, 2015, 6:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

This was the first episode of this series to make me cry, and I'm not a crier. Sure, I struggled with the genetic duplication of emergent memory and some of the practical considerations for spectacularly rapid (relative to our experience) development, but in the end Connor Trinneer's performance as Sim, tensioned against my experiences of the series' understanding of Charles Tucker III, blew me away. I suspended the speculative fiction considerations for the power of what in my opinion was one of the finest episodes of the series I've seen so far.
Set Bookmark
Leeroy
Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 2:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I didn't realize the captain was black, so I didn't understand this episode when it aired.
Set Bookmark
Eileen
Fri, Jul 11, 2014, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

I like Worf's comment: "What a handsome race." It always makes me laugh for some reason. It is a very silly episode, but I'd up it to two stars just for that comment plus some of the expressions on Picard's face during the dinner...oh yeah And for Mr. Ho's chug a lug!
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.