Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 23 (Showing 1-23)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Sat, May 20, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Yanks said

Makes sense JP. I guess my point was why couldn't they just pluck Voyager back by Earth?


My take is that they considered Voyager's temporal incursion to be bad enough, giving them a boost by sending them back to the Alpha Quadrant was just simply out of the question. I get the idea that the Temporal Prime Directive is all about preserving history as they know it, so putting Voyager back home is a clear violation of that.

As to why the Temporal Prime Directive never came into play to fix all those other incursions into the past made on the other series, perhaps, just maybe, the Temporal Prime Directive only came to be because history was changed somehow. Another paradox, maybe? ;)
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Sat, May 20, 2017, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Time Travel episodes are not inherently a bad thing: City on the Edge of Forever, Yesterday's Enterprise... And part one of Future's End. All quite good.

I actually get a kick out of Time's Arrow for campy reasons. I can't help it, I just love Guinan in that one.
Set Bookmark
Don Lee
Mon, Mar 6, 2017, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

Good silly fun. I think my favorite part, though, is when Janeway and Paris are walking to the holodeck, Paris is explaining what J. will have to do as Arachnea, the discussion is going back and forth fast and furious, and all the while J. Is examining the datapad for the "parameters of (her) costume." The look on her face is priceless.

A moment in an earlier scene may have been my imagination: Janeway's just asked, archly, who's going to play Arachnea and, just before she realizes it's her, I thought I saw her look teasingly ("yeah, it's you!") at Seven.
Set Bookmark
DLee
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 4:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

Nice to still see Jammer's reviews available online. I read these when they were published on USENET (anyone know what that is?? hahaha)

While I've watched these 2 episodes a few times before, I had forgotten James Worthy had guest starred. Nice to see him in there. At 6'9" tall, he towered over Worf. I thought Worf was around 6'5'?? But he looked awfully small.

Overall, this was entertaining. I'd give it at least 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

The scene with crazy Riker still chills me to the bone.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sat, Sep 17, 2016, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

> There's a really nice touch where Spock opens Ambassador Spock's personal effects and inside we see the cast photo from Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country.

When I saw that, I couldn't help but think "oh yeah Star Trek 6, that movie was much better than this one."
Set Bookmark
Eileen
Thu, Mar 10, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

One thing I'm surprised about: no one has mentioned the links to Bladerunner. Kira's planted memory that only she would know and Deckard's "You ever told anyone that story?" Ghemor's "It's time to go" vs Roy's "It's time to die."
Set Bookmark
Fleetlord
Sat, Sep 12, 2015, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

I think y'all might be taking "the treaty must be maintained at any cost" a little too literally. I didn't take it as "the Cardassians will be marching on Earth by next week", but more like "the current administration invested a lot in this treaty, and if Starfleet f***s it up, both of our heads are gonna roll."

I think this episode and later ones all through DS9 establish Cardassia as the "Iran" of the Star Trek universe -- a second-tier power with delusions of grandeur and just enough capacity to be a destabilizing influence and overall Pain in the Ass. Starfleet -could- crush the Cardassian fleet just as the U.S. military could conduct an invasion of Iran and defeat their army in the field in a matter of weeks -- but for various diplomatic and political reasons, that's not going to happen, so we get to play carrot-and-stick with them instead.
Set Bookmark
Fleetlord
Tue, Aug 18, 2015, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

Regarding the "Measure of a Man", I don't find that to be a plot hole at all. It has been established that a significant portion of Federation society (maybe a majority?) including a lot of powerful Starfleet brass, view androids as tools, not sentient life. That's not the kind of social prejudice that just goes away after one season. "Measure of a Man" was a significant victory, but it didn't settle the argument any more than Martin Luther King's speeches or even the Civil Rights Act ended all racism forever.
Set Bookmark
Mark Lee
Fri, Jul 24, 2015, 6:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

This was the first episode of this series to make me cry, and I'm not a crier. Sure, I struggled with the genetic duplication of emergent memory and some of the practical considerations for spectacularly rapid (relative to our experience) development, but in the end Connor Trinneer's performance as Sim, tensioned against my experiences of the series' understanding of Charles Tucker III, blew me away. I suspended the speculative fiction considerations for the power of what in my opinion was one of the finest episodes of the series I've seen so far.
Set Bookmark
Leeroy
Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 2:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I didn't realize the captain was black, so I didn't understand this episode when it aired.
Set Bookmark
Eileen
Fri, Jul 11, 2014, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

I like Worf's comment: "What a handsome race." It always makes me laugh for some reason. It is a very silly episode, but I'd up it to two stars just for that comment plus some of the expressions on Picard's face during the dinner...oh yeah And for Mr. Ho's chug a lug!
Set Bookmark
Kayleen
Tue, May 1, 2012, 8:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I never felt the chemistry between Kira and Odo. The whole thing felt forced
Set Bookmark
Starfleet Spacesuit Company
Sat, Mar 24, 2012, 2:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

On behalf of the Starfleet Spacesuit Company I wish to say sorry for such a poor design choice when it comes to the oxygen supply. Clearly having the oxygen pipe disconnect so easily from the tank is a design flaw which should have been noticed in testing. In hindsight, a simple locking mechanism similar to an automobile seat belt may have been a wise design choice.

I do understand this is the fourth time this has occurred which has nearly resulted in the death of a crew member.

Once again I must apologize.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Thu, Sep 9, 2010, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I loved this episode, but man Solok is a racist asshole.

I wonder where that baseball is now...
Set Bookmark
Lee
Fri, May 14, 2010, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

Wow, that gotee does wonders for Sisko's character. Starting with this episode, he has a charisma and an emotional range that had previously only been hinted at. They finally let Avery Brooks spill out into Sisko.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Wed, May 12, 2010, 10:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Kira is on the ship because she's in the main cast and she needs a certain amount of screen time. I rather have Kira there without discussion than appear over "holo communicator" (a concept even the writers found so lame, they never bothered again)

I liked this episode, and I felt it stood to reason that Sisko would deploy such weapons. The Maquis have morphed from freedom fighters to interstellar pests. It's time to get out the fly swatter.

Eddington was a smug, self assured hero wannabe. I guess that's why I enjoyed the episode... I found it engaging. Rooting for pissed-off Sisko was fun, and I liked the boxing allegory. This one has a lot of juice.

"Whats the matter, Captain Sanders? CHICKEN?"
Set Bookmark
Lee
Mon, May 10, 2010, 12:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

"You are a practiced liar, Mr. Garak. But I am a practiced observer. And I will be observing you very closely."
Colonel Lovok stole the show a few times. Too bad his character expires. I loved his panicked closeups when the Dominion attacks. The first time I saw this, years ago, I was just blindsided by the fact that he was a Founder. You know, the Founders were born for Hollywood!

Another classic moment is the shot at the very end. Odo's silhouette in the reflection over Garak. This was also used in Improbable Cause when Odo is talking with his unknown (and thankfully, never revealed) Cardassian informant.

Sisko's disobeying orders, pissing on Eddington, and then getting a verbal high-five at the end from the Admiral who ORDERED him not to go (WTF? Why?) was absurd. It can't break the episode though, because we're still high from watching the Defiant plow through Jem'Hadar ships like a boss.

It would have been thoughtful if Sisko had taken a moment or two to beam some Romulan and Cardassian survivors off their doomed ships. That would have made Admiral Yellow Shirts' congrats a little more plausible.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Mon, May 10, 2010, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

New uniforms in this episode. They suit DS9 (ha ha) a lot better than the old ones. I think they get a mention at the beginning of the episode, but otherwise I'm always a little surprised by how underplayed the transition is. The Starfleet uniform is so ubiquitous, it just seems odd that this didn't get a little more discussion.
Set Bookmark
Lee Wilson
Tue, Jan 5, 2010, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I thought the final big kiss was pretty forced and didn't seem believable, but actually, when they were dancing during their date, their attraction to each other seemed far more believable and true.
Set Bookmark
Lee Wilson
Tue, Aug 25, 2009, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Apocalypse Rising

The TNG aliens were actually Benzites, not Benzenites, but it seems clear from the breathing tubes reference that the writers were thinking about Benzites when they wrote it.

Even though the first Benzite shown in TNG was supposedly the first one in the academy, each subsequent Benzite seems to have graduated earlier than the one before.
Set Bookmark
Michael Lee
Sun, Jun 1, 2008, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Just re-watched this movie last night. I truly enjoyed it. I thought the bridging of the generations was well handled. The destruction of the "D" was stunning (women drivers - bah!).

Thank god they re-shot the ending. The original version, as seen on the special edition DVD, was appalling. The mighty JTK shot in the back? What were they thinking!
Set Bookmark
Lee Roberts
Tue, Nov 27, 2007, 7:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I've not had the opportunity to watch these episodes for many years, but whenever I think about the best that Star Trek (any flavour) has been able to offer, I always come back to the masterpiece that is Yesterday's Enterprise. I still remember the power of the scenes between Picard and Guinan ("Not good enough, damn it! Not good enough!"), my genuine unease as Picard revealed to Enterprise C counterpart Rachel Garrett that "the war goes very badly for the Federation - far worse than is generally known" and the iconic image of our good captain manning the phaser controls to the last, with everyone around him dead and the bridge burning in the background. Simply magical.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.