Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 323 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 1:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Not sure if this has been said but I think Ash's flashbacks are to his conversion from Klingon to Human and not of actual torture...

Or not.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 3:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Decent episode, not one of Discovery's best but it was worth it for Saru legging it across the cliff top.
I hope they clear up the is Tyler a spy or isn't he.
One minute he says something that makes you think "If he's a spy he has sure done his home work." Then he proper telegraphs things and makes you yell "You're a spy..." We've not seen Voq for ages either.
I will be annoyed if he is.
Cornwell isn't dead. Think that is pretty obvious.

Much as I am enjoying this show (certainly a lot more than a lot of people on here) I do agree with the common held though... Why make it a prequel? A few tweaks to the foe and this could have been set after Voyager... Maybe something is going to happen in the second half of the season that hammers home why they wanted another prequel. At the moment it doesn't make sense.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 8:11am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

It's amazing the bad science people will let go when it suits them.
Time warps round the sun. Recharging Dilithium Crystal's in the 20th century despite the fact it's, supposedly, impossible in the future.

I love this movie but when I see people ripping into Discovery for bad science it does annoy. It's Sci Fi FFS!
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 11:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I wonder if Elliot is watching this.

He'll fucking hate it.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 10:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@Chrome - Damn you and you're Vulcanesque critique of my humour. ;o)

But yeah, she can paint the hull like the start of Red Dwarf.

Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 10:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Sylvia Tilly you are fined one credit for the violation of the Verbal Morality Statute!
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 6:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Maybe I'm just overly optimistic because I like the show but I do feel this is going somewhere.

There are certain things I am hoping.

Lorca's capture was a planned. Otherwise yes it was dumb. The whole eye thingy was telegraphed and that is because I think the thing he used on his eyes was actually to assist him when they tortured him.
Not sure the exact reason for letting him be captured but maybe find out what the Klingons know or feed false information.

That new crewmember... Klingon spy calling it now.

Mirror Stametts - Mirror Universe. Heard rumors that Lorca is a mirror Lorca.. .Don't see it myself but spore travel opening up the Mirror Universe makes sense in the scheme of things.

As for other stuff.

The Swearing - Yeah, needless but hardly he end of the world. My wife thought it was hilarious. First F Bomb on Star Trek.

Gay Couple - Oh no! Two men in love. Thought it was great.

Overall, still enjoying this and, as Jammer said in his review of the last 8 odd episodes of DS9... You have to review each as a separate part of a bigger untold story.
If at the end of the series it is a mess and characters have been inconsistent and huge plot holes are still there then fine.
I think a lot of this is the smoke and mirrors of serialised TV.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 6:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I remember people moaned about Data saying "Shit" in Star Trek: Generations.
Apparently people in the future don't swear.
Fuck that bullshit.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 4:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

@Hank - Really looking forward to The Orville. It's not showing in the UK yet and I'm not one for torrenting.
I don't feel it as as removed from Trek as some. DS9 was my favourite series so I liked the darker stuff. I like the little lines about this not being what Starfleet was about. The fact that the scientist got split up and their work not being used how they wanted. It, pardon the expression, is keeping it real for me. Time will tell but for now it's doing enough.

@Dom - This to me was the real pilot. Last week was an extended prologue. The pieces are set so now the story can begin. Not so worried about lack of answers on this one... That said, they didn't drag out the mystery of the spores etc, there was some payoff.
From the brief clip of next weeks episode it looks like the monster is in there so hoping that comes with some explanation... Then more questions no doubt.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 3:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Easter Egg frenzy as well... Not entirely sure I need that every episode... Was that a Gorn skeleton at the end?
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 2:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I enjoyed it and I'm enjoying the series so far.
I get the feeling, obviously, this whole spore travel thing is going to fail miserably which is why we wont hear of it again. Like the Delphic Expanse.
The characters are people I want to see more of and I like the drip feeding of information. This isn't the one of stories of Trek gone by, apart from DS9, and it is building up. I'll be annoyed if it ends up being questions and questions with no answers.
I get people saying that perhaps it doesn't feel like traditional Trek but come on. Is the kind of stories TNG told going to attract the modern viewer?
I'm just pleased to have some Trek on TV and so far I've seen enough to get me invested. If we get to episode 15 and it ends up a total car crash then I'll be the first to moan.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Wed, Apr 26, 2017, 6:24am (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

If you're willing to fill in a few gaps with some unspoken dialogue then there are no real issues with the end at all.



Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Apr 15, 2017, 7:26am (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

My only real gripe is that Leia appearing at the end makes no sense given that she should have appeared earlier in the movie during the Rebellion meetings. No problem her being at the battle, that makes sense. She's a soldier. Tucking her away to save her was a bit naff though.

Watched this again yesterday and I have minimal issues. It's a fun film, my 8 year old son was enthralled and he loved the Vadar bit at the end.

Rate this in the top 3 of the Star Wars movies.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Mar 25, 2017, 3:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

That said. I always liked him. His interactions with Riker are brilliant.

Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Mar 25, 2017, 3:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Outsider65 - The same boy who played his nephew in Family.

Get your point though, it's taking too much effort for him to mimic Patrick Stewart and it comes off hokey.

I love the scene where Riker over complicates the running of the ship.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Wed, Mar 8, 2017, 2:53am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Surprised to have not seen the stuff in that video mentioned on the numerous movie/TV sites I visit.

I'm going into this with positive vibes despite it not being what I wanted the next series to be.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Mar 7, 2017, 12:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Jason Isaac playing the ships Captain.
Excellent actor and quite a choice considering the captain is a secondary character.

This casting is impressive.

http ://variety.com/2017/digital/news/jason-isaacs-star-trek-discovery-cbs-all-access-1202003216/
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Wed, Feb 1, 2017, 5:54am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

If you watch this video and don't get a little trickle of hope and excitement then I think you should just give up with Star Trek already.
Which I imagine, sadly, many people probably have already.

www . darkhorizons.com/star-trek-discovery-in-production-teaser/
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Jan 23, 2017, 4:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

lol - Yeah, I'd pay to see that.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Jan 23, 2017, 6:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

Tara: Two words... Trek Fu.

It is long established that puny humans can knock the shit out of just about anyone by clenching two hands together and cracking someone on the back of the head.
Karate chops are also devastatingly effective against everything from a Borg to a Breen!

So yes, whilst other other species are stronger. They have not been trained by Ross Geller in the arts of "Unagi!"

Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Thu, Jan 12, 2017, 9:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

Tanner: The Borg haven't even assimilated all of the Delta Quadrant yet and that is their "turf".
Always wondered why they're opening up fluidic space when are still three quarters of the galaxy to be assimilated.

This is thrown into further chaos by Voyager and it's Transwarp hubs which mean the Borg can technically launch a load of cubs at any planet and take it over.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Jan 6, 2017, 9:46am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Chekov wasn't part of the bridge crew when they met Khan...
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Dec 23, 2016, 2:50am (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Why wouldn't Leia be in a battle. She's part of the rebel alliance (and a traitor), she's not some pen pusher on Alderaan.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sun, Dec 18, 2016, 11:28am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Sonequa is part of the ensemble main characters on TWD and has always carried herself well and holds her own against the rest of the cast.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Dec 16, 2016, 7:11am (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Loved it.

Don't feel the need to defend it from peoples nitpicks etc. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

I must say though. When the film finished, apart from wanting to see it again right then, I felt like I could just put on A New Hope and it would follow perfectly.
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.