Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 198 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 8
Set Bookmark
Kent Clark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 8:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Ah, the symmetry of the internet timeline! I find it fascinating to read a decade of comments about a show that initially aired more than a score of years earlier. What’s lacking in the episode I think, is a more complete discussion of how Tuvix’s personality was a complementary balance of the stoicism of Tuvoc and the impulsive id od Nelix.
Set Bookmark
Stanley Kenner
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

The obvious has not been mentioned. When Kirk, Spok and Macoy returned to the present, everything was as before. Their uniforms, equipment and memories. They had no recollection of what happened in the past. Spok first looked shocked when he returned to the present. Then he saw Macoy return which caused him to use logic by stating “We were successful”. Had they not been successful the three would not have returned.

All Kirk and Spok remembered was jumping to try and land in the1930’s to stop Macoy and landing back where they started. In this way, in the words of the Guardian, “Time has regained its shape. Everything is as it was before”. This would include the memories held by Kirk, Spok and Macoy.
Set Bookmark
Ken
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

In the scene where Picard is with Beverly after the mind meld with Sarek, on the back of the chair Picard is sitting in......isnt that the sash the Mintakans presented to Picard? Ive watched this episode a dozen times and only noticed it today!
Set Bookmark
Ken
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

TOTALLY agree with Timothy from 10/15/17....1st part was FAR better than the 2nd....it's like the writers got you hooked, then fed you a trivial piece of mostly nonsense.....where did the Duras sisters go? Worf was gone for most of this episode. Guinan is a tad pretentious...even by her worthless character's standards. When and why would any Romulan commander willingly just beam aboard the Enterprise (or ANY Federation ship) for a tete a tete? I give this episode MAYBE 2.5 stars at BEST!
Set Bookmark
Kennedy99
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Breaking the Ice

Since this is my first comment I will keep it short...More than any Star Trek
show I have watched so far, this one - I mean, this series - encourages me to
focus more on the wonders of space travel, and less on universal morality
themes. Sure, I think humanity needs to be careful of where it is going, but
but sloppy, emotional, impatient humanity is also what got us thinking about
the mysteries of the universe. The wonder of the Enterprise crew as they
encountered the comet was priceless: yes, what is out THERE is truly
amazing. Let's never forget that.

tc
Set Bookmark
Skengly
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

I also thought it was pretty boring. But not terrible.

An extra 1/2 star for Torat.

2 1/2 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Skentie
Sat, Dec 16, 2017, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Why did they shut down the holodecks? They are on an entirely different system from the rest of the ship, and their power system is incompatible with the rest of the ship.

JANEWAY: Harry, you and I will give them a hand in geophysics. See if we can't synthesize a substitute fuel.

Really? Synthesize a substitute fuel? Wut? And this is the first time they've tried that? Wut?

Boy that Neelix/Tuvok scene was annoying. You can't use your own blanket, you have to use a starfleet blanket. Why? Oh, I see, it's humorous. Oh, wait, no it isn't.

When they tried to beam up some of the deuterium, why did the transporter explode? No reason whatsoever, other than they wanted them offline for later in the episode. And they say they will be down for days. Yet they are back online and working a few hours later.

500K is only about 440F or 227C. That's hot, but not that hot. My oven gets hotter than that. It's certainly not enough to damage Voyager in any way, or incinerate a probe, unless they are both made of plastic and paper mache. And the shuttle makes it down just fine. Stupid. And they leave the shuttle door open. lol.

Quick! Stop cooking that potroast in the mess hall Neelix! You'll destroy the ship!

The Neelix/Doc stuff was just terrible.

They try scanning for infrared signatures of Harry and Tom, on the 500K planet. Right. At least they had it not work, but still, how stupid is Janeway really?

The backup systems in the suits kept them alive. How? Their suits had holes in them. And why wouldn't the system have kicked in immediately before they passed out? If the suit could keep them alive after that, it should have kept them from passing out. None of that makes any sense.

The whole silver blood thing is preposterous in nearly every way. It's some barely alive goop sitting on an unihabited otherwise lifeless planet. What does it eat I wonder? And why would it have the ability to copy organic matter, or any matter, or thoughts and memories? If it can do that, why is it just pools of silver goo? If it somehow gained sentience when it copied Tom and Harry, why not use them to talk to someone, instead of trying to kill everyone, especially if they have all of Tom and Harry's memories? How would it know how to do anything, having been sentient for only a few hours? Yet it has feelings and desires, and the will to live etc. It whines and says that Janeway is trying to kill them, as it is in the midst of killing the entire crew. Stupid. All so stupid.

And the ending. OMG the ending. Good idea Janeway. Let the unknown aliens clone your whole crew, with all their memories and feelings, and strand them on some planet with no food or water or equipment or anything. Remember, the clones think they are the real people, just as Harry and Tom did. So all these clones are now standing there, wondering why their ship is leaving them behind to die. Janeway is the worst captain ever.

Why does the goo need more bodies anyway? Can't they just clone more Tom and Harry's? They have their DNA already. I don't get it.

This episode is a giant mess. zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Boneless chicken
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Yanks

Gravity would be quite noticeable so that would not be much of a cloak...
Set Bookmark
Skenny
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Normally I go into a liitle bit of depth of why I dislike an episode, when I do dislike one, but this one....

I can't even bother. I wanted to do it. I honestly did. But holy crap. What's the point?

zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Ben Kennedy
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I really wanted to like this episode... but TNG did it better. Not to be one of those nitpickers, but there were too many contrivances to look past. Just blow up the space while for crying out loud!
Set Bookmark
Tanner Chaiken
Sat, Jul 22, 2017, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

Few things - where was Troi during this episode? Shouldn't she be counselling Scotty after being frozen for 75 years? Why did Scotty not have an official debriefing, as opposed to causally giving a report in the hallway? You'd think Scotty would be reading the history records to see what's happened since he froze himself. Geordi was acting pretty poorly to start - as was the whole crew, really.
Set Bookmark
Trudy Kockenlocker
Fri, May 26, 2017, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

This is an excellent episode. This is not an anti-capitalist episode. The point is that the bar is run like a racket, or a sweatshop. In this case, a union is justified. But that's not the point. The writing is really good, the acting is terrific. And Levar Burton did a great job directing it.
Set Bookmark
Ken
Fri, May 12, 2017, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

Oh boy, this episode was a stinker. 4.5 stars? Seemed like a leftover script from season 1 to me.

Maybe it's because my wife and I immediately predicted the premise after Wesley's experiment created a "mysterious flash" and then he turned around and his mom was gone. "I bet that flash just sucked Beverly into another universe or something" we said, practically simultaneously as the title fanfare started to play.

All mystery gone, the rest of the episode is unbearably frustrating and repetitive. Every time something else disappears from the universe there's a protracted reaction shot from overacting McFadden. It became comically predictable after a while. No one seems to be able to come up with the idea that "the warp bubble was confined to engineering ... *maybe it affected Beverly, who was in engineering at the time*." We got through the episode by speculating on the many ways the script could have used this premise better... "what if Riker's beard is suddenly gone in the next shot?"

Toward the end things got more interesting purely due to the script embracing its absurdity. I enjoyed the computer's responses about the nature of the universe, and the "design flaw" of the enterprise. Unfortunately, it's around then that we get the return of the traveler and oh look -- wonderboy wesley crusher might have some traveler abilities too! I thought we rid ourselves of the "wesley can do everything better than everyone" schlock after the first season. Oh well.

Beverly crusher finally gets a feature episode, and it's this pile of uninteresting filler. I feel bad for her.
Set Bookmark
Ken
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 4:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

You know I find it amazing.....all MOST of you do through EVERY episode on E VERY Trek franchise, is bitch, moan and groan about how, "If I did it, I would have done so and so"....for the love of God then find a backer and write, produce and direct your OWN damn episodes!!!! The rest of us want to simply enjoy what we have and not read your constant WHINING and CRITICISM!!!!!! Some of you have WAY too much time on your hands....and I have named a few in other posts. No wonder most people thing Trek fans are nuts...they have dealt with some of you too often!
Set Bookmark
Ken
Wed, Jan 18, 2017, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

@David.........perhaps that is exactly what the writers wanted.....to leave it seemingly unfinished, We would see later in TNG and on DS9 continuations from where this episode left off. Personally, I think it was a clever thing to do....left us all wondering WHEN the family honor would be restored and on DS9, that family honor is referred to in multiple episodes.
I give this 4 stars BTW
Tony Todd is GREAT in this episode!!!!
Set Bookmark
Ken
Sat, Jan 7, 2017, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

I see Elliot raised his/her ugly head again to lambast another trek episode. Look, Elliot....WRITE a damn series YOURSELF, you sanctimonious blowhard!!!
Set Bookmark
Ken
Sat, Jan 7, 2017, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I agree, Robert......but dont ask Elliot, as he seems to think only HE/SHE can write and cast the PERFECT episode. Talk about sanctimonious BS..that's all Elliot spews over and over in every episode and every series. One has to wonder if this person has a damn life!
Set Bookmark
Ken
Sat, Jan 7, 2017, 12:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

I gotta agree with lizzzi......I rewatch every episode with K'Ehleyr...she has a certain "presence" and her sarcastic wit makes for a good watch!!!
Set Bookmark
Ken
Mon, Jan 2, 2017, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

One little comment......Exactly HOW did Tain get his rather AMPLE figure into that crawl space to send a message? LOL
Set Bookmark
Ken
Wed, Dec 28, 2016, 10:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

Sooooo..Keiko closes the school because there's only 2 students left.....that speaks volumes about her commitment!! So Jake and Nog can do independent study and she will tutor them? LMAO!! Wasnt this is EXACTLY why she wanted a school??? To avoid children having too much free time to get into trouble? Oh yes....let's let Jake and Nog run wild....AGAIN! This B-plot/storyline didnt cut it for me right from the get go.....as a teacher, I suppose it wouldnt, I suppose.
Set Bookmark
Tanner Chaiken
Thu, Oct 13, 2016, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

Not sure I see how Hugh returning to the collective as an individual would harm the collective. When the Borg initially assimilate an individual, that individuality is wiped out.
Set Bookmark
Ken
Fri, Jul 15, 2016, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Most of Elliot's :comments" are those of a troll......and I've read and responded to a few. A shame actually
Set Bookmark
Ken
Thu, Jul 14, 2016, 2:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

I agree with all of the above about Elliot. I only recently started to read these reviews and I have found that Eliot's posts are almost ALWAYS bordering on disparaging...and I am being kind in that description. Yes...I think TROLL is an absolute way to describe Elliot. Watch another show or maybe come up with your own...or direct one....each of your comments makes me ill
Set Bookmark
Ken
Sat, Jul 9, 2016, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Siege

@Elliiot......Hotpants is Brian from WINGS...LOL
Set Bookmark
Ken
Fri, Jul 8, 2016, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

One thing I noticed.....Odo takes away the Dopterian, but leaves the stolen goods on the table in Quark's bar.....one would think as a perfectionist he would have seen to that
Next ►Page 1 of 8
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.