Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 40 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Keiren Simmons
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 12:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I can't disagree with this review more! Jammer clearly put a lot of thought into it however.... ;-)

I got tired of reading the phrase "on its own terms" in the review. Voyager worked "on its own terms" at what It set out to be, a one hour action adventure while being entertaining. However jammer doesn't rate it highly because it doesn't live upto it's potential.

Into Darkness "works on its own terms" as a blockbuster movie while being entertaining but doesn't reach anywhere near its potential unfortunately.

I think the difference we are seeing is the review now of a casual Star Trek fan compared to one who used to be invested in the franchise.

The movie itself? Dull, uninspiring and simply disappointing in my opinion :-(
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

This movie is proof that Into Darkness and future Star Trek films didn't need to trash all over Star Trek to be a good movie!

3/4 stars
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Mar 15, 2016, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace

Hey guys,

Just thought I'd way in as someone who didnt see or hear almost anything about Star Wars until I was about 16 not quite 10yrs ago.

When I first saw this movie, I really wondered what all the fuss with Star Wars was about. I liked some things, the kid was good, the pod race & Jar Jar wasn't. But it seemed slow & ponderous.

However I then did enjoy AOTC but on repeat viewings that's just got worse.

So going back to the OT as someone who didnt see them originally when they come out, nor had them spoiled, they are far better movies, but to be honest I found them glorified fairytales & that were alright, I could never understand the hype.

Maybe thats because I'd been watching Star Trek since a young age, perhaps I was used to space, the weirdness, wonder & aliens Idk...

But yh... those are just my thoughts in response to @latex_zebra & Jammer about how newcomers view the moveis.... Enjoy! :)
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Wed, Aug 12, 2015, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

This one is funny. A bit sexist too. But seriously take a break & enjoy the lighthearted fun you know... DS9 gives plenty of everything from its stories, & this is a comedy one.

& this episode deserves a star from all the haters who like "arc" & "serialised" shows because it plays into the Ferengis final evolution at the end of the series
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Aug 11, 2015, 8:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Wow @Robert I appreciate your quick & detailed response. I'll have to watch & listen closer in future!

I always knew there was a reason I identified with Bashir! lol :-P

I still find it a little odd never to hear of Kira's siblings again... but hey :)
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Aug 11, 2015, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

I dont understand this complaint of "all this never really happened." The writers are showing us how this what if premise would play out, they're the ones telling us this is how the characters would react.

Finally, its not all "undone" by the end because it impacts Bashir, adds Section 31 to the series & we see the regulars debating it.

The idea could've been quite bland but in the end the writing & performances take this familiar idea & make it intriguing & a lot of fun!
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Aug 11, 2015, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Is this episode bulletproof? No. Is it interesting & engaging? Yes. 3 out of 4 stars.

The ideas & debates put forth are certainly entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Aug 11, 2015, 3:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Really? @Robert. That's interesting to know. Is this mentioned in the series? Or in books?
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Mon, Aug 10, 2015, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

How about Kira having brothers? Isn't this never seen or mentioned again? :-O
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Mon, Jun 16, 2014, 11:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

www.lcarscom.net/rdm1000118.htm
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Mon, Jun 16, 2014, 7:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

Scary!
Ron Moore interview:

www.lcarscom.net/rdm1000118.htm
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Wed, Jan 16, 2013, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

The really insulting thing? It HAD to be framed by a TNG episode, like there weren't enough movie's or references to them enough...
How about some DS9 or Voyager characters showing up? Ohhh...no...cause the creators dont love them, they just glorify the averageness that is TNG...
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Oct 23, 2012, 4:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

This one was BORING! :O
And awful direction... :(
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Thu, Aug 2, 2012, 7:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Jammer! U need a "like" button on these comment pages... some of the comments are hilarious!! :P
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Thu, Jun 21, 2012, 8:05am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: 33

i found the Olympic Carrier sequence cliche...seen it before, military types dont wanna fire on civillians, they have to blah, blah blah! see it in every military program :O
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Sat, May 12, 2012, 9:09am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

Hey! Not biased to any of the characters? Really? Whats happened to Dualla then??? :O
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Wed, May 9, 2012, 5:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Third Season Recap

Lol!
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, May 8, 2012, 3:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

Hmm...i didnt like this one, but I will say, why cant you just enjoy the hour that is on without over analysing??

Its a decent hour, things will happen off screen, this is the story that has been told competently. Maybe we should look at it this way, instead of the writes not continuing the story in late episodes, we should use our imagination for ourselves?? Rather than being spoon fed everything....

Im not necessarily an advocate of this, im just playing devils advocate and seeing if anyone might agree with that...?
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Mon, May 7, 2012, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

Just guessing here...but isnt Starbuck the final cyclon because she is resurrected at the end of this episode??
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Mon, May 7, 2012, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

This was boring and didnt make ANY sense.... I still dont think Starbuck has any special destiny, I used to like her, here she is just wasted.... :(
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Wed, May 2, 2012, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: Jammer Goes to L.A.: Voyager Pitch: The Warning

I liked the other pitches better, because I can actually see why this one was rejected.... has been done before to an extent and Voyager didnt really need it again.... still, seems a decent story in its own right :)
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Wed, May 2, 2012, 4:28am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Taking a Break from All Your Worries

I dont understand how Baltar is the bad guy??? If he had not co operated, he would have been shot and someone else (maybe Gaeta?) would have taken his place and signed the death warrants correct??

So Baltar just did what was necessary to stay alive, which makes him a bad person, but not a traitor. The Cyclons would have just dragged someone else in and threatened them to sign.
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Thu, Apr 26, 2012, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Thats because the show is not about the answer, its about the questions... Thats why everything is reset every week, to ask more questions on a different subject.

However its still TV, so it has to attempt an interesting story also.
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Thu, Apr 26, 2012, 4:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

How in the world is TNG 3D? :O
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Thu, Apr 26, 2012, 3:42am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Sacrifice

Saw Billys death coming instantly....but missed the Sharon body swap....amazing what you pick up on!
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.