Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 89 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Tom Eklund
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

"Great episode! As with every Voyager episode (and I literally mean EVERY Voyager episode), it is riddled with plot holes if you look closely enough, but if this is your issue, you might as well throw out the entire series and move on.

Oblivion is a winner for its emotional content and deep, thought-provoking material about the nature of our own existence and some of the big questions surrounding our finite nature."

I second that. Very well written, sir!
Set Bookmark
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 7:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Oops. I did say he invented the holo-emitter. Which I assume he did. Because why would the time ship have one of those lying around? He only had it after the Doc appeared. But who knows?
Set Bookmark
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 7:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

I only said he invented win95, which was a joke. :) Earlier in the post I said he hadn't invented anything himself.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

My oh my. Where do I begin?

First of all, another lame Voyager episode where nothing works. What a suprise.

Scanners couldn't track debris. Couldn't locate site of transmission. Communications don't work. Thrusters don't work on shuttle, so shuttle crashes (of course). Shuttle's warp and impulse engines and comminucations then don't work. Heck, even the elevator thingy doesn't work! I'm so sick of nothing ever working. So stupid.

Why didn't Voyager detect that the asteroid wasn't a real asteroid?

The whole, 'person living inside the carriage and taking Neelix hostage' stuff, was unnecessary and ridiculous.

Why did Vatm start the carriage before it was ready and leave everyone behind? He had absolutely no reason to at all. He didn't know that other guy was a traitor, and even if he did, why not say that, and get help from the others? What good does it do to launch the carriage all by himself? And why did he put the pad on the roof instead of just carrying it? Why and how does he have a pad with all the sensitive alien info on it? What a total coincidence that both the investigator of the attacks, and the traitor are both there at the same time for no apparent reason. And neither one knows what the other one did, so that's even more coincidental that they both end up on the carriage. Just ridiculous.

NEELIX: Doctor Vatm! Please stop! The tether's base hasn't been secured. If he launches now he'll destabilise the entire cavern.
SKLAR: Wait, please! Don't leave us here!
TUVOK: Stand aside.
NEELIX: It's too late. The cabin support structure is collapsing. We've got to get out of here.
TUVOK: Can we launch?
NEELIX: I think so.

Wut? So you can't launch, but it's ok to launch? Wut?

Then literally about 2 min later they are 30km above the surface. So they were going 900 km/hr. Though they say they are going 30km/hr. Ok then. Then they settle on 47km/hr. And that means it would take a little over 6 hours to reach the top, but earlier they said it takes 12 hours to reach the top. No one working on this show ever checks any speeds or distances or does any sort of math whatsoever apparently.

The other people on the carriage question why Tuvok is in charge of anything, since it's their carriage, and their planet, after all, and Tuvok basically says, 'because I can beat you up that's why'.

HANJUAN: Who put you in command?
TUVOK: If you are trying to intimidate me, I should inform you that as a Vulcan I possess physical strength many times your...
Hanjuan tries to hit Tuvok, and Tuvok grabs his hand crushing it.
TUVOK: It is going to be a long and perilous journey. As such, I will need your full co-operation. Understood?

Nice Starfleet negotiating skills Tuvok.

Then Vatm is murdered!

LILLIAS: Murdered? How?
TUVOK: Poisoning. According to my tricorder readings, his water supply has been contaminated with a lydroxide corrosive.
NEELIX: Lydroxide? That's the coolant used in the tether couplings.
HANJUAN: How do you know it wasn't an accident?
TUVOK: The coolant system is completely sealed, and there is no lydroxide anywhere else on board.

So Sklar killed Vatm. Why? No reason whatsoever that I can see. He didn't know who he was. Where did he get this poison from if everything on the carriage is sealed? He's just carrying it around with him just in case? And there's no trace of it anywhere now? Wut?

And as other people mentioned, they are already short of oxygen, so of course what they do is open the hatch and let all their air out. Pfft.

Tuvok fights Sklar, and instead of nerve pinching him or choking him out or something, he kicks him out of the carriage to his death. So Tuvok murdered someone for no real reason. But that's ok. No one cares about anything else in this episode anyway, so what does that matter?

And the second 'asteroid' is 2 hours away, and is supposedly going to crash into the planet, killing thousands of people. Why didn't Voyager warp over to it and destroy it long before it got to the planet? They just waited there at the planet for it to show up, because that worked out so well the first time right? But it's actually a ship anyway! Gotcha! So lame.

Then Neelix explains what was really going on the whole time at the end, with some pitiful exposition. So much lamer.

A terrible terrible episode. And for all the people saying it could have been better with better direction, not even Steven Spielberg could have saved this total pile of crap.

There's also even more crap that other people mentioned and even more that I tried to erase from my memory.

zero stars.

Set Bookmark
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 3:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

As far as 'canon' goes, I agree with @Dobber's comment a few above this.

You can't call something Star Trek and then ignore what has already happened in this very unique universe.

How about if in the next episode they have a lightsaber fight? Or pull out a magic wand and shout 'Expelliarmus!' to kill a Klingon? Or maybe Mike can use mind control on a pack of wolves?

That all may be cool, but you can't just start adding in or changing whatever you feel like, just because it's fictional. Well, you can, but then it's not a Star Trek show.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Oct 28, 2017, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Torres says she is replacing the 20% of the programs (which on Voyager would be quite a bit!) taken by Starling. How? Do they have backups on an external harddrive? Not that when he 'took' them, they would just disappear in the first place. But the only one she can't replace is the Doc, because I guess they have backups for the air conditioning system or whatever, but not practically the single most important program on board.

And Starling says that the Doc's program isn't 'that sophisticated'. Really? In 1996 a holographically projected artificially intelligent doctor isn't 'that sophisticated'? Ok.

Starling adds pain to the Doc's program in what must be about 1/2 hour. How would he have the slightest idea how to modify an artificially intelligent being's program, that he had never seen or even imagined existed before about an hour ago, to feel pain?

And also in that same 1/2 hour, he has invented and manufactured a mobile holo-emitter for the Doc. Of course he did.

Starling is willing, despite all of Janeway's warnings, to risk his own life, and the life of his bodyguard guy, not to mention billions of other people's lives, just to invent a few more things? I don't buy it for a second. In this show he is basically the equivalent of Bill Gates (who also stole everything he supposedly 'invented', but we won't get into that) and do you think Gates would risk that? Of course not. He has everything any human being on earth could ever want, so why risk losing it all? Doesn't make much sense.

When Chakotay and Torres are held prisoner by the militants (of all things), Tuvok and the Doc show up outside. The building is surrounded by police. Why? Who called them? The militants? Tuvok? Wut? Why are they there?

POLICE: We want the aircraft, and the occupant from the aircraft.
PORTER: Get off my land!
TORRES: What are they going to do when they find a half-Klingon in here.
POLICE: Who the hell are you two?
TUVOK: Please stand aside, Officer.
POLICE I'm warning both of you to...
PORTER: They've got lasers! A black man and some bald guy.

And then the Doc comes into the basement. So did Tuvok and the Doc shoot all the cops? I guess so. I don't know anymore what's going on in this episode.

Janeway decides to do a manual launch of the photon torpedoes. Fine. But are you telling me that there is that option, of doing a manual launch of them, but that the person has to stand next to the torpedo and push a button on it and then die, or almost die? Seriously? We are expected to believe that that's how they designed the manual launch of a photon torpedo? lol.

Also before that happened, Torres had gotten transporters back online and transported everyone from earth back to Voyager. So why didn't they just transport the timeship into a shuttle bay which was their plan all along?

Finally I want to summarize what Starling did/had in these two episodes.

He had a 29th century timeship, that he somehow recovered from out in the middle of nowhere without anyone knowing, all by himself.

He studied it for two years and made some microchip thingy.

After 30 years he had invented WIN95 for computers.

He also had a phaser, that could disintegrate pretty much anything it shot at.

He had a tricorder. That he sort of knew how to work.

He could create forcefields.

He had a satellite in orbit around the earth that had transporter technology, that allowed him to beam himself anywhere at will, through Voyager's shields as well.

He had the ability to create holograms, using holo-emitters and mobile emitters.

He was able to attack and disable Voyager, and steal their programs, including the Doc.

He can make a temporal transponder to fake tachyon signals.

So why isn't this guy the Emperor of Earth? He has no conscience at all, and is a clear sociopath, and can perform miracles, by 1996 standards. He would have taken over the planet by now.

Also another episode where nothing on Voyager works. Weapons, transporter, communications. Ridiculous.

This episode is terrible. I was going to give it 1 star, but after rereading my own post I have to give it...

1/2 star.
Set Bookmark
Gandalf - Klingon Orc Slayer
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Is the disco on Middle Earth with the Orcs and the monster navigation bear?
Set Bookmark
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

There are theoretical ways for something to travel faster than light, but they are all based on mathematical manipulations and not on anything that exists in the real world. In a ridiculously simplified example of this, let's say I have 3 apples then give you 5 apples. Now I have -2 apples. In mathematics, that's fine, but in the real world, I can't have -2 apples and I can't give you 5 if I only have 3 in the first place.

Also @Peter G, you are not using reference frames correctly.

I can observe hypothetically, in my reference frame, two objects, one moving away from me to the right, going the speed of light, and one going away from me to the left at the speed of light. But neither one is violating relativity, though it may seem as though they are travelling away from each other at twice the speed of light. They are both going the speed of light in my frame.

If I move the reference frame to one of the travelling objects, and measure the speed the other object is moving away from it, the speed will always be the speed of light or less, not twice the speed of light. This is due to time dilation. You have to use the time in the same frame of reference as the object to calculate the speed of the other object. What you are doing in your examples is using some parts of one frame and some parts of another frame, which you can't do.

The medium/s that all of this happens in makes no difference.

Star Trek ignores relativity, through the mumbo jumbo of subspace. But in real life, you can't just ignore relativity.

Unless of course relativity turns out to be wrong. :D
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 11:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe


'“Also what is with all the shipwide announcements on board Discovery?

Actually that happened several times on TOS so that’s one of the things I actually like.'

I didn't remember that, but it's been awhile since I've watched any TOS. So that is one thing that's actually appropriate for the time the show is set in at least. Too bad there aren't more.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 8:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Since so many people, including me, are bothered by the fact there was a holodeck in this episode, let me say this; In TAS they didn't have a holodeck, they had a 'recreation room'. Not the same thing.

From memory alpha...

'At least one type of recreation room was capable of holographic projection...This rec room was capable of creating pre-programmed illusions using holographic scenes, simulated weather including wind and temperature, and sounds played from audio tapes....Even though the scenery extended beyond the room, one would still be able to walk up to and touch the walls during a simulation. These types of rec rooms aboard starships were not considered to be actual holodecks.'

That TAS rec room is the only Starfleet 'holodeck' before TNG. So for Discovery to have one as good, or nearly as good as the one from TNG, doesn't make a lot of sense.

After they leave the holodeck, Lorca tells Ash, you 'fight like a Klingon'. Another not so subtle hint that Ash is actually Voq. And now that Ash is his security officer, it shouldn't be too long before he is near Lorca's tribble.

So the logic extremists (lol) aren't like other Vulcan's because 'they value logic above all'. But don't all Vulcans already do that? I don't get it. It seemed their main beef was actually that Vulcans are superior to Humans, and had nothing to do with logic. Stupid name for them.

They can't take Discovery into the nebula because the gases from the nebula will somehow come into contact with the spores on board. would that happen exactly? Did they leave a window open or something?

Stamet's invents a hardware version of a mindmeld in about 3 1/2 minutes. Ok then.

And Lorca says to Ash 'Bring [Mike] back in one piece...or don't come back at all'. I guess if Mike dies then Ash is supposed to kill himself and Tilly? Nice encouragement captain.

Then of course there is a mind meld, inside of a mind meld, inside of a mind meld, with kung-fu action. Mike uses Stamets mind meld device to simulate a mind meld (?) to go back into her real mind meld, and after the fistfight, mind melds with Sarek inside of the mind meld, and that wakes him up somehow. Can a human even initiate a mind meld? Maybe only if it's a mind meld inside of a mind meld inside of a mind meld. So yeah, all that is completely stupid. I just want to say mind meld again so I will. Mind meld.

Also what is with all the shipwide announcements on board Discovery? 'Ensign Rause report to shuttlebay' 'Commander Wilson, please report to the transporter room' 'Lieutenant Varda(?) requesting your assistance in engineering' etc. Why is Discovery the only ship in the history of Starfleet to do that?

And about the tardigrade, last episode they said it was sentient. But no one tried to communicate with it, or make any sort of contact with it's species. Maybe the tardigrades could have told us how the spore drives worked or helped run them voluntarily, or joined us in the war by teleporting around killing Klingons or something, but no, that seems to have been dropped completely.

And now for something off topic.

@Peter G.

'"Every physicist will tell you that it should be impossible to fly faster than light."

No physicist will claim that. They will say that within a given medium, from the perspective of someone else in that same medium, it's impossible to go faster than light. The theory says nothing about modification of the medium, nor does it say what can happen when an observer outside the medium observes something in a medium. Did you know that the speed of light is changeable depending on the nature of the medium in question? It all has to do with relative frames of reference, not some absolute speed limit that exists outside of a given frame of reference. In relativity there is no such thing as absolute speed measurement.'

That's not true. Every physicist certainly WILL claim exactly that. At least ones that understand relativity. It doesn't matter the medium you or the light is in, or if you are in different mediums, or if mediums are modified or not, nothing can go faster than the speed of light. In fact anything with mass can't even GET TO the speed of light, much less go past it. Light can go slower in certain mediums, but never faster than it does in a vacuum, the frame of reference is irrelevant. In a vacuum anyone measuring the speed of light, no matter their relative speed or position or the relative speed or position of the light source, will always measure the speed of light to be the same. No slower, no faster. Always exactly the same.

Anyway, for this episode, I give it 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Klingons = Ruined
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 3:02am (UTC -5)
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 3:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

I should just shut my mouth and leave well enough alone, but 'infinite' should also have been 'zero' :D

I do actually know what I'm typing most of the time, believe it or not, but my fingers get ahead of my brain sometimes.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

I meant to say 'probability soup' not 'improbability soup', but when it comes down to it what's the difference I suppose? The probability of this episode being good, as soon as it started on a religious path was zero, and the improbability of it being bad was infinite.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

I first want to ask, why didn't the Doc put Kes into a holographic body like he did the Vidiian so they had more time to figure out how to cure her? And I know the answer. Because this is Voyager and they forget everything that ever happened in a previous episode.

And everyone here and in the episode itelf saying that what Janeway went through was meaningless is complete nonsense. Because going through all of that, lifting the stone to increase her neuropeptides, and getting bitten by the whatever it was in the basket, which created a new amino acid, all changed her biochemistry, along with all the data she sent back which allowed the Doc to give Kes the treatment he did (which failed at first). Both of which, Janeway's biochemistry and Kes' treatment, are exactly what save her and Kes when they went back into the temple.

EMH: The tricorder readings Commander Chakotay took at the shrine revealed traces of iridium ions, which we could have known about sooner if we'd been permitted to take those readings in the first place.
KES: And iridium ions are significant?
EMH: They caused a temporary dielectric effect in the outer epidermal layers which neutralised some of the biogenic energy. Not much, but enough to make the Captain's altered biochemistry an effective defence.
KES: Then how was I cured?
EMH: The metabolic treatment I administered protected you against the full impact of exposure to the field when the Captain took you through. That exposure functioned like a natural cortical stimulator and reactivated your synaptic pathways.

So clearly, everything she went through in the ritual was necessary for someone to enter the temple without dying, and also to save someone who had gone through and been hurt, and was completely scientific in every way. Otherwise the Doc couldn't and wouldn't have explained it that way.

Also since all those different biochemical changes were needed to enter the temple, every ritual must be the same, or very similar, and not based on what Janeway expected the ritual to be. And it also must be real, and not some hallucination or vision or something.

There isn't a hint of religion in any of that, except the con game that the 'spirits' are dishing out with all of their religiobabble about 'meaninglessness' and 'faith' and 'beliefs' and so on.

The whole episode confirms only that science is the answer, at least in this case, and that anything religious is what is actually meaningless.

Now I'm willing to bet a billion bars of latinum that the writer didn't even realize that they did that, and were instead trying to make it what other posters were arguing about, religion vs. science, and failed miserably.

And I don't want to get into a huge debate, but I would think it's fair to say that most real scientists are athiests, and the fact is, athiesm is 100% just as much a religion as christianity or judiasm or any other standard religion. Anyone claiming that god doesn't exist because there is no scientific proof, is a fool. Lack of proof of the existence of something isn't the same as proof of the nonexistence of something. Also belief in the scientific theory of the big bang as the origin of the universe proves in and of itself the lack of proof of the origin of the universe, if you see what I mean. :P The big bang theory states that there is no way of knowing what came before it or what caused it. All the laws of physics completely break down when we reach the singularity of the big bang. So where did the universe come from? Maybe it was a spontaneous creation of matter in the quantum improbability soup. Maybe it was god. Maybe it was Q. Maybe it was a really smart mouse with a tiny beard and a magic wand. No one can or ever will know the answer to that.

Also due to the theory of relativity, the earth could very well be the center of the universe. But it most likely isn't.

And there is no point in arguing about science in Star Trek at all, since the laws of physics are broken in every single episode, usually by the warp drive. But also by Q, The Traveler, Organians and many other things and entities.

But I digress. This episode was truly horrible and pointless and didn't even know what it was trying to accomplish, and whatever it was trying to accomplish, it was done badly anyway.

zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Oct 14, 2017, 3:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I usually nitpick Star Trek. How did they do that? Why did that happen? That makes no sense! Mindrape! etc.

Certainly I could do that with this episode as well, as many others above me have already done. But for this episode...I don't care.

It grabbed hold of me from the moment Picard collapsed on the bridge until the final credits. I think it's the best Star Trek episode of all the series. That is the mark of a good episode, that despite it's flaws (which they all have, including this one), it forces you to disregard them, because it's such a compelling story. That's what makes Star Trek so magical sometimes. You forget that it's a science fiction show.

There is no better episode for doing all of that than this one.

4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Dr Franklin
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

@Dom - I'm struggling to see the racism in the new Klingons. They ate Georgiou's body because they were starving. They are proud of their culture and wish to preserve it. They seem to be predisposed to infighting. And they are technologically advanced, even possessing technology in advance of the humans (cloaking). I don't see the show passing judgement and saying they are lesser creatures because of any of this, which I quite like.
Set Bookmark
Doctor Franklin
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Captain Sisko is great. Avery Brooks the actor... not so much.

Am I the only one who likes the Discovery Klingons? Disregarding continuity and canon, I think they're better done than most Trek aliens. They genuinely feel like an alien culture and I find there is a sense of fascination when they are on screen. Their ways are mysterious and their ships are inscrutable. I hope they don't start talking English.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

Me again! Sorry.

The link keeps messing up and adding a space. If anyone actually wants to see it just remove the space in '.j pg' at the end and it'll work. I'll try again though.
Set Bookmark
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

So many things about this episode are far-fetched and contrived.

The obvious one as many others said is, how would they possibly have come across this bomb in the first place?

How did the Cardassians build such a thing? They would have easily taken over the alpha quadrant if they could build ships like this.

Why is it a ship at all? It's a bomb. Why does it have gravity? And atmosphere?

Why does it have a hyperintelligent computer that can talk? It's a bomb. Set it to go to Planet X and destroy anything nonCardassian that tries to stop it. That's it. There's no need to make it able to argue with people of all things. What's the point? 'You're on the wrong course' 'No I'm not' 'Yes you are' 'No I'm not' 'Yes you are' 'Prove it'. So lame.

The thing is so smart and unstoppable, but it can't even complete it's sole mission because it's too stupid to fly into the atmosphere correctly.

NEELIX: So, how did you stop it?
CHAKOTAY: We didn't. It got through all our defences. Worked like it was supposed to except for one minor detail. It didn't go off....The missile skipped off into the atmosphere and quietly went into orbit.

LOL. Whatever.

Then it terminates life support, which it shouldn't have had in the first place. And without life support all you have to do is breathe heavily and sweat a little and you'll be ok apparently. And you won't freeze to death either.

Tuvok can't bear to live without Janeway I guess, and would rather die with her. But why can't they just tell Voyager to crash into it and leave? Voyager has to have a pilot 24/7? Even planes nowadays have an autopilot. And how come Voyager only needs Janeway to set the auto-destruct? Every other ship in Starfleet requires 2 or sometimes 3 officers to activate it.

Why does the bomb keep telling Torres how good she is doing? 'Containment field integrity at forty percent and falling.' 'Containment field at twenty percent and falling.' Silly.

And when the bomb finally goes boom, Voyager is right next to it. If the thing will destroy a small moon, how come Voyager is totally undamaged?

Also when the bomb explodes, Voyager makes a 'sharp left turn' that makes Tuvok and Janeway lean way to the right. I laughed when I saw that. Cuz you know, Voyager is a racecar.

There's more idiocy, but I can't think about it anymore.

1 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

messed up the link

40 tons of explosives in that baby! Oh yeah!
Set Bookmark
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 4:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

Another terrible episode.

Neelix is the worst character in Star Trek.

They go hide in some cave. That cave somehow has different air than anywhere else? It has none of the nutrients/toxins that the outside air has? Makes no sense. And if their were no nutrients in there why would the aliens lay their eggs in there? So they would starve after they hatch?

Nothing in this episode works for me. I don't even want to talk about it anymore. Ugh...

1/2 star
Set Bookmark
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 5:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's


'The 37's weren't necessarily awoken at the same time. The rebellion might have begun when the handful we saw were still in stasis. The rebel descendants didn't even know they were alive. It's a good bet the rebels' didn't either....It makes sense that primitive humans wouldn't know any better.'

They went and kidnapped these people to be slaves, why would they leave them in stasis? For them to have a rebellion, I would assume it would have been quite awhile after they were brought there, not like the next day.

And I wouldn't consider people from the 1930's to be 'primitive humans' lol. And like I said, if they did think they were dead, why not bury them instead of leaving them in glass tubes?

The whole episode is silly so arguing about this stuff is pointless anyway.
Set Bookmark
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Lots of problems with this episode, which other people already talked about. What I don't get is why were they in stasis at all? They were brought here as slaves, then just left in stasis by the Briori? And during the slave revolt the slaves wouldn't have released them? Forced the Briori to wake them up or something? And if they thought they were dead why not take them out and bury them back when the revolt happened? Why would they have just left these people in glass tubes forever?

Anyway. 1 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 12:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

So much plot holes. So many convoluted nonsense. So many dog. So much bored.

1/2 star

And since I didn't notice anyone else mention it...

They put 40 TONS! of explosives into a type-6 shuttle (which it's clearly seen to be in the episode). That is the equivalent of a fully loaded semi-truck, including the truck. Into this:

'At 6m long, 4.4m wide and 2.7m high, the standard [type-6] shuttle had a mass of 3.38 metric tonnes'

So they put nearly 11 times the weight of the shuttle into a shuttle with no cargo bay, and that was clearly empty other than Kim and Paris when it was captured and boarded, and into which it would have never fit no matter what to begin with. Or maybe the explosives have the density of a neutron star and are microscopic. Yeah that's it.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Aug 29, 2017, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

Honestly this episode was pretty dumb, as everyone has pointed out it was filled with plot holes and the only thing worthwhile was garak and bashir sluething around. It had that shitty "Oh you're race is your culture" crap we always saw in the worf episodes in tng (Especially the one where he literally ruins a peaceful community because the kids there didn't reflect his own grade school bully recovering manchild personality. Oh thinking about fighting and killing all the time isn't genetic worf? How horrid!)

Also Grumpy_otter: The kids were clearly not persecuted or anything for their race and yeah, while the whole anti-cardassian thing maybe makes putting defenseless children with angry victims the boy understood the difference between the race he is and the culture of cardassians.Going on and saying that its wrong to teach the boy to hate cardassians is dumb considering its the bajorans, its kinda been shown the whole show that they will never forget what happened. The rest of the kids aren't exactly sitting around going "Well mom says the cardies are space nazi's but hey, hate begets hate haha."

I mean yeah, good people can be wrong but the whole thing was just thrown to the fast lane with such little notice and I'd think the episode would be a whole lot greater if they maybe did show the kid having actual doubts about being a cardassian amongst bajorans and that maybe, he didn't find the life with his current parents all that well. Maybe the father were dead yet the law forces the kid to move to cardassia. But we've literally seen sisko throw the kid to a parent he doesn't know, with a people he's disgusted by (and lets be honest, the cardassians from their pretty much deserve all the hate they get). I mean lets take the situation in reverse, sisko finds out that jake is an illegitimate son to a asshole clearly not fit to take care of them, the first thing sisko does after a quick court session after jake begs his dad to let him stay is to say with a smile "Well then kid, fuck off. Take the fast buss you don't wanna keep your dad waiting." because oh, his real dad is white, which means jake is half white and cant be with sisko and it pisses me off so much.

Also the twist with dukat wasn't even that clever.

4/10 had some good moments, couldn't save the aneurysm inducing ending.

Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.