Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 230 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jul 23, 2017, 4:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

I think you're a little hard on this episode. Sure it has a bunch of Ferengi buffoonery but at least it's a worthy story. And it makes it plausible that Rom would become Grand Nagus by series end. He is, after all, a populist.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 12:11am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

And here I thought it was bad before - then it degenerated into an episode of Naked & Afraid without the naked. Holy shitballs.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Jul 3, 2017, 12:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

There's a scene at the end of the episode where Weyoun and Dukat are talking in the prefect's office about the impending battle and there on the desk in the foreground, almost tauntingly as if it's listening, is Sisko's baseball. Great shot, great scene, great episode.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Jun 28, 2017, 11:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

If this were a 2017 show this episode would have been one of many comprising a solid story arc. But alas, this was 1995. The Seska arc was mediocre at best.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 1:30am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

A good fan service episode that is made better by the presence of Keith Carridine.

On the supposedly "warp capable" escape pod: it wasn't, nor did the dialogue result in a a plot hole. On the contrary, it's well dramatized exposition. A.G. abandoned his test ship while traveling at warp 2.2 and therefore he had to pass through the warp barrier in the pod just after ejecting which was disorienting. The pod itself probably only had 2 thrusters.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 12:31am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

I forgot that Caylem shanked the nazi with the knife Janeway gave him before he died. 10 out of 10.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 12:04am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

Outstanding episode, one of Voyager's best. Certain scenes in this remind me of both Schindler's List and The Pianist. I'm not saying it's on par with those stories but it did evoke some of the same feelings of pathos I have watching those films. 9 out of 10 stars.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Jun 21, 2017, 11:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: A Private Little War

Fodder for Right Wing snowflake Trek fans, of which there are many. Makes them feel like the "cucks" they think they're not while they watch the rapey hill people molest the hot girl they imagine as their wife. I agree with Paul on this one. It's patently ridiculous that Starfleet would arm a bunch of villagers in a proxy war with the Klingons. The logistics alone don't make sense. Not even Section 31 would be that daft. This is the single worst episode of the original 79. Give me Spock's Brain or the stupid hippie episode all day everyday instead of this steaming turd.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Fri, Jun 16, 2017, 6:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

It's a good thing we still have 50 years to stop the New Soviet Union Premier Eric Trump and the Bigly Politburo from launching that probe...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Thu, Jun 15, 2017, 6:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

I find the Sisko hot box scenes disturbing. That used to be a way slaves were punished and he's the only person with dark skin in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 6:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

An awkward and hamfisted attempt at demonstrating American exceptionalism.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, May 16, 2017, 12:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

Only slightly more plausible than an episode of Naked and Afraid. Should have brought Moogie along...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, May 8, 2017, 12:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

This is one of those episodes I remember seeing as a kid and capturing my imagination. Lame looking aliens or not I give it a 9 out of 10 based on nostalgia alone. Even without the nostalgia it's still pretty good.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, May 6, 2017, 7:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

The answer to your question, in a word, is no. In fact I found the "twist" to be tedious and insulting to my intelligence. "Oh gee, I'd really love to help you with the warp engine, Phlox, but I forgot how!"

(simulates masturbation to bi-labial fricative accompaniment)

Worst episode of the season.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 5:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

They went eyeball to eyeball and the Romulans fellow just blinked.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Dec 14, 2016, 5:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

These comments are unbelievable. Anyone who doesn't understand why the colonists acted the way they did has never seen a cult at work. These people have been brainwashed by their leader for 10 years, and brutally punished for crimes of individuality or opposition (see the scene after Sisko's first stay in the box). When the truth is revealed to them, of course they choose to ignore what it means. It breaks the worldview that's been hammered into them every day for a decade. The only ones capable of rational, objective thought are the ones who have yet to be fully indoctrinated: the two children we see solemnly staring at the cage at the end of the final scene.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Sep 13, 2016, 7:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Is this the most commented on episode yet?
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jul 9, 2016, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

First, I would say the fact Jake studied Quantum Mechanics presupposes his understanding of multiple "realities" existing. This reality is not tied directly to his existence or death - Melanie will continue to live, and Jake will be dead, but Sisko will be returned to "Normal" space and a separate tangent will continue.

Second, while this is an absolutely amazing episode for Star Trek and I would say in the Top Five, I find it interesting the reviewer says this is the first episode of Trek to move he/she to tears. The Inner Light precedes this episode by years, and is equally as amazing. I still remember watching it when it first aired (and right before Best of Both Worlds Pt 1). Picard's revelation at the end that he truly is living someone else's life; Picard playing his flute to honor a life and a civilization that both was and wasn't his, and the song echoing through the endless cold emptiness of space while the Enterprise flies along.... Yea.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Feb 24, 2015, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

lol the Romulans look like sofas. Yup. Badly upholstered ones...
Set Bookmark
JustinS
Thu, Apr 18, 2013, 5:06am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Man, I can't believe people dislike Ezri so much!? I think she's a interesting take on the Dax character, and believably scattered considering she was never meant to be joined.

She has a very different personality from Jadzia--I dunno, to me the character is a refreshing change from most Trek characters, who (let's face it) are usually pretty sure of themselves.

That said, I agree with all the complaints about this episode. I enjoyed it, but the Vulcan deduction is a huge stretch.

And since I've never commented before, and probably won't again, I just want to say.... Jammer, this is my first time watching DS9, and I've really enjoyed reading your reviews after every episode.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jul 22, 2012, 4:06am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

I'm avoiding spoilers by skipping the comments section, but I just had to add my own "whoa!" to the list. This is one of the most compelling hours of television I've ever seen. Superb, superb stuff.

On a different note, Dualla's suicide did not come as a shock to me. She showed definite signs of someone who has gone past conteplating suicide and made the decision to go through with it. People seeming almost happy in situations where you wouldn't expect them to be can be a warning sign that they are suicidal. I know this from an unfortunate experience with a loved one who tried and thankfully failed to kill herself. Dualla's scenes were convincingly written. Not to mention acted...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Jul 17, 2012, 2:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Road Less Traveled

Gaius Baltar = Saul of Tarsus
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jul 14, 2012, 11:47am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

Lee turned out to be a pretty good Commander for Pegasus. It's a shame he had to blow it up. By the way, we never did find out if he awarded Shaw the posthumous medal, which is interesting. It was left open to interpretation. My view is that she did not deserve it due to her actions on Scylla. Yes she sacrificed herself to complete the mission, but that does not make up for murdering innocent civilians. The History as it was to be written in Lee Adama's logs should make little note of Shaw. She deserved to be forgotten.

On another note, I had to watch that bizarre Quiznos "Look! Lesbians!" bumper on YouTube before I could actually believe it. Holy frak, we have a weird culture...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Jul 9, 2012, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Torn

Phillip Glass has minimal talent as a composer - pun intended and probably used before.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Jul 9, 2012, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Torn

Not having seen the next episode it's clear to me that Athena became infected by the 13th tribe thingy the moment they appeared out of jump.

Re: music, once again Philip Glass gets WAY too much credit. That piano piece was clearly inspired by Beethoven's "Moonlight Sonata." Hence the title, "Battlestar Sonatica."
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.