Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Joshua
Wed, Jan 3, 2018, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Looking back on this episode, I have to wonder if Section 31 ever offered Dr. Russell a job.
Set Bookmark
Joshua
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 2:32am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

It's arrogant for flesh and blood beings to say that, just because AI are programmed, they know how they work, then it means that they are lesser-class lifeforms. There is no mystery involved in their creation, meanwhile, humanoids are a mystery! Our evolution was processed over billions of years! Our brains are impossible to manipulate on such a level! Therefore, we are superior beings that can create life and toss it away just because they're not the same, and that we have the ability to, makes it so.

Going on an extreme end, how do you think the Q see humanoids and other intelligent life? The Q have shown the ability to rewrite, toy with, and utterly erase people like us and our brains, our memories, our function, and yet, despite their superior knowledge, they treat fleshies like actual lifeforms, allowing them to evolve and flourish. And humans call themselves enlightened.

AI prejudice is a pretty tired trope I've seen over the years, but hopefully there will be a nicely written story for their acceptance in society in ST someday!
Set Bookmark
Joshua
Wed, Sep 6, 2017, 11:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

If an episode bores you this much, maybe spare us the boring review. You can only type "meh" in so many different ways. Or come up with interesting things to say about the mediocre episode. Not to criticize anything grander, but this review seems as forced as the episode.
Set Bookmark
Joshua
Fri, Aug 11, 2017, 8:09am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

The main problem I have with this episode is how adept the Kazon are at operating Voyager. No amount of 'training' by Seska could prepare them for operating it so perfectly within their short time frame, unless computer systems in the 24th century are that unreasonably accessible.
Set Bookmark
Joshua
Fri, Jan 29, 2016, 7:32am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

It shouldn't matter if you disagree with Bashir or the O'Briens, this was a moving episode. That is all too rare for DS9. And what's more, I'd take that over the episodes which get the science and ethics right but basically amount to spaceships shooting at each other, however suspenseful and well produced it may be. Solid 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Joshua
Thu, Jan 21, 2016, 10:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

An asinine episode. Not that you can't tell from the title alone. "Statistical probabilities"? What other kinds of probabilities are there?

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Joshua
Wed, Sep 24, 2014, 11:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Anyone else hoping O'Brien would have leaned over to 12 year old Keiko with a grin and said, "you thinking what I'm thinking?"
Set Bookmark
Joshua
Wed, Sep 17, 2014, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Vulcans don't even have emotions, so I don't see how that applies here. Diversity is not a virtue.

Dave in NC isn't the only one who should be worried for his soul, i hope you know that promoting sin is almost as bad as doing the act.
Set Bookmark
Joshua
Wed, Sep 17, 2014, 1:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

I'm sorry to see the gay agenda is alive and well on here. I expected most of you to have drunk the kool aid, but i was surprised Jammer would censor my comments when he talks about freedom of speech so much.

There are no gay people in Star Trek because no one chooses perversiont in the future. End of story.
Set Bookmark
Joshua
Tue, Sep 16, 2014, 7:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

[Comment deleted by Jammer]
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.