Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 43 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Also quite late to the discussion, watching through Enterprise for the first time (have seen all of the other Star Treks). I also really enjoyed this episode despite some flaws (certainly the way evolution is understood by the characters is lacking).

One thing I haven't seen mentioned (it's possible it was, as I haven't read every comment) is how Phlox's decision was influenced by human perspectives. He originally sees nothing wrong with the Menks' condition, as they seem quite content with the way things are. It's only after human crew members argue that they have their potential limited by the Valakarians that Phlox eventually come around to that position. In fact, I don't think he would even consider withholding the cure if not for how humans have influenced his view on the Menks.

So, paradoxically, it's human ideals, mediated through Phlox's alien perspective, that lead to a decision Archer makes against his instincts. It raises some profound questions of how human morality can be differently interpreted by other species--and lead to unforeseen outcomes. That's my perception of the episode, anyway.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Archer
Wed, Mar 8, 2017, 7:36am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Devil in the Dark

Did anyone notice that except for the Horta, there are no female cast members in this episode... anywhere.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Archer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 7:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Glad I got another chance to see this episode again on Netflix because I didn't remember any of it.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 8:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

The storytelling, acting, pacing, and especially, the music here are absolutely incredible. This is the apex of science fiction television.

For those quibbling about time travel or Guinan's so-called "mysticism", well, respectfully, it's science fiction! Of course there are some logical flaws. Mysticism and the supernatural are inherent to the genre. This is a story with heart. One of the best ever for the series.

"Geordi, tell me about...Tasha Yar."
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Jan 11, 2015, 5:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Am I the only one who thought it was silly that Sisko ordered O'Brien to Sickbay when he had a completely non-life threatening injury, despite the fact that the Defiant is in a huge combat situation? Don't you want your best personnel on duty in such a situation?!?
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Thu, Nov 20, 2014, 9:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Am I the only one who has a problem with the operation to capture the Breen weapon? It's absolutely ridiculous that Damar would not have been recognized. He was the head of the Cardassian military dictatorship and his face was in the public domain. That's like not recognizing George W. Bush or Bill Clinton if they came into the room. It's conceivable that Garak or Kira wouldn't be widely known outside of their circles, but Damar would be known throughout the Quadrant.

It would have been interesting to have seen a scene where Sisko wonders why Gowron is late for a meeting, only to have Worf tell him that he killed him :-)
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Mon, Nov 17, 2014, 3:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

@Weyoun: I also have fond feelings for the earlier-season uniforms. I think the later gray and black uniforms look better and more professional, but they would never happen in real life - they look so incredibly uncomfortable. First of all, your neck is being half-choked, and second of all, there is so much material that is part of the uniform that you'd be sweating constantly if you were wearing it in a normal outdoor environment. I feel uncomfortable just seeing the later uniforms. The TNG uniforms (seasons 3-7, of course) were the best - they looked great and looked just as comfortable.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Thu, Nov 6, 2014, 2:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

The most unbelievable part of the episode is when Kira failed to shoot Dukat. How could she not want to kill him? Plus he killed her friend Jadzia - and gave a worthless excuse when confronted about it. "Oh yeah, she got in the way."
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Wed, Nov 5, 2014, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

I actually liked "Soldiers of the Empire" a lot better, but this wasn't a bad episode. And normally I'm not too big on Klingon-centric episodes.

A Jake-Ezri romance would have been an outstanding idea, now that you mention it, and it brings Sisko into the mix. I'm in the process of rewatching all of DS9 for the second time. During the original run, I didn't like Ezri at all. But this time I'm a lot more fond of her. Jake kind of fizzled out as the series came to a close. The secondary characters on DS9 are absolutely outstanding, and are perhaps even better than the main title characters!
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Nov 2, 2014, 2:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

Am I the only one who found Sisko's stabbing to be excessive? It would have been more effective for the Bajoran guy to have simply stayed with ominous threats. The stabbing added nothing to the story, and in the next scene it's as though it never happened (or that stabbings are routine in 24th century New Orleans). The stabbing scene was also weird. Sisko's on this quest to reconnect to the Prophets. A Bajoran guy shows up, and Sisko's body language indicates that he couldn't care less. Or is Earth filled with Bajorans?
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Wed, Oct 29, 2014, 4:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

One very interesting thing is that the censorship shown in this episode - forced or highly suggested - was instrumental in the creation of the Star Trek franchise. Many stories in Star Trek - especially on the Original Series - came into being because the only acceptable way they could be told or explored was in the guise of a science fiction show. Censorship still exists, but it is just a faint shadow of what is was in the '50s and '60s. Besides, we have the Internet today - where if you live in the western world, there is absolutely no censorship.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Oct 26, 2014, 2:32am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

I can't believe no one else has mentioned the label on the compartment that Rom got caught breaking into during the episode's final act!

A51. As in, Area 51.

Surely, that is not a coincidence.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Jun 1, 2014, 5:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Also, scenes like that provide character development that just isn't found in as much depth in TNG (outside of Picard).
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Jun 1, 2014, 5:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

"How hollow is the sound of victory, without someone to share it with? Honor gives little comfort to a man alone in his home, and in his heart."

The two scenes with Martok and Sisko are wonderfully acted, and for me, brings this episode up to 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
jonathan
Mon, Feb 3, 2014, 5:04am (UTC -6)
Re: ANDR S2: Tunnel at the End of the Light

you are all mad!!!! Andromeda was a really good show action action not much on stoy but it was not a space opera its a action show.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Baron
Sun, Jun 16, 2013, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

My sincere thanks, Jammer, for providing these reviews. I grew to trust them and thus managed to skip most of the worst of the Star Trek spinoff series episodes. Once they appeared on streaming Netflix and I could finally summon the will to watch them. The only Star Trek I'd known was the series I saw on television when I was a teenager in the late '60s.

Although I was not impressed by these latter day takes on an interesting television series I found myself with a lot of unwanted time on my hands. There was no Theodore Sturgeon, Harlan Ellison, or Jerome Bixby - actual science fiction writers - writing for these.

Perhaps it's a reflection of my age but television or film science fiction could never approach its written form where it has the freedom to fully engage your imagination unlimited by video technology, production budgets, the FCC, focus groups or entertainment executives.

That said, I believe that writers of any era would have appreciated the pure space opera of the Borg, the notion of a lifetime lived in minutes (Inner Light?), the able retelling of Phillip K. Dick's The Imposter (Whispers), along with meditations on life and sentience created by Data and the Doctor.

Plus we had some wonderful actors along the way. Kate Mulgrew with the captivating voice of '40s film star Patricia Neil - if not Neil's sheer seductive beauty - the smoldering power of Avery Brooks and the pitch perfect Dwight Shultz and Colm Meaney, the vivid and dependable Robert Picardo. The franchise also kept a host of able character actors, such as Vaughn Armstrong, employed.

In the end, though, this series, more than even Enterprise, proved that the franchise is spent. Time for something new to serve the need for hope and awe among people who fail to find it in conventional tales and tired spiritual institutions.

Again, Jammer, my heartfelt thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Baron
Sat, Jun 15, 2013, 1:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

This reminds me of what happened with Lost in Space. They may have begun with Guy Willians and June Lockhart as leads but the show became all about Jonathan Harris's anti-hero Doctor Smith, making for one very unhappy cast.

Certainly that had to be true here too, with Robert Beltran complaining the loudest.

Firefly this ain't, but Firefly's writers didn't have to come up with seven years of material based on three previous series dating back 45 years.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Baron
Sat, Jun 15, 2013, 11:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

Yes this was entertaining and indeed Jeri Ryan saved this series for reasons surpassing her looks and hair color. True, the series should have been renamed The Voyage of Seven during its last 4 years.

The unremitting heterosexuality does make it all seem eternally retro though. No matter where in the galaxy you go, or when, everyone is straight? Characters like Captain Jack Harkness from Doctor Who and Torchwood seem far more plausible, if a bit....excessive. Every creature he meets makes him randy ;)
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Baron
Sat, Jun 15, 2013, 10:29am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

It's interesting how much of a Rorschach test this episode is. Yes, this is a very heavy handed critique of the medical system in the United States where failure to propser means you don't live long. Yet many see it as revealing the evils of the imaginary and wholly fictional terror of socialized medicine. I suppose antisocial medicine would be better.

Simple fact is that some services don't lend themselves well to profit driven businesses. Yet perhaps the most fascinating social phenomenon of our age has been the ability of specific vested interests to convince vast numbers of good and intelligent people to support with great vigor policies that contradict both their self interest and fundamental morals.

Key to this is the illusion a zero sum game. This aspect is beyond the capable scope of a 40 minute episode of minor network television science fiction. Was this "cytoplasm" a genuine drain on resources or just a device to illuminate an appalling value system in a manner as subtle as a Louisville Slugger to the side of the viewer's head?

Fortunately, as noted above, this can be heavy stuff and was mixed with the comic take of tracking down the cat-man con artist to lighten the weight.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Baron
Thu, Jun 13, 2013, 1:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Disarming, funny, and touching in unexpected ways. The mixture of Doc's earnest pedestrian self-help book style instruction and Seven's essential autism creates a moving interplay of two flawed, wounded people. What makes it work is that only one of them is truly aware of this. Comic pathos in one of too many Star Trek spin-offs? Surprised the heck out of me. More Preston Sturges than it was syndicated television science fiction.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Baron
Thu, Jun 13, 2013, 10:41am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

So now we have a love triangle - or Two Suitors for Seven. The Borg queen's come-on was much more erotic so I guess they had to kill her off. Janeway beats the dominatrix and has to content herself with simply having the obsessive object of her desire be the only woman on the ship to prance around in a cat suit to stare at longingly watching her "regenerate."

Were this Showtime or HBO it could have been overt and far more interesting :)
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Baron
Wed, Jun 12, 2013, 5:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

Balanced against my sympathy for the people who created the weapon was the horror that it made eternal all the anguish and fear of all Borg victims. Yet I wonder - did they give species 6339 such ludicrous early Doctor Who outfits so that we'd have less sympathy for them?
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Baron
Tue, Jun 11, 2013, 11:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Ironic that we live in a universe of Omega in that spacefaring, subspace, warp drive and all the fundamental pseudo science that powers ST is in fact impossible. Thus I was thinking that if the worst happened then the series would be reduced to reality.

The erotic tension between Seven and Janeway finally rose above a bat squeak at the conclusion of this episode. Were this series being made now, or by the BBC, it would have been developed. The chemistry in that tension would lead in sexual directions more plausibly between these two than the other featured couples in the series.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Baron
Mon, Jun 10, 2013, 11:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

I thought Bomar was an oblique reference to Bowmar, the manufacturer of the first handheld calculator. Well...at least their tech level was similar.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Fri, Mar 8, 2013, 4:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

Enjoyed the episode, and I like the idea of a Gamma vs. Alpha conflict, but there was absolutely no subtlety to the execution. They really bashed us over the head with it.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.