Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 20 (Showing 1-20)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Tue, Dec 4, 2012, 9:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

I think 2 stars is too fair to this one. This episode stunk. Just more typical early Voyager, bland and pointless, with another dumb twist at the end.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Sun, Nov 25, 2012, 6:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

This was one of those ridiculous but fun episodes.

The premise was perfectly exploited.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Sun, Nov 25, 2012, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

IS THAT THE KERLIN NESCAR? *skrish*
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Thu, Sep 20, 2012, 6:29am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

One thing about the idea of interstellar Christians and so on, if they were ever done in a Trek episode, they would have to be the villains, yet Chakotay's dad is practically identical but "he's right" because indians in this story are magical (in the interest of the story wanting to have a good heart or whatever it is). It's a well intended racism but it's still racism.

Personally the best review of this episode is the one done by SF Debris on blip.tv, it's a good second opinion.

I will agree that compared to a bunch of the other Voyager episodes around this time, this really is more like a 3 star episode. For Voyager anyway.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Thu, Sep 20, 2012, 6:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

Personally, I thought this episode was godawful.

The Enterprise just intentionally flies back in time to 1968 just to observe stuff? Seriously? They're serious with that? And best of all, it all happens off camera, before the episode even starts. Not even Voyager at its worst would do this. Stargate might.

But the worst is that Kirk and Spock stand around a room waiting for permission to grab a communicator to beam over to Seven's secret base, so they can stop him, but in the end just let him do what he wants, because "it's for a good reason." Yeah I'm sure detonating a nuclear weapon over another country can only have POSITIVE consequences for history, and sure enough the episode insults the viewer enough to pretend that's indeed what happens as a result, and they all smile and wink at the camera as they drop this incredibly morally questionable act and end the second season (and almost the entire show) with it.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Tue, Sep 18, 2012, 6:45am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Personally, I always thought the dislike for Polaski wasn't so much her character as the fact that season 2 was horrible episode after horrible episode after horrible episode. That and she seemed somewhat like a gorgon.

Oddly enough she was in the TOS episode "Return to Tomorrow" and was quite attractive in that. Of course that was the 60s. And attractiveness isn't a prerequisite for a good character.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Tue, Sep 18, 2012, 6:43am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

Holy crap I just realized Dr. Mulhall in this episode is Dr. Polaski from TNG season 2, except much younger (and surprisingly attractive back then). I only recognized her by her voice, and then I started noticing her face was similar, but I thought it was my imagination, but no, it's Dr. Polaski alright.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Wed, May 11, 2011, 12:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

This was one of my favorite high concept adventure type episodes, just because it was funny, but also had a good touch of mystery and suspense. Especially that reveal of the one Romulan who is phased as well, when he walks through stuff going after Georgi and Ro. And yeah that chase through the ship, lots of fun.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Sat, Jul 3, 2010, 11:46am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

This episode and the followup are why I stopped watching Voyager. When I saw that Voyager had actually been completely captured by one Cardassian chick and a race of people who had starships but still thought water was a valuable commodity, I thought that this crew was too embarrassingly stupid to support, I no longer cared if they all died, and couldn't watch any more.

It wasn't really until I found this site did I find out that there were actually a few (very few) decent Voyager episodes.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Sat, Jul 3, 2010, 11:43am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

This episode seems more like a zero star one, it's so incredibly intensely stupid.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Tue, Mar 17, 2009, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

I watched the SF Debris review of this on youtube, and in the comments, someone mentions that a blue shirt that Harry was talking to in a scene was Prince Abdullah of Jordan (who is now King Abdullah II of Jordan), who I guess was a fan and wanted to get a cameo, unfortunately on crappy Voyager instead of the much superior DS9, but I understand his enthusiasm.

It reminds me of a delightful story of when Yassir Arafat was meeting with Bill Clinton in the 90s for the such and such whatever, and Yassir said that he was a beeg fan of Amereecan TV show Star Trek and how there were many ethnic backgrounds working together in the future, but he was concerned about the lack of Arabs, and asked Bill why there are no Arabs in Star Trek. Bill Clinton laughed that delightful Bill Clinton laugh(?) and, as Filbert did in the final episode of Rocko's Modern Life, said

BECAUSE

IT'S

THE FUTURE!

THANK YOU FOR STOPPIN BY 8)
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Sat, Jan 31, 2009, 6:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

This is one of the only reviews of yours I disagree on. I can understand how the episode moves slow and seems to be uneventful, but I thought it was great, because it was continuing the gradual self destruction of the fleet and how only chaos and good TV could come of this. I thought all of the character events were completely natural, even Zarek's. I felt this was more of a 3 to 4 star episode myself. I knew that this was just another step in the many events that would lead to the end of the show, and I think that may make it harder to judge based on its actual events. Of course, now that the following episode has aired, it's even easier to say this, since all sorts of shit goes down in The Oath.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Mon, Oct 27, 2008, 10:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I think this was a great episode and powerful, and it actually ties in not only with Trek but with future episodes. It really makes the 50s look bad understandably, and reinforces how much better things are not only now but in the Star Trek universe.

The only downside for me is that since ethnicity shouldn't be an issue in the Star Trek future, they're basically making it an issue. I sort of liked it when Sisko didn't have to be defined as a black man in the future. It is a concern that is supposed to be dated at that time, and only applies to us in the present. I know that's really why this episode exists and that's fine with me, but at the same time I think that within Star Trek itself it didn't much need a reason to exist.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Mon, Oct 27, 2008, 10:09am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

I always thought these episodes about Chakotay were extremely stupid and racist, turning Native American cultures into a big mash of sci fi magic, most of it completely made up and having absolutely nothing to do with the real original culture. Having the "sky gods" turn out to be aliens that they just happen to find is pretty much George Lucas territory. The only thing missing from episodes like this is a Jar Jar character. As I remember, Beltran himself was very disappointed with his character's treatment as far as episodes like this go.

For perspective on how horrible these episodes are, just imagine if Voyager ran across a dragon, and Harry Kim has to explain that Chinese people believed in dragons, and through the course of the episode they reveal that dragons were real all along and they live in the delta quadrant, but visited China (specifically China) a very long time ago, and it leads Harry to come to some kind of spiritual awakening (which has no real bearing on his character in the future anyway). Or I have one, let's say that Captain Kirk flies the Enterprise into the center of the galaxy to find god, and it turns out it's just a big alien head that zaps people with lightning, and Heaven is really Needles, California (there sure are a lot of bark scorpions in Heaven).
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Sat, Oct 11, 2008, 10:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Maybe it's just me but I always thought Conspiracy was one of the worst TNG episodes ever. Way too cheesy and laughable to ever have any tension about the ridiculous plot, and seemed more like a gross out comedy with everyone eating mealworms. It doesn't help that it's in season 1 where everyone seems more stiff and wooden, and they're all wearing those horrible crotch hugging jumpsuits that look like they belong in the Studio 54.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Sat, Apr 26, 2008, 12:00am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

"Then, in a few weeks, Voyager phones home. Hopefully they'll dial 10-321 for an extra-low rate."

I had to laugh at this reference. God we used to see those commercials every single commercial break, this or 1-800-COLLECT. I don't think they even exist anymore.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Sun, Apr 20, 2008, 2:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Just a little note to everyone, don't ever betray your uniform if Sisko is around. He doesn't like it.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Sat, Apr 19, 2008, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I thought this was a good episode, even with Red Squad being fascisty. I figured that was the point of the story though. I mean, ever since Red Squad was introduced, it seems the only thing they ever do in Star Trek stories is screw up. First episode, it's Tom Paris as not Tom Paris, in Red Squad, who was responsible for someone's death because he was showing off.

I actually thought the entire story of this was heavily biased against Red Squad, right from the beginning, until it's actually a little absurd. Jake is immediately looked down on and deemed untrustworthy because "he doesn't wear THE UNIFORM," as if uniforms all by themselves make people able to be trusted. All it would take is one Jemhadar guy in a Starfleet uniform to completely undermine the ship, because they'd all do whatever he says.

The captain, who is busy turning into House with all his pill popping, spies on Jake until he finds justification for putting him in the brig, just for privately disagreeing with him. Every time Jake talks to anyone else in the crew they just give him a bunch of snark. And I don't think it's just this crew, isolated, that is the problem. The problem is Red Squad, and these "elite" kids who get all cocky and think they're better than everyone else, which just leads to disaster.

The real tragedy was that it almost seemed that the rest of the crew wanted to go back to Earth. They have Dorian crying, clearly homesick, just thinking of the moon. When the captain says their surveillance mission is complete and "we could all go home now," the crew looks happy. Then they get all stern when he tells them that they're all going to risk their lives because they're Red Squad and think they can do anything. Even though they're basically all kids, they can't question the captain's orders, because they're Red Squad. It's like being in Red Squad answers all of their questions for them already.

Anyway, that's why I think this is a good episode. This is one of the reviews or yours I found off though, I don't think they presented any balance in the story. The stuff with Section 31, that definitely seems more gray and justifiable to me, even if it's almost the same thing. Red Squad doesn't even get a fair treatment, and it probably doesn't deserve it.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Mon, Mar 31, 2008, 1:00am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

My favorite scene is near the end when Janeway blows off the time travel technobabble, "before my headache gets worse." I think this is the first time in Star Trek history that they've actually cut off the technobabble.
Set Bookmark
Jhoh
Sat, Dec 8, 2007, 4:43am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: 33

I started watching BSG because of this review. Also because a friend told me that it was good, and after reading this it sounded good.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.