Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sun, Dec 11, 2016, 6:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

I don't know why this only got 2 stars - I would give it 3 or even 3.5. I thought it was a poignant episode with a good storyline, and well-acted. Lwaxana is indeed distraught but understandably so. It's one of her better episodes. I think the scene at the end where she joins him is touching too.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Wed, Nov 2, 2016, 5:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

This episode's plot was a huge disappointment.

Sloan, the guy who is always one step ahead of everyone else, dutifully shows up when they send a fake message that they've found a cure for Odo. Apparently suspecting nothing, he is careless enough to allow himself to get captured, and then killed. This alone is ridiculous. Sloan would've been way too smart to get captured by such a simple deception.

His "suicide device" then takes an hour to finish him off. WTF? Even today, we have cyanide that will kill you in seconds, and you're telling me that in the 24th century they haven't invented a device that will just kill you instantly? Hell, even an explosive that blew up his brain would've worked.

The plot was deeply disappointing and I was really hoping at the end that Sloan would turn up, somehow alive, having outwitted them yet again. But no. He was dumb, and allowed himself to be tricked by Bashir and O'Brien. I'm not buying it.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Thu, Oct 27, 2016, 2:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

I thought this episode was good, right up until the ending. So basically Alexander is telling Worf, "Make me a proper warrior. I was no good as a peacemaker and I let you die. It was a disaster."

The proper response would be to double down and make sure Alexander is taught Klingon ways and becomes a skilled warrior. But Worf's response is to... respect Alexander's choices? He just came from the future to tell you that they were A DISASTER, you moron!

Worst parenting from Worf I've ever seen!
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sat, Oct 22, 2016, 3:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

This episode was fine up until the ending, which irritated me. The righteous indignation that both Picard and Riker have for the admiral is way overdone. The federation can't keep using a piece of cloaking tech, which has just been demonstrated to work awesomely, because of some stupid treaty with the Romulans? They should've told the Romulans to shove their treaty.

At the very least there should have been much more nuance and consideration of whether they wanted to use the cloak and renegotiate with the Romulans. I really didn't like the high horse from which they talked down at the admiral.

That cloaking device is freaking awesome. I'd like to see them pass through Earth with it enabled. :-)
Set Bookmark
Jez
Mon, Oct 17, 2016, 9:04am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

The dumbest thing about this episode is Picard's reaction at the end, where he seems to be positively delighted to have been taken into captivity. Compare this to his (rather more normal) reaction to involuntary confinement at the end of "Allegiance", and it's a total double standard. Picard should've remained furious at the Iyaarans.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sat, Oct 15, 2016, 9:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Oh come on, this review is ridiculously harsh. There are one or two plot holes but basically this is a thoroughly enjoyable episode to watch (and a rather cool piece of CGI that gives Jo'Bril a hole in his stomach, Terminator 2-style!)

3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Wed, Oct 12, 2016, 5:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

This has to get my award as Most Overrated Star Trek Episode Of All Time. The plot of Picard falling is love through music is incredibly dull, and Picard is such a boring romantic that he could make Scarlett Johansson seem mundane. The mediocre woman he falls for seems completely uninteresting and therefore his emotions seem totally misplaced to me. Even Vash is less tiresome.

Picard and Some Woman play music together. And stare at each other for what seems like half the episode. For some unknown reason they fall in love, then at the end of this dreadful tripe they part company, thank god.

I have no idea what anyone sees in "Lessons". Zero stars. Or maybe a half-star for the bit right at the beginning where the episode looked to be going somewhere. Before he met that woman.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Mon, Oct 10, 2016, 5:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

I'm gonna buck the trend here - I thought this was a half-decent murder mystery, worthy of at least 2 stars. Yeah, Geordi is a little too keen to fall in love with women, but it's kind of understandable given that he's single. He didn't rape her or anything. And the dog being the killer at the end is a cool twist... I think I figured out that there was something suspicious about the dog half way through the first time I watched it.

But all you people saying this is "unwatchable", erm, no it isn't. It's OK.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sun, Oct 2, 2016, 5:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

The ending script to this episode was funny, I guess the writers kind of forgot that one of the crew members died during the episode?

"All Enterprise crew members are safe and accounted for..."

"Uh, captain, Lt. Hagler's actually dead. His blood turned into a liquid polymer."

"... oh, right. Well apart from him. It's not like he's Tasha Yar or anything!"
Set Bookmark
Jezetha
Mon, Aug 17, 2009, 5:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

I too watched this episode again and admired the way in which tension is sustained until the end. Excellent!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.