Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 19 (Showing 1-19)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Wed, Mar 5, 2014, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Imagine this scenario...the alien doctor admits to being astounded at Archer and Reed's alien anatomies. Archer realizes this is the perfect opening to hopefully fix a bad situation. Rather than continue to lie about his identity...Archer confirms that he and Reed are indeed aliens. Give them the rundown of Starfleet (too bad the UFP doesn't exist yet). Explains the historic alliance of Earth and Vulcan and the Enterprise's mission of peaceful exploration.

Imagine that this information opens up the eyes of the alien species (too bad Archer, Sato and Reed visited the planet and we never learn the name of their species). And they let Archer and Reed go, knowing they are not working for the Alliance. And instead of a joke scene featuring Trip's cloaked hand, we end on a scene of the alien soldiers deciding to make an overture of peace with the Alliance.

Would it be repetitive of previous TREK episodes? Sure, but the franchise has plenty of examples of repeating itself. Would it still feature cultural contamination? Of course. But here ENT would be living up to some of TREK's ideals and rather than leave this planet in a state of chaos, fear and a certain-to-escalate war, the Enterprise would be leaving having (hopefully) helped this planet stop fighting with its neighbor. Again, not a new story for TREK. But it would feel better.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Wed, Dec 4, 2013, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

Not bad, but not earth-shattering either. I watched this last night and I was surprised at how subdued Burton's performance once. He had the different emotional tones, but seemed to play them all quietly. I think he should have emoted more.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Tue, Aug 27, 2013, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Rick Berman once said that he loved time travel stories. Which, I guess, is why TREK had an overabundance of them from TNG on (although there aren't that many TNG ones). I know Braga said they came up with the TCW because UPN told them ENTERPRISE needed to be more sci-fi, but something tells me Berman had this idea for a while. But time travel is not, in my opinion, what TREK is about. It's OK to do one once in a long while, but DS9, VOY, and especially ENT went way too far with it. It's "Star" Trek. Not "Time" Trek. That being said, this is a pretty useless episode. You would think the drive thru scene could have had some good comedy, but the scene is played straight. We're just watching the three of them order burgers. It's a wasted opportunity.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Fri, Jul 12, 2013, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

I do think that FIRST CONTACT is the best of the 4 TNG films.

One question that stays with me about the Borg in general (although it pertains to this film as well): If the Borg adapt to situations, why is it that at each individual encounter the Borg wait 'til the humans are a threat before assimilating them? After "Q Who" you would think that each and every time the Borg encountered humans (Federation or not) they would start assimilating immediately? Obvously, that would ruin the stories, but you would think that would be more of the case and also make the Borg more terrifying. They're wouldn't be giving us any chances anymore! :)
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Wed, Mar 20, 2013, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

I agree with Navamske. The EMH purposefully gave Iden tactical information in order to transport to Iden's ship and make sure that Voyager's plan failed. At best, borderline mutiny. At worst, full on mutiny and treason. And in the end nothing happens to him. Perhaps one of the perks of being a hologram is that it gets you out of being punished like an organic.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Wed, Jan 9, 2013, 7:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

I'd go along with the 3 star rating because there is a lot of differing opinions and actions presented in this episode which does give it a bit more of a foundation than most Season 3 offerings.

1) Ardana is clearly stated to be a member of the Federation. In regards to Plasus's actions I take it as him being a rather corrupt (if that's the appropriate term) official. I don't think the Federation has been made aware of the social problems on the planet 'cause Plasus was intentionally keeping it a secret. The entire belief system that the Troglytes are incapable of learning is bunk from the outset. Clearly they are educated in some things. The mining and processing of zenite requires educated and trained workers to be done properly. Clearly the city dwellers chose to leave the Troglytes behind on the surface. It's too bad that we couldn't see and hear more city dwellers and how they feel about things. We only meet Plasus and Droxine and a few guards.

2) Regarding Droxine herself I can see how some people would be turned off by her characterization, but it makes sense to me under the story terms provided. She has lived in the clouds all her life and as daughter of the city ruler she would have all the benefits such a status would give her. Being protected from the truth of her society she would have a childlike naivete about how things work on Ardana. She would believe anything her father tells her. Yet she finds a kindred spirit of sorts in Spock and through his and Kirk's actions she is starting to question the status quo at the end of the episode, which is more than can be said for Plasus.

3) The pon farr discussion is a bit odd. Spock was very clear in "Amok Time" that it is a subject not shared with outsiders. It was all he could do to finally open up to Kirk in that episode. For him to share this information with Droxine (whom he'd only just met) doesn't seem quite in character. But this is one of those times where I just think of it as Spock's human half peeking out. I do appreciate how Droxine is attracted to Spock and not Kirk. Just as with McCoy and Natira in "For the World..." just because Kirk is in the room doesn't mean that he's the one all the women will be interested in. I would never expect a Spock/Droxine relationship to go the distance, but I can understand the initial attraction between them.

4) "We Vulcans pride ourselves on our logic." Obviously, Vulcans shouldn't be expressing pride in anything, but this line is so true to me it is definitely THE quote of the episode. :)

5) And while some people may think Droxine's characterization is not flattering to women, Vanna's certainly is. She is leading (or at least one leader) in the resistance. She can hold her own in a fight, she holds up under torture and she is able to talk one of her fellow Disruptors off from killing Kirk.

6) Probably the most interesting aspect of this particular episode is the concept of Ardana being a planet with a corrupt government gaining entrance into the Federation through deceit. Not only is the Federation (although "Starfleet Command" is mentioned more often) not aware of the social disparity, but here we have Spock saying the populace had done away with all forms of violence when that clearly isn't the case. There are phasers (of a kind) and torture devices with the rays. There is even mention of executions and Plasus's order to kill Kirk if he returns. Sometimes TOS is held up as a naive "love is all you need" type of universe, but episodes such as these show this isn't the case. Is this political subversion on the same scale as DS9? Not really, but I find it fascinating (no pun intended) that this episode seems to be making the case of Ardana tricking the Federation into becoming a member.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Mon, Oct 1, 2012, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

So TOS was given a second chance with mostly new characters and it really works. A bit more action packed than "The Cage" but there is still room for philosophical debate regarding the nature of a "god-like" man.

Considering the differences in make-up, costuming and set design it seems odd to this day that NBC chose to air this episode 3rd in the running order.

But we have some great dynamics here. At this point Kirk and Spock clearly are not friends and there is a more straight on professional relationship between them. We get to see Kirk beat Spock at chess for the first time (or second seeing as this aired after "Charlie X).

You get the sense of long friendship between Kirk and Mitchell, but it's unfortunate that Mitchell couldn't have been established in a few episodes to make his transformation and death a little more tragic.

We get to see the cold unfeeling logic from Spock when he tells Kirk to kill Mitchell NOW.

And Sally Kellerman gives a wonderful guest performance as Dr. Dehner. Her scenes with Mitchell have spark.

Include some nice visuals such as the Enterprise crossing the barrier and the planet sets for Delta Vega and we have a wonderful reintroduction to TREK.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Wed, Sep 26, 2012, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

As usual, production values were fine. At this point in VOYAGER'S run that goes without saying.

I did find it odd for them to be characterizing Torres they way they do here. I don't even remember Torres acting quite so out of control in season 1.

When Tuvok says to Janeway that Torres is unpredictable, I felt the complete opposite. Torres, in Tuvok's mind, is filled with angry emotions and will lose her temper at the slightest provocation. How is that unpredictable.

I also had to laugh at the "warm fuzzy" moment when Janeway tells Tuvok she won't be sending him over because she doesn't want Torres to think Janeway doesn't trust her. Just another example of the main characters doing whatever they want for the benefit of themselves and not the mission or the wellbeing of the ship and crew.

Dawson does a great job as usual, but this is hardly a story which really needed to be told.

Having Torres reflect on her violent act at the end of the episode is a mature handling of this kind of situation which is rarely seen on this show.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Mon, Sep 24, 2012, 9:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

This has always been one of my favorites. Just seeing Kirk grappling with the Gorn is one of the most indelible images of TOS.

Yes, the Gorn costume is a bit silly, but it's still remarkably detailed considering the TOS episode budget and is still vastly superior to anything LOST IN SPACE ever did regarding non-humanoid aliens.

I love the action set piece at the beginning, especially enjoying the fact that Shatner and Nimoy are doing some of their own stunts which adds to the believability.

The chase of the Gorn ship is suspenseful despite never seeing the Gorn ship itself (I know that in the remastered version there is now a Gorn ship).

The multi colored light effect for the Metrons is cool and using Vic Perrin for the voice is effective.

Some of the fight scene between Kirk and the Gorn works really well, some of it is a bit silly. I don't understand why the guy wearing the Gorn suit moved so slowly in the early part of the fight. Was that due to limited mobility in the suit, a choice by the director, or perhaps showing us that the Gorn had physical speed limitations on this particular planet? It does distract from the early part of the fight 'cause the Gorn is moving painfully slow.

Not a perfect episode perhaps, but I'd at least give this three stars. We get an out of doors action sequence, a space ship chase, two non-humanoid alien species (despite the human boy version of the Metrons at the end) and a nice illustration of TREK's "humanity can improve on itself" message with Kirk showing mercy to the Gorn. A great closing conversation between Spock and Kirk and a showing of a rare black eye to the Federation in the TOS era and what's not to love?
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Fri, Aug 31, 2012, 7:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

This episode is about 2.5 for me. OK, but not great. My big problem with this episode is Crusher's motivation. She is a medical officer, yet she becomes enamored with shield technology. No reason for this interest is given. I'd understand it better if somehow there was a medical application to this technology, but clearly there isn't. Anytime I watch this episode I can't get past the fact that Crusher's interest in Reyga's work makes no sense to me.

I did like Picard's dressing down of Crusher for having performed the autopsy. I've never been a huge fan of Crusher myself so I like it on those rare occasions when she gets taken down a peg. :)
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Sun, Jul 29, 2012, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

I love TREK, TOS most of all so this is one of my favorite DS9 episodes for the obvious reason: Kor, Koloth and Kang on screen together.

And being a TOS fan I really only have one complaint with this episode: how do you have an episode guest starring the three main TOS Klingon warriors and not have a Kirk reference. I would have loved to see a scene where the three of them are comparing Kirk war stories.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Sat, May 19, 2012, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

"The Way to Eden" is one of those frustrating episodes for me because if you rip away the silliness and the goofiness there is some great stuff here which is unfortunately not presented well.

I wish DC Fontana's original script could have been made. It would have been great to see Joanna McCoy. It's a shame she couldn't be included later on in TAS or in one of the films, but oh well.

This is a definite 1 star episode. But there are aspects of interest here.

1) I love the extra focus it gives on Chekov. While the "former love interest" subplot isn't new at least it gets Chekov away from the navigation station for a time and opens up his character more. I've heard that Koenig wasn't happy that Chekov was written as being rigid, but to me it makes sense. I don't think Chekov comes across as rigid. But Starfleet is a para-military organization based on the US Navy and Chekov would know that going in. I also like how the character of Irina provides a window to a part of TREK society we rarely see: those people who not only aren't in Starfleet, but who DON'T want to be in Starfleet.

2) Through the character of Doc Sevrin we have a slightly sympathetic villain. Until he contracted his disease Sevrin was probably a pretty nice guy. He most likely never had any desire to visit or live in a more primitive environment, but from the moment he found out he never could I'm sure that's when his transformation began. The concept of this disease is fascinating to me and had it been presented in a better story I think it would make for a great sci-fi concept. His scene with Spock allows us to see past the silly costume and make up and see a person who now loathes the very type of 23rd century environment so many TREK fans (myself included ) wish was real.

3) Tongo Rad is interesting because he seems like the type of spoiled son of a famous father. Being the son of an ambassador probably gave Rad license to do a lot of bad things and get away with it and we see it here in the fact that none of them get arrested for stealing a shuttle. Also, Rad doesn't appear to be upset (unlike Irina) with the idea that Sevrin's manipulation of the Enterprise's acoustics will kill the crew. It's a hint of a dark streak behind the facade of love and peace. I wish it had been developed more.

4) Adam is the one tragic character in all this. Unlike Irina (who seems to allow herself to be convinced by Sevrin that he won't really kill the crew) Adam appears to believe heart and soul in the idea of Eden and Sevrin's message. He befriends (to a degree) Spock and then fails to listen to Spock when Spock tries to convince him of Sevrin's true intentions. He hides behind his music. Once Sevrin starts tampering with controls what does Adam do? Start singing a song about the beauty of Eden. For him to be only one of Sevrin's followers to die makes sense. While we don't see the landing of Sevrin and his followers I can picture Adam being the first one to leave the shuttle and go running onto the field and grabbing that piece of poisonous fruit.

5) It's not touched upon much but I like how Kirk is seen to at least attempt to give Sevrin and his group a chance. His initial conversations with them are rather heated, but once Spock explains to Kirk what a Herbert is Kirk says "I'll try to be a little less rigid." And we get to see a bit of follow up with that. Kirk allows the jam sessions to be broadcast across the ship (I can't imagine Picard ever allowing such a thing). And when Scotty complains about the followers Kirk recalls doing a few reckless things in his youth. So he's at least trying, until of course the crew and ship are threatened.
And the final line of the episode is Kirk saying "We reach" to Spock. And he's not saying it in a patronizing or mocking tone. He's learned a bit from this experience.

"The Way to Eden" is definitely one of the worst TOS episodes which is a shame. Had they stripped away the space hippie theme and the protest songs, it's possible that some of these other themes could have been explored more fully and with a more interesting story. Oh well...
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Sat, May 19, 2012, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

Certainly this episode is not perfect, but I would rate this three stars myself. Unlike most 3rd season episodes "Battlefield" is at least trying to say something. Although the conversations about genocide, civil rights and racism are pretty vague, in spite of that I think some details regarding the affairs of Cheron can be gleamed. Granted, this is only my interpretation but at one point early in the episode Bele tells Lokai that he was "the product of our love." I'm beginning to wonder if perhaps that means Lokai and his ancestors were genetic creations of Bele's people, but for whatever reason the two skin colors came out reversed. And due to the cultural prejudices of Bele's people, Lokai's kind came to be seen as inferior.

I suppose it's possible to compare Bele's argument ("All of Lokai's people are white on the right side.") with the ridiculousness of D'Jamat's religious argument ("The expanse was created in 9 days not 10"). Yet while the cause for the Jihad in "Chosen Realm" just comes across as insulting and silly, Bele's racial hatred seems to hold more importance. I think part of it is Frank Gorshin's performance in the scene and with my interpretation for the cause of the racial hatred on their planet.

Visually, I can see Jammer's point about some of the filming choices being distracting, but outside of some of the closeups of eyes during the self-destruct sequence, I like most of the choices used. A lot of VOY and DS9 feels the same because it doesn't always seem like the directors were using a lot of different camera angles, but in this episode of TOS it feels like the director was trying lots of different things: overhead and underhead shots (not quite sure how to describe those) and even the extreme closeups during the self destruct scene are allowing the show to appear different than usual.

It's not a great episode by any means. They arrive at Cheron way too quickly after having saved Arrianus. If the two planets were so close together it's hard to understand Kirk's argument that they need to fly all the way back to Starbase 4.

But while the ending may be too extreme in the concept of the entire Cheron race having killed each other out of hatred it does provide a very striking and dark ending which usually isn't seen on TOS. Shatner's performance of a resigned Kirk "Where can they run?"), I feel, is right on target. Shatner may not be the greatest actor in TREK, but he always played Kirk to perfection.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Tue, Jan 17, 2012, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

I've often felt the powers at be made a mistake in having Janeway order the array destroyed and purposefully stranding her crew and the Maquis in the Delta Quadrant. I understand that they wanted her to come across as a leader willing to make a tough call, but I know I for one did not feel she was in the right. Yes, the Kazon would have ravaged the Ocampa otherwise, but you can very easily argue that it would happen without Voyager's presence. I think it would have been better if the writers had made the Kazon destroy the array to spite Voyager or simply have the array be so damaged in the firefight that it blows up before Voyager can use it. That way the premise stays the same (Federation starship stranded 70,000 light years from home) and Janeway doesn't get saddled with the blame for stranding them on purpose. It's a more tragic circumstance for trapping them in the Delta Quadrant. But obviously there's no way to change it.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Wed, Dec 14, 2011, 7:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

I watched this episode last night. I'd seen a couple times before from my DVD set. But this time I really didn't care for it. Tuvok was not acting like himself. The way he was carrying on when Kim caught him playing caltoe with the hologram was too much like "But baby, we were just playing Vulcan chess!" I guess that is what Menosky was going for, but it Tuvok was a terrible choice to add in to that mix.

As for Harry Kim, again, his characterization in this episode is just terrible. Madly in love with a hologram and then he wants to learn how to purge all emotion?! How is that a reasonable response to his problem? Not to mention he goes through the whole episode acting like he's never been in love before or been attracted to anyone before. Very disappointing.

And I never thought this before, but last night as I'm watching the party sequence my thoughts went to the starship Equinox, also in the Delta Quandrant getting the snot beaten out of ship and crew where as Voyager is having a luau.

And finally, Janeway can say she merely invited Tuvok to the party, but it sure sounded like an order to me.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Mon, Dec 12, 2011, 7:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

The one thing I've never understood about any of these anomaly based episodes is why the ship never flies over, under or around them. Voyager had more than enough room to continue on course and avoid the distortion ring, but they fly through these things and get trapped, affected, encased, etc. Obviously, if the ship doesn't get trapped there's no episode that week, but I agree with you that VOYAGER as a series and we as viewers would have lost nothing had "Twisted" never been filmed.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Thu, Jul 8, 2010, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

While I like the idea of a getting a little more info on the creation of the transporter (almost as equally important piece of starship technology as warp drive) I didn't care for how it was presented here. As usual Archer makes reference to Emory being like a second father to him, but we never hear about it until now. So I don't buy the connection.

Also, it just seems a general stretch. I can buy Archer knowing Cochrane 'cause Cochrane and his father were warp specialists. But why would they necessarily become buddies with a man working on creating transporter technology? Oh well. It's not that big a stretch and in lieu of other logic gaps in the ST franchise this one almost doesn't register.

I guess I just don't buy the time line as it's presented here. In "Broken Bow" Mayweather comments to Reed that the transporter has only just recently been approved to for in beaming lifeforms. But would Emory still be alive at this point when we meet him? You would think the time needed to make transporting humans safe would be a lot longer than it seems to presented here.

I could be off on my timelines here, but it's the impression I have. ST manages to jam in a lot of tech advancement in 400 years.

I don't think it's a bad episode, but not the truly revelatory origin of the transporter story I would have liked.

I would recommend reading the TNG graphic novel "Forgiveness" which gives an alternate version and creator of transporter tech. Much more interesting.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Thu, Feb 11, 2010, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

So I'm watching the Xindi arc in its completion for the third time now (why? I don't know) and I noticed something I hadn't before: A whole half of a year goes by (probably longer) from the first attack on Earth to the crew of Enterprise even meeting a Xindi.

The Xindi attacks Earth, it takes however many months at Warp 5 for Enterprise to get back to Earth. It takes however long for Enterprise to refitted with new weapons, the Command Center, etc. Then they have to launch and travel 5 months (!) just to reach the cloud that surrounds the Expanse. Then a further month and a half which takes us to the events of "The Xindi." Archer was definitely right when he told Forrest that Future Guy wouldn't have warned him about the Xindi if there wasn't a good chance of stopping them. You would almost think that by the time Archer and Reed were first visiting the mining facility, the full size weapon would have been near completion.

The ST franchise rarely did story arcs, outside of the Klingon episodes in TNG and the Dominion War on DS9 so I think that's one reason why I keep watching the Xindi arc from time to time. But for some reason I've only just noticed just how much time has passed from "The Expanse" to "The Xindi." I don't know what that says about my attentiveness as a viewer, but at least it shows that even some of the weaker episodes of the franchise can give a viewer something new to think about after repeat viewings.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Mon, May 18, 2009, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

So the Xindi arc begins. Having gone back to watch this episode one thing I noticed in the council scenes is how prominent the Insectoids are. In fact the Insectoid council member gets the closing lines of the episode and the final scene.

Because we saw so little of the Insectoids in this season (and they were the species which interested me the most) I enjoy whatever bits and pieces I see. I understand that from a cost perspective it's still cheaper to go with actors in makeup than CGI characters, but here was a chance for ENTERPRISE to focus on some truly non-humanoid aliens and I don't feel that took full advantage.

The Archer/Trip plot of being captured is repetitive of other episodes in ST, but one thing I had forgotten was how quickly it wraps up. Most episodes with this type of plot wouldn't have rescued the crewman(men) until the last act. But act 4 of this episode as everyone back on Enterprise and Trip and T'Pol doing that stupid neuropressure stuff.

I can only guess that the writers were wanting to get a Trip/T'Pol romance going. In a way I felt that since "Breaking the Ice" from S1. I can only assume that this "intimate" relaxation technique was the writer's way of getting Trip and T'Pol to relax with each other and become more comfortable. But there are more dramatically satisfying ways to do that, I would imagine.

Bakula's performance is quite stunning. In the first two seasons I kept feeling Archer was too much like a John Denver/type. Overly friendly, aw shucks, thank god I'm a Starfleet boy type of thing. Starting here and through the rest of the series for the most part Archer grows up. I felt I could take the character more seriously because Bakula was.

I've been enjoying this site for a couple of years now. Can't wait to read your review of ST XI. Thanks for giving us fans the chance to voice our opinions too.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.