Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 301 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 19, 2017, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Fun fact: The assassins in Star Trek VI were killed with "phasers on stun at close range" and they had clearly been shot in the head. So apparently a stun setting can kill in the right circumstances. Or maybe, more likely, these things are just at the convenience of the plot du jour.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, May 17, 2017, 11:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I've put up a dedicated blog post about the trailer. Maybe we can move the conversation there because this thread is getting so long.

http://www.jammersblog.com/2017/05/17/star-trek-discovery-trailer/
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, May 4, 2017, 11:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

I find it interesting that certain people on this message board go to such lengths to ascribe everything they see everywhere to some sort of leftist agenda that must be mocked and opposed. Seriously, why are you peddling your (false) narratives so endlessly?

Frankly, it's annoying. And it's not annoying because we're such fragile little snowflakes. It's annoying because it's so clearly trollish behavior and false as it pertains the forum in which it is posted. I don't see these supposed leftist PC-mongers making blanket statements about the right on this board, despite all this talk about how much the left is just oh-so-pushy with their stupid viewpoints.

"Clearly, I've struck a nerve." Okay, yeah -- it's the nerve where you bring in unrelated political bullshit where it's not prompted, needed, or wanted, over and over again.

But, hey, I allow it, because I want to be inclusive and allow open discussion and a range of viewpoints. If you don't want to be annoyed, the internet is probably a bad place to be.

But I also pride this commenting forum as a place for civility. This is one of the few places online where people aren't always slinging mud and engaging in pointless partisanship, most of the time.

Now, I usually don't venture into the political fray, because there's little point. If there's one thing I've learned, it's that no one is going to convince anyone else to change their mind. But your political viewpoints are not the issue. At issue is insulting people unprompted with blanket statements based on some presumed political affiliation. Why is that needed here?

@Robert: "I could make a 40 page long essay calling the right out for being jackasses and hypocrites, but there's no need... it's a Star Trek site."

Yes. This. Exactly.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 9:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

The review is now posted and the comments have been unhidden from the all-comments stream.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Mar 30, 2017, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

Luke seems to have deliberately misread what I specifically railed against in the review to support his argument against supposedly prudish Trek fans: not the fact of the existence of the so-called sexuality, but the completely stupid and inane way in which it was presented. And it wasn't even the number one complaint on my list. (I led with the derivative and overused nature of the A-story.)

Also, I've talked about this in my reviews for BSG, which actually deals with these things. No complaints there.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

I've always tried to err on the side of allowing open conversation and not moderating/deleting comments, unless they veer into slurs or hate speech. And on the whole I've always marveled at the high quality of the posts and civility here. It is reassuring.

That said, there's always the exception who acts like an asshole, but what ya gonna do.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

While there are tons of examples where it would be more plausible to have mission-dedicated personnel doing specific tasks, this always comes down to a TV rule that trumps that idea -- which is that the show is ABOUT the main characters and they are the ones we want to actually see in these stories, rather than a bunch of one-off guest stars.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

No one will win this argument. At a certain point, and that point has passed, everyone just digs in and talks past each other. The best solution is to just call it done and move on.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 12:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

So this is where I ask that everyone keep it on topic and not turn this thread into an argument on Trump and politics. There is more than enough of that elsewhere. We don't need it here too.

If you do feel the need to discuss it with the other members of this community, take it over to my Trump parody blog post where it at least will be somewhat on topic and won't pollute the overall comment stream.

Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 10, 2017, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

A note about humor. I absolutely agree that humor is necessary in serious drama. It is what separates many great works from the mediocre slogs. "The Sopranos" was practically a comedy, for example, and "The Wire" also was often very funny. I think it comes down to the humor growing out of the characterization and circumstances naturally.

This is why the Ferengi rarely worked for me. With the exception of Quark and Nog, they were overplayed cartoons out of step with everything that surrounded them.

I haven't seen "The Assignment" in a very long time, but that is my recollection of how it used Rom -- indeed, how Rom was usually used.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I haven't seen "Arrival" and don't know when or if I will get a chance. My wife and I did take our little ones to see "Moana," though, and liked it a lot.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

The original rating for this I believe was one star, at the time right after the original airing, and then changed to zero at the end of the season. So it wasn't like a huge change.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 18, 2016, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@Brandon, before you get all up in arms, you should consider the article and source. I am very suspect, because the article is full of hedged "coulds" and "maybes." And it mentions an "R rating" multiple times, which is just factually wrong. TV shows don't get R ratings; the R rating is a trademarked classification only given to feature films that are rated by the MPAA. TV shows get TV-MA ratings.

And this site is a child-rearing informational site, which makes me question its bias on this issue.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Oct 31, 2016, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Michael Piller has been dead since 2005. Joe Menosky is already on the Discovery writing staff. As for the others, being around doesn't necessarily make them available, interested, or affordable. There are a lot of factors that go into the building of any staff.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Oct 30, 2016, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I have no reviewing projects on the books at this time. There is just no time. Discovery would get major consideration, if they ever get production moving. The Animated Series may get retro-review consideration at some point. Anything else non-Trek is basically off the table, save the stray movie review (e.g., Star Wars).
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Oct 25, 2016, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

FYI, I do delete any messages that are obviously spam, as well as any trolling or abuse that crosses lines of decency.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 3:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

@Peter G: I would say that there really is no such thing as an "objective" review. My reviews are all probably subjective. I try to be "fair" to the degree that I can, but it's all ultimately a sum of my overall feelings.

@Robert: I haven't seen this episode in many years, but I can't shake the feeling that I might have gotten this one wrong and that I might have a different reaction today. I am certainly willing to go against the general consensus, but I don't know that this would still be one of them.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

That's a little harsh, no? Even a good umpire occasionally makes a bad call.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Sep 30, 2016, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

I'm not sure why I remember it this way, and I could be wrong, but I believe Visitor had already had her baby by the time "The Darkness and the Light" was filmed, but her pregnancy was part of the plot, so they carried it through.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

The Scotty "miracle worker" is established with specific dialogue. From "Star Trek III: The Search for Spock":

Kirk: "How much refit time before we can take her out again?"
Scotty: "Eight weeks, sir. But you don't have eight weeks, so I'll do it for you in two."
Kirk: "Mr. Scott, have you always multiplied your repair estimates by a factor of four?"
Scotty: "Certainly, sir. How else can I keep my reputation as a miracle worker?"
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Sep 19, 2016, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

@Andersonh1,

As I have always said, the reviews were not written in a vacuum and are a product of the time. While I am not conceding it per se in this case, "Trek burnout" could possibly have played into my tone, I suppose. As a critic, I was also holding things to a higher standard than "sit back and enjoy." Does that mean I would necessarily react the same way when I show these to my kids in 5 or 10 years? Who knows? The context becomes different.

Again, not specific to this episode per se, which I haven't seen since it first aired.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Sep 14, 2016, 10:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

The most commented by far is the much-maligned "Star Trek Into Darkness," which has 951 comments as of right now. It had 881 before I posted the long-delayed review and split the thread, and 70 more since.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Sep 2, 2016, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Either we are having our legs pulled, or someone is the king of bizarre non sequiturs here...
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Aug 29, 2016, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@Del_Duio, I'm actually with you here. I hope that they keep this mostly family friendly so that kids of a certain age can watch it. It's just a matter of where to draw the line so that the show can work for the more sophisticated audience as well. Most of that, however, has little to do with how graphic the content is versus how good the writing is, so this whole thing is really a bit of a red herring.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Aug 29, 2016, 8:35am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Aw, c'mon, Data saying "shit" when the ship crashed was a perfect use of an isolated curse. It fit the moment, fit the comic theme (despite the larger failure of that comic theme) and felt like a little wink to the audience regarding what they could do in the medium. I still remember the sold-out crowd for that movie, and that moment brought the house down. I just hope Discovery is as good at choosing its moments.
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.