Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 295 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 11:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

While there are tons of examples where it would be more plausible to have mission-dedicated personnel doing specific tasks, this always comes down to a TV rule that trumps that idea -- which is that the show is ABOUT the main characters and they are the ones we want to actually see in these stories, rather than a bunch of one-off guest stars.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 3:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

No one will win this argument. At a certain point, and that point has passed, everyone just digs in and talks past each other. The best solution is to just call it done and move on.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 12:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

So this is where I ask that everyone keep it on topic and not turn this thread into an argument on Trump and politics. There is more than enough of that elsewhere. We don't need it here too.

If you do feel the need to discuss it with the other members of this community, take it over to my Trump parody blog post where it at least will be somewhat on topic and won't pollute the overall comment stream.

Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 10, 2017, 4:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

A note about humor. I absolutely agree that humor is necessary in serious drama. It is what separates many great works from the mediocre slogs. "The Sopranos" was practically a comedy, for example, and "The Wire" also was often very funny. I think it comes down to the humor growing out of the characterization and circumstances naturally.

This is why the Ferengi rarely worked for me. With the exception of Quark and Nog, they were overplayed cartoons out of step with everything that surrounded them.

I haven't seen "The Assignment" in a very long time, but that is my recollection of how it used Rom -- indeed, how Rom was usually used.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I haven't seen "Arrival" and don't know when or if I will get a chance. My wife and I did take our little ones to see "Moana," though, and liked it a lot.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

The original rating for this I believe was one star, at the time right after the original airing, and then changed to zero at the end of the season. So it wasn't like a huge change.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 18, 2016, 3:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@Brandon, before you get all up in arms, you should consider the article and source. I am very suspect, because the article is full of hedged "coulds" and "maybes." And it mentions an "R rating" multiple times, which is just factually wrong. TV shows don't get R ratings; the R rating is a trademarked classification only given to feature films that are rated by the MPAA. TV shows get TV-MA ratings.

And this site is a child-rearing informational site, which makes me question its bias on this issue.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Oct 31, 2016, 1:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Michael Piller has been dead since 2005. Joe Menosky is already on the Discovery writing staff. As for the others, being around doesn't necessarily make them available, interested, or affordable. There are a lot of factors that go into the building of any staff.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Oct 30, 2016, 10:54am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I have no reviewing projects on the books at this time. There is just no time. Discovery would get major consideration, if they ever get production moving. The Animated Series may get retro-review consideration at some point. Anything else non-Trek is basically off the table, save the stray movie review (e.g., Star Wars).
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Oct 25, 2016, 12:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

FYI, I do delete any messages that are obviously spam, as well as any trolling or abuse that crosses lines of decency.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 3:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

@Peter G: I would say that there really is no such thing as an "objective" review. My reviews are all probably subjective. I try to be "fair" to the degree that I can, but it's all ultimately a sum of my overall feelings.

@Robert: I haven't seen this episode in many years, but I can't shake the feeling that I might have gotten this one wrong and that I might have a different reaction today. I am certainly willing to go against the general consensus, but I don't know that this would still be one of them.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 1:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

That's a little harsh, no? Even a good umpire occasionally makes a bad call.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Sep 30, 2016, 8:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

I'm not sure why I remember it this way, and I could be wrong, but I believe Visitor had already had her baby by the time "The Darkness and the Light" was filmed, but her pregnancy was part of the plot, so they carried it through.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 9:04am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

The Scotty "miracle worker" is established with specific dialogue. From "Star Trek III: The Search for Spock":

Kirk: "How much refit time before we can take her out again?"
Scotty: "Eight weeks, sir. But you don't have eight weeks, so I'll do it for you in two."
Kirk: "Mr. Scott, have you always multiplied your repair estimates by a factor of four?"
Scotty: "Certainly, sir. How else can I keep my reputation as a miracle worker?"
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Sep 19, 2016, 11:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

@Andersonh1,

As I have always said, the reviews were not written in a vacuum and are a product of the time. While I am not conceding it per se in this case, "Trek burnout" could possibly have played into my tone, I suppose. As a critic, I was also holding things to a higher standard than "sit back and enjoy." Does that mean I would necessarily react the same way when I show these to my kids in 5 or 10 years? Who knows? The context becomes different.

Again, not specific to this episode per se, which I haven't seen since it first aired.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Sep 14, 2016, 10:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

The most commented by far is the much-maligned "Star Trek Into Darkness," which has 951 comments as of right now. It had 881 before I posted the long-delayed review and split the thread, and 70 more since.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Sep 2, 2016, 3:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Either we are having our legs pulled, or someone is the king of bizarre non sequiturs here...
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Aug 29, 2016, 11:05am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@Del_Duio, I'm actually with you here. I hope that they keep this mostly family friendly so that kids of a certain age can watch it. It's just a matter of where to draw the line so that the show can work for the more sophisticated audience as well. Most of that, however, has little to do with how graphic the content is versus how good the writing is, so this whole thing is really a bit of a red herring.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Aug 29, 2016, 8:35am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Aw, c'mon, Data saying "shit" when the ship crashed was a perfect use of an isolated curse. It fit the moment, fit the comic theme (despite the larger failure of that comic theme) and felt like a little wink to the audience regarding what they could do in the medium. I still remember the sold-out crowd for that movie, and that moment brought the house down. I just hope Discovery is as good at choosing its moments.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 1:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

Yeah, I am kind of a Mr. Sunshine for parts of DS9 S1. I expect if I were writing them today, I would be a little tougher on some. "Move Along Home" and "The Storyteller" are probably good examples. But the reviews are what they are and represent a snapshot of the moment they were written.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Aug 22, 2016, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

There is no way to filter out a user. If you want to ignore someone, well, just ... ignore them, using your mind and a don't-feed-the-trolls philosophy. Without a registration system, which I won't be adding unless I were to see consistent, widespread, and severe abuse that has never been a problem in the past nine years, a lot of features are simply not possible in this sort of commenting environment -- and I don't even know that they are desired.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Aug 10, 2016, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi -- and all who find my reaction to STID versus STB inexplicable, here's my explanation.

I liked STID more than STB because I found it more involving overall from beginning to end, with issues and individual scenes that were more interesting to me. (Those issues stem from: Just what can happen when military zeal goes too far in the name of defense or a cold war?) Now, my biggest problem with the movie was that STID didn't take its ideas to a fully explored conclusion and at the end of the day it chickened out in favor of generic action/adventure. But I also found those action/adventure scenes to be more entertaining overall than the ones in STB. Kirk's battle with Marcus and teaming with Khan was more engaging than the far-too-familiar planet-bound scenes in STB where we had to rescue an imprisoned group of people (the Enterprise crew); I found my patience actually being strained by some of the action scenes and shootouts on the planet. And Krall was a much weaker villain than Khan 2.0.

And believe it or not, I like the alternate-universe examination of the reboot characters in STID. Even, yes, the engineering scene. I understand if you (and apparently the vast majority of Trek fans) hate it, but what can I say -- it worked for me. I found it to be a self-conscious acknowledgement that there is a fourth wall, and that they were messing with it. And still I felt something for Kirk and Spock in that scene.

So there's my reason for why STID edges out STB. It's not a blowout. I didn't love STID and didn't hate STB. They are probably pretty close overall. One gets a just-barely recommendation, and the other misses one. At the end of the day, I have to keep score somehow. That's what the score ended up being.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Aug 3, 2016, 7:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Lest you think I'm trolling my own comment board, I'm just saying that I must not have gotten the memo everyone else did.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Aug 3, 2016, 2:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I have to say, in finally getting to read this site's users' comments about STID, I was surprised at how one of the biggest criticisms was for the engineering role-reversal scene where Kirk dies. So many people were turned off by that scene, and yet for me it worked just fine and I didn't see the heresy that so many other Trek fans apparently saw. Really weird how that works. I had my share of issues with the film, but I still think that scene is fine.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Aug 3, 2016, 11:58am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I think you can do both. You can scale back a little to keep the budget in line with the likely audience turnout while also still making it an event film. First Contact is probably a good example. Only you could probably do more with less with the technology of today.

Trek films have always tried to find the balance between broader action movie and Star Trek ideas. With the reboot they went in the direction of more ambitious production and simpler scripts. But now the box office may force going a bit in the other direction, assuming they don't just double down on what they've been doing now for three movies. But who knows; I'm hardly a movie studio or box office analyst.
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.