Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 311 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Sep 19, 2017, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

Being moved to Thursday was the plan all along, and so it should not be seen as a bad sign. The 6.6 million number, while less than the premiere, is solid. The test will be what that number is on Thursday in its regular timeslot. If it holds in the 6 million range on Thursday, I'd imagine they are in pretty good shape.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

I wasn't arguing for one or the other. There are pros and cons to both. Having fewer episodes means tighter focus and can mean the writers can really craft a full-season story without the bloat and exhaustion. But it also means you don't get what could be wonderful one-offs.

I don't know how a staff used to turn out 26 episodes in a year, honestly. If you are going to have more episodes you probably need (and have) more flexibility to do standalones. An arc that long (e.g., ENT season 3) can be awfully hard to sustain.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

American TV is definitely headed in that direction. A lot of new shows, especially on cable or streaming, are 10 or even 8 episodes. Discovery season one will only be 15, and that was after being extended from the original 13.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Sep 13, 2017, 4:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

@Brian, this idea was acknowledged pretty much head-on with a follow-up in "Star Trek VI."

Kirk: "Spock, you want to know something? Everybody's human."
Spock: "I find that remark ... insulting."

Got a big laugh in the theater, too.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Sep 12, 2017, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I am intrigued by this notion that "The Orville" will get a pass simply because of what it is not -- that is, dark Trek -- and simply because of what it *is in theory*, that being lightweight optimistic episodic Trek.

But to me, to give it a pass just because of what it theoretically is ignores the merits just like this supposed notion that people think "dark" sci-fi is good simply because it's dark.

Whether it's dark or light is not what makes it good or bad.

The "Orville" premiere was very ... not good. The plot was completely pedestrian, the jokes weren't very good either, and the sincerity and the glibness constantly undermined each other. If you had the storyline beats of "Old Wounds" as a TNG or VOY episode (with the MacFarlane humor removed), it would be derided as a piece of crap. And yet that's okay simply because it doesn't take itself seriously? If that's the case, they'd have been better off simply making it the 30-minute Trek spoof that the marketing sold it as. And I guess our standards have fallen to those of what Kevin Sorbo constantly said about what people wanted from "Andromeda" after Robert Hewitt Wolfe was fired.

Interesting indeed. I can't say that it's an unreasonable prediction. We shall see.

(Also, there's nothing contemporary or gritty about "Stranger Things." That's a nostalgic throwback that's living in the past if there ever was one.)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Sep 12, 2017, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

An executive producer title does NOT necessarily mean "no creative input." It CAN mean that, but it just as often in TV can mean unlimited input. In fact, the EP is often the showrunner. I am not sure of Braga's status on the show, but my understanding is he has a significant role on the writing staff.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Sep 12, 2017, 12:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

"Orville's" chances for survival make for an interesting question, and probably have little to do with its quality. Things are different compared to when "Firefly" aired. Networks might have more patience. Plus, I believe all 13 episodes for the season have already been shot, so it seems less likely that they won't all air, especially in light of the fact they are probably willing to give MacFarlane a lot of leeway.

The most likely scenario in light of bad ratings (if that's the case) would be the show airs its 13-episode first season and then is not renewed, like other recent Fox sci-fi shows (cf. "Almost Human").

Anyone see how the ratings of the show were on Sunday? I didn't check yet.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Aug 27, 2017, 7:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi

Unless there is breaking news I have not heard, John Williams is not dead. There apparently was a hoax recently that he died...
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 11:51am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

You are right. Some ratings likely would change. The circumstances under which the reviews were written were very different, spanning years and in some cases decades. I have admitted this many times.

But I prefer to let the original reviews and ratings stand for what they were and the contexts under which they were written.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Certain people just don't want to listen or respect fair-play discussion. They just want to push their narrative at all costs and they entrench themselves because to give an inch or grant that people might be arguing something in good faith is apparently akin to conceding your life, I guess.

It is exhausting and needless. Can we just drop it? And stop saying "concern trolling." That's presumptive and condescending as hell.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 19, 2017, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Fun fact: The assassins in Star Trek VI were killed with "phasers on stun at close range" and they had clearly been shot in the head. So apparently a stun setting can kill in the right circumstances. Or maybe, more likely, these things are just at the convenience of the plot du jour.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, May 17, 2017, 11:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I've put up a dedicated blog post about the trailer. Maybe we can move the conversation there because this thread is getting so long.

http://www.jammersblog.com/2017/05/17/star-trek-discovery-trailer/
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, May 4, 2017, 11:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

I find it interesting that certain people on this message board go to such lengths to ascribe everything they see everywhere to some sort of leftist agenda that must be mocked and opposed. Seriously, why are you peddling your (false) narratives so endlessly?

Frankly, it's annoying. And it's not annoying because we're such fragile little snowflakes. It's annoying because it's so clearly trollish behavior and false as it pertains the forum in which it is posted. I don't see these supposed leftist PC-mongers making blanket statements about the right on this board, despite all this talk about how much the left is just oh-so-pushy with their stupid viewpoints.

"Clearly, I've struck a nerve." Okay, yeah -- it's the nerve where you bring in unrelated political bullshit where it's not prompted, needed, or wanted, over and over again.

But, hey, I allow it, because I want to be inclusive and allow open discussion and a range of viewpoints. If you don't want to be annoyed, the internet is probably a bad place to be.

But I also pride this commenting forum as a place for civility. This is one of the few places online where people aren't always slinging mud and engaging in pointless partisanship, most of the time.

Now, I usually don't venture into the political fray, because there's little point. If there's one thing I've learned, it's that no one is going to convince anyone else to change their mind. But your political viewpoints are not the issue. At issue is insulting people unprompted with blanket statements based on some presumed political affiliation. Why is that needed here?

@Robert: "I could make a 40 page long essay calling the right out for being jackasses and hypocrites, but there's no need... it's a Star Trek site."

Yes. This. Exactly.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 9:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

The review is now posted and the comments have been unhidden from the all-comments stream.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Mar 30, 2017, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

Luke seems to have deliberately misread what I specifically railed against in the review to support his argument against supposedly prudish Trek fans: not the fact of the existence of the so-called sexuality, but the completely stupid and inane way in which it was presented. And it wasn't even the number one complaint on my list. (I led with the derivative and overused nature of the A-story.)

Also, I've talked about this in my reviews for BSG, which actually deals with these things. No complaints there.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

I've always tried to err on the side of allowing open conversation and not moderating/deleting comments, unless they veer into slurs or hate speech. And on the whole I've always marveled at the high quality of the posts and civility here. It is reassuring.

That said, there's always the exception who acts like an asshole, but what ya gonna do.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

While there are tons of examples where it would be more plausible to have mission-dedicated personnel doing specific tasks, this always comes down to a TV rule that trumps that idea -- which is that the show is ABOUT the main characters and they are the ones we want to actually see in these stories, rather than a bunch of one-off guest stars.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

No one will win this argument. At a certain point, and that point has passed, everyone just digs in and talks past each other. The best solution is to just call it done and move on.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 12:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

So this is where I ask that everyone keep it on topic and not turn this thread into an argument on Trump and politics. There is more than enough of that elsewhere. We don't need it here too.

If you do feel the need to discuss it with the other members of this community, take it over to my Trump parody blog post where it at least will be somewhat on topic and won't pollute the overall comment stream.

Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 10, 2017, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

A note about humor. I absolutely agree that humor is necessary in serious drama. It is what separates many great works from the mediocre slogs. "The Sopranos" was practically a comedy, for example, and "The Wire" also was often very funny. I think it comes down to the humor growing out of the characterization and circumstances naturally.

This is why the Ferengi rarely worked for me. With the exception of Quark and Nog, they were overplayed cartoons out of step with everything that surrounded them.

I haven't seen "The Assignment" in a very long time, but that is my recollection of how it used Rom -- indeed, how Rom was usually used.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I haven't seen "Arrival" and don't know when or if I will get a chance. My wife and I did take our little ones to see "Moana," though, and liked it a lot.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

The original rating for this I believe was one star, at the time right after the original airing, and then changed to zero at the end of the season. So it wasn't like a huge change.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 18, 2016, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@Brandon, before you get all up in arms, you should consider the article and source. I am very suspect, because the article is full of hedged "coulds" and "maybes." And it mentions an "R rating" multiple times, which is just factually wrong. TV shows don't get R ratings; the R rating is a trademarked classification only given to feature films that are rated by the MPAA. TV shows get TV-MA ratings.

And this site is a child-rearing informational site, which makes me question its bias on this issue.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Oct 31, 2016, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Michael Piller has been dead since 2005. Joe Menosky is already on the Discovery writing staff. As for the others, being around doesn't necessarily make them available, interested, or affordable. There are a lot of factors that go into the building of any staff.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Oct 30, 2016, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I have no reviewing projects on the books at this time. There is just no time. Discovery would get major consideration, if they ever get production moving. The Animated Series may get retro-review consideration at some point. Anything else non-Trek is basically off the table, save the stray movie review (e.g., Star Wars).
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.