Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 367 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Wow. You didn't find the characters and stories compelling on Lost and BSG? Those shows are both widely heralded for their characters and complex storylines. I happen to love both BSG and Lost, but the one thing I have not heard said about either of those shows is that they lacked substance. If anything, the knock on both shows is that they collapsed under the weight of their mythologies. (Something I would never argue myself.)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 5:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

The review for this episode is likely to be delayed, possibly into next week, because of my schedule.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Regarding my CBSAA issues, I do wonder if it's the Android version that's giving me problems. I've used CBSAA a couple times on my laptop and not experienced the same issues, though it's a very small sample there of only 10 or 15 minutes. Maybe for the next batch of episodes I will try another method and see if my experience improves.

I do think they should make the Android/Chromecast experience better. As mentioned, I've had zero issues with the exact same wireless setup using the Netflix app. Any other Android/Chromecast users having CBSAA issues?
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 12:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

"One of the primary problems I see with this format is that anyone with just a little tech savvy can download all the Discovery episodes for free. I do wonder how many people are paying to watch it opposed to those who are simply stealing it."

It probably depends on time spent versus convenience mixed in with the whole "stealing" ethical thing. I find it much easier to pay for CBSAA to get the best quality I can (although, I've had issues with that -- more on that in a moment) than to look for an "alternate" method that would be much more trouble (figuring out where to get it, then downloading or streaming with some app that would be acceptable to my quality standards) ... rather than just paying the $6 a month, which is really pretty nominal considering I will cancel when the show isn't on.

To me (and probably a lot of busy people), spending $6 is worth avoiding the hassle of some other method. Plus, I do believe in paying for content I consume rather than pirating it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 9:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

"I thought you'd get to 4 stars on this one."

It was close.

"Our sensors have just detected the power signature of a cloaked Klingon ship...."

Perhaps they can detect a cloaked ship vaguely as being in the system, but not pinpoint an exact position? It seems there must be some hand-wave explanation, because that line seems too obvious to have been inserted by mistake and not removed.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Oh, come on, @OmicronThetaDeltaPhi, spare me the victimized melodrama. My comment was a jest-y good-natured sarcastic poke aimed at a fully exposed target who has repeatedly admitted that he has not watched a show he continues to criticize on a near-weekly basis -- a position that is annoying to many of us who have actually done the homework.

If my little joke has changed your fundamental view of this place and you now feel the need to leave, that is certainly your right. But let me make clear that it is never my goal to drive anyone from the discussion. Your previous arguing techniques have shown very clearly that you can dish it out. I figured you could take it too.

On a personal note, there is a certain thing that especially bugs me about critics who pan something site unseen because they *think* they know what it is. It is the very definition of prejudice. Perhaps that's why, against my own better judgment, I felt the need to push back against your constant carping within the Discovery threads.

Look, I don't care if you ever watch Discovery. That's not the point. I know you won't, because you've told us this many, many times. So leave it at that, then. I too am a reader of the comment boards here -- dare I say the *only* reader who reads *all* the comments. So sometimes I have to say my piece as a fellow user. And ragging on something you refuse to watch is, well, kind of obnoxious. But maybe that's just my own personal hangup. I could be above the fray and ignore it, but sometimes I don't. I'm a human participant here too.

Lest you think I don't value your contributions here, particularly on the Orville discussion board, let me take this moment to say that I do. So if you feel the need to leave, that's your right and your choice, but let's please not make it out like I'm some bully who ran you off the playground, or who lowered the wonderful debate here with one smart-assed remark. Because that ain't what's happening here.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 2:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Peter G., I guess my jokey sarcasm didn't come through, even with all the exclamation marks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 9:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Wow! I was really surprised to see that @OmicronThetaDeltaPhi ponied up the six bucks to buy CBSAA and binge all the episodes. Glad you caught up! Sorry you didn't like the show!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 4:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

I have not seen The Expanse, and in fact had not even heard of it until very recently. Sounds interesting, but like you said, there are only so many hours in a day and I am already three seasons behind. So I might not be able to catch up with that one.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 10:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@WTBA: "You questioned why Kol was on the Sarcophagus ship. Did he not steal it from Voq several episodes ago? After they got the Shenzou part...Where else has he been? Maybe I missed something."

You are right. I got momentarily mixed up and was mistaken to question that. I have stricken that remark from the review.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 8:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 8:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Review now posted.

@Ian -- Fixed the credits. Thanks for the correction. Messed up when copying and pasting between files. Too many things going at once.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 3:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated. My week has been busy with other things and I had to put off the review. This will sometimes happen. I am surprised I went this long without it happening already. Both new reviews will be posted tonight.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 11:43am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

"Jammer's commenting system always adds a random space to all links, rendering them unusable. I'm pretty sure it's intentional, though I have absolutely no idea what purpose this serves."

Technical update:

There was some code that automatically added a line break every 75 characters in the comment output. I'm not sure why this was in there, but I've removed it, so this should fix the display on all links, including previously posted ones.

Additionally, I've removed the prohibition of the use of "http://" on links. This was in there to cut down on spam, but the antispam question should hopefully catch most spam without the need for this additional check. We'll see if there's a spam increase with this change. If there is, I might resume this prohibition. Hopefully I won't have to, and this will make posting links easier.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@karatasiospa: "I"m tired to be labeled as a naysayer or a hater just because i don't like Discovery or jj's movies."

To clarify, I don't consider someone a hater or naysayer if they don't like the show and they are critical of it. Totally not my intention and that applies to most of the people with negative opinions here. I was more talking about the behavior of carping endlessly about the show when one hasn't even seen it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 5:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 11:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Gabe, putting an apostrophe after a single character to form a plural is an accepted, and arguably preferred, exception to the rule you are talking about. Google "apostrophe after single character."
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 8:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

"Jammer's commenting system always adds a random space to all links, rendering them unusable. I'm pretty sure it's intentional, though I have absolutely no idea what purpose this serves."

It is not intentional and is something I need to reprogram to fix if I can ever find a few hours to do it...
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 4:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi: {{ This "you gotta see the show in order to have an informed opinion" thing is getting old really fast. }}

I'm sorry, but this is a simply laughable statement. If you have not watched the show, yet continue to comment on every episode post why it is bad or wrong, those posts simply hold no credibility and fall into the realm of the haters. You are using pure hearsay for your judgment.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 1:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Here's the funny thing about criticism. It can be wielded as a weapon when you pick what you choose out of a work and make your arguments. That's a big part of how it works. You say you were curious about this episode until you read comments like Peter G.'s. And now you apparently are re-confirmed of Discovery's awfulness based on having read about it from the naysayers.

Now, let me say that Peter G. makes some very thoughtful points and clearly cares about the moral themes of Trek. His arguments have a certain validity, *if you choose to read the scene that way*. But here's the thing: His commentary takes one point -- Lorca's offhanded remark -- and completely reads it as a blanket anti-intellectual philosophy that the series holds when, in reality, it was a throwaway moment that isn't likely to be read that way by the vast majority of the audience. I could just as easily say this series shows Trek standing for its core values in caring about science because the crew takes the efforts to rescue the space creature in the first place. I could follow that avenue and build an argument. I won't do that, because that too was a throwaway moment in what is a nuts-and-bolts time-loop plot.

I guess what I'm saying is, if you look close enough and find what you want to see, you can destroy anything with cherry-picked criticism. I'm not saying Peter G. is wrong to have the feelings he has. Not at all. But for you to buy into them wholesale without having even seen the episode comes across as piling on -- adding a voice to the anti-Discovery crowd without having experienced the shows themselves.

(Which is totally fine and totally something you can do if you want, by the way! I won't stop you!)

As someone who is not sold on Discovery (the jury is out and will be for a while, I think) but thinks it has shown some good moments and deserves a chance and who thinks the detractors are vastly overstating the awfulness based on what's actually on the screen, let me say that I think that Peter G.'s take is not necessarily representative of what is shown on the screen on balance. And just as Peter G. argues the philosophy of Discovery through on one offhanded moment, you are apparently content to do the same based on cherry-picking his and other negative reviews.

Hey, I'm not here to convince you Discovery is good. You clearly don't want to be convinced of that. (And nor would I even make the argument that it is good at this stage.) But you ask "What kind of twisted madness is this series?" And I ask, isn't that language a little over-the-top for someone who hasn't seen the show and is relying on incomplete second-hand information?
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 12:14am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Anti-Jammer
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 6:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

No one listen to Jammer.

Keep fighting each other.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 12:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Putting on my moderator hat here:

It would be great if people didn't feel the need to take everything someone else says as a personal affront, and then building a federal case around who is allowed to say what or whether it is worth their time. Too much of the dialogue here lately is sniping back and forth over, essentially, Who Started It. It gets kind of old and tiring.

Not every comment that seems to be an attack against your viewpoint needs to be rebutted with a comment explaining how that person is in the wrong for attacking you as a person or group. Just let it go, for crying out loud. Ignore comments that annoy you.

I am not trying to silence anyone, but the attempt to score points in a battle over who insulted whom is a waste of everybody's time. You can't win such an argument. So let's make it about the shows, and not each other.

Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Review now posted.
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.