Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 388 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 10:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

To answer a few questions with no particular methodology:

@Karl: No, I won't be revising the ratings retrospectively. There's just little point in trying to figure out how the breakdown "should" have been and I'd rather they just stand for how I felt at the time. It do what it do.

@Plain Simple: If you're looking for Michelle Yeoh movies, perhaps an obvious place to start would be "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," which was a big international mainstream (and Oscar-nominated) endeavor outside her action genre roots. (Watch it with the subtitles, not dubbed.)

@Artymiss: If memory serves, Discovery's first season was originally going to be 13 episodes, and they actually upped it to 15. So they had more episodes than originally planned. Either way, whether it's 13 or 15 or 10, that's plenty of episodes to tell a season-long arc. It's all about planning out the story and leaving out what's not necessary.

@Everybody:

The T'Kuvma killing is worth revisiting. I never commented much on it because I think I may have missed something. I am with others who say his death was clearly not intended by the storyline to be this big thing that Burnham did. I never noticed at the time that she specifically set the phaser from "stun" to "kill." I kind of read it as she shot him to stop him from further attacking Georgiou in the heat of the action. I fully admit that may be an incorrect reading.

Like a lot of things on this series, I think this partially stems from a failure of sloppiness by the producers. They didn't comment on it because they probably didn't intend it to be this big decision of "murder" even if that's how it was shot. I only watched the scene once and don't recall the exact shot selection, so I could simply have missed it. But I think the writers missed it too, or that it got changed on the set, or something, because it was never made out to be anything than something that happened in the middle of the action. Either way, I see that sloppiness or omission as being on the creators for making it unclear, or not following it up with dialogue.

Also, @Everyone: I'm not actively taking solicitations on what to review next. You are free to submit them for fun, but the series has already been decided, if I can figure out how and when to make it happen.

Lest everyone think Discovery's reception is universal doom and gloom, there are some positive reviews out there by respected critics who have thought this through. Notably, this one from Matt Zoller Seitz:

http://www.vulture.com/2018/02/star-trek-discovery-season-1-finale-review.html
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

No. The "season recap" is contained in this review. :)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I would take the ratings stats with a grain of salt. The ratings are far from scientific or consistent across the different series, and the serialized/cliffhanger nature of Discovery often makes the ratings a problematic exercise.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Trek fan: Let the speculation begin!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 5:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Feb 1, 2018, 12:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

It's not the reveal of Lorca as a season-long liar that bugs me *per se*. It's the reveal of him as a liar so they could give us a character with so little depth or nuance just to then kill him off. It all feels so pointless.

Now, if the Discovery crew does some serious soul searching over how they were fooled and betrayed, that would help ease the annoyance some. But based on the show's track record, I suspect it will be hastily on to the next thing with little reflection on the events that have happened.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 9:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 8:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

No, the full-season recaps ended with Enterprise in 2005.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 4:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

The streams for "Despite Yourself" and "The Wolf Inside" were both very good, with only a handful of video stutters. But the stream for "Vaulting Ambition" was terrible, full of dropouts and several lengthy "buffering" delays. Sigh. CBSAA is still woefully inconsistent (using the Android app and Chromecast).
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 11:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 11:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

"By the way, I'm start to wonder if something happened to Jammer. He normally doesn't take this long to post his reviews..."

You clearly haven't been here long enough. :)

I am determined not to fall behind into a backlog, but posting the day or two after airing, while a goal, will not always be possible. I have two kids under the age of 5, a full-time job, and household obligations that make time a premium. Sometimes the reviewing schedule just won't work out. I am frankly amazed it has so far since the fall.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 7:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The reveal that Sharon is a Cylon is the last shot of the miniseries. And every episode of the first season, starting with the first, begins with a prologue about the Cylons having many copies, with a split screen showing Boomer/Sharon. Not sure how you can say that wasn't a clear, defining part of the character from the get-go.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

10 years?

Try 20.

:)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 10:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Wow, you guys are a tough crowd.

Culber's death is important because it shows a character (Tyler) that has now done something truly awful that he will have to answer for -- something that cannot simply be undone (MU and sci-fi twists notwithstanding). It will force consequences. And because it's not a random redshirt, it will have consequences for everyone else. It's a character death that has meaning *because* the character was part of the ensemble. It is not simply "shock value." It was shocking, yes, but it will also have character value (assuming it's not totally botched, which I don't think it will be), because it will simply have to.

And why all the hate for the Voq/Tyler storyline's predictability? The point isn't the reveal; it's the implications that follow. Tyler's persona, even if it is false, has taken on a life of its own. It may not be "real" in the strict sense, but it's real to Tyler, just as Boomer's identity on BSG was real to her. That's the whole point -- the horror of realizing you are not who you thought you were as explored with a sci-fi concept (albeit one already done masterfully on BSG) and what that means to you.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 11:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 4:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Dec 5, 2017, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 10:56am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

@FD -- I read all the comments. Thank you for your kind words.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Nov 30, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Wow. You didn't find the characters and stories compelling on Lost and BSG? Those shows are both widely heralded for their characters and complex storylines. I happen to love both BSG and Lost, but the one thing I have not heard said about either of those shows is that they lacked substance. If anything, the knock on both shows is that they collapsed under the weight of their mythologies. (Something I would never argue myself.)
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 5:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

The review for this episode is likely to be delayed, possibly into next week, because of my schedule.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Regarding my CBSAA issues, I do wonder if it's the Android version that's giving me problems. I've used CBSAA a couple times on my laptop and not experienced the same issues, though it's a very small sample there of only 10 or 15 minutes. Maybe for the next batch of episodes I will try another method and see if my experience improves.

I do think they should make the Android/Chromecast experience better. As mentioned, I've had zero issues with the exact same wireless setup using the Netflix app. Any other Android/Chromecast users having CBSAA issues?
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 12:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

"One of the primary problems I see with this format is that anyone with just a little tech savvy can download all the Discovery episodes for free. I do wonder how many people are paying to watch it opposed to those who are simply stealing it."

It probably depends on time spent versus convenience mixed in with the whole "stealing" ethical thing. I find it much easier to pay for CBSAA to get the best quality I can (although, I've had issues with that -- more on that in a moment) than to look for an "alternate" method that would be much more trouble (figuring out where to get it, then downloading or streaming with some app that would be acceptable to my quality standards) ... rather than just paying the $6 a month, which is really pretty nominal considering I will cancel when the show isn't on.

To me (and probably a lot of busy people), spending $6 is worth avoiding the hassle of some other method. Plus, I do believe in paying for content I consume rather than pirating it.
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.