Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 182 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 8
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 3:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Ubik
I absolutely adore Doctor Who and will get nerdy about it, but the previous show-runner has a record of using the Time War as an excuse to screw around with the lore. which is probably necessary when you have a 54 year old show about a time-travelling alien.

earth was supposed to be wiped out in the 2900s as shown by The Ark in Space? no problem. you can show a rebuilt earth in the 200th century, and then destroy it again in the year 5 billion, you just blame the Time War for the obvious inconsistency.
I can see why the fan-base doesn't care that much about making sense of the lore, when anything and everything can happen which contradicts the established lore so long as the writers have a handy excuse.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 4:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I know I commented earlier but its a 7/10 for me if I have to use a scale.
it was a very pretty episode, and I finally started to give a damn about more characters, as well as not being annoyed with Burnham in the slightest.
rather I was too caught up in the drama to have a chance to get annoyed with anyone really.

the thing is I can't get over all the stuff we've put up with up to this point, I kept rewinding because I somehow didn't understand the Cornwell situation (which was admittedly my fault), and I still don't like Saru in the slightest.
I'll give it a seven, even though I'm getting really fussy with my complaints, but if the writers can improve on this level of quality I will go to an 8 or even a 9. and for another thing, please can we kill Saru?

Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 10:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I found myself cringing when Stamets took that last jump.
Discovery finally got an emotional reaction out of me other than laughter!

I'm not kidding, this episode is the most emotionally invested I've been all through and I think I've started to care about Stamets.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 9:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

okay yeah, that was crap.
for me it wasn't any one thing, and I can't write you an essay about why I didn't like it, but it was borderline unwatchable.
I got through about twenty minutes and started fast-forwarding, because I was bored and wanted it to end.

@Karatasiospa
the reason I like some darker shows is because they take their ideas seriously, and they put their characters through tough situations. it isn't just because of darkness, but because of the opportunity for character work and also because it allows the upbeat moments to mean more to me.
I don't have a problem with Trek doing this so long as its done as well, and it has been before.

the episode of Galactica where they built the blackbird is one of my favorites because its a lighter and brighter episode after weeks of suffering and misery, and it actually gives that crew something to celebrate.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 7:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Jarvis, I think the writers were trying to be clever.
this is supposedly a set up episode before next week's blow-out, hence "if you want peace prepare for war"

the reason it doesn't make sense is because we've been at war since the pilot episode, and the pilot was the only good time to have a title about preparing for war.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 3:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@skupper
"none of them are the good time fun girl who likes to give advice to everyone"

I know I'm being pedantic but I know guys and girls with Autism who are like it.
thing about Autism/Asperger's it gets all of us in different ways. I love to give advice and I'm always getting involved with stuff, but you won't find me at a disco because I'll have a seizure and have to be led back out.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 3:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@ Paul M.
not trying to wade into an ongoing row but Tilly was literally the first character I picked up on when we were introduced to the show.

without getting all social justice-y I thought it was pretty cool that they bought on an Autistic character who can actually do more than exhibit repetitive behaviors and act sheepish around other characters. she's an actual character, not a severely uncomfortable stereotype, and I like that we get to see her act like a human being.

I would want to see more of her, not just because she has the same condition as me, but because I find her character to be quite quirky and bubbly, and she's just a lot more fun than some of the others.

she may or may not have been a diversity pick but the actress and the writers have made her more than just a token, and the one criticism I do have is actually her character development. Tilly needs an arc just as much as Burnham or Stamets, and we need to be able to see change in her by the end of the season.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 2:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Gul Densho-Ar
damnit!

I suppose I could wait for the next episode, and watch them back to back.
tolerate this then move straight onto the next one before I realise what I just watched.

Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 6:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

so the episode fell on its face in other words.
am I okay to skip this one or will I have to watch it for next week's finale?
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Nov 6, 2017, 6:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Karl I understand that analogy completely and can relate.
part of one of my conditions is that my empathy is atrocious and I have no idea what anyone else is feeling. its like being either blind or clueless sometimes and I sometimes don't know how to act with it.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Nov 6, 2017, 3:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

oh and Data would have needed to be killed anyway because of Spiner.
I'm sorry to be a bit blunt but look at the state of him. Data/Spiner is now wrinkly, losing his hair, and is seemingly getting too big for his uniform.

I love Brent Spiner and I know he can't help being older, but he's been playing an android for 15 years by this point, a character who by definition doesn't age like us, and Spiner can't do anything about his own aging.
I think there was a reason given that Data wanted to explore aging, but I think its more likely that Brent Spiner aged out of the role.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Nov 6, 2017, 3:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

I can't remember much of the film before the big battle set-piece, and I think I'm okay with that.
the battle was one hell of a show, CG everywhere, two whopping great ships smashing each other to bits, that was amazing.
I do agree that its really annoying to have announcements about the shields all the time, but that might be because of how its delivered. (I don't remember complaining when Tuvok used to do damage reports on Voyager)

Data's sacrifice though goes from emotional to infuriating right when you realise that B4 is there because the writers didn't really mean it.
its Data, giving his life to save his captain, this is the big emotional moment where he does the most human thing of all, and its ruined by having a get-out clause in the form of another android.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 7:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

"sir I can explain."
"no you can't! don't even try!"

I think that Riker biting Data's head off is what I'll always remember from this episode.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 7:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I thought it was hilarious when Lorca kept being killed, although that might be my warped sense of humor.
he's so serious all the time and it was a perfect idea making him the butt of the joke.

Set Bookmark
Commander Jameson
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 8:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

(As an aside - I never got to watch Voyager the first time around, as I was at university when it launched and didn't have a TV. I've just spent most of the past two months catching up on this with my partner, who DID see it the first time round, and we've got this far.)

Now, I was all set to hate this one when it started - I could never stand Deanna Troi or, I'm sorry to say, Marina Sirtis, and I've gone right off Dwight Schultz (despite having loved the character of Reg Barclay previously) despite his undoubted talent since I found out about his political leanings. However, what a builder - gradually, I was sucked in by the nature of the story, with a nice flashback framing device (yes, the lighting was very good here), an excellent central performance from Schultz and a real concern over how the story is going to turn out.

I think one of the reasons that the character of Reg Barclay is so compelling is that he's the absolute antithesis of what we normally expect Starfleet officers to be - not confident, relaxed and sure of himself but anxious, shy and with cripplingly low self-esteem despite his obvious brilliance. Perhaps, for these reasons, we identify with him more closely than we would with other cast members.

Actually making the connection with Voyager at the end was a masterstroke - and I'm not afraid to say I started welling up when Admiral Paris told Tom what he thought of him. All th at's been brewing for six series, now. Whoa.

And Neelix the cat is CUTE.
Set Bookmark
Commander Jameson
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 6:34am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

I can’t believe you all missed it – this is a very pleasant re-run of a very ancient myth; namely, that of the Sirens, the seductive creatures that lured mariners to their doom (and to whom only Odysseus was able to remain immune). This is why it features the name-checking of another Greek myth, namely that of Icarus and Daedalus. As such, mixed with the ‘haunted ship that turns into a bunny-boiler’ theme, I felt it worked really well. Tom’s slide into obsession was well done (stubble notwithstanding).

I really like Tom Paris as a character – the wise-cracking, hot-shot pilot is admittedly a bit of a trope, but it’s one that’s been seriously lacking perhaps in previous series of Star Trek and I feel McNiell carries it off really well, even to the point of sending it up as Captain Proton. It’s nice to see him using his range and stepping out of the Paris comfort zone.

A solid three stars from me as in imaginative retelling of an old story, maybe with an extra half a star. Though the ‘full complement of shuttles’ line MUST have been an in-joke. Made me laugh out loud, anyway.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 4:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

I actually didn't like Data's comedy lessons.
those scenes were awkward and cringeworthy, which was probably the point of them, but I don't really do cringe-humor and I thought it was more painful than funny.
I get what its supposed to do for Data's character but I just wanted him to shut up. it was much funnier when Q made him laugh in one of Q's episodes.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

got the potential if it knows how to use it, but I need to be immersed and I need to fall in love with The Discovery and her crew.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

the emotional aspects of Discovery will need to be worked on.
I watched the last two back to back and I felt no emotional investment with what was going on, I could identify with one character and she was a little irritating, I was playing with the tabs on my laptop's browser, and I'm still at that point of calling Jason Isaacs by his real name rather than his character's.

I'm just not attached to anybody still, and I'm struggling to pay attention because I'm not hooked.
that's my one major complaint, lack of emotional attachment and a complete lack of immersion.

the production values are spectacular and its good to see the moral questions being raised, as well as not painting our "heroes" as a group of White Knights. got the potential there for a truly breathtaking show if it doesn't fall flat on its face.
Set Bookmark
James
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 10:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I don't understand the argument that they needed to change things to bring in a new audience. Bringing in a new audience and attracting modern viewers is not a good goal if it ruins a unique series. There are many other Sci-Fi shows out there in this style and we a poorer without the regular style of Trek.

The thing that made Star Trek unique was its cerebral aspects. It dealt with philosophical issues like no other TV show did. It inspired hope in humanity and showed us the beauty that life could become. I feel that reviewers like Jammer never saw this aspect of ST and simply wanted it to be good TV (and you can see this in his reviews over the years where he would completely miss the point of many episodes. E.g. his review of Nemesis, Voyager). Whereas there are some of us who understood ST and understood what questions it wanted to ask and what thoughts it inspired.
Set Bookmark
James
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 8:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

From the review: "Maybe I just need to let it go already."

I would. Originality is overrated anyway. TOS wasn't original. TNG wasn't. Everything is based on something else, and that's nothing new - it's how it's always been. Everything is recycled.

Add to that the fact that I forget plots quickly (I couldn't remember the TNG equivalent for this or the previous episode despite having seen them multiple times) and I'm finding the show enjoyable enough. 15-20 years ago I probably would have been horrified at myself, the Trek puritan that I was. I guess I just analyze things less these days.

I never thought I'd enjoy this show - I can't stand Family Guy or its comedic siblings.
Set Bookmark
James
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 4:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Also, from the comments it seems a lot of people are unclear on why Burnham was seen as responsible for the war. For me it is obvious (though not at first) that the idea was that shooting T'Kuvma when the plan was to capture him led to the war - "If you kill him you make him a martyr - someone they can fight for endlessly". Yet Michael did just this in a moment of anger: as Sarek said her human heart her "failing".

The show is a lot more coherent after you've had a chance to think about it. To me that's bad direction. So maybe Fuller was right to be unhappy with the network's choice of director.
Set Bookmark
James
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 3:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

This episode cleared up a lot about what this show is going to be, although much of it is still an enigma. It seems pretty clear to me that the Discovery's crew - in contrast to the Shenzhou - was presented in an intentionally unStarfleet way to highlight Burnham's adherence to Starfleet values. Ironically she is the one seen as anti-Starfleet.

I think the main failing of the show so far has been to show how the war has changed the Federation. It should have been made crystal clear that the stakes were different now that the Federation is at war. We should have gone into Episode 3 expecting a tougher, more ruthless and more military Starfleet because of the war, which would have been a good set-up for the introduction of the enigmatic Discovery.

Finally, the spore travel? It's silly, but for all we know it could be an hallucinogen.
Set Bookmark
james
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 7:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Awesome. Star Trek Lives.
Set Bookmark
James
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 10:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

I actually agree with the 3 star rating. It's just that the "flaws" mentioned concerning unoriginality and reliance on a previous era have been present in many very highly regarded ST episodes, which existed almost purely for the fanservice. Never transcending roots wasn't a problem in Trials and Tribble-ations, was it?
Next ►Page 1 of 8
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.