Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 100 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Jake
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

this is what introduced me, age 9 or so at the time, to the true nature of 'to be continued'. I remember having the TV on for another *three hours* wondering when the continuation would be, before realizing I'd have to tune in next week.

... nope, not even that.

it was a long summer.
Set Bookmark
Jake Brimberry
Sat, Jul 15, 2017, 8:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Watchin this episode on netflix..im curious as to how they were able to get from one ship to the other
Set Bookmark
jake
Mon, Mar 10, 2014, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: We've Moved and Stuff

im really late to this website but thank you for all the posts, you havnt posted in forever and probably wont see this but thank you for being my after episode go to website every time
Set Bookmark
Jake Sisko
Sat, Dec 28, 2013, 3:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I don't understand why this episode has so many haters. Ok, the premise was far fetched and unrealistic, but DS9 has continually chosen to prioritize the exploration of humanistic response in extreme situations over plot logic or continuity. This episode does that in spades, asking the question how far can a charismatic, obsessed leader go and how far will his crew follow. It's DS9s adaptation of Moby Dick.
Set Bookmark
Jake Sedge
Thu, Aug 29, 2013, 11:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

I was quite entertained by the episode, but I can't believe no one has picked up on the 'The Captain is always right' which is completely against the spirit of Trek and sounds like it's been plucked straight out of Animal Farm! Then Seven pretty much likens the command structure to the Borg and says that she has to suppress her individuality, certainly sounds wrong to me!
Set Bookmark
Jake
Tue, Feb 19, 2013, 4:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

Absolutely fantastic episode. I really like Bashir so managed to get quite immersed in the story, I've never gotten quite so emotional about a TV childbirth, I felt so happy for him!

I also noticed the Mother Theresa parallel, although her philosophy was to keep them alive as long as possible despite the suffering as she believed letting them die was against God's will whereas Travean wanted to end their suffering. Both were doing what they believed was right, but they were both ultimately unhelpful and misguided endeavors.
Set Bookmark
Jake
Wed, Dec 19, 2012, 7:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Never mind the fact that there's a war going on. No, we have to waste our time with bullshit like this & "Badda-Bing, Badda Bang." And Ira kept insisting this was the 'realistic' Trek?
Set Bookmark
Jake
Mon, Dec 17, 2012, 7:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

"What gave the DS9 characters "depth" was not their backstories but the writing which allowed them to form more believable relationships based sometimes on conflict but also understanding."

I'd say TNG did this, too.
Set Bookmark
Jake Cannon
Sat, Sep 22, 2012, 1:26am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

I really see this episode as penance for "Dear Doctor", and moreover, the various episodes of TNG ("Homeward", I'm looking at you!) that presented really reprehensible ethical decisions under the guise of the almighty Prime Directive. Archer's speech on compassion and empathy is surprisingly touching, and the episode hits all the right marks. This is Star Trek at its best, and all in a bottle episode to boot!
Set Bookmark
jake
Fri, Aug 31, 2012, 6:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

@Mark
"I love Worf in TNG but in DS9 he became more real"

NONE of Worf's DS9 moments matched the power of the moment in TNG when he kills Duras.
Set Bookmark
Jake
Mon, Jul 16, 2012, 6:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

@David Clark:

Oh, please! Knowing DS9, this episode would've ended with Sisko resolving the issue by talking to those stupid wormholes aliens.
You see, for all of Ira's hot air about how 'different' & 'believable' DS9 was, it was no less susceptible to cliches as the other Trek series.
Set Bookmark
Jake
Mon, Jun 11, 2012, 7:50am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

And this is not worthy of the 3 stars you gave the similarly-themed & similarly-contrived "Our Man Bashir" because.....?
Set Bookmark
Jake
Fri, Jun 8, 2012, 8:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

While I'm happy Odo thanked Quark for telling him to snap the hell out of it, why doesn't he also thank Worf for saving his shapeshifting ass when he catches Shakaar's would-be killer while Odo's too busy moping about Kira?
Set Bookmark
Jake
Thu, May 3, 2012, 11:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

Latex Zebra:
"The point Phil Farrand misses in his nitpick is that they also destroyed the colony... New Bajor was it. Probably others. You just slink back to the Alpha quadrant and close off the wormhole after innocent people have been wiped out.

Not on my watch!"

So, you wouldn't close the wormhole, thus ensuring that the Dominion couldn't wipe out any more people on your side?!?
You MUST be one of those gung-ho types.
Set Bookmark
Jake
Wed, May 2, 2012, 5:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

Capt. Keogh: Starfleet's orders are simple. No traffic through the wormhole until we investigate the Jem'Hadar threat.

Then he & his ship get blown to bits and, next season....we see traffic going through the wormhole again.

Am I the only one who finds this odd?
Set Bookmark
Jake Sisko
Sat, Mar 24, 2012, 5:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

One more thought for a bit of irony: when GR created TOS, he had more women on the ship and his future wife was cast as the first officer to Kirk. The network was against this and had him recast a man (Spock!) as first officer as well as reduce amount of women from 50:50 to 1/3 of the crew. So GR experienced first hand a similar censure that the fictional Bennie Russell faced (although it was gender vs race).
Set Bookmark
Jake Sisko
Sat, Mar 24, 2012, 4:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

To me, this is a top five episode. I don't understand why people are complaining that this episode has no relevance to Ds9. There are several amazing episodes that also have little to no relevance main arc-wise (Episodes like "The Visitor" and "In the Cards" come to mind). Imho, these types of "non relevant" episodes add extra flavors to create a more complex show that the other Trek series couldn't come close to. Sure, it doesn't fit GR's ideal views on race (true color blindness), but in defense of Ds9, GR only showed us one side of the coin and ignored the other, which is far easier than how Ds9 tries to show us both sides. This episode shows us the side of the coin we rarely get to see in the Trek universe. In the process of achieving a utopian society, we must not forget our dark past and the growing pains required to create a new world.

"Far Beyond the Stars" remains true to the primary reason why I love Ds9; it doesn't hold the punches. The episode is painful to watch because we as an audience are forced to live vicariously through Bennie. It is a visceral reminder of the recent norm we would like to forget. As for Avery Brooks over acting, I don't presume to know what it was like being black in the 1950s. Maybe that type of breakdown was not uncommon in a society that judged people of any color other than white as lesser beings.

Finally, I'd like to say that I think this episode had a positive message overall. As a society, we have progressed from the kind of institutionalized racism shown in the episode and although we are far from GR's vision, we are slowly but surely getting there. I think that by remembering the past, we can move forward towards GR's vision of equality with resolve as opposed to the acquiescent meandering could get caught in if we forget the past.
Set Bookmark
Jake
Tue, Feb 28, 2012, 5:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

RT, that excuse for Sisko sticking his damn nose in something that's not his business is even less convincing that Mr. Burns disguised as Mr. Sinrub
Set Bookmark
Jake Sisko
Fri, Nov 11, 2011, 5:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

Overall, I liked the episode; I like any episode that focuses on interesting characters. The colorful characters, alienation, and the new sense of purpose they found in predicting the outcome of the war made for some very interesting situations.

The only thing I didn't like about the episode was the idea that predictions get more accurate over time. They don't, at least according to Chaos Theory (butterfly effect). Later states have an incredible dependency on even the smallest factor among the initial conditions, which as we saw with Sarina, are not always considered or even known.
Set Bookmark
Jake Tee
Fri, Sep 16, 2011, 2:29am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Unimatrix Zero, Part I

I dont understand how if they can't remember whats what happens in Unimatrix 0 then how is it that seven can? How did that lover of hers die, then come back in the unimatrix? All in all part 1eft me confused. I get there are there to plant a virus to kill all borgs, but i don't understand how the hell the memory thing works. Arg. Two popcorns because im lost in the delta space.
Set Bookmark
jake t 7
Tue, Sep 13, 2011, 4:30am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

great episode. 5 popcorns
Set Bookmark
Jake Taylor 07
Sun, Mar 13, 2011, 11:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

The above comments are for "Coming of Age"
Set Bookmark
Jake Taylor 07
Sun, Mar 13, 2011, 11:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

In this first season episode, we follow the familiar A/B storyline. In the A plot the Enterprise is being investigated by one Lt. Remmick who along with Admiral Quinn has come aboard to determine 'what is wrong' with the ship. In the B plot, oddly for which it is titled Wesley takes his academy entrance exam on the planet Relva.
Lt. Remmick proceeds to observe the bridge crew a bit, then question First Officer Riker about the captain. Riker’s offended and storms into a lift, telling him he will answer questions later. Way to cooperate there Number One. Yes, Remmick is written as an ass, and the actor portrays him as such during his subsequent questioning of the crew.
Meanwhile, Wesley makes friends with fellow Academy hopefuls on the planet, and befriends a Benzitte named Mendon. Here he helps him with words of encouragement. Wes passes many of the early tests without issue, including a (supposedly) hotheaded officer who tries to pick a fight with him. The Lieutenant who runs the testing facility, Chang (no not the Kingon commander from Star Trek VI, just a token Asian in command) sees this altercation and commends Wesley on standing up to the bully. Wesley explains that he noticed that he had webbed hands. He told Lieutenant Chang that he knows his race thinks being police is phony, so stood up to him. Mendon tells Wesley he’s so smart, and he'd wouldn't have known that. So the only reason Wesley didn't get his ass kicked, is because he happened to know about this rare one off alien race we've never seen, and will never see again. This whole altercation is weird and really comes off awkward. It makes little sense from an viewpoint, and succeeds only in making Mendon feel inferior.
Back on the flagship of the Federation, Picard and Remmick are on the bridge when on the civilians, a teen boy, steals one of the shuttles, and gets caught in the gravity well of a planet. Remmick, in true ass mode interrupts Picard during the boys call for help in which we learn he has 30 seconds to alter course before he crashes. Remmick things this is a good time to tell Picard that if he dies the boys blood is on Picard’s hands. Well I can see that, but I mean he sure picked a awful time to state the obvious. Picard is clearly, and understandably annoyed at the guest lieutenant. He then instructs the boy to safety, showing that when he gives an order people trust him, and they listen. He even goes so far as to say "This is Picard...giving you an order..." I know its the first season, but the arrogance of the characters is so high to think that this boy frightened out his mind, clearly already unstable is going to follow instructions from the captain which I may point out instinctive would seem wrong, would snap into obey mode on a dime. I mean the kids not even a cadet! Alas, the boy is saved and even Remmick gives a "yes!" and a fist pump before reverting to full dick mode, and continuing his investigation of the crotchety and snobby old English accented French captain.
Wesley is back on the ship during his break, and is walked in on by Worf while in the holodeck. No not caught with a holographic version of Lt. Yar topless or anything- just standing there. Worf asks what’s up and Wesley tells him he’s worried about the phsyc test. In a nice moment Worf tells him not to worry about things he can't control, and says "only fools have no fear." I want you to remember that as later this human side of Worf disappears and is replaced by the cardboard cutout Klingon warrior Worf. In fact I am almost positive at one point in the series later on he says "I fear nothing!", but that is neither here nor there, and on with "CoA"....
The question continues until it reaches the point where Remmick finally get to Picard himself. Well see Picard's had enough of this without knowing what this is all about, so he goes to his friend, and Remmick's boss, Admiral Quinn. Quinn brings Remmick and he delivers his report: he can find nothing wrong on board the USS Enterprise. It seems his whole heel persona was just a tool for his investigation. In fact he even tells Picard he'd like to serve there in six months when he’s free from Quinn, and Picard gives him the no fing way look. Picard then says to Remmik what’s this all about? Quinn hints the infiltration by something, or someone (which sets up the seasons later episode "Conspiracy") and he had to be sure Picard was who he said he was. Picard is angry at this whole ordeal. That’s when Quinn thinks it would be a good idea to offer him a promotion to Admiral and a post as commandant of Starfleet Academy. Picard is still annoyed, and now befuddled. Why? Quinn says he needs him close, and he needs and answer soon. Picard angered that this was all about him tells him he will have on tonight. (Does the Admiral really expect him to accept? We are told they are friends, but Quinn cannot talk to Picard like a man and tell him what’s going on?)
The payoff to the Wes story is that he first passes his physc test in which he saves 2 crew members of the testing center?/ school/ star base on the ground. However during the final academic test he stops to help Mendon with a question which causes him to finish the test second, and no get accepted to the academy as a result! Wes may be book smart, but it seems the kid has no common sense. That is all I can figure from this. Not only is it stupid, but it seems like it would surely be a breech of testing regulations, but whatever.
Back on the ship Picard in his dress uniform, chats with Wesley who is hanging around in the observation lounge. This scene works well as Picard takes the roll of father figure telling Wes to measure his successes from within. Not to worry what anyone else thinks, and that he will get in next time. The interaction between Steward, and Wheaton feels real, and the two will have many more father/son moments to come.
We never see Picard decline Quinn's offer, but we don't need to. We also are not told why it is so imperative that Quinn get Picard home, or what the threat is. Does he want him home because he is concerned for his friends well being? I don’t see how him being the head of the academy makes him any more valuable to defend against this unspecified threat...so we don’t really know why Quinn went through all the motions. So in the end what do have, a nice story about Wesley, and a teaser for the week after next's show...all in all it feels unfinished, some clunky moments, but all in all its enjoyable to watch and well paced. Wesley confronts something that many young people must receives some good advice along the way. The typical early TNG snobiness is there, but its not out of control as on some other episodes. But the lack of resolution on what I called the A story, since it deals with the "larger" aspect of entire Enterprise is unfinished. This is why this episode gets six and points out of ten. Its only half done, even thought its engaging, its incomplete.

Set Bookmark
Jake Taylor
Sat, Mar 12, 2011, 5:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

Man this episode feels so forced in every way. These two people have nothing in common and the are so different, and ages apart. I am shown no reason as a viewer why they should get married. First of all the concept of the whole town being sold to built a "M GATE" is absurd. And that one little bookeeper is going to stop the construction process. Oh yea, I mean they stopped building I 95 when they got to Baltimore because the Nattie Boe Beer Co had a warehouse in the way! Come on! If a project as large as this were this close, Mr. Janeway wouldnt stand in the way. I mean he phone hasn't rang in 3 days anyway we learn. BTW, this goofy thing looks like Farpoint Station, and why the hell would anyone support building this thing, and support buliding it where a town already existed? None of these questions are answered, and none of it makes any sense at all. Its just the usual Voyager boring story that takes up an hour, that is bland and appeals to the masses. Poor storytelling, and unrealistic dialogue.
This episode made me enjoy that idiot Neelix's nonsensical ramblings.
All in all none of this matters, none of it feels real, and I have no reason to care about anyone in this story.
Set Bookmark
Jake Taylor
Thu, Mar 10, 2011, 3:10am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

Is it 2 or 3 stars?
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.