Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 568 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 23
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

"I'm also not sure why they needed to change the character's personality."

Did they? We're not seeing the over-the-top Roger C. Carmel smarm, I suppose, but the TOS Mudd was plenty dark. Even darker, I'd say.

And on to the gay thing -- apply the argument "I shouldn't have to see _________ in my living room" to any other kind of human being, and see how ridiculous it sounds.

Set Bookmark
Jack Strawb
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 7:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

A truly inane episode. Just the absurdities i noticed and typed up while the episode was in progress.

"We've captured the captain we believe to be the most critical piece of this existential war we're engaged in.... let's randomly torture his cellmates!!" (Because the fool showrunner thought "choose your pain" was a cooler game than having an actual, coherent plot.)

--Oh, and there they are, stuck in Klingon space, and this critical starship doesn't have a backup warp drive because tension!!

--So despite running a war-changing secret weapon, Captain Lorca has no security guard, at all?

--And they were somewhere in Fed space they could be captured? Near wherever it was this meeting was held? (Even though, if you have holograms that cross hundreds of light years, why does your most important captain have to ever get in a shuttle, especially in wartime?) The showrunners literally don't care about space, how big it is, what is involved in getting from one place to the next... Things are randomly placed wherever they need to be to propel the random action.

--Is it a shuttle with warp drive? Ten years before TOS? And if it doesn't have warp drive surely it's deep in Federation space since Lorca is meeting in person with Federation officials, but Klingons just happen to be able to find them despite not only being deep in Fed space, but because they were able to crack Fed codes and find out who and what Lorca is and where he'd be because plot. Jaysus.

You realize none of this makes any sense, right?

--The "Klingons" are simply repulsive monsters with gigantic football shaped heads, and once we get to the prison cell Lorca flinches like a little girl as they beat another prisoner, because that's what battle hardened war lovers do, right?

-- The dialogue between Mudd and Lorca is largely nonsensical, and in the worst possible way. “Starfleet didn’t start this war,” says Lorca, who last week told Burnham “you started a war. Don’t you want to help me stop it?” So does this singularly essential captain even know who started the war? When the writers don't even care enough to keep track of who started the war that is the centerpiece of the show, how can you expect the show to succeed?

-- And now instead of being a source of good, productive, generous order, Starfleet is just a bunch of arrogant bullies?

-- And Mudd was once upon a time an honest businessman? Alex Kurtzman: “If something's canon, we will hold it down and feck it to death.”

--Worst exposition dump ever wrt the tardigrade. Let's have our characters stand stock still and read the badly, hastily written scene off of cue cards. Painful stuff.

-- Discovery as a show depends, really, on a stupid populace unable to discern coherence from idiocy. -- Btw, I can come up with a superior alternative to spore drive in five minutes. A creature more in tune with quantum foam and the properties specific its various locations in the galaxy (since foam is known to exist everywhere). Quantum coherence causes the physical need of particles to reconnect with certain arrangements of the foam, which in turn allows the ship to travel to its matching location. Then you don't need the joke that spores have rightly become. And you actually get to teach some physics instead of some nonsense.

-- No, seriously, this happened... as they escape, Lorca leaves the lieutenant behind in the corridor because the guy is literally too weak to walk even with assistance. Less than a minute later, he’s nonetheless recovered enough to beat almost to death an adult Klingon in battle garb.

-- Oh, and Discovery is in Klingon space so without the tardigrade they can’t find their way out because, magically, space is no longer three dimensional and navigation has magically ceased to otherwise exist. Discovery can no longer simply point in the direction of federation space, and "engage." Fookin fookety fook, this is awful.

-- Yeah, and now Saru likes Burnham, even though as he says she once again disobeys a direct order, and suddenly he no longer thinks she's dangerous because, who the feck knows.

-- No, the ship spinning is effing ludicrous. It’s beyond ludicrous. The ship does a barrel roll. Think about it. A barrel roll. There is no possible physics requiring a barrel roll, and plenty of physics insisting that’s a truly bad, bad idea. Just stop.  

--It appears the Starfleet lieutenant was raped for seven months while being held on the "klingon" ship. This passed without comment.

- A "Klingon" prison ship just warped into federation space without anybody noticing, apparently.

--The massive "klingon" ship has a crew complement of 30 or 40? As we know, Klingons don't take prisoners, but this is a dedicated prison ship, somehow? Two starship officers, one dedicated to war and killing, idly watch as Mudd steals their food?

--Discovery has 134 crew members, but can run 300 science experiments at once?

The problems range from small to overwhelming, and the overall problems are these: This a series that actively disregards its predecessor material, that doesn't care at all about space--the very medium in which it purports to occur, and doesn't even know who started its war, when that war is central both to the plot and to its main character.

This is the worst plotted, worst thought out tv series i've ever seen (not Trek, but all of tv), and i don't think there's a close second. This is horrendous on every level of scripting. It's an abomination that can't get canceled soon enough.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I liked it. Yes, it's different. Yes, it's a reboot in all but name. Who cares? The world doesn't owe us anything! I do hope we see more interesting characters and it's not a complete focus on Michael.

I think that's the first time we've seen a replication close up (the new uniform). Very cool to show the scary, incredible energies at work.

Spore drive aside, how does the Discovery have site-to-site transport withn the ship like its nothing? I thought that tech wasn't invented yet.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Aug 1, 2017, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Hero

Just re-watched this. Utter crap. The Tigh stuff was good but the rest of the story was as convoluted and unbelievable the episode with Lee Adama where he is banging some Hooker on Cloud 9 with regrets of some past woman we had never heard of or heard from again. MINUS 5 STARS
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Jul 29, 2017, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

GuyFaux, I think you stopped watching too soon. They did use the catapult at the end to shave three years off the journey.
Set Bookmark
Gentlejackjones
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

A few points.

1) Jammer's reviews are great, I read each one for each episode I watch, but every once in a while, I think he might dismiss the nuance (yes, sometimes precious little nuance) with which some of the scenes between characters are performed. T'Pol is clearly smitten with Trip, and has been since well before the whole "let me give you a massage while I flip the gender roles and reveal my superior dexterity and strength" massage therapy angle came about. The Archer-wife thing was a little curveball, but otherwise the writers have been throwing right over the plate with this coupling. Also, it seems maybe Jolene Blalock plays these scenes in a way she might be best suited (see T'Mir in "Carbon Creek") , as a somewhat desultory, somewhat sultry, pretend-disaffected woman who remains just accessible enough for continued dialogue.

2) If T'Pol wanted to use me to check a bucket-list item, then would let me do my job aboard ENTERPRISE, I would be just perfectly fine with that. Perfectly, perfectly fine.

Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, May 17, 2017, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Looks like JJ Abrams' Star Trek, the TV series. Lots of war, flashy lights, CGI and cartoony "epic" dialogue."

This trailer made the show like like a pile of "adult word for poop"
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Mon, May 15, 2017, 7:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"Not every episode was a hit of course, and the 1st season was a little wobbly from time-to-time, but what a show it was..."

The first season was better than I remember it to be as far as planting seeds for the overall story. On the surface it was poorly acted, with mainly character driven episodes (much like a lot of TNG episodes), but with the benefit of hindsight, there was a lot of good stuff there that made it pretty good in my eyes. But clearly the show took a major turn for the better when Bruce Boxleitner came on board.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Mon, May 8, 2017, 2:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"This was a dreadful film. Has Jammer lost the plot? A lot of poor reviews lately. Perhaps a 5 season run of reviewing Babylon 5 will help him rediscover what good sci-fi is."

Excellent choice. Babylon 5, although visually dated, is still one of the best shows ever made.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Apr 27, 2017, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 2

I remember this arc being so spectacular when it first aired. But after watching it was 2017 eyes, it was pretty bad stuff. God, where to start. They skipped ahead 14 months which is longer than the timeline of the first two seasons. They glossed over so many potential storylines and rushed right to the evacuation. They completely botched the Cylon's motivation for being there and how they went about occupying New Caprica right to the point where they shouldnt of had any motivation at all. Caprica Six gets shot in the head and then comes back two scenes later without even a grimace. Sharon shoots D'Anna in both legs and then next episode shes walking around fine with no explanation. Boomer is there, but they dont even come close to touching on the fact that the people they are occupying used to be her ship mates. Like, that should have been 6 episodes right there considering they spend 20 on her in the first season. They rushed the "D'Anna dreams about the baby and questions her faith" story, it came out of nowhere and made no sense. Like who cares if the Cylons have the baby, whats the motivation? The thing was a rushed mess which left me wanting more while not wanting it at all.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Apr 12, 2017, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I would take the over on this show ever seeing a television screen.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 4:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"The connective tissue employed here, from costumes to sets, is expertly and seamlessly done."

I dont know how you can say it was "expertly" done considering how little sense it makes that the Tantive IV was at Scariff.

Go watch the last 10 minutes of Rogue One and the first 10 minutes of ANH and youll see they put very little effort into connecting the two other than some fan lip service and a couple of good one liners.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Mar 30, 2017, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Wasnt Luke supposedly 16 in ANH? Even if he was 20, its only been 20 since the fall of the Jedi. This "mythical" status they receive doesnt make much sense with that timeframe. It would be like the Clinton Presidential Administration being mythical.
Set Bookmark
EnglishJack
Mon, Mar 20, 2017, 11:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

This episode completely fails when Janeway's 'holier than though' brand of negotiation is not rewarded with instant destruction for the starship and its entire crew.

Put yourself in the (rather large) shoes if Species 8472. You have devoted a huge level of costs and resources to a project which will let you infiltrate the territory of a hated enemy. A scouting force from that enemy stumbles upon your plan and the operation is compromised. However, the enemy commander obligingly informs you that they alone possess knowledge of your intentions and (currently) have no means to report back to their own people.

That is the point where no sane military commander could pass up an opportunity to seal that kind of potential information leak. Simply killing a small number of enemy personnel offers guaranteed security and immediately restores and validates all the financial and individual investment already stuffed into your project.

Letting your enemy go and providing even more information about your weapons and capabilities would virtually be an act of treason against your own people.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Tue, Mar 14, 2017, 8:53am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Hmm, I'm reading this in 2017, but all comments are from 2009 ... I wonder if anyone else has been here in the past five plus years :)

Brendan:

"While everything that was there was nice, it lacked alot. Namely, explanations for any of the significant big questions this series has been about for the last 4 years."

Everything that needs to be explained, has been explained. Not everything has been explained in detail. That's good - it would take away from the wonder and detract from the viewer's imagination and interpretations.

"All Along the Watchtower... no explanation"

It is explained enough. It has to do with a warning or awareness that humanity is entering a dangerous era. I would speculate that it's meant to be humans glimpsing a part of God's plan and struggling to interpret it into something comprehensible.

"Kara's ressurection.... no explanation"

This is well-explained IMO. She died and came back for the primary purpose of being able to lead humanity to its end (our Earth). Once this mission was complete, she ascended. Incidentally, my pet theory (which I can't prove, and don't even believe the writers had in mind) is that each cycle, perhaps one person "ascends" in this way, and that is where the angels/head characters come from - ascended versions of past incarnations.

"The head characters.... no explanation (this one is especially annoying because we were promised one by RDM)"

It is plainly obvious that they are authentic agents of a higher power, ie angels, as Head Six has been telling Baltar for years. This is a mystery that's been hiding in plain sight.

"Hera/God/Watchtower/Kara/Dad/Leoben/Earth connection.... no explanation"

This is the same "question" as above regarding the song. See above explanation.

"The opera house visions, somewhat... but the opera house itself.... no explanation"

This is one of the weak points of the series IMO - the opera house simply represents the Galactica as a large physical place. This is a situation where the visions had the appearance of meaning but no real meaning. Had the visions simply shown Hera running through the Galactica, it would have been no less impactful. So, why didn't it? Maybe they weren't sure where they wanted to go with it, early on. Maybe they didn't want to attempt to match later shoots frame by frame, with a noticeably bigger child actress playing Hera and subtly older adult actors playing the main characters. I suspect this is an area where the writers wish they could tweak the series (along with the star map on Kobol and glowing Cylon spines during sex).

"The hybrids connection to God, and how that worked with Anders.... no explanation"

What would be the point of spelling this out? Their connection to Anders is not directly related to their connection with God, anyway - Anders essentially hacked their network and did the Cylon goo version of a denial of service attack to take the Hybrids offline temporarily.

"How Tyrol gained 50 pounds eating algae rations and working 16 hours a day... no explanation"

I'm sure the writers would prefer this hadn't happened :)

"Other than of course, "it was God's plan". Well, I'm not really satisfied with that explanation."

Sorry :/ Watch a different show, because for good or for bad, that is the overall answer in this series.

"Now, despite these qualms, I would still call this an excellent finale and among the best episodes of the series."

I am glad that despite hating every individual element of the show, you liked the overall show ...... :)
Set Bookmark
English Jack
Mon, Mar 13, 2017, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Bad writing and logical fallacies often plagued Voyager throughout its seven seasons. I enjoy this Trek series as escapist entertainment and try not to feel too insulted when the scripts depart from common sense or resort to convenient conversations between characters to explain points which should have emerged seamlessly within the story itself.

As others have previously noted, the notion that the crew would only begin economising energy expenditure when the ship was almost 'dead in the water' was childishly ill-considered. Tuvok's logical mind was also in shutdown mode as we saw him denying a book, blankets and pillow to Neelix as part of the above exercise. Was it supposed to be a funny moment?

I will not harp on about the rest of the 'negatives' already ably noted by prior posters. Suffice it to say, I blame the writers and the producers who did not insist on some pretty simple rewrites which might have turned this turkey into something more high-flying.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

I think 3 stars is very fair although I'd give it 3.5. I remember being blown the f away when I watched it for the first time 10 years ago. Very few shows took risks like this. I just saw it again for the second time yesterday and I can totally see where Jammer is coming from.

"No normal logical person would put the whole human race at risk just to assuage their conscience. "

After watching it again this is the part that gets me the most. Roslin/Adama were willing to assassinate a fleet admiral 6 episodes ago because she was a threat to the fleet, yet in this episode, with the human race at stake, they raise their hand and salute the new President Baltar without even blinking AFTER his nuke was detonated and AFTER Roslin accused him of collaborating with the Cyclons.

I also dont get why the battlestars were so unmanned. You can have a manned military while not living on the ship. Just have schedules/tours.

I dont mind that they took a bold direction, but they could have gotten more out of the colonization storyline than what they gave us. Hell, considering the absolute drivel that was black market, you could have had many episodes on the subject of colonization.

Season 2 note: After watching this back with older (and "wiser" eyes), after Home Part 2 (which IMO is just the end of season 1.5) this season was a bit of mess with some sprinkles of brilliance with minimal guidance. This show was unable to develop convincing relationships between any of its main characters despite the characters being really strong. Colonel Tigh was relegated to the bottom of the character totem pole after starting the season in a really strong spot with the opportunity to have further stories based on his decisions. All in all, this season should have been 13 episodes with more thought put into the New Caprica story.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"There are layers to those films that Disney would never dare bother with."

Layers of garbage.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Feb 8, 2017, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I found myself quite moved by the characters death's especially Jyn and Erso as they faced their demise on the beach. I dont know why, I agree with most of the sentiment that the characters were pretty poor. But their death scene was pretty riveting.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Dec 23, 2016, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"Why wouldn't Leia be in a battle. She's part of the rebel alliance (and a traitor), she's not some pen pusher on Alderaan."

Why was she in THAT battle?
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Dec 22, 2016, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"But when it transpired that Captain Antilles' ship was actually at the big battle and fled right in front of Vader's eyes, that was dumb. I thought they were goi ng to receive the transmission from far far away. And they took the Princess into this big battle? Why?"

Because the writers are not very smart people. They wanted to have the big Vader slasher scene at the end and have Leia end the movie which they could have done AND kept continuity with the simplest of ideas.

You could have had Vader's ship disable the flag ship, the crew running for their lives getting chopped up and as a last ditch effort, the guy with the plans could transmit themto Leia's ship which would be on its was to Allderan to get Obi-Wan before Vader sliced him through the gut. Boom done. Leia's ship recieves the plans like Vader suspects at the beginning of ANH. Continuity kept, you can still have the holo-Leia at the end receiving the plans and say the line.

"His use at the end worked for that, even though some decry it as fanservice."

It was fanservice because Vader is not a light-saber weilding maniac who slices up random Rebels like they just screwed his wife. BUT, I would argue the scene with Krennic was the true fan-service scene. I would not have had Vader appear until the dark hallway scene with the lightsaber, but they wanted Vader to spit out some punny lines while choking someone with the force.

I thought this movie was great though. The fact that absolutely everyone dying at the end hit me pretty hard, more than I thought but Im so glad they did that. Im not really sure why Tarkin would want to destory his entire base, but it makes so much more sense that the entire crew of Rogue One perished.

Set Bookmark
JackM
Mon, Dec 19, 2016, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Garak knows what he is - truly self-actualized. And that makes him, in a way, the most admirable of the DS-9 regulars. I'm getting a bit tired of all the plot-lines with our heroes revealing themselves capable of doing questionable, sometimes even despicable things, and having the writers try to rehabilitate them with a few minutes of handwringing - and then on to the next episode.

Kira was a murderous terrorist who killed innocents. Not long ago she interfered with an official investigation of serial murders to go off on her own, while carrying an innocent baby in her womb, on some half-cocked revenge mission. She survived only because some writer figured out how to have her eat some herbs that would counteract a sedative that would prevent the murderer from cutting a non-viable fetus out of her womb before killing her too.

How can anyone argue that Sisko's not the obsessive type? His reckless pursuit of Eddington, and now this craziness with him deciding, unilaterally, that billions of a species need to be on his side of a war, or else.... And for someone who's supposed to be such a great dad, let's not forget he not only introduced, but left alone, his son to his mother's "mirror-universe" counterpart. Even if she didn't kidnap him and almost cause his death, who thought it was a good idea to let his son deal with that kind of psychological weight on his own?

"Old" Odo erased the existence of 8000 people beause he "loved" Kira so much. Yikes. Later in another episode he's so jazzed up getting gooey with a Founder that he completely neglects his duty and nearly gets everyone killed.

In what is considered to be the finest episode of the series, Jake is more than willing to make sure that the woman he befriends and shows his work to will never exist, along with an entire timeline of other people and events, just because he wants his Daddy back.

This may be the most self-centered group of TV series regulars since the Seinfeld crew. But thank goodness there's Garak. He makes no pretense about getting what he wants at any cost. He knows what he is, and he's very, very good at it. In a way, he's the moral center of the show. :)



Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Sun, Dec 11, 2016, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

Im re-watching the series for the first time since my first airing 10 years ago and holy crap was the Helo/Boomer story-line the most contrived nonsense ive seen in a while. What took the cake was how they stumble upon this museum and Boomer is like, "Oh the arrow of Apollo and Earth blah blah blah", like, HOW THE HELL would she of all the cylons think this is something important, how would the Cylons know where Kobol is, why is this city turned to rubble (with the glass casing intact in this destroyed museum, what would have happened had they gotten off the planet before this episode. Gods.

Now that ive finished season 1 some things they should have done a) Boomer and Helo should have been a couple from the start b) They could have been on the run and end up in some city bunker making babies (at which point CapriBoomer falls in love with Helo for real). When Starbuck comes back to Caprica she finds them somehow(thus realizing Boomer is a cylon). The end result is the same but the journey to that point would have been more consistent and less pointless and contrived.

Other than the Tigh me up drivel, it was an excellent season of television minus this Caprica storyline that should have been better.
Set Bookmark
JackM
Sat, Dec 10, 2016, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Kira confirms she was a terrorist who killed innocent families and children indiscriminately during the occupation. She recklessly put the Obriens' baby at risk and he would have died if not for a gimmicky plot device involving herbs that counteract sedatives. She submarines the official investigation of a serial murder spree and if others had been killed before she found Prin she would arguably be responsible for even more deaths unless someone wants to make the argument that Kira is a better investigator than Odo, which is silly. This episode succeeded only in making me forever contemptuous of a main character. Not a fan.
Set Bookmark
JackM
Fri, Dec 9, 2016, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Just getting to these comments and haven't read them all, so at the risk of redundancy, this episode interested, and somewhat annoyed, me to the point that I have to put my thoughts down somewhere.

Taking the temporal science premise of the show as truth to avoid THAT discussion and getting to the ethics of it all: Eventually, every one of the people from "our" DS9 timeline determined that they could not be responsible for extinguishing 200 years of reality and 8000 living sentient humanoids. And every one of those 8000 people wanted to live. But, the older version of Odo "loved" Kira so much he was willing to go against the wishes of every other person on that planet, including hers. And so Oldo surreptitiously made a selfish, unilateral contrary decision that wiped out a society from existence.

Yes, Oldo is 200 years older than her version, but it's the same shapeshifter with the same Founder DNA or whatever it is they have. I personally can't believe Kira ever talked herself into falling for him later, knowing what he was capable of.

Then again, Kira herself is a terrorist who killed innocent people for the sake of Bajor, so maybe they were meant for each other.....
Next ►Page 1 of 23
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.