Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 586 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 24
Set Bookmark
Jack2211
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Yeah, I don't really understand what happened there. The war's over because L'Rell is holding them all hostage, essentially? Does the bomb go off if they assassinate her? And the Federation is still susceptible to a fatal Klingon attack at pretty much any time?

Cool to see the Enterprise, I guess -- but none of the "Starfleet values, Hooray!" stuff felt earned.


Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

PS: I realize it’s just called Fox.

And, re: the PB&J thing, it seemed to fit the characters and the situation (he knows hos ex-wife likes PB&J), well, at least on paper.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 4:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

RE: Fox viewers. I’d be surprised if Fox News viewers watch much Fox TV, — although, I really don’t know much about Fox TV’s demographics.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

They’ve used the cloak before.

And, storywise, it’s required. They don’t have transporters so they need some way to blend in for these stories. Maybe it only works within an atmosphere for some reason (or maybe other ships’l sensors can detect it) — that way it’s not a magic problem solver.

This episode frustrated me the same way most season 1-3 TNG episodes frustrated me — the resolution felt rushed and the ideas remained unexplored. But, then again, this show is at least as much about character relationships as anything else, and so it works better here.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Dec 4, 2017, 12:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

“What if they want kids and want a roomier place with a backyard?”

That’s a suburban, North American concept. In most if the world, families live in apartments and use parks and shared public spaces.

The need for everyone to have their own homes and yards (which are unused most of the time) has led to sprawl, pollution (commuting in a single car) and insane traffic.

I liked the episode. I also don’t think Yaphit was sexually harassing Claire — he propositioned her/asked her out repeatedly, she told him to knock it off or she’d report it and it was done. She took care of herself.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 11:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

The problem with the structure isn't that it put the reveal at /near the end -- that's necessary for a story like this -- it's just that it kind of petered out a little early. And the real point, Alara beating her fears, or at least learning to function despite them, didn't quite get shown (although, maybe the intention was to show that she was wrong to be so determined to beat them).
Set Bookmark
Jack
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@hpontes

True. But then she wouldn't have had to beat the fiery explosion at the end, which was the whole point of the thing. If she realized she was in a simulation, then it wouldn't have been a victory (and that victory gets deflated because *we* know she's in a simulation. I almost wonder if it would have worked better without that scene where we see the crew watching her (or at least if we didn't know that she'd banned them from getting her out). But yeah, the story and maybe the direction needed some work here.

Total speculation: but maybe they rushed this one so they could get the VFX work done.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

The direction felt off. The pacing felt off. Something felt off. It didn’t build in an interesting way — Alara’s never trying to figure out what’s happening (I know, not the point of the simulation). Some of the weird off things make sense in the computer simulation context of the episode (Ed and Kelly aren’t funny and make pretty obvious jokes with off timing — which a computer sim programmed by issac might do) .

I almost stopped watching after they killed Nurse Park (who apparentky doesn’t have a first name), pissed off that they’d seemingly written off the only Asian character on the show, a week after introducing him.

Set Bookmark
Jack
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 9:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Yeah, the Clare stuff is cringe-y and mostly there for plot reasons. I kind of forced myself to ignore it — and the current events ties, judt to focus on a funny pergormance from mcfarlane.

Is the episode saying that sexual, er, mistakes shouldn’t be a big deal? Not sure whether that’s a disturbing or empowering message — or both.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 6:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

My favourite episode of the show so far. Smart, funny.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Diversity is about reflecting the world as it actually is, or at least trying to get a little closer to accuracy. There’s no agenda, necessarily.

The majority of people on the planet are not white, American males with Anglo-Saxon last names: So what’s wrong with showing some of that?
Set Bookmark
Jack
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

The show suggests that Burnham is widely known as a mutineer in Starfleet.

See: the prison shuttle, the mess hall, the bridge, Tilly upon hearing her name, Tyler,the admiral in her meeting with Lorca, Burnham’s own statements.



Set Bookmark
Jack
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

"This episode gets a solid 1 star out of 4 for me. This is lazy showmaking. Step it up much beyond this, Mr. Meyer. Come on."

Is Meyer even involved in day to day decisions on the show?
Set Bookmark
Jack
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

"Burnham's problem in the pilot was that she hated Klingons so much she became unable to think logically or sensibly to the point of betraying her friends."

The first two episodes don't show that at all -- it's a logical, sensible decision (within the world of the story), although it's emotional in the sense that she doesn't want her captain or shipmates to die, it's based on Klingon behavior and she betrays nobody. I saw nothing, despite her past, to suggest that she hated Klingons.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

"I also think the show deserves some respect for depicting Burnham as an ex-con who is successfully reintegrating back into society."

She's not really an ex-con -- the plan is for her to go back. She was pretty reviled on the ship, and her crime -- attempted mutiny to save the ship -- wasn't quite robbing a gas station. But, yeah, the show is focusing on second chances.


Set Bookmark
Jack
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

The preponderance of WASPy surnames on so much later Trek has always bugged me. (not just the mains, but also background characters).

We've got 7-billion people on Earth -- most don't have names like Kirk, Tyler, Crusher and Archer.

I don't know why I used the word preponderance.

And this will sound odd, but here are a lot of places (Quebec, France, Italy, Holland, Korea, China, Spain) where women keep their maiden names. I'd always wished Trek had done that.

Oh yeah, and this episode was only meh for me. The Saru stuff didn't quite feel earned. And the Klingon stuff was confusing (mainly because I was only half-watching while wasting time on my laptop and I ended up missing some captions).

Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

Weren’t there 238 TNG episode that involved a shuttle crash? There were 239 involving a surprise visit from a family member.

I actually like that Issac has no face.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Doctor WHO
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
"Gonna state the obvious, upcoming, plot twist:"

God, I hate those kind of comments. Do you lumber into crowds at movie theaters and say, "Gonna spoil this one for you guys." It's no better to say, "Hey guys, guys! I figured it out! Lemme ruin this fun for you! Remember that I KNEW. Mark it DOWN. I DON'T CARE IF YOU ENJOY THE SHOW--I KNEW THE ANSWER!!!11"

A PLOT TWIST IS NO FUN IF YOU
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

"I'm also not sure why they needed to change the character's personality."

Did they? We're not seeing the over-the-top Roger C. Carmel smarm, I suppose, but the TOS Mudd was plenty dark. Even darker, I'd say.

And on to the gay thing -- apply the argument "I shouldn't have to see _________ in my living room" to any other kind of human being, and see how ridiculous it sounds.

Set Bookmark
Jack Strawb
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 7:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

A truly inane episode. Just the absurdities i noticed and typed up while the episode was in progress.

"We've captured the captain we believe to be the most critical piece of this existential war we're engaged in.... let's randomly torture his cellmates!!" (Because the fool showrunner thought "choose your pain" was a cooler game than having an actual, coherent plot.)

--Oh, and there they are, stuck in Klingon space, and this critical starship doesn't have a backup warp drive because tension!!

--So despite running a war-changing secret weapon, Captain Lorca has no security guard, at all?

--And they were somewhere in Fed space they could be captured? Near wherever it was this meeting was held? (Even though, if you have holograms that cross hundreds of light years, why does your most important captain have to ever get in a shuttle, especially in wartime?) The showrunners literally don't care about space, how big it is, what is involved in getting from one place to the next... Things are randomly placed wherever they need to be to propel the random action.

--Is it a shuttle with warp drive? Ten years before TOS? And if it doesn't have warp drive surely it's deep in Federation space since Lorca is meeting in person with Federation officials, but Klingons just happen to be able to find them despite not only being deep in Fed space, but because they were able to crack Fed codes and find out who and what Lorca is and where he'd be because plot. Jaysus.

You realize none of this makes any sense, right?

--The "Klingons" are simply repulsive monsters with gigantic football shaped heads, and once we get to the prison cell Lorca flinches like a little girl as they beat another prisoner, because that's what battle hardened war lovers do, right?

-- The dialogue between Mudd and Lorca is largely nonsensical, and in the worst possible way. “Starfleet didn’t start this war,” says Lorca, who last week told Burnham “you started a war. Don’t you want to help me stop it?” So does this singularly essential captain even know who started the war? When the writers don't even care enough to keep track of who started the war that is the centerpiece of the show, how can you expect the show to succeed?

-- And now instead of being a source of good, productive, generous order, Starfleet is just a bunch of arrogant bullies?

-- And Mudd was once upon a time an honest businessman? Alex Kurtzman: “If something's canon, we will hold it down and feck it to death.”

--Worst exposition dump ever wrt the tardigrade. Let's have our characters stand stock still and read the badly, hastily written scene off of cue cards. Painful stuff.

-- Discovery as a show depends, really, on a stupid populace unable to discern coherence from idiocy. -- Btw, I can come up with a superior alternative to spore drive in five minutes. A creature more in tune with quantum foam and the properties specific its various locations in the galaxy (since foam is known to exist everywhere). Quantum coherence causes the physical need of particles to reconnect with certain arrangements of the foam, which in turn allows the ship to travel to its matching location. Then you don't need the joke that spores have rightly become. And you actually get to teach some physics instead of some nonsense.

-- No, seriously, this happened... as they escape, Lorca leaves the lieutenant behind in the corridor because the guy is literally too weak to walk even with assistance. Less than a minute later, he’s nonetheless recovered enough to beat almost to death an adult Klingon in battle garb.

-- Oh, and Discovery is in Klingon space so without the tardigrade they can’t find their way out because, magically, space is no longer three dimensional and navigation has magically ceased to otherwise exist. Discovery can no longer simply point in the direction of federation space, and "engage." Fookin fookety fook, this is awful.

-- Yeah, and now Saru likes Burnham, even though as he says she once again disobeys a direct order, and suddenly he no longer thinks she's dangerous because, who the feck knows.

-- No, the ship spinning is effing ludicrous. It’s beyond ludicrous. The ship does a barrel roll. Think about it. A barrel roll. There is no possible physics requiring a barrel roll, and plenty of physics insisting that’s a truly bad, bad idea. Just stop.  

--It appears the Starfleet lieutenant was raped for seven months while being held on the "klingon" ship. This passed without comment.

- A "Klingon" prison ship just warped into federation space without anybody noticing, apparently.

--The massive "klingon" ship has a crew complement of 30 or 40? As we know, Klingons don't take prisoners, but this is a dedicated prison ship, somehow? Two starship officers, one dedicated to war and killing, idly watch as Mudd steals their food?

--Discovery has 134 crew members, but can run 300 science experiments at once?

The problems range from small to overwhelming, and the overall problems are these: This a series that actively disregards its predecessor material, that doesn't care at all about space--the very medium in which it purports to occur, and doesn't even know who started its war, when that war is central both to the plot and to its main character.

This is the worst plotted, worst thought out tv series i've ever seen (not Trek, but all of tv), and i don't think there's a close second. This is horrendous on every level of scripting. It's an abomination that can't get canceled soon enough.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I liked it. Yes, it's different. Yes, it's a reboot in all but name. Who cares? The world doesn't owe us anything! I do hope we see more interesting characters and it's not a complete focus on Michael.

I think that's the first time we've seen a replication close up (the new uniform). Very cool to show the scary, incredible energies at work.

Spore drive aside, how does the Discovery have site-to-site transport withn the ship like its nothing? I thought that tech wasn't invented yet.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Aug 1, 2017, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Hero

Just re-watched this. Utter crap. The Tigh stuff was good but the rest of the story was as convoluted and unbelievable the episode with Lee Adama where he is banging some Hooker on Cloud 9 with regrets of some past woman we had never heard of or heard from again. MINUS 5 STARS
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Jul 29, 2017, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

GuyFaux, I think you stopped watching too soon. They did use the catapult at the end to shave three years off the journey.
Set Bookmark
Gentlejackjones
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

A few points.

1) Jammer's reviews are great, I read each one for each episode I watch, but every once in a while, I think he might dismiss the nuance (yes, sometimes precious little nuance) with which some of the scenes between characters are performed. T'Pol is clearly smitten with Trip, and has been since well before the whole "let me give you a massage while I flip the gender roles and reveal my superior dexterity and strength" massage therapy angle came about. The Archer-wife thing was a little curveball, but otherwise the writers have been throwing right over the plate with this coupling. Also, it seems maybe Jolene Blalock plays these scenes in a way she might be best suited (see T'Mir in "Carbon Creek") , as a somewhat desultory, somewhat sultry, pretend-disaffected woman who remains just accessible enough for continued dialogue.

2) If T'Pol wanted to use me to check a bucket-list item, then would let me do my job aboard ENTERPRISE, I would be just perfectly fine with that. Perfectly, perfectly fine.

Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, May 17, 2017, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Looks like JJ Abrams' Star Trek, the TV series. Lots of war, flashy lights, CGI and cartoony "epic" dialogue."

This trailer made the show like like a pile of "adult word for poop"
Next ►Page 1 of 24
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.