Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 88 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Aug 1, 2017, 5:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Hero

Just re-watched this. Utter crap. The Tigh stuff was good but the rest of the story was as convoluted and unbelievable the episode with Lee Adama where he is banging some Hooker on Cloud 9 with regrets of some past woman we had never heard of or heard from again. MINUS 5 STARS
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, May 17, 2017, 6:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Looks like JJ Abrams' Star Trek, the TV series. Lots of war, flashy lights, CGI and cartoony "epic" dialogue."

This trailer made the show like like a pile of "adult word for poop"
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Mon, May 15, 2017, 7:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"Not every episode was a hit of course, and the 1st season was a little wobbly from time-to-time, but what a show it was..."

The first season was better than I remember it to be as far as planting seeds for the overall story. On the surface it was poorly acted, with mainly character driven episodes (much like a lot of TNG episodes), but with the benefit of hindsight, there was a lot of good stuff there that made it pretty good in my eyes. But clearly the show took a major turn for the better when Bruce Boxleitner came on board.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Mon, May 8, 2017, 2:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"This was a dreadful film. Has Jammer lost the plot? A lot of poor reviews lately. Perhaps a 5 season run of reviewing Babylon 5 will help him rediscover what good sci-fi is."

Excellent choice. Babylon 5, although visually dated, is still one of the best shows ever made.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Apr 27, 2017, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 2

I remember this arc being so spectacular when it first aired. But after watching it was 2017 eyes, it was pretty bad stuff. God, where to start. They skipped ahead 14 months which is longer than the timeline of the first two seasons. They glossed over so many potential storylines and rushed right to the evacuation. They completely botched the Cylon's motivation for being there and how they went about occupying New Caprica right to the point where they shouldnt of had any motivation at all. Caprica Six gets shot in the head and then comes back two scenes later without even a grimace. Sharon shoots D'Anna in both legs and then next episode shes walking around fine with no explanation. Boomer is there, but they dont even come close to touching on the fact that the people they are occupying used to be her ship mates. Like, that should have been 6 episodes right there considering they spend 20 on her in the first season. They rushed the "D'Anna dreams about the baby and questions her faith" story, it came out of nowhere and made no sense. Like who cares if the Cylons have the baby, whats the motivation? The thing was a rushed mess which left me wanting more while not wanting it at all.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Apr 12, 2017, 5:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I would take the over on this show ever seeing a television screen.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 4:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"The connective tissue employed here, from costumes to sets, is expertly and seamlessly done."

I dont know how you can say it was "expertly" done considering how little sense it makes that the Tantive IV was at Scariff.

Go watch the last 10 minutes of Rogue One and the first 10 minutes of ANH and youll see they put very little effort into connecting the two other than some fan lip service and a couple of good one liners.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Mar 30, 2017, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Wasnt Luke supposedly 16 in ANH? Even if he was 20, its only been 20 since the fall of the Jedi. This "mythical" status they receive doesnt make much sense with that timeframe. It would be like the Clinton Presidential Administration being mythical.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 6:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

I think 3 stars is very fair although I'd give it 3.5. I remember being blown the f away when I watched it for the first time 10 years ago. Very few shows took risks like this. I just saw it again for the second time yesterday and I can totally see where Jammer is coming from.

"No normal logical person would put the whole human race at risk just to assuage their conscience. "

After watching it again this is the part that gets me the most. Roslin/Adama were willing to assassinate a fleet admiral 6 episodes ago because she was a threat to the fleet, yet in this episode, with the human race at stake, they raise their hand and salute the new President Baltar without even blinking AFTER his nuke was detonated and AFTER Roslin accused him of collaborating with the Cyclons.

I also dont get why the battlestars were so unmanned. You can have a manned military while not living on the ship. Just have schedules/tours.

I dont mind that they took a bold direction, but they could have gotten more out of the colonization storyline than what they gave us. Hell, considering the absolute drivel that was black market, you could have had many episodes on the subject of colonization.

Season 2 note: After watching this back with older (and "wiser" eyes), after Home Part 2 (which IMO is just the end of season 1.5) this season was a bit of mess with some sprinkles of brilliance with minimal guidance. This show was unable to develop convincing relationships between any of its main characters despite the characters being really strong. Colonel Tigh was relegated to the bottom of the character totem pole after starting the season in a really strong spot with the opportunity to have further stories based on his decisions. All in all, this season should have been 13 episodes with more thought put into the New Caprica story.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"There are layers to those films that Disney would never dare bother with."

Layers of garbage.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Feb 8, 2017, 5:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I found myself quite moved by the characters death's especially Jyn and Erso as they faced their demise on the beach. I dont know why, I agree with most of the sentiment that the characters were pretty poor. But their death scene was pretty riveting.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Dec 23, 2016, 2:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"Why wouldn't Leia be in a battle. She's part of the rebel alliance (and a traitor), she's not some pen pusher on Alderaan."

Why was she in THAT battle?
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Dec 22, 2016, 4:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"But when it transpired that Captain Antilles' ship was actually at the big battle and fled right in front of Vader's eyes, that was dumb. I thought they were goi ng to receive the transmission from far far away. And they took the Princess into this big battle? Why?"

Because the writers are not very smart people. They wanted to have the big Vader slasher scene at the end and have Leia end the movie which they could have done AND kept continuity with the simplest of ideas.

You could have had Vader's ship disable the flag ship, the crew running for their lives getting chopped up and as a last ditch effort, the guy with the plans could transmit themto Leia's ship which would be on its was to Allderan to get Obi-Wan before Vader sliced him through the gut. Boom done. Leia's ship recieves the plans like Vader suspects at the beginning of ANH. Continuity kept, you can still have the holo-Leia at the end receiving the plans and say the line.

"His use at the end worked for that, even though some decry it as fanservice."

It was fanservice because Vader is not a light-saber weilding maniac who slices up random Rebels like they just screwed his wife. BUT, I would argue the scene with Krennic was the true fan-service scene. I would not have had Vader appear until the dark hallway scene with the lightsaber, but they wanted Vader to spit out some punny lines while choking someone with the force.

I thought this movie was great though. The fact that absolutely everyone dying at the end hit me pretty hard, more than I thought but Im so glad they did that. Im not really sure why Tarkin would want to destory his entire base, but it makes so much more sense that the entire crew of Rogue One perished.

Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Sun, Dec 11, 2016, 9:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

Im re-watching the series for the first time since my first airing 10 years ago and holy crap was the Helo/Boomer story-line the most contrived nonsense ive seen in a while. What took the cake was how they stumble upon this museum and Boomer is like, "Oh the arrow of Apollo and Earth blah blah blah", like, HOW THE HELL would she of all the cylons think this is something important, how would the Cylons know where Kobol is, why is this city turned to rubble (with the glass casing intact in this destroyed museum, what would have happened had they gotten off the planet before this episode. Gods.

Now that ive finished season 1 some things they should have done a) Boomer and Helo should have been a couple from the start b) They could have been on the run and end up in some city bunker making babies (at which point CapriBoomer falls in love with Helo for real). When Starbuck comes back to Caprica she finds them somehow(thus realizing Boomer is a cylon). The end result is the same but the journey to that point would have been more consistent and less pointless and contrived.

Other than the Tigh me up drivel, it was an excellent season of television minus this Caprica storyline that should have been better.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

" If Starfleet sent a dozen ships after the Defiant, I don't care if it's from a century in the future; it's weapons are not so much more advanced that this one ship could go up against an army and win."

Nero sends his regards.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Nov 10, 2016, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Thank you very much, CBS. If you think we're going to subscribe to your "all-access" thing after that dick move, think again."

Not that I am able to subscribe, but I will be pirating this show when/IF it ever graces the airwaves. After the Axanar fiasco (a video which is some of the best Trek work done in 20 years), I will not be lending my support to CBS.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Nov 8, 2016, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

www.imdb.com/title/tt5851562/?ref_=nm_flmg_dr_4

So apparently the Tim Russ fan fic is coming back, just not under the name "Star Trek" for whatever reason.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Nov 2, 2016, 1:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

That Tim Russ thing was atrocious as is most fan-fiction.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 2:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"But wasn't Nero basically "dormant" and did nothing of consequence (in the theatrical cut at least) until the events of ST09?"

He and his crew were on Rua Penthe during this time which Uhura mentions in passing during ST09. Nero escaped and headed to the point where Spock would emerge from.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Sep 15, 2016, 3:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I would love a post-Voyager Trek, but I reckon they are having another prequel series so it ties into the re-boot movies at some point.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 1:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"So far the only TOS reference for this time period I can find that would make a good story is the Battle of Anxanar referenced in that Asylum episode."

Like I said, there is a multi-million dollar fan flic being made right now on Axanar. Look it up the documentary on Youtube, its going to be awesome. It has some familiar faces in it.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Mon, Aug 29, 2016, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

If Fuller makes this show half as good as Dead Like Me was for the first 6 episodes, were in for a massive treat.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Aug 25, 2016, 5:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Instead of creating their own pre-quel TV series.....again......they should goto the creators of Axanar and give then 13 episodes to tell their story. What those guys are doing, with the budget they have is remarkable. I would gladly watch 13 episodes on the Klingon War with the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 1:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

This piece of crap was not 3-stars.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 1:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

"I laughed out loud in the theater during the exchange where some characters get word that the Americans are organizing a counter-attack and a guy says: "It's about bloody time! What do they plan to do?" Subtle."

No kidding. These other "world powers" are sitting around CB radio just waiting for the yanks to come save the day. Yawn.

They did the same thing in this movie too if im not mistaken.

Roland Emmerich's best movie is Stargate. Its still a movie that holds up to this day but im hearing he wants to remake it which scares me as a fan of both the movie and TV show.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.