Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 75 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Sun, Dec 11, 2016, 9:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

Im re-watching the series for the first time since my first airing 10 years ago and holy crap was the Helo/Boomer story-line the most contrived nonsense ive seen in a while. What took the cake was how they stumble upon this museum and Boomer is like, "Oh the arrow of Apollo and Earth blah blah blah", like, HOW THE HELL would she of all the cylons think this is something important, how would the Cylons know where Kobol is, why is this city turned to rubble (with the glass casing intact in this destroyed museum, what would have happened had they gotten off the planet before this episode. Gods.

Now that ive finished season 1 some things they should have done a) Boomer and Helo should have been a couple from the start b) They could have been on the run and end up in some city bunker making babies (at which point CapriBoomer falls in love with Helo for real). When Starbuck comes back to Caprica she finds them somehow(thus realizing Boomer is a cylon). The end result is the same but the journey to that point would have been more consistent and less pointless and contrived.

Other than the Tigh me up drivel, it was an excellent season of television minus this Caprica storyline that should have been better.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

" If Starfleet sent a dozen ships after the Defiant, I don't care if it's from a century in the future; it's weapons are not so much more advanced that this one ship could go up against an army and win."

Nero sends his regards.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Nov 10, 2016, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Thank you very much, CBS. If you think we're going to subscribe to your "all-access" thing after that dick move, think again."

Not that I am able to subscribe, but I will be pirating this show when/IF it ever graces the airwaves. After the Axanar fiasco (a video which is some of the best Trek work done in 20 years), I will not be lending my support to CBS.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Nov 8, 2016, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

www.imdb.com/title/tt5851562/?ref_=nm_flmg_dr_4

So apparently the Tim Russ fan fic is coming back, just not under the name "Star Trek" for whatever reason.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Nov 2, 2016, 1:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

That Tim Russ thing was atrocious as is most fan-fiction.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 2:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"But wasn't Nero basically "dormant" and did nothing of consequence (in the theatrical cut at least) until the events of ST09?"

He and his crew were on Rua Penthe during this time which Uhura mentions in passing during ST09. Nero escaped and headed to the point where Spock would emerge from.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Sep 15, 2016, 3:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I would love a post-Voyager Trek, but I reckon they are having another prequel series so it ties into the re-boot movies at some point.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 1:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"So far the only TOS reference for this time period I can find that would make a good story is the Battle of Anxanar referenced in that Asylum episode."

Like I said, there is a multi-million dollar fan flic being made right now on Axanar. Look it up the documentary on Youtube, its going to be awesome. It has some familiar faces in it.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Mon, Aug 29, 2016, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

If Fuller makes this show half as good as Dead Like Me was for the first 6 episodes, were in for a massive treat.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Aug 25, 2016, 5:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Instead of creating their own pre-quel TV series.....again......they should goto the creators of Axanar and give then 13 episodes to tell their story. What those guys are doing, with the budget they have is remarkable. I would gladly watch 13 episodes on the Klingon War with the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 1:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

This piece of crap was not 3-stars.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 1:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

"I laughed out loud in the theater during the exchange where some characters get word that the Americans are organizing a counter-attack and a guy says: "It's about bloody time! What do they plan to do?" Subtle."

No kidding. These other "world powers" are sitting around CB radio just waiting for the yanks to come save the day. Yawn.

They did the same thing in this movie too if im not mistaken.

Roland Emmerich's best movie is Stargate. Its still a movie that holds up to this day but im hearing he wants to remake it which scares me as a fan of both the movie and TV show.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Sun, Jul 17, 2016, 9:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

I watched the original with my girlfriend who hadnt seen it in a long time (she was 5 when it came out, so hadnt seen it at all) and it brought back all the good vibes except the pro-Americana nonsense at the end (not that im anti-American, but the Yanks are here to save the day is so cliche in 2016). I thought it was very well balanced between terror, humor, and drama. This movie was just.....crap. It didnt know if it wanted to be funny, be dramatic, have inner conflict, or terrifying and in the end it didnt really accomplish any of it very well.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Jul 14, 2016, 10:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

Also I wanted to add how awful the dialogue was. When the President was hiding in the bunker (why didnt she take the Stargate to safety?!!) and the aliens busted in, "THERE WILL BE NO PEACE!!" Like, yeah lady, no kidding, I think they are aware.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Jul 13, 2016, 6:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

"But I'm likely placing way too much importance on such thoughts, while trivializing the images of 9/11 in terms of a movie."

No your not. This aspect of the movie took me right out of it from the beginning. In my town, it has taken 2.5 years to build a bridge. In ID5, it took 20 years to become a space fairing race, rebuild the planet, while designing and creating huge amounts of technology. It would take the lifetimes of millions of people to reverse engineer the kind of alien tech showed off in ID4.

In reality, after the destruction caused in 1996, this planet would turn into chaos. "100 million dollars" wouldnt mean anything anymore and it would be anarchy.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Jan 29, 2016, 7:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode III — Revenge of the Sith

To say this movie was the of the triology wouldnt be saying something untruthful, but that doesnt make it good. This movie was horrendous. A real piece of shit. For the prequels I would rate 1 star, 2 stars, 1.5 stars in order.

"Vader's "Nooooooo!" seems to be one of those things that divides fans and is often ridiculed, but for me it was an effectively operatic way of completing this story."

I disagree. I think the most effective way of completing that story would have Vader go on a kill crazy rampage when he hears the news of his wife's "death". Kill some attendants or whatnot. NOOOOOOOOO just doesnt cut it.

"I understand the reason why Padme had to die in service of Anakin's final arc, but couldn't Lucas have come up with a better way than this?"

Yeah, he could of, and its real real real real easy. Actually have Vader kill her. When she steps off the ship on Mustafar and he tosses her around because he feels she betrayed him, you could have Anikan snap her neck and then have some sort of thing where the kids were saved and she died due to her injuries. But no, they didnt do that, and what they did sucked.

"I think this goes back to George Lucas and his apparent limitations as a director."

No. Its his apparent limitations as a writer and frankly, as a human being. He wrote this pile of crap, and the dialogue he wrote makes you think the guy has never ever had sex with a girl in his entire life. It was awful.

"The downside of all this is that it makes Anakin — and by extension Darth Vader — into a pawn whose identity was built on a series of personal failures and rapidly compounded bad decisions"

This movie/trilogy did a horrible job of converting Anakin to Darth Vader. In the span of 20 mins he went from a petulant horny teenager Jedi to someone capable of slaughtering kids by the dozens. It didnt work. A lot of it was the acting, but a lot of it was the setup, and it didnt fit.

And of course we have the Jedi. This movie makes them out to be imbeciles. Like, complete idiots. Why would the Jedi sent Anakin to spy on Palpatine, if they think Anakin is being manipulated by Palaptine??!?!? The way the two Jedi paired with Mace Window meet their doom at the hands of Palpatine was laughable. And when the Emperor executes order 66, how these Jedi just crumble like cotton candy in water. These are the mighty Jedi? Yeah right.

R2D2 being able to fly? God help us.

The prequel movies had to take every cliche nad nuance that people liked about the original trilogy and amplify them by 10000x. Yoda's speech, Chewbacca, R2D2 and C3P0, CGI.

I did like how the Galatic Empire came to be. That was decent story telling albeit you didnt need three movies to tell the story.

"There is actually almost overwhelming evidence that Palpatine killed Padme."

The same "evidence" that Jar Jar Binks is actually Grand Master Snook? That would be giving the prequels too much credit. People come up with these theories because they want to believe the prequels were meant to be something greater than they actually are.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Sat, Jan 10, 2015, 1:28am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

"Scotty: "How do we know he didn't invent the thing?"

Um...because somewhere some historic scientific journal would show who really did, and now they're screwed. So much for not altering history... "

I didnt read the novel and I thought the movie made this fairly clear.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 11:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

This movie didnt need to be any longer but it needed another 20 minutes. Therefore yeah I agree with you msw188, the Matt Damon stuff went on too long.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

"that lead shows like "Tsunkatse" to be the highest rated of the season for reasons that aren't about matters of the intellect)"

Tsunkatse was the highest rated show of the season becasue it had The Rock in it and Smackdown (on the same network) drew 6 million viewers a week.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Nov 21, 2014, 11:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

I completely agree with you. Not only is it sloppy, it reeks of simply not knowing or understanding how to end it. Kind of like the Lost finale and in some regards the BSG finale. The buildup doesnt meet the hype.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Nov 21, 2014, 1:54am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Just watched this ep over at streamup.com.

"The Slipstream lets them travel 10,000 in a matter of minutes and Janeway orders the damn thing taken apart! I could almost hear the log entry: "If the crew can't get us home in one big jump, then I'm not interested. Its the principle of the thing!"

This is exactly what I was thinking. Why couldnt they make little jumps at a time? 3 star ep from me.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Nov 21, 2014, 12:53am (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

@Dom, heres my issue though, I didnt find the ending satisfying enough to warrant having deep thoughts about it or having discussions about it after. I spoke with a buddy after and we both agreed the ending was bullshit and left it at that. Inception didnt leave me feeling this way. This movie needed about 10 more minutes to tie up the ending.

The big question online is where Cooper went when he stole the ship at the end. Well conventional wisdom says he went back through the wormhole and made the journey to Edmond's Planet. Well one of the Nolans have said there is no wormhole when Cooper Station arrives at Saturn. Thanks movie for establishing that. How did Murph know Brand was stranded on a planet setting up a civilization and that Cooper should go back for her? Why did Cooper give Murph the coordinates of NASA if he wanted himself to "Stay"?

Little details aside I really enjoyed the movie....until the point when he ended up on Cooper Station. This movie would have been best served by having Cooper give Murph the solutions she needed to get humanity off Earth, Cooper dying in the black hole having been Murph's ghost, and the next scene we have humanity showing up at Edmond's Planet where they find Brand having set up shop with Edmond rebuilding society with the Plan B people. (As an aside, we have this movie long story about LOVE, and Brand shows up and the man she loves died in a rock slide. What the fuck. Its like, the Nolans cant help themselves but make sure every character has an unsatisfying conclusion)

Instead we dont know what is going on, why humanity is sitting in orbit of a wormhole-less planet, where Cooper is going, what Brand is doing, what anybody is doing.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Nov 19, 2014, 12:47am (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

"But it is not all about the facts and having an ironclad answer for everything"

I disagree with this point. I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE leaving a movie with an ambiguous ending where I have to come up with my own interpretation. Fuck that. I am not the story teller and I should not have to come up with my own version of an ending to YOUR story. YOU tell me how it ends.

So in this movie the questions remain:

1) Where in time is Brand in relation to Cooper
2) With the wormhole closed, where is Cooper going in the little ship
3) Why the Cooper station orbiting Saturn with no wormhole there.

Thats just to name a few.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Nov 18, 2014, 10:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

Personally I dont think this movie held a candle to Contact but maybe thats looking back through rose colored glasses. Interstellar was really good but I found myself being underwhelmed by the final 30 minutes. Emotionally I was hit harder when the lander returned from the Water Planet and Romily was standing there after being left alone for 24 years. After that we were hit over the head over and over and over about the time dilation and I found myself not really caring when we got to the final scene with Cooper and Murph. Also I didnt care for the lack of a Brand/Cooper reunion in the final scene.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Nov 18, 2014, 2:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

"Lesson of the week: When a viewer starts waiting impatiently for all the story's main characters to get blowed up real good, that's probably a telling sign that the story isn't working."

Huh, so does 7 years of Voyager count in all this?

I thought this episode should have been Negative 5 stars. The 6 minute rape scene near the end was atrocious.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.