Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 20 (Showing 1-20)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: One

@ grumpy_otter ... amen to Capt. Jellico, putting his boot to the asses of the Cardassians and the Enterprise crew alike! He even got Deanna Troy into a proper uniform (she looks good in Starfleet blue!), and probably jump started her career as a Commander.

@ Robert ... I believe we can still find examples of original mama bear Janeway in the later seasons, but as you mentioned, her experiences matching wits with the Borg and the Hirogen gave her a Kirk-esque edginess. Those experiences made Janeway a more well rounded Captain -- ironic to think of someone finding their inner James T. Kirk making them a better and more complete person, usually it would be the reverse of a "Kirk" getting in touch with his/her feelings. By getting to "ride shotgun with a group of officers like that", Janeway attained the full set of skills necessary to see her ship and crew through 70 years in the delta quadrant, and thereby received 63 years off for good behavior.

PS @ Robert ... agreed, more Kira in command of DS9 would be welcome, especially if Lieutenant Nog is her first officer!
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 4:16am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

Surprisingly no one has mentioned that Mulgrew and Grey have worked together before, in somewhat different roles .... in REMO WILLIAMS


A quirky "spy" film from the 1980s
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Sat, Sep 2, 2017, 2:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Re comments of zzybaloobah ... completely agreed on prime directive and TOS vs TNG... as Captain Janeway explained in Voyager, "they were a little quicker to fire phasers ..."

General order 24 is definitely bad ass -- btw does anyone know what general orders 1 - 23 are ?
Set Bookmark
JJ Not Abrams 8-)
Fri, Jun 2, 2017, 4:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Apocalypse Rising

Surprised that nobody commented on Sisko briefing Odo about the
secret undercover mission ... on the second floor of Quark's Bar ...
with people sitting at other tables all around. Starfleet Security
at it's finest!
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 11:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

Janeway "would have liked to ride shotgun with a group of officers like that" ... anyone care to speculate what her job would have been on Kirk's Enterprise?
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Sun, Jan 15, 2017, 1:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

Swords and knives are the Klingon way ... if Dax had been helping Al Capone, John Dillinger and Meyer Lansky avenge the murders of their kids, then Thompson sub machine guns would be appropriate
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

To paraphrase Spock, the reviews of the many outweigh the reviews of the one!

Several contributors pointed out correctly that more advanced effects would have detracted from the plot. One of the wonderful things about the original series is that the writing and directing were often so good, that years later you can watch an episode like Balance of Terror and think "this time they may not get out of it" even though you have seen the show countless times before
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 10:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Add at least a star to all episodes if, lIke me, you grew up watching Star Trek on various much smaller TVs -- some were even black and white! LOL

amazing how much detail there is to be seen on today's big screens ... in other episodes you can see a lot of details on the starships, in this episode you can see that Droxine has a six pack of abs!
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 6:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

If nobody else has pointed out ... the obvious source of the infection is Kirk fooling around on some lovely planet LOL
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 12:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

All fair comments, but did you all miss the episodes key point -- Quark has an awesome imagination! Who were those women on his arms?
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Tue, Jan 10, 2017, 12:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

Powerful episode ...

Excellent commentary by everyone

Who's to say the red shirt wouldn't have been killed even if Sisko had opted to shoot first and ask questions later? It's war, and the Jem Hadar are pretty good at their job.
Set Bookmark
JJS2
Sun, May 24, 2015, 7:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

I've always had a hard time with this one. I agree with SkepticMI about Gowron's use; something that always nagged at me on DS9 was the difference in Gowron from Reunion to the end. But the casting here has always bothered me, like most of the Klingon casting in TNG after Reunion; the clerics had the right look but not the right look, and Kahless, though I cant necessarily fault the performance, but the physicality just ruins it; I damn near laughed along with Gowron.
Set Bookmark
JJ
Tue, May 20, 2014, 6:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

I think the only thing that really hurts this episode is that they stuck it between Homestead and the finale. Put it in the middle of the season and run and it would be easily 3 1/2 stars... not as good as tinker tenor but still great.
Set Bookmark
JJ
Fri, May 9, 2014, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I like this episode - if for nothing else, then for the cast performances as they slowly succumb. It's like a worse version of Living Witness where instead of evil, the crew was playing tragic doomed versions of themselves. Versions where their character traits are taken to the extreme: Janeway's stubborness, Chakotay's rationality, Tom's contempt for authority, Harry's optimism... It's a "what if" premise where the scenario is facing oblivion.
Set Bookmark
JJ
Sat, Mar 8, 2014, 3:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

I am in complete agreement with Jammer on this one. There are some minor flaws, but overall I would say this is one of if not the best stand alone episodes. Direction and acting are superb and the twist is excellent. The exposition scene at the end does seem unnecessarily dialogue heavy (we don't need everything spelled out to us), but that doesn't overshadow the rest.
Set Bookmark
JJ
Sun, Feb 9, 2014, 1:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

A lot of the problems with this episode have been well covered, but I have to agree with Moegreen. That chess scene was very poorly written. I know this is "space chess", but are we to believe that Troi counters a classic well known chess move by moving 1 piece once and Data and apparently the entire "space chess" world were unable to come up with this? And this somehow demonstrates the superiority of human intuition? Two words for this scene - clumsy and awful.
Set Bookmark
JJ
Sun, Feb 9, 2014, 12:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

I agree that the relationship between Aaron and Troi is absolute drek, however I do find Hannah's part of the episode compelling. The scene where she fakes the crack and talks about being preordained the big fish in science, and then suddenly finds herself in a very large pond is well done. The technical part of the story with the core fragment is mediocre at best. I also agree that all of the hand-ringing by Picard and others seems forced in order to clumsily bolster the colonies side of the argument, because as NCFan said, any society that requires coercion to exist is not one worthy of respect. Considering all of this, I think the 2 star rating is deserved.
Set Bookmark
JJ
Wed, Jul 7, 2010, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

Something I don't think has been brought up here is what a HUGE missed opportunity this was for Baltar to redeem himself. What they set up in the previous couple of episodes was enormous dissatisfaction among the populace at Adama-Roslin for seemingly losing any sight of the need to explain their quite radical decisions to the people affected by them. They had lost empathy and they had lost the trust of the population. What Baltar could have represented was a voice who was unquestionably not a Roslin flunky who, it just so happened, had won quite a decent amount of popular support leading a compassion/forgiveness religious movement that was unquestionably compatible with closer engagement with the Cylons. THIS could have been Baltar's moment and, as an added bonus, it would have been a way to actually DO something with that whole silly cultist side story. What it could have been characterised as was the populations yearning to find common groun with the cylons (those that weren't actively trying to kill them of course) and move on from the holocaust. But he was relegated to a bit player, did nothing other than supply a radio and comfort Gaeta at the end. What a waste.
Set Bookmark
JJ
Wed, Apr 14, 2010, 4:04am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Taking a Break from All Your Worries

Surprised you didn't mention the secret that baltar whispered to gaeta. Seemed like it was setting something up for the future there.
Set Bookmark
JJ
Tue, Mar 23, 2010, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Sacrifice

now, bear in mind that I haven't watched any episodes after this one yet (making my way through) so I could be completely wrong. But to my eyes at the moment, this ep seems like a brilliant inversion of the usual crazy domestic terrorist/conspiracy theorist hostage episode for one simple reason - the conspiracy theory is TRUE!! Cylons DID infliltrate the highest levels of humanity which lead to the initial attack (despite Admiral Adama's protestations that maybe they just caught us with our guard down). And what's more, the original weak link is not only the vice president, HE'S STILL BETRAYING THE FLEET TO THE CYLONS!!! The conspiracy is probably even bigger than they realise.

And I reckon they're right on sharon too. She's playing them. The fleet's being played. I think there's possibly two factions within the cylons and Sharon/Six are in the less evil of the two, but this faction (or the cylons as a whole if there aren't two factions) is clearly using pregnant sharon to infiltrate the fleet. To what ultimate end I'm not sure, but some combination of leading them to earth in order to utterly destroy humanity or creating a hybrid-human race that will maybe lead to peace between the races/factions seems likely. Either way, Sharon's interests are very unlikely to match the fleet's interests and she SHOULD be killed as a security threat which is exactly what the terrorists are demanding.

This is what sets this episode apart from run of the mill terrorist/hostage scenarios. The bad guys are right. I think :).
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.