Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 6,386 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 256
Set Bookmark
James04
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 12:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Another episode to skip, after seeing about 10 minutes of it. My basic gripe about it is, that (apart from the irritating folksy Eye-rish tweeness), it and other holodeck episodes are an escape from the scientifictional genre of the story. I watch ST, and therefore, Voyager, because I enjoy science fiction; I don’t want to be fobbed off with something a zillion miles removed from science fiction, or, at most, only very tenuously connected to it. So episodes largely about WW2, or Ireland, or Renaissance Italy, or 1930s Chicago, feel like cheating - they feel like stories that count as science fiction only because they are parts of an episode in a scientifictional series.

The holodeck is in effect being used as an excuse for Voyager (and not just Voyager) to take a little holiday from being a scientifictional series. ST should not have to do this - it suggests a failure of imagination.
Set Bookmark
Kingjay
Mon, Apr 23, 2018, 4:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

For the first time in a long while i can agree with the review. A long, boring walk in the forest, some nice parts and a strong ending. 2 or 2.5 stars seems right.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sun, Apr 22, 2018, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

2 out of last 3 episodes are the All-About-Ezri-Show. ENOUGH. Horrible character. What, trying to make up for the fact that she was shoehorned in only for 1 season, by giving her way too much bloody screentime?
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sun, Apr 22, 2018, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Why does the Mirror Universe even have Ezri? So whenever someone new appears on DS9 in "our" world, their alternate "has to" be there in the alt-verse?

And Vic Fontaine is suddenly a real person. Whatever.

Ferengi + Mirror mashup. Ugh, no.
Set Bookmark
james04
Sun, Apr 22, 2018, 2:51am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

That Tom Paris calls B’Elanna a “born-again Klingon”, in a way that shows his remark is intended as less than complimentary, suggests that Evangelicals will be not unfamiliar in the 24th century. If their function as figures of fun has been adopted by some later group after their extinction, that cannot be inferred from canon.

Gods can be killed - though whether this is a credible concept, depends on what one understands by the concept of godhood. Mesopotamian religion has several deities being killed, such as Tiamat and Kingu, who were killed by Marduk in the best-known of several Mesopotamian myths of creation. Horus is killed by Set in Egypt, and most of the Norse Aesir are killed at Ragnarok. So the myth about Ko[r]tar is not in the least implausible. It seems to be a mixture of Etruscan, Greek, Mesopotamian & Norse elements. The writers are to be congratulated on their ingenious mixing of familiar ancient motifs to produce something new. Gods who need to be refreshed by sacrifices (conceptualised as their meals) can presumably - in principle - undergo death.

What made Gre’thor ? Maybe, the Klingon gods, before, or even after, they were killed. Without knowing a lot more Klingon mythology, one can only make informed guesses using analogies from real-world ideas. The details of all these things are not incoherent, so much as fragmentary. A Klingon mythographer or theologian would presumably be able to fill in the masses of missing detail. Maybe Gre’thor is made out of the bodies of dead gods. Myths are characteristically resistant to harmonisation and systematisation, so one cannot expect a harmonious and internally self-consistent picture of the Klingon afterlife here. B’Elanna perceives it only in broken flashes, as might be expected of someone with a busy life like hers.

The sight of Gre’thor’s gates looks uncommonly like illustrations of the description the gates of the city of Dis in Dante, Inferno, canto 9. 7That the idea of killing gods seems implausible, is perhaps a testimony to how deeply Western culture has been saturated with Jewish & Christian ideas.

I found this episode rewarding to watch, because of its various narrative elements, which made it thought-provoking. As I have never had much of a head for the sciences, the scientific problems in this episode don’t spoil it for me, as they might for others. The last 5 or 6 minutes seemed not really to lead anywhere very much, but they were interesting for their echoes of earlier moments in the episode.

3/4, I think. A good episode in many ways, though not exceptional. And there was no reliance on holodecks.


Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Sat, Apr 21, 2018, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Great ep. But when Kira made her comment to Damar at that moment I just felt it made her look like a cold hearted bitch no better than the Cardassians she hates. She could have made her point another time or way. That's honestly the first time I felt that toward a Star Trek main character.
Set Bookmark
Cmj
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

I'm glad I'm watching on Amazon. I swore Jenkins looked familiar so I was able to quickly look it up. It's Mackenzie Westmore of 'Face Off' fame. She was so adorable back then. She really needs to slow down the plastic surgery. So-so episode.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I see everything. :)

Thanks, Katie. I didn't know any of that. Interesting.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

"Another thing, when I was growing up in Seattle (not a small city by any means) the local broadcasters refused to air this episode because it depicted the devil."

What?? In Seattle? Are you sure it wasn't preempted for baseball or something?
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Four stars for this drizzle? So transparent. That end speech of Sisko as writer. So terrible. I just couldn't watch it. Made me sick and wanted to turn of the tv. Absolute pulp.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Wed, Apr 18, 2018, 6:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

The actor playing Roga Danar had a good screen presence. There was a certain sexuality about him even though there was nothing sexual about the role or story at all.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Wed, Apr 18, 2018, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

The intensity factor of Season 3 is off the scale. Love it. "Vengeance Factor" / "The Defector" / "The Hunted" / "High Ground"

That's quite a quartet and far, far cry from the scattered silliness and omnipotent beings of the week in Season 1.

I think "High Ground" is a very good episode. It was more meaningful to me today than it was back in the 20th century. It has the tone of a DS9 episode (that's a compliment).

Set Bookmark
James04
Wed, Apr 18, 2018, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Detestable as holodeck episodes so often are, this outdoes them. Flot and Trev would be vastly improved by being obliterated. Where is Colonel Quaritch when he’s needed ? Or is the Avatarverse cloaked in utter inaccessibility ?

I like Voyager, a lot. But while Little Miss Half-Ktarian is tolerable even in generous doses, Itchy and Scratchy IN SPACE !!!! are puke-inducing. If Captain Planet were a Totally Right-On space vegetable, he would be as they are.

Having a good message - “Folk need one another, and need to realise that they depend on one another, so they really ought to drop all the narcissism, tribalism & chest-thumping” - does not make up for having a weak-as-water plot, shallow characterisation, and (yet again) more lazy Deus ex Holodeckery. One is used to wretchedly-confected Evangelical art like “Left Behind”, which sacrifices aesthetic value to the requirements of its message - but it is very disappointing that ST makes the same blunder. If a story is garbage as a piece of craftsmanship, it is sloppy and insulting to broadcast it, regardless of how good the message may be.

Neelix did something to prevent the episode being totally unwatchable, but not enough to rate the episode more than one star. There are worse episodes than this, so this one does not quite deserve zero, notwithstanding the efforts of Butthead and Bevis.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Tue, Apr 17, 2018, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

This is one episode that I never caught much in repeats, and I didn't remember just how good it is. Just an excellent show. Season 3 certainly has gravitas.

Tomalak is the Uncle Arthur of Star Trek. Uncle Arthur was only on a handful of "Bewitched" episodes, but he made such an impact that fans think he had many more appearances than he did.

Same for Tomalak. I certainly would have guessed more than four episodes.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Tue, Apr 17, 2018, 4:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

Boring, talkative, contrived, mad rambling of a lunatic, cliche of being stuck in a cave on a planet, etc, etc.. One Star. Another miss of DS9. The season started so well, but we are back on the old level and that isn't good.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Mon, Apr 16, 2018, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

Just watched this one again. Love it. Kirk's recital of the declaration preamble is classic Shatner. The haters of this episode crack me up. The parallel earth scenario seems to put a bunch of people off. Please. In a TV show that regularly employs technologies that will never come to pass, like matter transporters that basically disintegrates human and reassembles him without I'll effect, or warp engines the enable travel at several magnitudes of light speed, you refuse to accept a parallel earth? LMAO. Classic ep. Good Kirk/Spock moments. Good McCoy lines. It beats the heck out of most of season 3.
Set Bookmark
Cmj
Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 1:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

I felt sorry for the caatati at first. But, as someone else said, it reminded me of a vagrant that wants even more once you've given everything available to him and then becomes violent. I was really hoping the crew would meet a nice race of people for once, but I guess that's not good TV.
I dislike the B'llana character so I always fast forward through her scenes. They always make her whiny and contentious, like a shrew.
Set Bookmark
Cmj
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

I liked the Kes character in the first two seasons, but then somewhere in the 3rd season, her voice and mannerisms became too 'affected' and it was strange. I don't if it was the actress or the writers that made that decision, but it made her seem like a zombie. I think her storyline was hurried due to the fact that it was Wang that was supposed to go. Not Lien.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

"deus-ex-technobabble" -- I love it.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 11:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

Borrrringgg. Another snorefest.
Too much coincidence...O'Brian and Ms. Bilby "happen" to be on that planet. Dax's mother "happens" to be a business magnate. It of course "happens" to be one of the main characters...amazing that there are supposedly 100s of people on the station, but everything that happens always happen to the same 6 people.
Into the last stretch of episodes, and one after another goes nowhere.
Set Bookmark
JOHN NORRIS
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 6:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Has trek said all it can say?
Set Bookmark
James
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Just my two cents worth. There are a few good things that can be said about ST:TMP. No question the special effects are wonderful, the cinematography is incredible. I saw this movie when it came out, I must have been 13. I was very impressed with how good the Enterprise looked. I still am. The ship was colorless and dull, but seeing it and the old crew on the big screen was terrific fun for a kid my age. Visually the movie was stunning, even if the color palette was bland. It's been described in other reviews as "Logans Run", lots of white and soft pastels. And everyone wears their jammies to work.

The ships were done with actual 3D modeling, the old-fashioned way, not CGI. In fact, STII: TWoK was somewhat famous for the groundbreaking demonstration film for the Genesis Project. That was a very early use of computer imagery. ST:TMP was all old-school.

Jerry Goldsmiths score was incredible. It was so good, it was reused and became the theme for the Next Gen series when that started. That score is now synonymous with the Star Trek franchise. There are some commendable things about ST:TMP, others have pointed out various qualities as well. But generally these things boil down to effects, the score and other post-prod factors. And then there is the emotional aspect of seeing the ship and the old gang on the big screen. There's nothing wrong with appreciating these things.

Nonetheless, this film is plodding, poorly paced and the characters are not well developed. Their interactions are mostly mechanical and dull. The story is, as has been noted, just a retelling of The Changling. I don't know why Roddenberry did this. He had to be aware that he'd told this story before. He, or someone at Paramount, had to realize fans were going to notice. But he went ahead and did it anyway. He might have thought, this is how I really wanted The Changling to be, but I didn't have the screen time or budget to do it right. Now I do. I don't know, I'm speculating.

Gene Roddenberry, and the directors he worked with on the old show, seemed to do a pretty good job of making economical and effective use of air time when working with an hour long episode format. One hour minus open and closing credits, and commercials, leaves about 42 or 44 minutes, or so? And you really have zero wiggle room. He seemed to respond well to being boxed into that time frame. You've got this many minutes to tell your story and your out, like it or not. It worked. But when he got a chance to make a movie, with no specific limit on running time, and a (relatively) open-ended budget, Gene Roddenberry just seems like he couldn't discipline himself as well.

The result is Star Trek: The Motion Picture. I like the joke title Where Nomad Has Gone Before. That's exactly what this is. It's just an old episode remade (The Naked Now, anyone?). It's no secret this film is the product of quite considerable changes in format (it's a tv show, it's a tv movie, it's a tv show again, it's a theatrical movie...), and the victim of seeming endless script rewrites. This tells me the whole project was just poorly conceived and executed from the beginning. It went into production with just too many questions unanswered for filming to be going on. It really shouldn't surprise anyone that the film is poorly paced and the interactions between the main characters is almost robotic.

This film cost about 51 million dollars to make. I think it brought in a couple hundred million overall. You can probably Google. Star Wars was made on about 11 million and grossed about a thousand bazillion dollars in ten minutes. Ok, that's being silly. But you get the point. Star Wars was cheaply made. In some places, the sets and props seem almost 1960's Dr. Who cheap. And that's saying something. I almost expect Patrick Troughton to come running out chased by a paper mache monster. But it doesn't matter. Star Wars was a great film, not just entertaining, but a great film because it was a wonderful example of great story telling. The people, their relationships, their adventures, everything was done superbly. Star Wars is everything ST:TMP is not. STII:TWoK is also everything ST:TMP is not. And for all the same reasons. Star Wars and Khan are both just great story telling. They are engaging, compelling, beautifully told stories. For all the money Paramount spent on TMP, it's like watching paint dry.

Star Trek: The Motion Picture, despite some really good things that can be said about certain aspects of it, is ultimately a bad film. It's a bad film because it simply fails at the one thing a movie is supposed to be from the beginning, a good, well told story. If it fails at that, impressive special effects and a beautiful score won't save it. If you're trying to defend this picture based on things like that, you're just proving my point.

Apparently Paramount agreed. This film did make money. It made back its investment and then some. But it wasn't nearly what it should have been. The return on TMP, given Star Treks legacy, the expectation, the money put into it, should have been multipes of what the studio actually made back. This is why Paramount green lighted a second film, but also promoted Gene Roddenberry to somewhere out of the way. Harve Bennett was brought in to salvage the situation. Bennett was made executive producer and put in charge of the film. The result (STII:TWoK), as about 99.999% of people will agree, was a vast improvement over the previous film. The comparisons of this movie to Moby Dick are already discussed on the internet, you can find those yourself. Needless to say, this film is no less cerebral and intelligent than TMP, but it has the story telling qualities that make great movies great. They're the same qualities that make great novels great.

Star Trek: The Motion Picture is an exercise is aimless, uncertain production plagued with a producer and staff who were apparently making up a lot of this on the fly. This movie had the potential to be so much more. Given the anticipation leading up to its release, ST:TMP really should have been a home run, knocked right out of the ball park. Instead we got a mess whose gaping flaws they attempted to cover over with obscene amounts of sparkle and flash. That's not story telling. It's superficial crap. This film is, as I said, ultimately a bad film.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Fri, Apr 13, 2018, 2:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

I didn't understand the title either.

The needlessly stubborn colony leader has a certain physical hotness to him.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Fri, Apr 13, 2018, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

There's a terrible and swift power in the galaxy. And its name? Its name ... is ... dare we speak it?


KEVIN!
Set Bookmark
Jake H"=(
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

I really didn't like this episode - the whole ethical dilemma seems so silly to me.
Yeah it sucks the knowledge was derived off unethical means, but I just find it hard to believe that highly intelligent people can still have that opinion. Let's say the knowledge required to sure a plague was obtained by questionable means. Should it not be administered based on how it was obtained? Cool let's just let everyone die then.

Also B'Elanna really comes off poorly in this episode. Especially when the Doctor said he didn't that B'Elanna acted like a racist.
Next ►Page 1 of 256
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.