Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 6,073 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 243
Set Bookmark
Cmj
Sat, Jan 20, 2018, 7:55am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

I kind of would've liked to see the prime universe's Enterprise crew's eyes bug out at seeing T'Pol, Hoshi and Trip. That's what makes it a fun episode. We're watching it from the view of Prime Universe and thinking 'WTH'.
Set Bookmark
Cmj
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 9:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

They were trying to have fun with it, but I'm glad I can fast forward to any scenes with just Connor Trinneer or John Billingsley. The two most interesting characters in my opinion. The green makeup was not well done on those actresses so it took me out of the show. I did like to see Archer lose sexual control a bit. That was fun.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 11:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

"By the way, I'm start to wonder if something happened to Jammer. He normally doesn't take this long to post his reviews..."

You clearly haven't been here long enough. :)

I am determined not to fall behind into a backlog, but posting the day or two after airing, while a goal, will not always be possible. I have two kids under the age of 5, a full-time job, and household obligations that make time a premium. Sometimes the reviewing schedule just won't work out. I am frankly amazed it has so far since the fall.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 6:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Rahul the wormhole never closed except briefly after Dukat released the Pah Raith into the orb . It's just that after their armada got disappeared in Sacrifice of Angels no Dominion forces were going to chance it. But nothing would stop Odo and Kira from using it.
Set Bookmark
LJ
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

By the way, I'm start to wonder if something happened to Jammer. He normally doesn't take this long to post his reviews...
Set Bookmark
LJ
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 3:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Ed

"Maybe she was XO, but I like to think that "Killy" was third or fourth in command and took out all her superiors on the ship at once. :) She's ambitious."

Yeah, I love that idea too! Captain Killy is awesome! :p
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 11:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

I think you're all being played for suckers. If I were a J.J. Abrams school master hack writer, I'd make it *a* mirror universe but not necessarily *the* mirror universe. It's brilliant really. It let's the writer finally dispose of all that nerdy Star Trek continuity and just do whatever. Space Dragons? Light saber duels? Wizards? Why not? It's another universe! HAHA
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 10:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Filip my point about Hoshi being empress was that even in the context of the silliness of AMD it was ridiculous - a gag within a gag. There is zero justification for her being able to just declare herself empress, even assuming the Defiant was all powerful. She had no authority over the Defiant crew and apart from Mayweather, who seemed to arbitrarily support her, there was no evidence that the crew would just follow her and and bow down to her for no reason. She wasn't even part of their command hierarchy (unlike, say T'Pol or Archer) Heck Mayweather may as well just punched her in the face in the next scene and called himself emperor.

The ending was basically a joke.

Regarding the spore drive I agree it is ridiculous. I don't even think it's like the Force, which is fantastical, but has the benefit of being non falsifiable at least.

Regarding the spore drive, we don't need to speculate - it is impossible with a capital I. Living spores do not permeate the vaccum of space including within spitting distance of STARS(!!!). If they do, they are so fundamentally different from spores on earth that you might as well just call them something else or say it's "the force" or whatever.
Set Bookmark
LJ
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 6:32am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Plain Simple

"What does the hair have to do with it?"

I suppose @wolfstar meant that the hair looked too human?
Set Bookmark
LJ
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 6:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Anonymius

It's not stated what was Tilly position before she killed her captain, but following the logic, she was an XO.
Same thing with Connor on the Shenzou. He became a captain after MU Burnham died during a mission, not killed by him, so it stands to reason he was the XO before that. And when Burnham kills him, MU Detmer becomes the XO (Burnham calls her "number one" in The Wolf Inside).
Set Bookmark
LJ
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 5:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@John Harmor

I didn't mean a literal war, I meant the fictional war that's going on in DSC, i.e., the Klingon-Federation war.

@KT

That episode didn't "piss all over warp drive". It has been implied that subspace is the middle through which FTL travel and communication is possible since the first episodes of TOS. They even used the term "hyperspace" (which is basically the same thing), once or twice in TOS, before the show got its mythology properly defined.
Set Bookmark
LJ
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 5:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@LJ, I can't believe Rick Berman and Jeri Taylor let that VOY ep, omega directive, piss all over warp drive!

Oh wait, I can believe.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 10:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

"Also, do you expect a happy narrative full of wonder and utopia when we're literally *in the middle of a war*?"

@Lj, the original series was made during the height of the Cold War.

TNG was made towards the end of the Cold War, but tensions were still high.

Star Trek has always been a great escapist contrast to the horrors of our reality. While the real world feels like it could crumble at any moment, Star Trek came along to show is that maybe the future won't be so bad.

Funny enough, DS9 explored darker themes and the horrors of war at a time of relative peace. Things aren't so good again. We may get ourselves into another Cold War, if we're lucky. I don't need Star Trek to remind me why the world sucks. I need it to show me it won't always be so bad again.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 9:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

4 star episode! Best so far for Season 5. Pure enjoyment to watch.

Without Janeway around (she didn't make an appearance until 22 minutes into the episode), Tim Russ and Robert Duncan McNeill could really shine and put in a great performance. I know this Vulcan in love (or not in love) was done in several episodes of TOS, but they still did a great job with the theme here. I also liked the guest actress who played the alien woman.
Set Bookmark
LJ
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 7:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

*Refreshes page yet again eagerly awaiting Jammer's review*. Glad to know I'm not alone. :p
Set Bookmark
LJ
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 7:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Skunky

Orville has been successful because it's mostly a comedy show, not something people watch because of its sci-fi values. In my opinion, it's comprised of TNG rip-offs interspersed with dick jokes. And seriously, if you consider *that* to be "a bright, straightforward take on Star Trek", then I guess you and I have been watching different shows for the last 50 years.
But hey, each to their own. If you like the show, great. I personally find its jokes so juvenile that it makes me cringe.
And in my opinion the main problem of Discovery is its writing, which is superb at some places and completely sloppy at others, not its inherent "darkness". But again, the show is still in its first season.

"Why didn't they just use the Tardigrade DNA on someone else and let them make one single jump back to the PU? Stamets only went crazy after making hundreds of jumps."

Because they only had one single sample of tardigrade DNA and the tardigrade itself got the hell out of sight as soon as they released it into open space.

"And why would they keep taking Tyler on missions, when every single one he's been on has been a disaster, with him losing it every time? I realize he's the only one on the Shenzou now that isn't from the MU, but wouldn't Mike just have gone by herself. She knows Tyler is a nut job."

The only two persons that realised Tyler has PTSD (or rather Post Klingon Transformation Into a Human Disorder :p) were Cornwell (which was unconscious after her time in the Ship of the Dead and was promptly dispatched to the nearest starbase by Lorca, before she could share her insights on Tyler's condition) and Burnham, which was too much in love with Tyler to hold an objective view of her partner.

"It had been less than an hour since Mike told them to evacuate, so how did the Emperor even know she hadn't attacked the base yet? Did someone from the Shenzhou tell her? How did the Emperor get there that quickly? How did no one notice the Discovery?"

I suppose the Emperor scanned the planet and detected life signs? Or probably like you said, someone at the ISS Shenzou, someone not very happy with Burnham's decision to wait, told on her plan to the Emperor. As for them not noticing the Discovery within the 40.000 km range of the transporter, it's either a plot-hole or they've used that ludicrous concept of subspace beaming, which was introduced in Star Trek 2009 (one of the few elements I disliked about that film).

@Jason

You're comparing entire arcs of TV shows to 11 episodes of Discovery (8, if you discount the first two, which were a prologue and the 7th one, which was a standalone time-travel high-jinks episode). Also, most of these shows had their war arcs beginning in their 3rd or 4th seasons, while Discovery started with a war arc from its beginning. I say, give time to the show find its proper balance between darkness and light. If it doesn't after a couple seasons, then I'll definitely agree there is a problem there. But for now I'm willing to be patient. :)
Set Bookmark
Jason
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 6:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

LJ - Does the presence of a war mean we have to put up with constantly grim, dreary situations with no hope? When I think of the best war arcs on TV - DS9, Bab5... they were gripping without needlessly punishing the viewer with constant and unyielding oppressive darkness. That sense of balance seems to have been lost in DSC.
Set Bookmark
LJ
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 6:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Also, do you expect a happy narrative full of wonder and utopia when we're literally *in the middle of a war*?
Set Bookmark
LJ
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 6:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

As much as I love the happy and utopic universe of TNG, I've got to admit that it wouldn't fit in television in 2017/2018.
People tend to forget that shows like Trek don't exist in an isolated universe. They are primarily shows, okay, but they're also products that have to be consumed by large audiences and make lots of money to justify the producers spending millions of Dollars with *a single episode*.
And for those means, a TV show, any TV show, has to thematically follow whatever model the other successful shows that are being aired at the same time as it, so it stands higher chances of being successful too. And nowadays, the successful shows are the ones filled with the same kind of dark narrative, twists and plot convolutions that Discovery had, like GoT or TWD or The Expanse or Dark Mirror, to name a few examples.
If Discovery didn't follow the model employed in current successful television, it wouldn't make money. And without making money, it would be cancelled. It's simple like that.
Even the visuals of Discovery being more reminiscent of Kelvinverse Trek is explained by the simple fact that, what reignited the very interest in Trek was 2009's reboot film and its sequels. You can love or hate those films (I personally like 2009 but find the other two boring), but there is no way to deny they were responsible for bringing Trek to the spotlight again. And Trek being in the spotlight again was the main reason Discovery started being produced. So of course it would look like more these recent films, because it has owns its very existence to said films.
So yeah, as much as I would LOVE a Trek show à la old school Trek, I don't blame Discovery for trying to fit into the current market. I actually praise them for making something that, although not flawless by any means (my list of criticism of this show isn't small), is entertaining and manages to be successful too and lucrative, so most people are happy.
Set Bookmark
LJ
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@KT

Warp field and subspace bubble are synonyms. The canon "proof" that Trek warp relies on subspace to work is in the Voyager episode "The Omega Directive" (S4/Ep21), which presents us to the omega molecule, a highly unstable molecule that destroys subspace, rendering warp travel impossible.
Set Bookmark
LJ
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 10:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Plain Simple

Thanks for the reply! What I meant with my comment about the Klingons is that they're showing a different group of them this time around, ones that are centred around religion and cults. The reason why within this group there is no diversity because all the members of said group are on the same page. They just look like a monoculture if analysed separately, but in a broader context of Klingon culture, they are different from all the other Klingons we've met. That's what I meant when I said that thhey added diversity to Trek's portrayal of this alien race. Q'onoS isn't a planet of hats anymore.
Set Bookmark
Cmj
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 8:04am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

I've only watched TNG besides Enterprise, and that was a long time ago. Does the series ever mention Archer and the first Enterprise saving Earth? Are the aliens that they stole the warp coil from, still limping home?
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 12:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

This episode is even worse than I recall.

Almost a decade later, I agree with everything the poster named Damien wrote. This is awful.

Seriously, I'd rather watch "Angel One" again. At least watching Trent spritzing himself with perfume is funny.

P.S. -- That was seriously the worst intro to an episode in "Next Gen" history.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 12:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Better than I remembered, though it's mostly the outer edges that save the show.

At the core, it doesn't work. There's simply not enough Troi/Ian time for there to be any emotional payoff at the end.

However, "The Child" definitely shows they've thought some things out from Season 1. I like how the changes are presented with little fanfare or exposition.

And I may be the only "Next Gen" fan who liked Dr. Crusher and Dr. Pulaski. I wish they had been on a show or two together.

Set Bookmark
John
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 9:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

You're not wrong. And yet, the invention of engines propelling cars and planes did not require proof of the existence of space, a concept which can therefore also not be said to exist "in real life".
Next ►Page 1 of 243
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.