Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 60 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Mon, Aug 1, 2016, 4:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Devil in the Dark

Just rewatched this on DVD this afternoon, a rainy winter's day in Melbourne, with my 25-year old daughter home from uni. Classic. Classic. Classic ST. On every level. The Spock-McCoy thing is really subtle here." I'm a doctor,not a bricklayer" is a Hall of Fame legendary line. The pace is crackling, those frontier miners are gritty, and even Shattner doesn't chew any scenery here. The man could act when he put his mind to it. And I've wanted one of those silicon balls since I first saw this as kid in the 60s. Beyond stars and ratings. Eminently rewatchable on a loop.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 9:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

Never mind any ST aspects here. This is classic misogynistic sixties Americana. In fact not even, because the gender stereotypes here were so entrenched no one even thought of it as misogyny. This ep should go into a sixties TV time capsule. It's a hoot Just for that and I adore it. ( PS I'm a woman!) The most priceless thing is McCoy going gaga over the green eyed one.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Sat, Jul 16, 2016, 9:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

Is someone in this alien society designated as the Chief Thanatologist? How can anyone be an -ist on something you can't see, touch and experiment on empirically? And Janeway's blah blah blah to Harry at the end about what we don't know about death...Ya think?
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Sat, Jul 16, 2016, 9:43am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

No, not the Vidiians! I care not about plot and characterisation....the creepiness factor is just too gross. "Phage" is derived from the ancient Greek root of the verb "to eat". It's just beyond silly to think a disease that eats their cellular structures physically can be overcome by grafting harvested organs from aliens. Yikes. Total turn off.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Sat, Jul 16, 2016, 9:34am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

You guys all toddlers on this thread? That scene where Chakotay says he won't be Janeway's "token Maquis officer" sizzles with such sexual tension I thought they were going to have a hull breach or something. One of the best done moments in the whole of ST. So is the scene in the shuttle when Janeway tells B'Elana some captains like having their assumptions challenged. Dramatic tension this time. Sheesh! Give the shit a go and look for the subtext. ST is not LITERAL. People making "corrections" about what the writers should have done just plain kill me.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Sun, Jun 5, 2016, 11:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

"Droxine" sounds like a brand of cough medicine. The women's outfits are insanely sexist even for a Roddenberry gig. The long shot of the cloud city from the ground has all the depth of a sticker. The ruler of the place is a sleaze bag. Other than that some nice rolling in the hay between Kirk and the Troglyte brunette. You guys are cinematically challenged: Spock isn't flirting with she who is named like a cough medicine (the very idea!) He's totally laughing and smirking at her. BTW she looks obscenely anorexic, ugly as.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Apr 29, 2016, 11:06am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

What a pity they ruined a potentially stellar episode with Troi and Barclay. This insistence on cross pollinating episodes with characters from other series is vexing in the extreme. Barclay should be locked up permanently in a holodeck and Troi exiled to Betazed. Hayley should have been given more screen time and character development. She's the absolute highlight of the episode. And the holographic fly doing microsurveillance.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Tue, Apr 26, 2016, 11:19am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

One of the stupidest wastes of an hour's worth of TV, ST or not. Good grief is my only reaction to this inane nonsense.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Tue, Mar 29, 2016, 9:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Who cares about how many stars? This ep is so outstanding it stands alone in a class of its own. Understated, naturally acted even by the hammy Mr Shatner, and Mark Lenard just lights up the screen...much better here than the sulky and stilted Sarek elsewhere. Who cares about the silly sets? That's not what eps like this one are about. The depth of characterisation and the dramatic tension are top notch. Better than some of the feature length movies. ST GLORIOUS ST.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Wed, Mar 16, 2016, 11:05am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

Deplorable dysfunctional dim-witted waste of time. If this was a VOY ep Jammer would have given it barely half a star. I don't care about stars. The little girl is brilliant and wasted in an ep with not a single convincing or dramatically satisfying premise.
At least I got to see Bareil, subtly underplayed by Anglim. He could teach Brooks a thing or two about how to stop chewing the scenery. I will never forgive the morons who killed off Bareil.
His character had such potential. Lazy scripting and direction. I hate it when TV series cop out on the hard stuff. Money or creativity issues? Sort it out.
I've had a running debate with one of my daughters about this ep. She adores DSN and kinda likes this ep. We rewatched it last night and as I started pointing out the silly premises her enthusiasm seemed to wane. I hate myself now.
But a dodgy piece of TV is a dodgy piece of TV. Just cos it's DS9 is not enough to earn my respect.
Staring eg: their tricorders could not pick up the holograms? They had to physically go to the edge of the projection field, and the girl had to stick her arm out? And when the arm half vanished and reappeared she did not freak out? Gimme a break!
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Wed, Mar 9, 2016, 8:34am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

Just rewatched this. Jay Underwood quietly scintillates in this episode. Beautifully pitched characterisation and his intonation and inflections have a naturalness lacking in much formulaic ST. Pity they didn't have him as a recurring character. I luv how he questions Janeway's assumptions to the point where she is lost for words. How often does she NOT have the last word?
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Tue, Mar 8, 2016, 9:06am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

Petulant, dear, my very point, Magda Goebbels was a psycho crim. So is Icheb's mother, one unmitigated bitch. I love Voyager. I adore ST. But when I see something that disturbs me, I call it like it is. The best thing about this ep was the visual depiction of the agricultural society on Brunali. Seven brilliant as usual, Janeway unhinged and inconsistent as usual. After the warm and fuzzy family under the stars scene, the mother and the writers pull a cheap and nasty swifty and ruin the entire ep. I don't care if the holy ghost itself wrote this shit. The only other unmitigated bitch I can think of is Lady Macbeth. Psycho crim pure and simple.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Sun, Feb 21, 2016, 8:53am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

The trivial and literal-minded nitpicking on this thread is depressing. This is an outstanding episode with atmosphere, mood and tone so rich it deserved the big screen. It's a superior stand alone ep with a cinematic pedigree some of the ST movies could only dream about. Thopmson is spectacularly effective, Ryan shines, and an ep based on a triangle of female relationships and tensions creates an extraordinary feminist statement. This is most satisfying SciFi above and beyond the narrow ST confines. The notion of a ST Canon and the harped upon need for continuity are a toddler's neediness, a fear of getting out of one's comfort zone. There's nothing in this ep that contradicts the spirit of ST and its scope for creating powerful metaphor. It's simply great meyaphorical ST and great Sci-Fi.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 5:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Chill everybody, and realise when these "writers" are pulling our collective leg. This isn't an episode, it's a joke.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 10:18am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Sorry the flower is a Protea...similar to Banksia.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 10:10am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Grumpy-otter, the flower Boothby plucks at the start of the epid a very real Earth thing, a Banksia...native to the southern hemisphere, Australia Africa etc.I'm an Australian and I scored a chuckle when I saw it. Just like so many of Neelix's alien fruit and veg are common produce in fresh produce markets.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 10:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

James, I recommend "vomit" over "cry". I do when they "kiss" cos all I see is a purple leg in disguise.BlinD, I totally agree, I hate this episode for so many reasons, I refuse to start enumerating them. Suffice it to say even the great Ray Walston has some appalling lines, and Valerie Archer is the second most hateful "woman" in ST after Icheb's mother.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 9:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

A being resulting from "an accidental convergence of technologies" grows to show more nobility and sense of self-sacrifice for the greater good than all of the rules of the almighty Federation put together. What dramatic irony that the most advanced Borg conceivable displays the greatest sense of moral individual decision making. WOW ten times over. A singularly great hour of sci-fi cinematic excellence.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 9:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Night

Agree with Tim. One if my fave EPS, I watch it again and again. Compelling as a "lost in space" metaphor... And Chakotay has depth for once, he's not just eye candy or Janeway's yes man. The visuals of Voyager's power systems shutting down are stunning, eerie atmosphere. The early staff meeting scene without Janeway has some brilliant dialogue. Humour me. All systems operating within normal parameters. Love it.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 9:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

Come on Justin, Ray Wise is the best thing in this ep apart from Seven of Nine, who again tells Janeway where to get off with her endless romanticism about Earth. Gotta absolutely love Seven.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 8:59am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

One eminently forgettable episode despite the gorgeous scintillating Virginia Madsen. I wonder why actors of that caliber do this sort of rubbish.The icecream scene is the only unforgettable bit... And Virginia's glorious legs in that shortish outfit.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 8:53am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

Totally agree with Petrus. Janeway is a disaster on legs. "Erratic, conflicted, disorganised." Ring a bell? Seven of Nine is the single best thing on Voyager, possibly in the whole of ST, no small thanx to Jeri Ryan's screen presence and natural talent for under-delivering rather than over-deliveting her lines. She is consistently pitch perfect and has an extraordinary range.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Thu, Feb 18, 2016, 9:49am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

Ghastly episode. A holographic Chakotay? Seriously? But it was all saved by Jeri in that stunning red dress. And all the finger-licking to check for levels of "sodium chloride" in that sauce.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Thu, Feb 18, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Adorable episode. Deftly directed by McNeil,why did they not ask him to do more? Seven's dating attempts are hilarious and pitched perfectly comedically. The ep blows the hypocrisy of organised religions and dogma driven rules right out of the water in the funnest, most unpretentious and understated way."I found these beauties simmering in the memory buffer!" A characterisation so apt for this gem of an episode.
Set Bookmark
icarus32soar
Thu, Feb 18, 2016, 9:21am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

The only thing the Good Shepherd saved was her delusions of grandeur. Janeway a Good Shepherd? Remember how she treated Harry in The Disease? Gimme a break! She is one erratic, conflicted, disorganised "captain". Mulgrew is fab, and for the most part I enjoy Voyager enormously, but the writing and directing is beyond inconsistent.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.