Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 572 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 23
Set Bookmark
Brian1
Tue, Nov 28, 2017, 9:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

* meant to put in my new screen name of "Brian1" there to differentiate myself from the other Brian*
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Nov 28, 2017, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I was wondering if anyone here, including Jammer, have noticed what I think of as "relativism" (or lack there of) in Star Trek reviews. By this I mean that for me, a three star episode of TNG or DS9 (or BSG, or Babylon 5) is almost always better than a three star episode of Enterprise or Voyager. Sort of like there is a high tier sci fi set that competes amonst themselves and a low tier. There are 2 1/2 or even 2 star episodes in TNG that I enjoy more than 3 star enterprise episodes. Anyone else notice this? I think it would be a hard task to rate episodes that can stand against higher tier shows. I will note that Voyager was unique in that the majority of its episodes were mediocre but when it was good, like 3 1/2 to 4 stars those episodes seemed more like high tier episodes and can hold their own.. Enterprise, while I don't hate it, seems like I would still be watching 3 star TNG or DS9 than Enterprise's top scoring episodes. It's sort of like gold handicaps: Enterprise having an excellent day, while deserving of praise and a high star rating, just can't compete in my opinion with DS9/TNG/BSG/Babylon 5 on one of their excellent days. That's why it seems to me like these reviews are scored relative to their own show, or their own tier, but that Jammer doesn't really try to make the star ratings be consistent for all shows.

Secondly, with that established, I would say Discovery is definitely lower tier Star Trek/sci fi. That doesn't mean it is bad television (I still think Voyager and even Enterprise are more worth watching than the majority of television) or even bad sci fi, but just that it can't compete against the greats.
Set Bookmark
Brian1
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 10:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

What no one seems to notice is that this is not the only Star Trek showing shape shifters known to the federation. TNG's "The Dauphin" features two shapeshifters. Clearly they are not the same species as The Founders or Odo, but they are still there and have relations with the Federation. I don't fault DS9, however, as the series is clear Odo is looking g for his home, and his species, not merely other shapeshifters. I assume he can tell enough from the Federation database that other known species of shapeshifters are not his. He remains very interested in reports of other shapeshifters because they may be his species, not just because they are shapeshifters or "metamorphs".
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 8:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Fifth Season Recap

I definitely agree, Iceman. This is when the show reached its highest plateau in season 5-6. And although there aren't that many episodes like In the Pale Moonlight that actually advance the plot, rather than just using the Dominion War storyline to construct the plot of individual episodes, I still think it works very well. I love the high stakes and the politics (which is why I also love Babylon 5 and Battlestar Galactica, but especially Babylon 5), and it keeps the show fresh in how it uses the "current events" of the show as a setting to base episodes on and they change from season to season.
Set Bookmark
Brian1
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I don't usually have trouble suspending disbelief with Star Trek, but I found the whole spore drive being plugged into Stamets thing really hard to get past. I know, there have been implausible things on Trek many times but this is the worst since it's supposed to be grounded in science (unlike the Q or prophets who are more clearly fantasy). Yep, just plug him in and somehow he can guide these also implausible spore things to make the ship jump. It was one thing when it was the creature who was inherently oriented with the spores, but just for some human to do it? I'm glad the drive seems to be done with though.
Set Bookmark
Brian1
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 4:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

@ Trekker: "Star Trek isn't a Sci-Fi intrigue show with mysterious plots, cool tech, and morally ambiguous characters. Humanity was meant to be exalted for our virtues, not made grey for our modern issues."

Star Trek can and does have those things... the first two are in every Star Trek series. How many mysteries were there to be solved on TNG? And of course there has always been the cool tech. As for the third, the morally ambiguous characters, they were used to great effect on DS9. The difference between that and Discovery is that the ambiguous characters were not Star Fleet officers. Sure there was the occasionally, as in quite rare, time when Siskin made a grey decision, but that's all. I guess my point is Star Trek needs those things you mentions, but not just them alone, it also needs its trademark philosophy and optimisum, which this show lacks. It also lacks chemistry among the crew and the usual pleasant to watch, lovable characters that have been crucial to Star Trek through the years.

Oh and James, Nemesis sucked, and Jammer was spot on with his critique of Voyager (he was quite positive when the show deserved it, which it did a significant amount of the time, a point you seem to miss). I've never seen a bigger hack job, cash cow of a Star Trek film than Nemesis. If you personally liked it, or Voyager, that's fine, but don't try to act like Jammer just doesn't "get it" as far as Star Trek is concerned just because he is willing to call out the franchise when it deserves it.
Set Bookmark
Garymartian
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 5:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Long time lurker, and first time poster. I’m really enjoying Discovery so far. I’ve been a Star Trek fan my whole life and I’m glad to have Trek back on TV. I definitely want to see more of Airiam, and I’m sure the rest of the bridge crew will start getting fleshed out now Discovery has jumped somewhere unknown. This last episode had me at the edge of my seat most of its running time. The scene where Discovery was jumping around the Klingon ship of the dead was the highlight for me, it just looked so cool.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 11:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Josh wrote:
"I'm not as thrilled with the episode as everyone else, but it was enjoyable.

I think the main problem was that the resolution felt entirely unearned. We've seen very little of this war - eight episodes following one ship. During that time we never really saw the larger ramifications of the war, except for the episode defending the mining colony and another random ship being destroyed. The rest of the time it was always admirals telling Lorca how badly it was going. We never feel the gravity of the situation, the pain and anguish, the Klingons taking lives we care about or the possibility of the Federation being conquered or destroyed.

And then we have a scene with swelling music over Burnham saying "It's done. It's over." as if we had just witnessed Frodo carrying the ring to Mordor or the Rebels defeating the Empire. Those moments earned their epic triumphs. Here, I did not feel a thing."

Thank you, Josh, for saying exactly what needs to be said. You are exactly right.
Set Bookmark
Jabalian Fudge Cake
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

The writers themselves have admitted the Klingons in Discovery are modeled on Trump supporters.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 9:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

I love how a brief chaste exposition-free scene between two men is considered "ham-handed"
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 10:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

I find myself pretty depressed by some recent comments.

As a gay man, yes, it *does* matter to me that I see LGBT representation and diversity in Star Trek. I'm not going to pretend otherwise or say I'm satisfied that in the fifty-year history of the franchise how not one character reflected my own sexuality until now.

Skupper, being gay matters to me, and it matters that I see a gay couple on Star Trek Discovery.

Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 8:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Jammer, I believe you have the episode credits for this week's "The Orville" listed at the top of your review. This episode was written by Kirsten Beyer and directed by John S. Scott.
Set Bookmark
Sebastian Howard
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 8:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Guess What's Coming to Dinner?

"and it outdoes Mad Men because it knows that characterization can be more emotionally involving when it's tied to plot and expressed rather then internalized."


How dare you, sir.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 10:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

So, it appears that little blue thingies swirling around can explain, be, or do anything in this universe. Except it's the laziest possible way to characterize a new race. There are FAR too many blue sprinkles in this show. The writing, after a glimmer of hope in the last 2 episodes, is right back in the dumpster. Speeches to cameras galore, overly expositional wooden dialogue, and excruciatingly long filler scenes (near the end with the antenna). The kissing scene was cringey and not even close to believable. The plots are muddled, the pacing is off again. The dutch angles somehow are back. Overall this was a lazy episode and the writers seriously need to get their sh*t together.

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 9:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Troy, to try to shed some light into your questions as to at which point the series deviated from Fuller's plans. Here are a few things to consider:

Akiva Goldsman was hired as a producer after Fuller's departure. The writing credits for "The Vulcan Hello" indicate that he re-wrote Fuller's teleplay.

Bryan Fuller mentioned in an interview that the then unnamed second episode was written by Fuller and Nicholas Meyer. This didn't turn out to be the case.

Given all this, as with Fuller's previous contributions to Voyager, it's extremely difficult to ascertain how much credit Fuller deserves and what is being carried through.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 11:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

We can only hope the DIS writers go back and draw some inspiration from B5. Could you imagine, bringing back the spirit of B5 and applying it to the ST universe?
The shadows were the most compelling enemy (if you could call them that) in the history of television. Londo was one of the most tragic characters I've ever witnessed. Every single person that I have had watch B5 eventually becomes so engrossed in the arc they can do nothing else except finish the show with their jaw on the floor. Getting to the end of season 4 feels like falling off a cliff and I've never felt the same way with another television show, ever.

I find it funny B5 would even pop up in a discussion here. You can't even compare it to DS9, it's totally different. Not better, not worse. Just fundamentally different and special. So any argument founded on a comparison of the two is automatically suspect.


Set Bookmark
Brian S
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 5:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Possible explanation for the cloaking device.....it cloaks the ship visually, but not to any sensors.

So maybe you can use a cloaking device to project visible light from behind the ship to the front, thus making it appear invisible to the naked eye.....but any of the other countless devices that can make device that can scan for metal, or scan for life signs, or whatever a warp core is made of would still be easily spotted by any advanced civilization.

Which is also in keeping with some of the Star Trek stories over the years. Cloaked ships tended to have very high energy signatures. Those who knew what they were looking for and how to find it (radiation surge, plasma leak, a tachyon detection grid) could spot a cloaked ship.

In this universe--unlike the superpower that the ST Federation is portrayed as--the human-centric Union is considered to be a technologically pedestrian species in comparison to the Krill and several others. So their cloaking technology might be good enough to fool the cameras and radar of a primitive, barely space-faring world, but it makes sense it would be useless against the scanners of the other adversaries who can easily detect the signature radiation from a warp core regardless of whether or not someone see it just by looking out their window.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 4:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

@Omicron: "I think the moral here is that when you have a mob who judges people based on the shallowest of criteria, that's a huge problem
regardless of whether the rumours they spread are true or not.

And the actual "fake news" that the Orville crew planeted in the feed just demonstrate how silly the whole thing is. Should the life of a person depend on whether he has a dog named Chuckles? Now that's one seriously fucked-up society.

(and I'm not saying that we are that much better. That's precisely why the message of this episode is so powerful)"

++++++

I like this comment of yours very much. Just for that, YOU get an Upvote!

However, I also read a rumor on Twitter that you run a human trafficking ring through your pizza parlor.

I suppose I COULD fact-check that rumor, but it's easier for me to just give you a Downvote and wait for you're apology tour.

:)
Set Bookmark
Brian
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 1:05am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Jason, I salute you, sir, for one of the best posts written. Everyone, please search the page for "Jason" and read his post. Great explanation for why Trek doesn't, and shouldn't, obey cannon. As a brief counterpoint though, Jason, there are some thematic elements from the other Trek shows that worked extremely well. And so it does seem to make sense that we keep some of those around and not just abandon everything. And to be fair, some of those thematic elements are fairly central to the universe--the tone, how the humans act, etc.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

It's great to see the characters having more chemistry, and the plot was nice. But the writing still sucks. We still get speeches to the camera (this time in the form of a "personal log"), and the level of sarcasm in nearly ALL of the characters is just unbelievable. Real humans never use that much sarcasm. It's not funny and it doesn't make the show "lighter". It just makes it seem unrealistic, or like the writers are all teenagers.

I'm also realizing that I just don't like what they are doing with the overall tone of the show--the f-bombs, and this week...wait for it....beer pong. I can look past it and appreciate the show for it's other strengths, but I just don't like how the writers imagine the world. It's like they just copy pasted present-day people into the future. And present day 20-somethings in their first year of college away from their parents, at that.

I can't tell yet if the writers are just young and inexperienced, or if it's all intentional so they can show the characters growing and maturing into real officers. Because if they do that there could be a nice payoff for sticking with the show. But if not, I'll probably stop watching.

It's kind of starting to feel like MTV's The Real World in Space. Which, if you're 16 is extremely captivating but if you're 36, it feels like chaperoning a high school dance.

Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 2:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

"If The Orville can balance the scales and execute as well as "Krill" does, it might be a good, fun series. But it may never be a great one."

+++++

And I think that's fine.

Six episodes in, I will repeat my comment ont the pilot episode:

"Watchable and entertaining enough....even if a little groan worthy. The best description of--and hope for--The Orville is not TNG, but rather a serialized Galaxy Quest.

Galaxy Quest wasn't great or earth-shattering, but it was good and watchable (and importantly, re-watchable)."

GQ wasn't "The Godfather" or even "Airplane!" but it was enjoyable, funny, and had some decent dramatic points.

Orville isn't going to be "The Sopranos" or "Seinfeld." I neither need it to be nor expect it to be. But it can be an enjoyable way to spend an hour, with some fairly interesting stories.

Irreverant TV shows can produce really interesting and clever stories. Some of my favorite thought-provoking TV episodes are from comedic shows like Futurama or South Park

Ironically, I think the Orville stories are fine, it's mostly the humor that is poorly written. The Orville can be a gold mine full of workplace humor. Move past the uptight behaviors of past Trek crews and have the Orville crew interact more like real people who are actual co-workers on a transport vessel. And to an extent they do this. Like the crew egging Bortus on to eat everything, which is a funny social interaction that is totally realistic. But 500-year old car rental commercial jokes? If they can clean that part up and figure out how to do better situational/character humor and drop the direct 20th/21st century pop culture references, it can be a really good series. And that's good enough, I think.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 11:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

My thought is that they didn't want to push the spore drive technobabble for yet another episode as it was thoroughly talked about in the last two episodes. Yes, they could've given us more, but it looks like they're saving it for a different episode. We just know the stopgap solution found last episode works, for now.

I also wanted to add that I agree with some others that the admiral getting taken hostage was extremely obvious and could've been handled a little better. Captain Lorca has remarkably strong plot armor!
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

There are good ideas developing, but the scripting continues to be horribly amateurish. The amount of expository "dialogue", mostly delivered in muted whispers on 2x speed so they can fit more in, is just destroying the entire flow. Worse, it signals to me that the writers are arrogant--they believe we are stupid and need long, immersion breaking expository segments just to understand whats going on. They need to wake up and realize their audience--all first world humans with money and access to broadband streaming services, just MIGHT be smart enough to not need cringe-worthy exposition.

Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 1:52am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Blue Alert!
Set Bookmark
Brian
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 4:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Just saw this above posted by Morn, pretty hilarious and spot on:
"Maybe the whole show so far is actually set in the mirror universe where everything went wrong (including the war with the Klingons), and "mirror Stamets" will actually turn out to be good Stamets? That theory would certainly explain why everyone behaves like such a jackass on this show, including Saru..."
Next ►Page 1 of 23
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.