Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 24 (Showing 1-24)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 9:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

4 star episode! Best so far for Season 5. Pure enjoyment to watch.

Without Janeway around (she didn't make an appearance until 22 minutes into the episode), Tim Russ and Robert Duncan McNeill could really shine and put in a great performance. I know this Vulcan in love (or not in love) was done in several episodes of TOS, but they still did a great job with the theme here. I also liked the guest actress who played the alien woman.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

This was a fun episode! The idea of aliens who think that the holodeck is real but that the humans are fake, that's pretty creative!

Too bad Janeway had to be involved in it, it would have been better if one of the Delaney sisters played Arachnia.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Robert Picardo episodes are the best.

I have come to accept that he's a sentient being, even though in the real world, we should not believe that about computer programs we create.

Janeway acted like a real bitch to him. Totally out of character? Or who knows what her character really is?

Personally, I don't buy the BS about his computer program "degenerating" or whatever it was doing. But Robert Picardo did a great job with the script.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

How do you know when Janeway will violate the prime directive? The answer is, the more impractical it is to violate it, and the more it puts Voyager in danger, then the more likely she will violate it.

The other thing I have to say here is that it was ridiculously obvious that the alien was playing Janeway, but given how stupid Janeway is, I sort of assumed she fell for it.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Tom Paris is not a character I dislike (although not like "wow he's the best character in all of Star Trek!") so I never mind another Tom Paris episode. Nothing really bad here, but nothing great either.

Except the usual getting pissed at Janeway's arbitrary regard for the Federation doctrine of non-interference. In this episode, Janeway must let the aliens destroy their own world, but an episode later, Janeway is putting the entire ship in danger to get involved in some other civilization's treatment of telepathic refugees.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 7:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

A while back, Harry Kim tried to create a new doctor hologram but all it did was recite textbooks. I assume that off-screen, during the time since then, Harry Kim has perfected his knowledge of holo-programming, and now can create holographic experts by just talking to the computer for two minutes.

I started out really enjoying the episode, because of the great chemistry that the EMH hologram had with the Cardassian hologram.

But then, they threw us the incredibly stupid moral dilemma. The only reason the hologram looked like a Cardassian war criminal is because our EMH thought it would be cool if the hologram looked like an actual medical expert. But they could just have easily used any random schmuck as the model, and given that Harry Kim can create a hologram in 2 minutes, it would have been that easy to say "Don't worry B'Elanna, will have a human doctor in two minutes."

I really loved what a commenter above mentioned, that they've previously used Borg nano-McGuffins to save crewmember lives, and the Borg have killed BILLIONS of people. This Cardassian doctor killed only a few hundred people, and for the benign purpose of saving lives in the future and not for the purpose of conquering the entire galaxy.

Now that Harry Kim is such a great holo-programmer, why don't they create holo engineers, holo bridge grew, and let the holograms run the ship, doing a better job than the humans (never needing to take breaks to sleep or go to the bathroom) while the humans do more self-actualizing stuff?
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 10:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

I guess you're supposed to just enjoy Jeri Ryan acting as a bunch of different personalities, and ignore the stupidity, incompetence, and plot holes surrounding it, but the bad parts were so bad I could not suspend my disbelief to enjoy the episode.

The Borg are the greatest threat to the galaxy, and Janeway should be doing whatever she can do defeat them. She shouldn't have taken the McGuffin on board in the first place, and she should have handed it over to the aliens immediately.

Sucks for Seven, but the needs of the many (and we are talking tens of billions who will be assimilated by the Borg in the future) outweigh the needs of the one. Spock taught me that. Captain Kirk and Spock would have done the right thing. McCoy might have complained about having to let someone die, but he would have lost the argument.

And on top of that, don't they have security cameras in the future? And the Doctor making fun of Tuvok's mind meld is completely out of character.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Better than the average Voyager episode, but overrated.

Reasons to like it:

Cool visuals (Voyager entombed in ice, Voyager crashing into ice, interior of frozen Voyager)
Good job making Harry Kim and Chakotay look older
Garrett Wang gets to play a more serious version of himself instead of the goofy never-promoted guy who's intimidated by Seven's big boobs.
Geordi La Forge fan-service cameo

Reasons why it's just another stupid Voyager episode:

Another episode with time travel
Another episode with a crash landing
Another episode with loads of technobabble
Another Gilligan's Island episode where they find a way to get home but it doesn't work
Another episode where the day is saved at the last possible second
Why they have to use the slip stream drive if it's not completely tested makes no sense.
Why Voyager has to crash into a planet makes no sense.
Why does Chakotay have a girlfriend whose willing to die in order to violate the Temporal Directive, makes no sense
Why can't they send more messages back in time? Why don't the Borg themselves use the technology?
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Of all shuttle crash episodes, this was the very best. I give it four stars. Neelix, a much underrated character, shined in this episode. The child actress who played Naomi did a fantastic job. And even Tuvok had some wonderfully poignant things to say on the shuttle. If you didn't like this episode, you have no humanity. Even a Vulcan gets it.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

1. Enjoyable episode, Robert Beltran did a good job with it, I think he's a good actor held back by Chakotay being given a boring personality.

2. Demonstrates how EVIL Janeway was in Scorpion. The Borg are the greatest threat to the entire galaxy, and when you discover they are at war with another species, you DON'T HELP THE BORG.

The Borg will never return any favors to humans whom they will try to assimilate again in the future, but we see that Janeway made another dangerous enemy for mankind by taking sides.

This is also, I think, the first episode showing Seven being wrong and the captain being right. (Although by being right here, it's an admission that she was horribly wrong in Scorpion.)
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

A zero star to one star episode. Typical dumb plot where everyone (on the suttle) almost dies but saved at the last minute by nonsense technobabble.

B'Elanna is a character I never liked that much, and her weird suicidal depression seemed out of character for her.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 11:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

And a few episodes later:

Harry Kim: We've encountered a pre-warp planet with a billion people that will be destroyed by a plague.

Emergency Medical Hologram: No problem, we can give them some advanced technology that will let them cure the plague.

Janeway: We can't do that, that would violate the Prime Directive. Let them all die! Lieutenant Paris, take us out of here, maximum warp!
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 11:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Janeway: "Let's create a new Borg with 29th Century technology. What could possibly go wrong?"

Seven of Nine: [Explains everything that could go wrong.]

Janeway: Well we can't MURDER this unborn drone just because it might save billions of lives. That would be immoral of me.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

An OK episode.

Yes, I sort of agree with criticism of the Gilligan's Island like theme of many episode, but I suppose these kinds of episodes are inevitable given that the crew is looking for a way home, but if they actually get home that would be the end of the series.

But the epsisode got a lot better when the alien reveals his true purpose. Finally, someone telling Janeway how horrible she is! When I watched the Scorpion episode, I felt very strongly that Janeway should have let Species 8472 defeat the Borg.

I was rooting for the alien to bring Janeway to the justice she deserved, but unfortunately she was saved by Voyager.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: One

I liked the previous episode, "Demon," better.

Too much Seven. This season has too much Seven. Seven having hallucinations for 20 minutes is boring.

Only the Doctor saves the episode from being unwatchable. Robert Picardo is a great actor.

* * *

Why don't they just all stay in stasis for 75 years while holograms run the ship? Then they won't all be old men and women, half of them dead from old age, when they finally reach Earth.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

This was a decent episode. No worse than the typical Voyager episode, maybe even above average. It doesn't deserve the bad rating.

Of course the "science" and logic parts of any Voyager episode never make any sense, and if that was the basis for a review, every episode would get zero stars. Like why can't Voyager just use the replicators to make more Deuterium?

This episode is in the spirit of TOS, learning about strange new life and dealing with it diplomatically rather than just killing it because we don't understand it.

Better than episode after episode of Hirogen/Kazon/Vidians taking over the ship because of stupid Janeway decisions.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Dec 29, 2017, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

Ignoring the typical inconsistent science stuff (Borg nanites that are never heard from again in future episodes), this is one of the best episodes of Season 4, because it focuses on the characters. Neelix is an underrated character, and I also liked Chakotay in this episode. Plus the theme of dealing with religious beliefs that make no sense in light of scientific evidence. Too bad more episodes aren't like this.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Dec 29, 2017, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I was not convinced that Kovin wasn't guilty. He had the motive (steal Borg tech to sell it to someone else and get rich), and Seven couldn't remember what happened during the two hours, and that Kovin would rather be blown up than get caught implied that his ship was full of incriminating evidence. If they wanted me to believe Kovin was innocent, they should have had Tuvok explain it more logically.

Anyway, why was what Kovin did such a big deal? Janeway had the Doctor remove all of Seven's Borg implants against her will, changing her very nature. But all Kovin did was take a few self-regenerating nanites that Seven wouldn't miss.

And if Kovin is able to sell such advanced weaponry, why doesn't his own spaceship have any of it? Kovin should have been able to blast Voyager out of space with his superior guns.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Dec 29, 2017, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

Holograms are so powerful. Why don't they just put holo emitters all over the ship, program holographic crew, and then they don't have to spend all day working at boring jobs?
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Dec 29, 2017, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Also, if they could transport the Omega molecules, why not just leave them in the transporter and not re-materialize them? Problem solved! Once again, nothing on Voyager ever makes any sense.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Fri, Dec 29, 2017, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Omega Directive: top secret, yet huge Omega symbols appear all over the monitors.

Anyway, the aliens remained convinced that Omega molecules will save their civilization, and Janeway didn't kill off the alien scientists, so they will just redo their experiments after Voyager is long gone. Which means that Janeway risked getting Voyager blown up (once again) for no reason.

These aliens aren't evil like the Hirogen or the Kazon or the Borg. Janeway didn't even bother to try to negotiate with their government and convince them that this was a bad idea.

Another Voyager episode that doesn't make any sense.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 9:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

An episode validating holocaust deniers? Did a bunch of Jew haters who believe in a Global Jewish Conspiracy take over the writing staff?
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

At first I thought that the whole forgetting thing made no logical sense.

But then it occurred to me that on every episode of Voyager, for the most part, the crew has forgotten everything that happened on previous episodes. So I guess that's how it works!
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

I think this is one of the better Voyager episodes of Season 4, a season which had too much Seven of Nine and too much Janeway being stupid and not enough of the other crewmembers.

The science part of every single Voyager episode doesn't make any sense ever, so don't even bother to nitpick how the bodyswitcher guy is able to do his thing, or how they were able to reverse it. I'm still trying to figure out how "holograms" work.

That out of the way, I enjoyed seeing an episode about Tom Paris, one which Seven of Nine had no part to play. Yay!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.