Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 18 (Showing 1-18)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 4:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

During the pullout shot of the Discovery at the end, you can kind of make out a piece of debris at the back that looks like a wrecked D7.
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 3:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

The first of Chief O'Briens many sufferings. :)
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 4:47am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

Toward the end of Data and Troi's discussion you can see a fly (bluebottle) flying in front of the camera. I had to do a doubletake to make sure I wasn't crazy, but this is the first time I've caught such a thing on Trek!
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 8:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Pacing was off in this one to the point of tedium. I lost interest in several scenes and found the mind meld jargon almost unwatchable. What is with the 'Rainbow Nebula'. The cadet who looks 30 should be an Ensign at least. The stupid Klingon scene tagged onto the end was disjointed (What is this, Dark Matter style ending?). Suddenly we have a new character, disposable security chief number 2. I wonder how many of them we'll get through? As you were, number 342.

Nothing worked in this episode for me at all, except the odd bit of dialogue here and there. My head hurts. I think I'll have to re-watch this later and see if my opinion changes.
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 7:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

A relatively good episode ruined by a terrible ending. What were the writers thinking? It's almost as if they backed themselves into a corner and wriggled their out of it by coming up with a 'this will do' ending. I think I would have preferred a Romulan plot.
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 2:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

@digitaurus - I've noticed that quite often among the female guest stars. I've been rewatching the series and I'm seeing a lot of nipples in the early seasons. My guess would be Gene had something to do with that... or maybe the network wanted to spice things up to keep viewing figures high?

Ishara reminds me of Billie Piper. Or rather, the other way around.. It's those lips and cheekbones.
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 8:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

The story about Lorca abandoning his ship and killing his entire crew just made me laugh out loud. For those that are familiar with TNG Recut Picard, Lorca basically IS that person. LOL. Is this real life?
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 7:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Ships in Discovery sound like Star Wars ships aka racing cars in space. That seems to be another thing borrowed from the JJ style. It's less of a deep thrumming sound like the Enterprise D, more of a Futurama sounding 'wiwiwiwiwwi'
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Sat, Oct 14, 2017, 7:25am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

This episode felt like a cross between Deep Space Nine and Farscape - and in a way the Krill feel like a mix between the Jem'Hadar and the Scarrens. Did anyone notice the religious Krill leader was played by the same guy who was a Jem'Hadar in DS9?
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 7:14am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

To best thing to come out of this episode is the contribution it made to this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4T21HiMXs7Q

:)
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 8:39am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Fantastic episode with amazing world building. Pretty much everything has already been said above. It looks beautiful on the bluray release. That Klingon world matte painting REALLY holds up, but how did they so perfectly blend it with lightning and moving people?
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 7:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

* A dillithium producing planet, crucial to the fleet (40% of all dilithium seems rather high!) but the closest (intact) ship is 84 hours away? Oh dear Star Trek, haven't we been down this route before?

* The Klingon language is starting to sound like a Canadian trying to speak guttural Mongolian. They are quite interesting as an alien race, BUT they just don't feel like Klingons. At all.

* Using the Tardigrade creature in that way kind of reminded me of Equinox from Voyager. But at least it was upgraded from 'monster of the week' which was what most people were thinking.

* You know.. the blue control panels, the holo communicators, the jump drive tech... This all would be very fitting in a 25~26th century series. Sigh.


Other than those nitpicks, I quite liked this episode. Much better than the previous 3 to be honest.

Set Bookmark
Hunter
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 4:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

This felt more like an episode of The Expanse than Star Trek, right down to the magical physics defying 'spores' being a key story element. Even the presentation of this show is quite similar, lots of blue hues everywhere... And to be honest now that I think about it, the intro credits are actually kinda like The Expanse, too.

F***k it, I wanna watch The Expanse now..

Oh, did anyone spot the red shirt minutes before his death?
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 7:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

So, some random thoughts I had ..

Over the past two weeks I've been re-watching TNG from the beginning. I'm currently reaching the end of season 2, so it's going to be quite interesting comparing the two. I have to say that while Discovery has quite a few things down off the bat (set design, visuals, sound, ambience and so forth) but it's characters and plot are leaving a lot to be desired.

The opening scenes of this episode were so poorly acted, and the exposition dialogue was awkward. The pacing and dialogue did gradually improve as the episode went on, but it's almost as if that opening scene on the planet was the FIRST scene they shot together - I certainly hope that is the case. Michelle Yeoh's performance was lackluster, but she still had her moments. While watching her I briefly recalled a similar role.. I think it was Captain Yao (The Expanse) of the Donnager, which was one of my favorite portrayals of an Asian captain in recent times. She carried an on-screen presence that I really got a kick out of. It was a shame I didn't get those feelings here.

I didn't much care for Michael Burnham, I liked her even less than the captain - I guess we'll have to see if this character can evolve into something more than just a person inserted to create conflict.

With regards to the new look of the Klingons - Well, it had to happen eventually. If only they just had some hair... THEN they'd look a little more like what we're used to. As they are right now, they look more like articulate Night Walkers than Klingons. And what's with the different colors? Possibly an idea to portray alien races as not being entirely homogeneous, as they usually have been over the years? (On that note, wouldn't a warrior race be mostly homogeneous by default?)

Did anyone notice the use of sound effects from 23rd and 24th century Star Trek? I heard sounds that were definitely from TOS, while others sounded like they came from TNG, DS9 or the TNG movies. Peculiar choices, why not make new sounds? Also I didn't like the warp in sound effect. Seemed like it lacked bass. It sounded less like a powerful starship dropping out of warp and more like an insect being wiped off a windscreen.

Seeing the holographic communicators reminded me of that DS9 ep with Eddington. You know, if this was a show set in the 25th century, I'd be happier about that...

****

Quoting Brian "The visuals are fantastic however, making me wish modern special effects were around for shows like DS9 and Babylon 5, two shows with their epic space battles and massive fleets would be amazing with modern visuals."

Yes, but modern visuals can be done poorly too - Just take a look at low budget shows such as Killjoys for an example of that. I think the CGI in that show is actually worse than Babylon 5. Maybe the texture resolutions are higher, but the lighting and visual style is terrible and uninspired. Dark Matter and The Expanse are certainly a lot better, still, careful what you wish for.. :-)

Set Bookmark
Hunter
Thu, Aug 4, 2016, 3:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Highlighting how comfortable Barclay feels with his holographic friends resonates with me and my past. It's similar to how I felt with my Internet-only friends as a teenager. I did feel more comfortable talking to people I've never met as opposed to real life friends. I remember feeling a little awkward watching this episode the first-time around, because that was around the time I was actually addicted to that virtual life, to the point that I couldn't function properly in the real world - much like Barclay.

Ofcourse, these days, with the social media generation, what was once considered a fairly 'rare' and abnormal condition has become commonplace.
I never have or never will use social media, so I guess that makes me an Internet grandpa now. From my view, there is nothing social about social media anyway.

Back then I was treated quite poorly because of my condition by friends, family and professionals. I think they just didn't understand how to deal with something that was relatively unknown to them. I kind of felt that with Barclay's co-workers too, which surprises me considering it's supposed to be the 24th century and all... Wouldn't Pete have been more prepared for this eventuality, given Barclays record?

I would hope that in 2016, we know better than to treat people suffering from these conditions poorly. I've long since grown up and moved on, but if I had received better treatment at that time, I might've dealt with it differently and lead a different life.
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Wed, Aug 3, 2016, 8:34am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

For some reason Torres spends the entire episode on the bridge - eventually driving the ship at the end. That seemed a bit odd. It's funny how you never notice these little details until re-watching 15 years later. :)
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Wed, Aug 3, 2016, 6:15am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

@Robert

Yeah, but there is also this line:

NEELIX: In dozens of ancient folk tales of my people, there's a common theme - they describe a phantom army that appears out of thin air, destroys entire colonies, and vanishes in the blink of an eye.
SEVEN: Subspace corridors.
NEELIX: Exactly.

It's probable they were space-faring at that time and low-warp capable. Memory Alpha also seems to support this theory.

My problem is I find it difficult to comprehend how so many space faring races are staggeringly older than the Federation while still being so backwards technologically. Sure, not everyone ends up like the Dominion (also at least 1,000 years old) but it's just a nitpick I have with how the different races are commonly portrayed.

But I guess much like Earth history, long drawn out periods of limbo really can alter how fast a civilization develops.
Set Bookmark
Hunter
Mon, Aug 1, 2016, 9:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

It's implied in this episode that the Talaxians were a space faring race 900~1000 years ago when the Vaadwaur were at the height of their power. This bothers me. It's like the thing with the Bajorans having conquered space flight some thousands years before (I can't remember the exact numbers). Why must nearly every alien race in Star Trek be that much older than the Federation? Sometimes it just feels like the writers think '900 years' sounds better than let's say, 90 years.

Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.