Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 40 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
man guy
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 5:13am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Some very tame humor in this one that I think everyone will enjoy. I couldn't help but laugh out loud several times during the first half.

I was expecting a random mind alien behind the curtain and was glad it was something a bit more meaningful.
Set Bookmark
Random Communications Officer Guy
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 6:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I'm very late to the party, but I recently discovered this website after enduring "Magic" and wondering what other people thought of it. I didn't like it for the reasons stated above, first by Skeech and then others. I wasn't sure if I was alone. While I usually avoid online discussion boards because they lower an already abysmal view of online-humanity, these were very thoughtful critiques and very insightful adulation as well. For the most part I applaud how well people treat each other (at least relative to most other sites). You should all be commended--except potty-mouth ManManMUC. Just kidding. And the original review is very thoughtful too. Well done.
Set Bookmark
man guy
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 5:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

I guess if I use my natural charms to woo someone and eventually sleep with them that's also rape, because hey, Millenial logic, and hey, I need to somehow justify the fact that mostly all I do is consume popular media, and hey, all I have to fill the spiritual void inside me is my identity as a right-thinking modern saint.
Set Bookmark
man guy
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 3:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

For a "lovesick" episode, it's a masterpiece. Still, I'd put it at below average for this show. I disagree that there wasn't any character development though. Some characters got to show their straight-man side, and hopefully the whole infidelity subplot can go away after this.
Set Bookmark
guyman
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 1:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

God those kids were annoying. All of the other scenes were great, but I still couldn't stand this episode, and I even love the pilot.
Set Bookmark
Guy
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 5:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

Sexism this, Sexism that, Sexism Sexism Sexism, are you all so soft and cuddled that the idea of women not being portrayed as the absolute equal to men is too much for you? What does it say about you that you appreciate a piece of art on just your god forsaken agenda, what about the acting? Or the sets, of the costume design, or the narrative itself outside of your obsession with Sexism, you people honestly are as narrow minded as Klingons.
Set Bookmark
guyman
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 12:51am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

A breath of fresh air after the predictable offerings from DSC. It was fun seeing Seth sit back and act captainly while other characters got to shine. Some of the scenes (the conference room) made me feel like I was right back home with '90s Trek. The only thing I didn't like was the silly countdown at the end.

Overall, one of the best offerings of the show to date.
Set Bookmark
Startrekguy
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 8:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

People are being too harsh on this show.

I don't think any star trek series has been very good in it's first season. TNG was awful DS9 was slow, VOY was dreadfully uneven. I think people are just seeing what they expect to see and are jumping on every bad thing they can.

Slow down and give this series a chance to get better.
Set Bookmark
Startrekguy
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 11:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

He spiner was fantastic in this episode and it was very entertaining to watch.

But the fact that data went rogue and commandeered the federation flagship when there was a dangerously ill child on board and faced no consequences for his actions is absolutely ludicrous.

Even if we employ the excuse that data was himself commandeered against his will and made to do these things. It still raises the major security issue of having such a powerful creature who is susceptible to outside influence in such a position of authority and importance in the first place.

Surely Starfleet would have least rotated him of their premier ship after these events.

But no because star trek never has any lasting consequences for anybody.
Set Bookmark
Startrekguy
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 11:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I'm sorry but this entire comment thread about so what if troi lost her alien sixth sense is just stupid.

Imagine losing a part of your self that you've had since birth, something that everybody else on your home planet has. A thing that basically defines your species and their entire role in the federation. Imagine the shame of having to go back to betazed and be treated like the poor disabled girl who has to talk aloud while everybody else is having telepathic conversations.

Of course troi was angry, anger is normal in the aftermath of losing something so innate that helps define who you are. Its not like she was parading around the ship shouting at anybody who would listen, she only responded harshly when people were being overly pitiful to her.

It also makes perfect sense that she would have misgivings about her role on the ship without her empathic abilities. They are a crutch that she is used to leaning on in the absence of any evolved human like instincts that she has probably never learned or had to employ before.

So what if troi acted like a diva about the whole thing. Worf is the biggest drama queen on the ship most of the time and everybody loves him.

I think a lot of people just defaulted to meh it's a troi episode she's just being her usual crappy self. The thing is she actually has a very valid reason here. She doesn't know that her abilities are going to return and the weight of having to get used to being essentialy disabled is a hard one to bear for anybody (yes even beautiful half alien women).
So what if the sense she lost isn't a human one. Your lack of understanding of her plight doesn't make it any less real for the character.

I will say while I'm here though that a lot of episode was kind of nowhere. The bits I liked boiled down to Guinan being a better counsellor then troi as usual and Data and Troi puzzling out the solution to their problem in a very believable way.
Set Bookmark
Startrekguy
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 10:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

Marina Sirtis did a good job here, I was enthralled by the entire episode. It makes me wish that Troi had been cast as the head diplomat/negotiator of the show with a talent for espionage.

Instead we got a counsellor in a show where nothing ever had any lasting consequences.
Set Bookmark
Startrekguy
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Troi gets a lot of hate from the tng fanbase and I don't think all of it is justified.
The character did get a lot better as soon as she was allowed to forego her bunny outfit and actually use her brain and in some essence that all started here in this episode.

I think the episode deserves 2 stars just for that.

Plus midwife worf that's another half a star.
Set Bookmark
Startrekguy
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 10:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

I was very confused by the B-plot in this episode. Surely Counsellor Troi must already have some bridge qualifications, otherwise why the hell does she have her own specified place on the bridge.

Also in disaster she takes command over Ro Laren who is definitely a bridge officer (she's like the lead helmsman). Also in conundrum when the computer reads out the list of the bridge crew Deanna is included (ahead of lieutenant worf).

The whole thing just left me scratching my head.
Set Bookmark
GuyFaux
Sat, Jun 10, 2017, 2:36am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

Is it just me or did they forget all about the catapult?

Janeway retrieves Seven, apparently abandoning the shuttle (which they seem to be able to produce ad infinitum), and then Janeway and Chakotay have dinner, indulging in some light teasing and blissfully forgetting all about the catapult and getting a thousand lightyears closer to home.

Like the salamander episode, I think this one is best considered non-canon.
Set Bookmark
Orion Slave Guy
Thu, Apr 20, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

I love it when a sci-fi show does sci-fi. I felt for Dr Crusher as her world became smaller and smaller. It's nice to see that the rest of the crew didn't treat her like an idiot when she was telling them more people should be aboard.
Set Bookmark
Orion Slave Guy
Thu, Apr 20, 2017, 10:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

I wasn't expecting to see such a positive reaction. This is a tremendously boring episode. The dialogue was so cheesy between Data and Hayne; me and my wife were looking at each other shaking our heads. The crew comes across and way too gullible. Sorry I disagree with most of you.
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 8:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

On level 4 it still missed its opening shot against Yar and Riker. Giving them time to run and avoid death. They were standing still. Why not actually hit your target the first time? Level 1, 2, 3, or 1,000,000,000 shouldn't matter. Each miss gives your opponent opportunities to learn your weaknesses as well. Like I said, it missed every shot, except the energy field for Riker. If you're trying to sell a 'super' weapon to random folks, you might want to work on the targeting system. I'd be like, "so you missed the first time, why? So you can better learn how not to hit them the second time and third time?"
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 10:43am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

I too, like J, was confused about a supposed planet killing weapon that could never hit its target. It missed every shot, except the stupid energy field that trapped Riker. And they just guess that it's saving him for questioning later or was that just the writer's way of saying it could actually hit something? Was the thing programmed to fire warning shots first? Did it intentionally miss so it could give chase, for fun? Not a very efficient demonstration of a weapon you're trying to sell people.
Set Bookmark
Orion Slave Guy
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 5:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I call on someone to clean up the comments. These kinds of debates belong somewhere else. Besides, I doubt anyone in the course of humanity has ever been convinced by someone else on a message board. "Gee, you make a good point, I'm a Republican now."
Set Bookmark
Orion Slave Guy
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 5:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

I agree 100% with the four stars. Fantastic episode. Someone who has never seen this episode is unlikely to be able to figure out the mystery. As someone mentioned, it's like a Twilight Zone episode. Sirtis's performance was way better than normal. I felt bad for the pain the music was causing.

That being said, what was with the trap on the lawn? The odds of anyone visiting were remote, and it's blind luck that someone stepped just on the right spot.
Set Bookmark
Orion Slave Guy
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 5:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

I liked the way Data gets trapped in an impossible situation, being pushed way beyond his comfort zone. The other story lines all play out well. Troi seems to be Picard's top advisory now, though I don't think that's what the producers had in mind when they created her character.

It's also nice there's a race that lives on non-Class M planets. What I don't like is how Data blows up the aqueduct. It looked like it was still working afterward. I also don't like how Picard always assumes colonists are willing to re-locate on a whim.

Still, 3 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Orion Slave Guy
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 4:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

I'm watching every episode on Blu-Ray and I'm absolutely love it. The vivid colors and details really add a lot.

I do think Evolution is a stinker, and not a good way to start off the season. The progression of the "beings" happens way too fast. I may have missed it, but I don't recall hearing details about what the "egg" does, and how it works. This would have helped solidify would have further helped Dr. Stubb's argument for no abandoning the experiment.

As far as the doctors, I'm not a big fan of either one, but Crusher brings more empathy to the role than the forced, hard-edged personality of Pulaski.
Set Bookmark
someguy
Wed, Oct 12, 2016, 4:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

A man watches this episode and thinks it's crap.
He says to his friend, "It's utter crappilies."
His friend says, "You mean crap don't you?"
The man says, "I said crappilies, diddle I ?"
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Even though it was a giant floating Rasta Santa head, at least it wasn't Nagilum
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Sat, Sep 17, 2016, 12:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

If I were the Romulan Captain, as soon as the section of hull was detached I would vaporize it. No impossible shield spin in the vacuum of space, no implausible shuttle bay rescue, no reason to hang around any further. Bye bye, tell your friends to stay away.

Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.