Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 22 (Showing 1-22)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 10:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I'm very happy I didn't need to wait three years for the Beyond review. Thanks Jammer.

I don't agree with your star ratings but I enjoy your reviews. I thought Beyond was a 3 Star film and Into Darkness was a 2.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Mon, Dec 29, 2014, 12:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

So Jammer, are you going to review Into Darkness before the two year anniversary of the film? Yeah I know you're busy being a father and that's great, but you did do a review of Intersteller. Does it really take a year and a half to formulate thoughts about a Star Trek movie?
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Jul 13, 2014, 1:31am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Jammer,

Just curious if you are going to write a review for this movie. It's been out for over a year. Of course there is no rush. Hope your daughter is doing great and life is good for you and yours.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Mar 27, 2013, 7:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Great review Jammer. This episode was not just about the plot, as many plotholes as it was, but it was about the people with Picard (As it should have been) serving as the center. This episode represents all that is great about TNG and why I love it as my favorite series. Yeah DS9 is awesome too, but TNG really does have that nostalgia feel and it was the trek that I grew up with.

I do wonder, which review was longer, this or your review for What you Lave Behind. This review felt kind of like a review not just for the finale, but a look at the series as a whole, kind of like how you did the recap write ups for DS9, VOY, and Enterprise. This review was worth the wait, and I'm really happy that my favorite series finale not just of Trek, but of all time, got the 4 stars on this site.

Thanks for Everything Jammer, and again, fantastic review.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Feb 20, 2013, 2:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Homecoming

Could we say that The Homecoming might be DS9's most underrated premiere episode? It sure seems that way. I watched it and the entire trilogy tonight and it still holds up really well. Loved the scenes on Cardassia 4, and Li Nalas having to adjust to being the symbol the Bajorans see him as.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Feb 20, 2013, 2:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Circle

One thing that struck me about the scenes with Winn, Kira, and Bareil were that the school incident wasn't brought up. It was almost like that whole situation was forgotten, and if you watch ITHOTP and the Circle Trilogy together, that is a little jarring. Really do wish we could have gotten some fallout from the school and what Neela did. I mean while there was no proof, Bareil's life was almost ended by an assassination attempt.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Feb 20, 2013, 2:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Siege

Surprised there are so few comments to this episode. Just watched the entire trilogy tonight and it holds up very well today. I also agree with Jammer that the best scenes were with Kira and Dax in the small ship. It added a sense of humor to the episode that needed it.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Jan 6, 2013, 9:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Jammer,

It seems whenever I watch an episode of Trek, I come by here to see what kind of review it's gotten, even if I've read the review many times. Tonight was "Take me out to the Holosuite", which is a very funny episode and probably IMO DS9's best comedy. Yeah I know it was missed placed with the war going on and such, but that's neither here nor there.

What I did want to say was you started this review talking about the Home Run chase with Sosa and McGuire and that kind of made me realize how long ago that happened. This episode was done in 1998, and I was just awed that this episode came out the same year as that chase.

Of course I'm not sure if you're ever going to read this and maybe one of these days you can do a blog post about it, but this was at the height of the Steroid scandal. I wonder if when everything was happening, that soured you, much like everyone else, towards this event or maybe the game as a whole. Also, with the Hall of Fame in a predicament for the next several years, it would be interesting to get your thoughts on it. It just wowed me, though, watching this episode tonight on how long ago that was and where we've come since.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Jul 15, 2012, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

I think 3 stars is a fair review. This didn't need to be a two parter, but I still think the final dream sequence is one of the best dream sequences in the entire series. It was just a beautiful atmospheric scene with a beautiful score.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sat, Jun 23, 2012, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

I typically don't like the way Torture is done on TV because I feel like a lot of it is just hollow and does nothing to add to the characters. One show that comes to mind as an example is 24. It seemed like torture was used only as a device and when it happened every week, it borders on more annoying than actually useful.

Despite that though, there are two instances I've seen where Torture added a bunch to an episode, and that's here and DS9's die is cast. It's one thing to torture someone, but what I want to see is how this affects the torturer and the victim on a psychological level. If movies/series/episodes manage that, than the torture scene works.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Jul 27, 2011, 3:38am (UTC -6)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

Jammer,

I was just curious if you ever went back to finish Andromeda. I have no interest in the show, and know you won't review it, but just as a matter of free time were you ever curious about where the series went post season 2?
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Thu, Feb 3, 2011, 2:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Remember

Navamske,

Regarding point two, have you ever watched Quantum leap. I think everyone saw her as Kirina, yet we saw her normally. Not sure if that's a valid nitpick.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Tue, Jun 23, 2009, 1:04am (UTC -6)
Re: Jammer Goes to L.A.: Day 2

Yet you commented on an article that was written 9 years ago. And I thought I was bored.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Wed, Jun 17, 2009, 2:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

I don't know how long it's been since the comments section has been here, but I'm very surprised this episode doesn't get any talk around here, much like Equilibrium. I mean for one Sisko gets promoted to Captain, which was big in and of itself. It needed to be done and I'm glad it was finally done in the season 3 finale. Then you had the revelation about the Changelings being everywhere, and that's a great episode to transition between Season 3 and 4. I wonder if this episode would get more comments if Way of the Warrior hadn't been the premiere, but I'd like to think the real premiere was pushed back with Homefront and Paradise Lost.

As for this one, maybe it's not in the top 3 finales, but it's still a great one anyway. Nice way to end season 3.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sat, May 30, 2009, 2:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

Jammer,

Good review. I liked the movie, but I found myself agreeing with most of what you had to say. This movie was fun, and the character work was great, but in terms of lasting impact and what it had to say, and the plot, I think it could have done a lot better. I just hope with this rebooted version, we don't see a reboot of The Wrath of Kahn or something like that. The whole point of this movie was to give Star Trek a fresh look. Having to retell old stories will not be very good when there is so much possibility to do whatever you want with what you have currently. Perhaps in time they can bring in some familiar faces, but until then, I hope the next one is another new story of something we've never seen before.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sat, May 9, 2009, 3:06am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Nice work as usual Jammer. I really really hope you go back to TNG and get at least one episode written in the next month. I think I've been waiting 2 years for a new review. I know you're going to keep going (At least I hope) with it, but after the movie, I would love it if you finished.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Tue, Apr 21, 2009, 3:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Jammer,

I was just curious about something. Will you modify your review to Part 1 and give it a rating now that you have part 2 down. I didn't really like part one very much (Even though it did get better after part 2) but it would be interesting to see the star rating in which you give.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Mar 29, 2009, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Jammer,

Thank you for doing these reviews. I've enjoyed reading them, even though I kinda disagree with your rankings of the final ten episodes. I felt this series had a tendency to stall in areas where they needed to "get on with it" but it all ended up working out afterall. It's been a great ride, this series, and I'm looking forward to you returning to write the reviews for TNG (It will be a long time between now and November).

As for this episode, man I can't believe the comments are this popular. Goes to show how big this series was. Personally, I enjoyed it, but it was more for the fact that the series was finally over more than anything else. We've had long hiatus's, slow build up and it's finally great to know how it ended. I really liked it and was satisfied with how they tied everything up. There were still some lingering questions, such as Starbuck, but it all worked out. I'm going to miss some of these characters and this show some. I've been critical about it in the past, and in some instances still am, but overall I'm glad I saw it.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Mar 29, 2009, 3:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

Indijo,

One thing I heard from the special features was that Seven was going to die in Endgame. That might have had more of an impact on what happened in this episode but since it didn't, it made this episode kinda lame.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Fri, Jan 2, 2009, 2:12am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

Jammer,

You pretty much said what I was thinking after I just watched this episode. This would have been a 3 or 3.5 star episode if it hadn't been for the final 2 minutes. So much good opportunity to Free Seven of Nine and the Writers blow it. I find that, as someone who likes this series, to be really depressing. She looked so great in the uniform, and the hair-loose style.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sat, Jul 26, 2008, 2:57am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Jammer,

As always good review and I liked this episode too. It was fun, and the stuff between Naomi and Seven was cute. However, there was one thing that made me chuckle. Seven of Nine lives in a cargo bay with phasers and other weapons. Now given past history, one would think that her accessability to weapons would be limited, but there was a phaser for her to use. I guess the crew finally did earn her trust in that short time.
Set Bookmark
Greg M.
Thu, Apr 10, 2008, 3:48am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

Great review as usual Jammer.

I agree with you all the way on the Baltar storyline. It's too reminecent of DS9's Season 7 Pah Wraith arc which had Dukat a leader of a cult. I can't help but compare especially since Ron Moore was involved with that final season as well as this final season. I hope the fate for Baltar won't be the same as it was for Dukat, which was near character assassination.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.