Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 79 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Mon, May 29, 2017, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Wtf are Bashir (a doctor) and Ezri (a counselor) doing on the bridge of a ship that's been sent to battle? Doc, get to the infirmary and wait for the casualties from the exploding panels that could be avoided with a few fuses and the falls that could be avoided with seatbelts. Counselor, stay at DS9 and deal with PTSD and Worf's feelings (can we please have 7 more episodes of Worf dealings with his feelings while being a complete jerk to everyone and acting like a possessive, emotionally controlling ex?)
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, May 28, 2017, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

4 stars just for the scene where Laas kills the Klingon. Finally! Someone stands up to these xenophobic Klingon bullies. They pick drunken fights at the drop of a hat and then act all surprised when someone finally stands up to them.

And Worf, with his precious Miss Kronos Sash, acting all offended and taking the side of the Klingons. I can imagine him clutching his pearls: "Oh, My! How dare someone stands up to my species' bullying. How very dare they!"

There are no security cameras on the promenade or in the hold?

Plus, probably the first male gay scene in Star Trek or TV! Kudos.

The episode did start out iffy, though. Miles mentions Keiko in the first few minutes, and I was bracing myself for 45 minutes of putting up with her crap acting.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, May 27, 2017, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

So...if Nog had headphones (or super sensitive hearing) or Jake had earplugs, none of this episode would have happened? Lazy writing.

Also, in the 24th century, people are still so racist that they 1) haven't intermarried enough to get rid of distnct races, and 2) pick dates and mates based on skin color, (but not species, apparently). Cowardly writing meant to avoid pearl- clutching conservatives that would balk at seeing the natural evolution of humans into a mixed race mutt or seeing people of different races in intimate relationships.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, May 26, 2017, 7:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

1. What is Quark doing there, other than acting as a one-man Greek chorus?

2. The characters are caricatures from war movies and the plot is ripped from the same. Heck, Nog even loses a leg!

3.
Lt. "What are your orders, sir?"
Sisko: "We hold!!!!!!"
Lt. "No shit, moron. That's been our mission since before your pampered ass got here. I meant what are your specific orders for our immediate next steps?"

3.5 The femoral nerve doesn't extend to the calf.

Solid 2.5/4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Tue, May 23, 2017, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

So....Bashir is finally outed as a sexual predator who grooms/creates his victims.

Serena is essentially a 3-day-old child (based on her experience of the world) who wants to be the woman Bashir wants her to be. As noted above: Gross.

Once she does manage to get back into her cocoon (probably to escape being molested by Bashir), he jumps right back in trying to build her back up again as his perfect pedo bride.

Also, WTF is up with the character of the sexed up mutant? She's smart, socially aware, and...her mutation just made her slutty? Oh, the horror! A sexually assertive smart lady. Reason enough to lock her up with Wilford Brimley, autistic Ethan Hawke, and Echo's mute kid sister!

Finally, when will Bashir and O'Brien finally get it on?
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Tue, May 23, 2017, 7:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I've come to terms with the writers' delusion that a boring-ass game like baseball would have survived into the 24th century, because 1) it's the least of their idiocies and 2) they've always hinted that it's really not that popular.

This episode takes it to the next level.

First, to expect anyone other than a fringe of humans wasting hours on a game where nothing happens for hours is one thing (I mean look at soccer and Cricket), because you can attribute it to cultural baggage from back in the days when there was nothing more interesting to do than sit through 9 innings. But, to expect logical vulcans to do this is just beyond the pale.

Second, in the middle of the war, Sisko ties up his crew in training for a meaningless game? Seems like a great time for a Dominion attack!

Third, Sisko sells the game as something that requires courage and sacrifice. WTF? Courage in the face of a speeding ball, I guess. And sacrifice? Sacrificing your duties in the middle of a war to the altar of your captain's hurt ego?
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Mon, May 22, 2017, 7:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

How is Worf still in star fleet? No consequences for his assaulting a fellow officer?

Screw him, his stupid sash, and his fragile little emotions. Everyone walks on eggshells around that dude.

And Ezri's comment to Bashir. Really? If an emotionally abusive, possessive 'roided up a-hole hadn't come along, it would have been Bashir? Like she only had two options in her life (three if you count Quark)? Plus, there were plenty of Klingons and Jem Hadar befor she'd ever get to Bashir. She had a type, and it wasn't Bashir.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, May 21, 2017, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

Crewman: We're getting a distress signal from a star ship captain.
Sisko: What's her name?
Crewman: Lisa Cusak
Sisko: Let's look her up and confirm her identity before we 1) delay our mission by 12 days running after her, and 2) telling her all our personal and military secrets
Crewman [2 seconds later]: Wikipedia says she died years ago when her ship went missing.
Sisko: Captain Cusak, what's the star date?
Cusak: [some number]
Sisko: Honey, I've got some bad news for you.
Sisko [to Crewman]: Resume course.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, May 21, 2017, 9:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

The whole A-plot was an insulting waste of time. In the end, the 18-year-old Molly and her PTSD never had a chance to exist, which is the exact same thing that would have happened if they had just recalibrated and tried again in the beginning.

Also, recall that O'Brien and many on the crew had zero issues with **thousands** of people not getting a chance to exist in Children of Time. That is, until O'Brien saw a curly-haired redhead like himself and changed his mind.

The "all women get baby fever when they see a baby" thing was offensive.

Worf was surprisingly likable here. Keiko for once didn't grate on my nerves. Molly was her annoying self as a child, and now we know, as an adult too. Leave them both in the past, and send in Yoshi and Keiko too.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, May 20, 2017, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

It's perfectly normal to send an ensign and his best friend to deliver a high-level diplomatic message from the leaders of the Federation to the Nagus. In the middle of a war. Without backup.

Also, Jake-o has grown up to be quite the A-hole. No wonder his dad seemed to have resigned himself to letting the prophets kill him in the last episode.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, May 20, 2017, 1:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Yay!!! A script written to allow Brooks to showcase his "acting:"
1. Emphasize every syl-la-ble in random and unexpected ways
2. Randomly quiver your voice to simulate the hu-man emotions of "sadness" and "anger"
3. Make sure your eyes never match the emotion you're trying to convey with your mouth.
4. End your sentences like you're holding back ejaculation.
5. Repeat.

Garak shines as always.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, May 20, 2017, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Troll: Hey Kira. I F***ed your mom. lol
Kira: Who is this?
Troll: Throw-away account. Don't bother trying to run traceroute . lol
Kira. k. :(
Kira: But, I don't believe you!
Kira: Liar!
Troll: Your mom's birthday is today and she liked flowers.
Troll: pwned!
Troll: lololol.
Kira: I guess I'll have to travel back in time to see what happened.
Sisko. K.

Everyone in Star Fleet: Weird how we never used this time-travel orb when we've had disagreements about what happened in the past or when we were trying to figure out things about what the founders had done last month. But I guess figuring out if Kira's mom was cheating is more important.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, May 20, 2017, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

Never bought the Dax-Worf relationship. It always seemed a bit abusive to me and I never saw what they saw in each other. This episode tried to make it seem like they were a regular couple, but it failed. There is no chemistry. It all seems forced.

Jadzia's moaning and whining while she was wounded made me wish she'd just die already.

And Worf's dereliction of duty and dredging up of yet another made-up Klingon tradition/song/tale in defense was idiotic.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, May 19, 2017, 11:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Race is very much an issue in Sisko's own time. Why else would he and Jake (with one exception) only date and marry black women? You can't make a show that is that racist (too much for Sisko to date a white woman?) and then give us this heavy handed race relations lesson.

I liked this episode when it first aired. Not enough to watch it again. Brooks' over-acting is fine in small doses, but a whole episode featuring him...too much.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, May 19, 2017, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

1. Why O'Brien in all of the universe?
2. If the Dominion is so keen on keeping knowledge of their involvement out of it, how about not having the Vorta show up with Reimus?

Stupid premise. Someone in the writers' room had an old screenplay lying around and stuck miles in there and made it a Trek episode. At least they knew better than to use Brooks.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Thu, May 18, 2017, 2:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

Remember back in the early days of TNG, when the Ferengi were first introduced? Data said something to the effect of "their technology and weapons match ours." Remember the Ferengi whips? When did the Ferengi go from being militarily advanced to MBA nerds who don't know how to fire a phaser?

Funny episode overall, even if the premise (the Dominion kidnapping Moogie, the federation giving up POW on a Bajoran's request, and the Dominion wanting to exchange her for a disposable clone) is ridiculous.

Nog is awesome. Worf can learn a lot from him when it comes to abandoning a backward culture.

Set Bookmark
Gooz
Wed, May 17, 2017, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

Spoiler alert: Mirror universe episode. Can skip entire thing.

TIL: DS9 allows any jackass to beam into ops with a weapon.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Tue, May 16, 2017, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

[excited shriek] Worf and his Miss Kronos sash finally get their dream wedding. Too bad Miles, Sisko, Bashir, Alexander, and Dax have to suffer to give Worf his special day -- the special day he's been planning since he was a little boy!!

At least Dax gives Martok's racist wife a piece of her mind. The men just put up with Worf's backward culture. Weak.

Also, don't they have wikipedia at DS9? Maybe look up what a Klingon Bachelor party is before agreeing.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Tue, May 16, 2017, 11:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

Worf is so precious, walking around with his bachelorette sash and nagging Jadzia about details of their wedding. What a bridezilla!

Again, Worf is the worst. Emotionally abusive fiance, constant stick-in-the-mud, vain bridezilla, murderer, and a crap dad to boot.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, May 14, 2017, 4:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Great episode, but one minor flaw: Miles knows that he can finally be free of Keiko and her evil loin-spawn AND hook up with ensign Tennenbaum, but he doesn't instantly jump at the chance to replicate the crash? Makes ZERO sense.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, May 13, 2017, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

Watching O'Brien having to deal with Yoshi helps me see why people shake their babies. Powerful stuff.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, May 13, 2017, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

Worf is so precious, wearing his Miss Universe sash and his family flair on top of his Starfleet uniform.

The Klingons are so cute, singing what I imagine is their version of "row your boat" as they head into battle. The exterior shot of their ship while they were singing reminded me of kids heading off to summer camp.

No idea how the federation lets their staff take time off to fight for other armies, but whatever. And Dax, honey, seek some counseling to get away from this horrible, emotionally abusive relationship with Worf.

Overall, fairly tolerable for a Klingon episode. Minimum Sisko overacting. Bonus: No Keiko.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, May 12, 2017, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

A whole planet of people who think they're Cornholio. Each time one of those Idanian idiots showed up on screen, I expected them to ask for T.P. for their bungholes.

Also, sex with a shapeshifting, ever-changing phallus! That must have been fantastic for Ms. Cornholio.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Wed, May 10, 2017, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Brooks is the typical Shakespearian actor: more interested in what his words sound like and what the rhythm is than in what he's actually supposed to be conveying. He is the weakest link in this show, after one-note-Keiko.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Wed, May 10, 2017, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

Odo has been eating and drinking.

Then he turns into an eagle.

We see his clothes drop as he shapeshifts.

What happened to his bowel contents? Did he keep them inside the bird? If so, 1) gross, 2) how did he fit a human's full day's worth of poop inside that small bird?
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.