Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 16 (Showing 1-16)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 3:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

The absence of seat belts on shuttles has made countless episodes like this possible. Thanks!
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 2:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Night

Bored? Crew have nothing to do? Create a massive, multiplayer holodeck world and have the crew rotate in and out depending on their shifts. You can even create a couple of rich brats who need Janeway to play governess to.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 7:04am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

Arturis to Janeway and 7/9: "I was hoping to get your entire crew, but I'll settle for the two of you."

Earlier, before the "entire crew" was on board the fake ship, and before Arturis knew his ruse had been discovered:
B'Elanna to Arturis "Don't touch that. You almost kicked us into slipstream drive."

So, does Arturis want the "entire crew," including his hated Janeway, or does he want a few random crew members who happen to be on board at that moment?

Him trying to kick the ship into slipstream did provide for nice tension before we knew what the evil plan was, but more lazy writing that doesn't fit into the whole story.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

I though they only had synthehol in the future? How is Tom getting drunk?

B'Elanna's violation by the alien was very conveniently ignored. No biggie for the writers, apparently.

Agree with @Broadlake re seatbelts on shuttles and the bridge. Not to mention, maybe a fusebox so the panels don't explode.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 9:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

This was obviously a dig at recovered memories (all the rage when the episode aired) not sexual assault accusations (all the rage now).

The part that bugged me was in the beginning when Janeway gets that self satisfied look on her face when she's negotiating, and leans back after the arms dealer pays her a false compliment when he's the one who just upped the ante (installation charge) and got more chips for it. I half expected her to buy the extended warranty for 50 more isolinear chips and lean back when Korvin congratulates her on her excellent choice.

F'in Janeway. Why is she so poorly written? Do the writers hate her?
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 9:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

You're a Hirogen who has put together a holodeck program for whatever reason. Do you a) go around doing actiony stuff to achieve said goal, or b) Spend your time on patrol and stop Neelix to search his baguette and wine?

Also, the writers keep killing Janeway, because they think it's introducing some dramatic tension or something. Am I the only one who wishes they'd let her RIP.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Tue, Jan 24, 2017, 12:27am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Any Voyager Q episode that doesn't begin with Janeway and every other member of the crew getting on their knees and begging Q to tell them what they can do for him so that he'll send them home is a nonstarter. Doesn't matter what happens in the rest of the episode. I just can't watch an episode where every character suddenly forgets their number 1 motivation. By the way, we all know Kirk would have had sex with Q in exchange for a ride home, if he were stuck in the gamma quadrant and Q came a courtin'. Not sure about Picard.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, Jan 22, 2017, 9:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

Bacteria that stick to holographic skin woul fall off when he dematerializes. Seems like deactivating and reactivating (1 sec) would be faster than 15 seconds of scrubbing and infinitely more effective . Another example of the "dressed to heal" TV trope, but a minor annoyance when you consider all the other crap the writers on Voyager pull on every episode.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

Have they given up on using the combadges to explain away the translation issue?
Set Bookmark
Gooz Chos
Tue, Jan 10, 2017, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

1. No ethical dilemma. You're making a deal with an individual on another planet. As clear a case for mutiny as I've seen since Janeway decided to trap them by picking a fight with the Kazon.
2. Why wasn't anyone on the ship surprised that the Sikarians look exactly like humans? Lazy week for the makeup team?
3. Kate over-acting as always.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, Feb 21, 2014, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

How did the enterprise get back after this? They must've used the technology of the big head santa people at the center of the universe. Lt. Barclay must have heard about some of this at some point. This knowledge would come in handy if he were to find himself, at some point in the future, perhaps in a different Trek franchise, trying to get a ship home from far away.

Magic Reset Button.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, Feb 21, 2014, 8:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

What I want to know is why, if Picard wanted to stop vibrating the CE to death, didn't he just order them to back off the ship? Surely the doctor hadn't frozen out the helm controls.

For those keeping score, I'm on team Picard on this: try to reason first, fight if necessary.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, Feb 2, 2014, 11:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

@WilliamB, great review. Regarding your response to Doug M, that the Ferengi's minds were closed was alluded to in "The Last Outpost"
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, Nov 30, 2013, 7:49am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I actually liked the episode, but Jammer makes some good points and I can appreciate the con side. At least the writers were consistent in their portrayal of Janeway's persistent incompetence. When faced with the choice of certain death if they continue to earth vs. a high chance of survival of they head back to the demon planet, she stays true to character and makes the wrong decision. By delaying their return, she ensures the crew's death. Watching her die was a pleasant bonus, though.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, Nov 3, 2013, 4:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Death Wish

Act Two
Janeway: I'll agree to hold a hearing...[dramatic pause]... [trademark Janeway chin lift and head bob]...in the alpha quadrant.

Acts Three and Four
Proceeds as originally written with typical court room scenes and tropes like "that's highly unusual" and "I'll allow that" thrown in to keep things moving along.

The End
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, Nov 3, 2013, 10:04am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

I'm re-watching Voyager, and this episode reminded me why I stopped watching it when it first aired. Every episode ends with a missed opportunity, and that gets frustrating in the end. The fact that the majority of the missed opportunities are Janeway's fault isn't the main issue. Having an incompetent leader that is replaced by the crew would have made for interesting TV. The problem is that her mistakes are not only not acknowledged as mistakes, but are lauded as victories.

At the very end of the episode, had she simply chosen to beam all the Kazon out, she would have gone a long way towards gaining their goodwill.

The next episode is Threshold. Not looking forward to that one.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.