Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
fred fish
Wed, Nov 2, 2016, 1:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Well the writers dropped the ball yet again - fiddling around with genetics is outlawed in the federation, but Chakotays' parents had the halluciogenic gene removed?
Set Bookmark
Fish Jones
Fri, Jul 3, 2015, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Er, "lateral-click"hosa. I put brackets around it and the computer ate them.
Set Bookmark
Fish Jones
Fri, Jul 3, 2015, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

This episode got me to spend a year studying Africa and now it's my least favorite episode.

It's like watching an someone whine incessantly about how he grew up as the runt in a mildly dysfunctional family while the next room over has a guy who survived a childhood of 2nd degree burns in a severely abusive home and nobody cares.

Uhura is Bantu. Geordi's from freaking Somalia. Sisko is from New Orleans.

Now compare how much fun it was to live in 1950s Bantu-speaking areas or Somalia versus 1950s New York or New Orleans. (or ya know, 2015 right now. "Do ya wanna live in New Orleans or Dar es Salaam?" kinda depends on how much money you make individually, but "Do you wanna live in New Orleans or Mogadishu... pick New Orleans.)

There are parts of current USA racism that are horrific, and there's huge parts of Africa that are really, really awesome. But bringing up "US Racism Bad!" when you have Happy Somailan (SOMALIAN!) Geordi and Totally Chill Bantu Uhura is cringeworthy. 1 mention once? Fine. Giant meta weird crap all centered around you personally? Very very VERY not fine. It's so America-centric it misses the point and ruins the effect.

---
Studying this also generated a funny pet peeve: Xhosa is hosa, not "zhosa". I accidentally "correct" it every single time.
Set Bookmark
Fish
Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 6:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Confessions of a Closet Trekkie

Ahhhhh Jammer. I feel you mate.

As an Aussie, we pretty much loathe regular intellectuals over here, let alone those godsdamned nerdy bastards who are into scifi!

So you can imagine I kept my love of Star Wars on the down low all through school (didn't discover Trek till I caught "The Wounded" on TNG reruns on Channel 11, and didn't get onto BSG until this year as a result of your reviews!!). Closeted myself in being captain of the school rugby team and playing all manner of competitive sports, plus being an avid surfer always helps people assume you'd never be into all that weird nerdy shit.

I graduated high school four years ago, spent the last four years at uni doing law, and I can say that my experiences are similar to posters like Rachael and Starpollo (killing it with the screenname by the way). I dont advertise my trekkiness, but if someone asks me what my favourite TV series are, they'll be copping TNG, DS9 and BSG all the way. If thats enough for someone to heap judgment on me, then fuck 'em, they aren't worth it. Although that doesnt mean I'll bore them to tears with a comparison of the leadership qualities of Sisko and Picard from a moral vs. practical standpoint. Pretty open with it now, although, like you, I prefer people I know (usually dates) thinking I'm normal before I drop the Trek-bomb if we're on a topic of TV viewing! Nor do I mention commenting on Trek websites, or incidentally, membership of ASoIaF forum (baby steps, after all).

Anyway, just wanted to share my thoughts, trek transcends all walks of life, as evidenced by a 22 year old surfing, rugby-playing, booze swilling, Australian law student commenting on an American website about TV shows that hop all around the Alpha, Gamma and Delta quadrants to express his gratitude for your reviews.

I guess what I'm saying, in a really roundabout, long-winded manner is, you're killing it Jamahl, love ya reviews, and I'm really glad you made this website a couple of years after I was born, and even more glad I discovered it a couple of years ago!

Keep it up mate!



Set Bookmark
rapturefish
Sun, Aug 24, 2014, 9:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

To his credit, even Braga thinks the episode was bad.
Set Bookmark
Fish
Wed, Nov 20, 2013, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Incredible. All I can say.

Never posted on here before. Aware the site has been pretty dormant for a while. I just finished watching DS9, got into after watching all of TNG after deciding to download it when I caught "the Inner Light" on an Aussie TV channel when I got home from work one night.

This episode spoke to me on so many levels. Lost my dad a few years ago at age 18, and to keep seeing him periodically and not being able to gain any closure, well, it's worse.
And Jakes reaction and desire to help his dad is exactly what I would do, you feel like you owe them, they're your parent, and I can see exactly how it would consume his life in the way the episode portrayed.
Loved Tony Todd, love him as Kurn (I wish he'd become a member of the house of Martok, along with Worf), and thought he really nailed it.
Like I said, never posted on here, but this episode compelled me to.
Set Bookmark
Skeezyfish
Tue, Jan 22, 2013, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

There is one slightly striking moment to this episode: the contrast between the dismay Ptera felt and the comfort Harry felt in awaking in sickbay, one in an alien environment and the other surrounded by friends. That contrast I think spoke well to the fact that our lives are defined so much by those with whom we choose to share it. Not terribly profound--and possibly not even intended--but charming for a moment.
Set Bookmark
microfish
Sat, Sep 22, 2012, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

Garak: "I'd like to get my hands on that fellow Earl Grey and tell him a thing or two about tea leaves!" You got to love this guy.
Set Bookmark
microfish
Mon, Sep 17, 2012, 1:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

Quark: "Care for a game of fizzbin?" ROFLMAO
You've got to love that nod to TOS
Set Bookmark
microfish
Mon, Sep 10, 2012, 8:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

Quark: "War - what is it good for? If you ask me: Absolutely nothing!"

That line hit completly off guard. I couldn't stop laughing.
Set Bookmark
microfish
Wed, Aug 15, 2012, 8:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

This episode would have been better, if in the end Ro decided to remain a kid. That might have been a bold character development. They wouldnt need any commitment of Michelle Forbes to keep the character around, and they could have an interesting underestimated kid flying the ship... More interesting than Wesley in the first seasons thats for sure.

Why wouldn't she want to be kid again with all the knowledge of a grownup? I can understand the reasons for Guinan, Keiko and Picard to be adults again, but not so much for Ro.
Set Bookmark
DeceitfulFish
Fri, Apr 6, 2012, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

While this had the workings of a good episode, it was disappointing for a few reasons:

- As mentioned before, it's hard to get into because we know how it'll end. Clearly, the Doctor is not actually on Jupiter Station, but on Voyager. When you get down to it, there's no real conflict to be felt.
- So much talking. Barclay appears and more or less explains the entire plot in one sitting, then Chakotay does the same for a bit, then Janeway at the end.
- The mental turmoil and confusion caused by the Doctor's existential crisis and the struggle to figure out the truth is never really resolved. It's as if the writers said, "OK, show's over, just make all the bad stuff disappear."
- I saw the dream-within-a-dream thing a mile away.

In spite of that, the first half of the episode had me genuinely intrigued as to what had happened to the Doctor or the crew or who or what or WTF.
Set Bookmark
Skeezyfish
Thu, Dec 15, 2011, 10:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

One of the top episodes of Star Trek, vastly underrated. The beautiful characterisation comes straight out of the perfectly constructed premise! Two doctors, alone and less-than half living save themselves in each other! ...and then to title it "lifesigns"... so charmingly understated.

In the first half of the episode I couldn't forgive the doctor for the ethical quagmire he created when he put Dinara in the holographic body. Of course it would be wrenching to be forced back into that diseased shell which has haunted you your whole life. To give someone what they never thought possible, and then to abruptly take it away... very cruel. To then fall in love with them, giving them love, something denied to them their whole life because society sees them as a disease and not as a person... of course Dinara tried to sabotage her own treatment.

The story is a statement of humanity in the face of disability and stigma. Dinara learns that she is alive in-spite of her disease. The doctor learns that he is alive in-spite of his own short comings. In fact, their shortcomings lends a particular poignancy to their existence as people.

I find this episode particularly touching as a gay man. I've always felt that the Phage was an allegory for HIV. In the same way that Dinara was stigmatised for her disease, isolated and alienated from a core aspect of herself--her love and sexuality--society does the same to people infected with HIV. We fail to see them as romantic and sexual people, and only see them as a threat, a disease.

And for a hologram to see her "humanity" where Vidian society could not... well, all the more poignant.

This episode has all the charm of Annie Hall. Top rate programming!




Set Bookmark
Nick Fisher
Tue, Sep 7, 2010, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

An excellent episode; I enjoyed this very much.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.