Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 18 (Showing 1-18)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Starfire
Sat, Jul 8, 2017, 1:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

I'm re-watching this ep today. While I agree with many here that this was an outstanding episode, one thing gnawed at me and distracted me throughout the entire episode. Mulchaey's DNA was used to create One, yet we hear nothing from him later. Technically, he's the drone's father, right? Yet no one ever consulted him about One's role or destiny or whatever you want to call it? (I swear I am not trying to turn this into a political/moral conversation, lol) I liked the actor and think he should have had a voice equal to Seven's.
Set Bookmark
Fire
Tue, Jun 27, 2017, 3:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: United

Star Trek may be bad at inertia, but at least not bad as you: what should it mean "dead stop in space"? Dead stop in relation to what?
Set Bookmark
Blackfire
Tue, Jun 23, 2015, 4:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

"there is a moment where Jake and his father are alone and Jake can't even speak- he just drops his head and cries"

I also lost my father as a boy. Whenever I do encounter him in a dream again, that's the only thing I can do, too. Probably why the episode resonates with me so strongly, those moments in particular.
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Wed, Nov 30, 2011, 3:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

I agree with most people here that this is a fun episode which might deserve a higher rating. A episode like this was never done before and feels fresh in that perspective. However, it became dumb and brainless once Voyager did a thing like this every other episode. Repairing the ship here so sudden is therefore not a problem to me as it isn't a cliché yet and at least they acknowledge that they need to go to a starbase for more repairs.
Apart from the fun and excitement, this episode ranks among the most illogical ones on TNG, e.g.:
- there is no one in the whole of engineering or an engineer closer to it than Riker and Data?
- no power in engineering or the possibility of getting it without the bridge rerouteing it? Isn't it supposed to be the other way around?
- ensign Black Guy on the bridge trying to get the first turbolift out of there!
- discussion in the dark conference room with only 3 people while ensign Black Guy had to stay on the bridge and every minute counted
- Keiko not getting a more private spot to give birth, like pull a table into the corridor or hack another door while you're there...
- indeed, Geordie not detecting the plasma fire with his visor
- cargobay outer doors, forcefield and environmental control working fine but the door to the hallway is stuck like every other door on the ship.

Still, it was a fun episode
Set Bookmark
wishfire
Tue, Jul 19, 2011, 4:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Nick: Adama is going to go down as one of the greatest, most beloved, and most studied figures in human history, assuming humanity survives. He has saved humanity more than once, and leads with heart. If you want a replacement admiral, perhaps you could bring back the Pegasus lady from Season 2 and see how that works out, speaking of dictatorship. Yes, Adama is a dictator, but not a tyrant. I promise you, the cylons would love nothing more than to hear news of your replacement admiral taking the helm of humanity's fate.
Set Bookmark
wishfire
Tue, Jul 19, 2011, 10:15am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

Words cannot describe my loathing for Helo. He commits treason against the entire human race for his own boyish, selfish needs, lining it with some pathetic moralistic platitudes. Let's just go kill the Cylons in brutal, hand-to-hand combat over the course of generations as more and more human lives are destroyed by these twisted, immortal aliens. That way, we wouldn't have to "sink to their level" or corrupt our precious little souls by doing it all at once. Such a disappointing episode. The writers forgot what Adama is all about. Why has he lost his edge in this way? Helo should have had charges of treason brought against him for so many damn reasons but Adama just blows it off.
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Tue, May 10, 2011, 4:47am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

Just by being an episode that tries to scare the viewer, it loses a star in my opinion. I never liked or understand the fun of scary movies. As seen in this episode, there is basically no story but Phlox running around being scared while we listen to the typical scary music and the sudden scary imagery that pop up on semi-unpredictable cues.
While I liked the monologues and the Phlox/T'Pol interaction, I really couldn't get past the fact that this is just a rip-off of "One", only with the roles reversed. Both have the logical scientific "babe" and the doctor, an evil nebula, an unwillingness to go around it, only humans effected(sort off), hallucinations of scary stuff and invading aliens, main character loosing her marbles, engine problems at the end, etc.
Where "One" still had an interesting insight into Seven, this only shows typical horror show clichés.
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Fri, Mar 18, 2011, 6:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

This is such a different Star Trek than with TNG. Here we have a captain who believes the prisoners on their story, does not tell the Tandarans simple and possibly helpful information on his experiences with the Suliban, let his ship attack military ships and an a detention camp, indirectly kills at least three guards and destroying parts of the facility ánd set free near to a hundred prisoners that steal impounded ships and then run like hell.
If this would not be considered an act of war, I would be surprised.

There was barely anything on whether those prisoners were really so innocent or whether they might actually join the Kobal. Nor did it show anything on the bigger picture such as the other camps or the issue of officially setting them all free.

Not every show has to be super intelligent and thought out, but this was just about a captain who, after only one day, disagreed with the internal affairs of an unknown society and therefore decided to blow them to hell and fly off afterwards.
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Tue, Mar 15, 2011, 6:16am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

I agree with all above.
At almost any time, Tucker or T'pol could've walked into their ship and get some weapons. Or they could've overpowered that one Ferengi, acquiring his weapon and it would've made a 3 vs 3 situation. Or, Tucker should've been less stupid and use the "cure" to wake up the doc, who could've created more "cure".
Numerous options without the use of technobabble that could've fixed the situation.
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Fri, Feb 4, 2011, 5:36am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Like others, I really liked this movie when I was young. I didn't notice the poor sfx and humour, but loved the action scenes, the running around through the ship and even the banging of Scottys head.
I watch it again, yesterday, on DVD for the first time in about ten years, and I am afraid I have to agree with the review. While the premise of the story isn't that bad - it has a nice flow to it and focusses on the (main) characters -, it really isn't executed well. The very poor sfx prevent you to be sucked into the story or to "belief" in the visuals, such as the great barrier and "god". I must credit the shuttlebay set though, even if it is scaled weirdly. Engineering, on the other hand, is... wait, which Engineering? Well, it beats a brewery I guess.
Ignoring Kirks omniscient and heroic portrayal, I thought the interaction between the great three was still good, such as the camp fire beginning/ending, the pain part, the brig part and the standing by the steering wheel whilst entering the Great Barrier.
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Wed, Sep 1, 2010, 5:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

Wasn't it obvious that the shuttle/Janeway-fake escape was anticipated and intended? I though so, especially as both Paris and the Doc are on board, plus the final shot of that part on the bridge.

@Michael: Yeh, a lot of people care about the characters, their problems and the story instead of just watching for the scifi action like you, as you clearly note in every single comment at every single review.
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Tue, Aug 24, 2010, 4:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Was it me, or was the same city backdrop used for both the Qomar and the Kremin homeworlds?
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Tue, Aug 10, 2010, 4:36am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

I find it amusing that Voyager apparently always has a nice comfy place in engineering next to that matter-antimatter tube called the warp core, i.e. the heart of the vessel, were to examine unknown, hazardous and explosive objects, e.g. this bomb, the Borg thingy with the virus in it, evil robots, early 7 of 9, etc. Sure, it's a budget saving reason, but what about that nice redress of sickbay were One was born, among others. Was not that the science lab?
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Tue, Jun 1, 2010, 12:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

While we're at it:

Paris to Rain: Your curves don't look so right.


These writers must have been in a particularly sexual mood...
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Sat, Apr 24, 2010, 4:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

The dream sequence with a burned Kes was disturbing though. Possibly the most realistic victim portrayal ever on all the series. I can't even remember it from the first run or any reruns I've seen. Maybe the network here censored it.
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Fri, Apr 16, 2010, 12:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

"No Starfleet Command, no Klingons, no Cardassians..."

@Nic,
Yeh, none of those came true... Well, unless you count Starfleet in at least one ep a season from as early as season 4(?), the Klingons in Prophecy and B'ellanas human-parent Worfcomplex, Seska being a Cardassian. Oh, and not forget the Ferengi showing up... twice, the Borg becoming the major enemy and all the Vulcan misticism. Granted, it is not all bad, but the show didn't really set itself apart like BSG for example did.
While viewing the whole show again, this time on DVD, for the first time in 10 years, I feel cheated on when I see the 'lost' ship communicate with the Alpha Quadrant in only the 6th episode. Too bad, because it really had a nice premise.
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Sun, Dec 27, 2009, 4:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

Although it was a good episode with a strong performance, I found the premise of a 20 year imprisonment a little to much to make for a truly believable story. The O'Brien after it would never be the same again. They should have made it much shorter, say 4 or 5 years. Granted, not all the behaviour seen in this episode would occur after 'only' 5 years, but it would be just enough not to mentally wreck him.
Set Bookmark
Firestone
Mon, Dec 21, 2009, 4:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

Maybe I'm a sucker for romance, but I really found this episode to be both good and heartbreaking. You don't always need a complicated plot or quote-worthy dialogue. Seeing Odo going through all that made me feel almost like watching Visitor. Especially the scene with Shakaar and where Odo 'asks' Quark if he was concerned as a friend after which we get a firm negation. You could really feel his pain. Kudo's to Auberjonois for accomplishing all this under that make-up.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.