Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 125 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Jan 5, 2017, 12:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

I found the premise of this episode to be so unbelievable as to make everything else unwatchable. So, you can just split off the hosts like they are just Lego pieces? And they can go into a shape shifter as well as "solids"? Like a little puff of smoke after some chanting? Ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Dec 30, 2016, 4:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

I wanted to see Alixus thrown in the box at the end and was disappointed to see she gets off easy... and then the hostages choose to stay? How awful
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 6:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

A pedestrian action film saved by some nice Spock/Bones interplay and humor. The villain and fight sequences grew very tiresome and repetitive. The twist at the end, in which the villain turned out to be an ancient being who feels he has no purpose without conflict, reminded me of TNG's power play and Babylon 5's shadows. But that's not a problem and makes him slightly more interesting.

Over all, better than Into Darkness but not as good as the first reboot film. I think it misses some of JJ's sleek pacing, particularly during the planet scenes. If the powers that be could marry JJ's direction with a more subtly clever script, we could get a real winner of a movie.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 1:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Not surprised Jammer gave it a positive review since he'd stated he bought the movie. I generally agree with his opinions ("Balance of Terror" aside), but can't here. The callbacks are lazily written and slapstick, the thematic content is thin, and the recreated death scene with the roles reversed feels completely unearned. Two stars from me as it's enjoyable at times. I'm going to see Beyond shortly and hope it's better. I think the fact that the filmmakers don't seem to be blatantly aping a classic this time around will help.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Jul 4, 2016, 12:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

I think the fact that this is almost half an hour shorter than the original and doesn't run past two hours might automatically make it better than the original.

I watched a little of red letter media's peace on it last night although the half in the bag format is terrible. Mike should stick to the Plinkett format, he doesn't perform well enough off-the-cuff for the half in the bag pieces to work.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Jul 3, 2016, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

I should've known jammer would review this given how many times he's mentioned the original in his writings (his review of Voy's The Killing Game comes to mind).

I too want to see this since I enjoyed the first one well enough as an eight-year-old, but after reading the reviews I will probably just wait for it to show up on streaming services.

Also, I think Star Trek Beyond is going to perform similarly to this at the box office. The Fanbase just is not energized and nothing I've seen suggests that it will draw in a big mainstream crowd even with that Rihanna song. I hope the movie is good and I am wrong, but I'm quite skeptical.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Jan 28, 2016, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi

The problem with it is that it ruins the subtlety and diminishes the effect of the original scene. There was no reason to insert references to the prequels into these movies. Plus, tinkering with another director's work is unbelievably tacky and just shouldn't be done.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Jan 25, 2016, 6:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi

No comment on Vader yelling "no!" Before throwing the emperor down the shaft on the Blu-ray? That's the single most irritating thing about the Blu-rays.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Jan 25, 2016, 6:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode II — Attack of the Clones

While reading this, I found myself thinking back to your review of The Matrix Reloaded in which you slagged the prequels although at the time there were only two of them. I guess if you remove the Anakin and Padme romance, AotC is an OK movie. But I never ever ever feel like watching it, so couldn't give it more than 2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Dec 31, 2015, 3:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

My biggest problem with this episode, the warp plasma that was used to track VOYAGER, is not from voyager. Neelix got the plasma from the station chief from the space station orbiting the expanse when they were trying to get the drug dealers arrested.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Aug 15, 2015, 8:33am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@W Smith he bought the film on blu-ray though. I think STID is a big mess that pissed away a lot of potential established by the first film, but since he bought it, I can't see Jammer giving it less than 2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Jun 14, 2015, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I always had a crush on Nicole Deboer so I of course loved the addition of Ezri Dax to DS9. Her relationship with Worf was intriguing and I was gratified later in the season to see her and Julian hook up (he finally got Dax)! I think people are way too hard on her...
Set Bookmark
eric
Wed, Jun 10, 2015, 11:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

I am getting so tired of all the haters complaining about Avery Brooks' performances, especially in an episode like this one where he truly was spectacular (Beyond the Stars also was an amazing performance that is unfairly criticized on this site). This is undoubtedly one of the top 10 Trek episodes of all time (though I'd place Visitor and Stars ahead of it in DS9's run) and is simply spell-binding from start to finish. The story is another perfect job by Fields who also did perhaps my all time favorite Trek episode (The Inner Light) even if Moore may have taken a rewrite credit. I just can't say enough about this episode but I will try to nail down the important points:

-First, while Avery Brooks was stellar in this reluctantly menacing turn as Sisko, the obvious super star of the episode was Andrew Robinson as Garak, as always. This guy is simply the finest actor on the series and his episodes truly never disappoint. The writing and performance come together here even more so than any other Garak episode I can think of (though "The Die is Cast" comes to mind as well) and the payoff is spellbinding television.

-Second, the riveting suspense sustained throughout the episode is palpable and visceral. Jammer was not kidding about "being glued to the TV"! I truly feared for the survival of the Federation when Vreenak hissed, "It's a faaaaake!" Each act compounded the suspense and the twist end definitely caught me by surprise the first time I watched this way back in '98.

-Third, the flashback style as narrated by Sisko trying to justify what he has done is a very effective plot device that gives the episode a foreboding foreshadowing quality that gives away just enough info to make the viewer wary as to what is coming without giving away the game. I totally agree with Jammer here that the final scene is palpable in its emotional context, giving us a glimpse of what this ordeal has done to Sisko and the emotional toll that has been exacted upon him throughout the entire Dominion war. I would argue that the immoral decisions he made during "For the Uniform" could also be ascribed to this sustained stress level he has been subjected to over such a sustained period of time.

-Finally, I must comment on the resolution of the episode, which I find brilliant and so "Garak" in character. Always my favorite character of the series, this strikes me as just the sort of thing he would do, misdirecting everyone (even Sisko who was his "partner in crime" so to speak) while staying two steps ahead to ensure his goal was reached by any means necessary. This is exactly the sort of intelligent and devious plan that only he could have dreamed up, much less pulled off. I wonder if, when the writers first conjured up the idea of an Cardassian ex-spy recurring character, they had any idea how perfectly realized his potential would become over the run of DS9? Obviously the lion-share of credit must go to Robinson, who's smooth and powerful delivery allowed the writers the luxury of fully fleshing out the character in a way not often seen in a guest starring role. To be honest, Garak in many ways is a more complete and essential character in the show than some of the main cast.

Well there you have it. I decided against going into my personal feelings regarding the controversial aspects of this episode vis-a-vis Rodenberry's vision and ITPM's "ends justify the means" mentality. To be honest, DS9's darker tone and penchant for showing how in real life there are no easy answers to complex questions set it apart from the other series and was a breath of fresh air in what had become a slightly stale franchise by the end of TNG's run. Sisko is my favorite Captain precisely because he seems so much more believable as a person than the others. I don't care how "evolved" we become as a society (and flat out reject the slavishly liberal tone of the rest of the series), when you face an existential crisis as acute as what has befallen the Federation during the Dominion War, you do what you have to to survive and that is an undeniable truth that I'm sure will exist in the 24th century just as it does in the 21st.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, May 18, 2015, 11:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

There have been a lot of interesting comments posted here on this episode, always one of my very favorite for DS9. I would suggest that any of you Garak lovers out there pick up a copy of the book called "A Stitch in Time" written by Andrew Robinson, the actor who played Garak in the show. It is quite simply the very best Star Trek novel ever written and gives a fascinating perspective of Garak's entire life both before and after the events of the series.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 12:21am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

No mention of the idiotic moment when Jeordi has no idea how the subspace conduit works, and yet he is able to duplicate the tachyon pulse to activate it after just two tries and mumbling something about, "Okay, how about a low bandwidth pulse?" And VOOM! the conduit opens and the Enterprise can use it. All to keep the ridiculously contrived plot moving.

Jeordi says that the subspace conduit is "100 times as efficient as our warp drive." You'd think that if it were that easy to open a conduit through subspace that could allow a ship to travel 65 light years in a few seconds, that Jeordi would take a couple notes and release a paper or something... You know, ditch that outdated warp drive crap. Of course, after this episode it is never mentioned again. Stupid.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Oct 10, 2014, 5:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

My favourite thing about this episode was Laas's criticism of humans, and how we dominate everything, and often don't care about other species (in Trek's case - any species that can't talk). I thought of this episode when I listened to a segment on the radio where they were talking about the huge number of birds that get killed every year by bumping into glass windows. There's plenty of examples like this, where we accidentally kill animals, or cause them to become endangered. So yeah, I completely buy that someone in the Trek universe would dislike "humanoids", if all the "humanoids" are really similar to humans anyway. Not saying the hate is entirely fair, just saying that its credible.

One thing that I didn't buy was the meat comment. Bashir was eating meat, they showed this as somehow proving Laas's point. I always thought the meat in Trek was replicated, and why wouldn't it be? Raising animals just to slaughter them eventually, then ship the meat over long distances is extremely inefficient! If you can create meat artificially, you'll do it.

Another thought: If I were Odo, I'd be wondering if his people have a tendency towards bigotry. Every changeling he's met so far has been a misanthrope, even this one that has never met the founders; he got his racist attitude on his own.


Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Sep 28, 2014, 9:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

All I could think about in this episode was how small the holosuite actually is. So when Nog gets kicked out of the club and goes back to Vic's place, he's actually only like: 2 meters away from everyone, and just has some holographic "bubble" around him, or a piece of the scene sectioned off, with his own rendering of a scene, walking around on a treadmill in his own little 2-foot space.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Sep 28, 2014, 1:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

Awful right from the first act...I rolled my eyes more than once during this episode.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Sep 25, 2014, 6:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

I found the musical number to be cheesy as hell. I couldn't even watch it all the way through.

On a side note, the current consensus among cosmologists is that the universe will keep expanding forever, not implode, but the writers can't be blamed for that, as this was written in the 90's.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Tue, Sep 23, 2014, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

So... anyone else noticed that this episode showed the federation anthem? Kind of odd that they even have an anthem. How do you decide what its going to sound like? All these different species would have different musical styles. I'm over-thinking this.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Sep 12, 2014, 6:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Tomás Foley: He can't add another star, its a 4 star-rating system.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Jun 28, 2014, 1:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Something bothers me about the ending. The guy they were talking to was an admiral... the way the dialog was structured, he sounded like he was judge and jury for this case. Shouldn't that have been a civilian judge? The whole plea deal was settled by talking to this admiral for like, a few minutes (think about it: Julian went to Sisko's first thing in the morning, so not much time could have passed). This fits a pattern that I've been seeing on this show: You never see any politicians or civilian judges anywhere, even in that episode where Bajor was going to join the federation: The room was filled with starfleet uniforms, instead of civilians. I'm beginning to get the impression that the federation is a military dictatorship; I don't think this was intentional, its just badly thought-out writing.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Jun 27, 2014, 3:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@Destructor: Easy with the spoilers dude!
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Jun 27, 2014, 12:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Seriously? A "quantum torpedo" laced with Trilithium - a mineral - exploding on a planet, causes the atmosphere to be poisonous to humans, but no other species? That makes no sense whatsoever. Extremely contrived way for the writer to have him "play the villain" without doing any real damage.

Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Jun 8, 2014, 12:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Apocalypse Rising

Wouldn't Worf be the worst person to send on this mission? He's recognized by Klingons everywhere as a "traitor to the empire".
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.