Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 138 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Eric Stillwell
Tue, Aug 8, 2017, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I would like to thank Jamahl Epsicokhan for the lovely review -- not sure exactly when it was written, but I'm assuming maybe a decade ago!?!

As the co-writer of the story for Yesterday's Enterprise, I'd like to thank all of you who enjoyed the episode, whether you consider it a classic or otherwise.

For those of you who enjoy the pastime of nitpicking, let me just say: It's a television show! If science fiction writing was based entirely on the proposition that everything must be logical and scientifically accurate, then Star Trek would not exist -- because traveling faster than the speed of light is not possible.

And trust me, my writing partner and I struggled through several story drafts trying to find a way to logically, factually establish a basis for Picard's decision to send the Enterprise-C back through the rift, but given that the timeline has been altered and no evidence to the contrary exists, it was Michael Piller's idea to give Guinan the extraordinary alien gift of perception through time and space. Ultimately, I think it worked nicely and established the unique relationship that exists between Picard and Guinean, especially in future episodes and even Star Trek Generations.

Peace to all! Thanks for the passion.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Jul 31, 2017, 9:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Wow, I absolutely hated this episode. Just rewatched it and still hate it. Cliched. Unimaginative. Unbelievable. Just awful. Some stupid speech pushes Janeway into doing what she knows is wrong. A silly cliched spirituality vs science story. Just horrible.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, May 27, 2017, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I didn't mind the episode but it left so much unanswered and was so implausible. So I agree mostly with the review.
Set Bookmark
Eric R. Ellis
Fri, May 26, 2017, 12:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

You guys have to remember that this flashback took place very early on in Odo's career on Terok Nor. We saw in an earlier episode when dukat gave Odo the job that he was under immense pressure to get convictions and bring the stations Bajoran workforce under control. The idea of this particular story is to show how much Odo has evolved since his days as chief of security very early on in his career. The reason we were even shown this particular incident is because he was feeling guilty about it during the conversation on the runabout before the plasma storm hit the ship. I don't see this episode as an indictment of Odo's character but rather as a fascinating glimpse of his evolution from the Thrax character seen here to the Odo we all know today.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, May 13, 2017, 7:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I agree that The Force Awakens had heart and that's why it works in spite of having all of Abrams' usual problems. I found Rogue One to be an absolute chore to get through.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, May 8, 2017, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Jammer's refusal to do anything with B5 is quite bewildering.

Also, @Benjamin's statement And, honestly, was this a story that needed to be told? Wasn't the first paragraph of the opening crawl of A New Hope enough to convey what happened?

That's why these anthology films were a terrible idea and feel like a lame excuse to churn out an SW film every year. I certainly will not be seeing any more anthology films unless reviews or word of mouth from friends are good. The only reason why I will see The Last Jedi is because I am curious what Rian Johnson's take on SW will look like.

I also find it interesting that, over the last eight years, I've gone from liking Abrams' work to disliking it and siding with the people who are fed up with being written down to by Hollywood. I enjoyed the first Star Trek reboot film, but thought Into Darkness was a total mess. The Force Awakens was an enjoyable enough ride in the theater, but at home I found myself wondering why I bothered to watch it again. The fact that JJ and Disney chose to make a total re-tread of A New Hope with no exposition rubs me the wrong way. It seems that in the Trek world, the unhappy fans actually have some semblance of power since the reboot films have underperformed. SW, on the other hand, will make bucketloads of money no matter how lousy the product.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, May 7, 2017, 11:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

Read A Stitch in Time immediately if you care at all about getting to the heart of the mystery that is Elim Garak!

/SPOILER!!!!

Garak's exile didnt have anything to do with the occupation of Bajor. He was in love with a married woman and had an illicit affair with her against Tain's explicit orders (Tain of course was also his father) . He ended up killing her husband after he found out and abducted Garak. He also innadvertantly killed Dukat's father during an unofficial Obsidian Order interrogation both of which led to his exposure to the Central Command, who ultimately exiled him.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Apr 30, 2017, 10:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Someone to Watch Over Me

Ron Moore really missed an opportunity not making Kara's dad the 13th Cylon. As Jammer points out, it fits so perfectly.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Apr 30, 2017, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

Wow, the DVD deleted scenes don't save this one but they explain a ton of the plot holes. Caprica was in Dog's Ville to get herbal remedies for morning sickness, the marines abandoned food after being overrun - Galactica's crew wasn't just ignoring the civvies, the Cylons asked for a private meeting around and didn't just ditch Lee/Roslin/whoever else, the Centurions are brought up before the last scene, etc.

Many of the characterizations (e.g. Adama giving Baltar guns) still don't make sense, but at least with the deleted scenes there's a half-hearted explanation. This one would REALLY benefit from being re-cut.
Set Bookmark
Eric S.
Sat, Apr 29, 2017, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

There's one thing about this episode that has always cracked me up, and nobody really ever seems to mention it. When the Enterprise begins firing on the other ships Wesley instantly jumps to the conclusion that Kirk, a good friend a respected starfleet captain, has lost his mind and is trying to "prove something" by killing everyone. Not for one second does he consider that maybe, just maybe, the brand new prototype computer that they are in the process of testing might be malfunctioning. So Wesley is either incredibly stupid or he really doesn't think much of Kirk.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Apr 9, 2017, 12:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

From an artistic standpoint, the greatest success of the original trilogy was in its world-building. This is something that talented authors like Timothy Zahn and Brian Daley (R.I.P.) not only understood, but were able to continue. The Disney dickrag suits have no interest in doing anything of this sort. That's why seeing this particular new owner turned loose in the store, as Jammer put it, makes me sad. These new films feel hollow, and Rogue One in particular feels unimaginative and heartless. I have some hope that Johnson may give us a good film in December, but the reports that Disney modified his script smell of a repeat of the Star Trek Beyond scenario. I'm not even a huge old expanded universe fan. I think most of the stories written from 1994 onward were mediocre at best. But there was more heart in some of those novels than in either of Disney's films.

My personal cannon:
The prequel novelizations (mainly RotS)
The radio dramatizations of the original trilogy
Zahn's Thrawn trilogy
The first Dark Empire only
Nothing else
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Apr 3, 2017, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

I think Angela nailed it re: the motivations of the characters. She'll presumably never see this comment since it's been 7 years, but I thought her insight was great!
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Jan 8, 2017, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I thought it was mediocre, with way too much forced humor and unsubtle attempts at fan service. The first third was a disjoined mess that jumped around needlessly with flimsy characters. The battle at the end was entertaining enough, but Leia's appearance was completely unnecessary. The NPR play from the 80's told a far better tale of Leia obtaining the death star plans. They could have easily made this film with just a slight change without completely trampling that story. I'm not sure what's more frustrating, the fact that Lucas sat on the property for so long that Fisher now won't be able to finish the third trilogy (RIP) or the fact that Disney's treatment seems to lack the mythical magic of the originals. I love Star Wars and will continue to see these films, but my expectations for subsequent installments are diminishing.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Jan 5, 2017, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

I found the premise of this episode to be so unbelievable as to make everything else unwatchable. So, you can just split off the hosts like they are just Lego pieces? And they can go into a shape shifter as well as "solids"? Like a little puff of smoke after some chanting? Ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Dec 30, 2016, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

I wanted to see Alixus thrown in the box at the end and was disappointed to see she gets off easy... and then the hostages choose to stay? How awful
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

A pedestrian action film saved by some nice Spock/Bones interplay and humor. The villain and fight sequences grew very tiresome and repetitive. The twist at the end, in which the villain turned out to be an ancient being who feels he has no purpose without conflict, reminded me of TNG's power play and Babylon 5's shadows. But that's not a problem and makes him slightly more interesting.

Over all, better than Into Darkness but not as good as the first reboot film. I think it misses some of JJ's sleek pacing, particularly during the planet scenes. If the powers that be could marry JJ's direction with a more subtly clever script, we could get a real winner of a movie.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Not surprised Jammer gave it a positive review since he'd stated he bought the movie. I generally agree with his opinions ("Balance of Terror" aside), but can't here. The callbacks are lazily written and slapstick, the thematic content is thin, and the recreated death scene with the roles reversed feels completely unearned. Two stars from me as it's enjoyable at times. I'm going to see Beyond shortly and hope it's better. I think the fact that the filmmakers don't seem to be blatantly aping a classic this time around will help.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Jul 4, 2016, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

I think the fact that this is almost half an hour shorter than the original and doesn't run past two hours might automatically make it better than the original.

I watched a little of red letter media's peace on it last night although the half in the bag format is terrible. Mike should stick to the Plinkett format, he doesn't perform well enough off-the-cuff for the half in the bag pieces to work.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Jul 3, 2016, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

I should've known jammer would review this given how many times he's mentioned the original in his writings (his review of Voy's The Killing Game comes to mind).

I too want to see this since I enjoyed the first one well enough as an eight-year-old, but after reading the reviews I will probably just wait for it to show up on streaming services.

Also, I think Star Trek Beyond is going to perform similarly to this at the box office. The Fanbase just is not energized and nothing I've seen suggests that it will draw in a big mainstream crowd even with that Rihanna song. I hope the movie is good and I am wrong, but I'm quite skeptical.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Jan 28, 2016, 8:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi

The problem with it is that it ruins the subtlety and diminishes the effect of the original scene. There was no reason to insert references to the prequels into these movies. Plus, tinkering with another director's work is unbelievably tacky and just shouldn't be done.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Jan 25, 2016, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi

No comment on Vader yelling "no!" Before throwing the emperor down the shaft on the Blu-ray? That's the single most irritating thing about the Blu-rays.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Jan 25, 2016, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode II — Attack of the Clones

While reading this, I found myself thinking back to your review of The Matrix Reloaded in which you slagged the prequels although at the time there were only two of them. I guess if you remove the Anakin and Padme romance, AotC is an OK movie. But I never ever ever feel like watching it, so couldn't give it more than 2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Dec 31, 2015, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

My biggest problem with this episode, the warp plasma that was used to track VOYAGER, is not from voyager. Neelix got the plasma from the station chief from the space station orbiting the expanse when they were trying to get the drug dealers arrested.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Aug 15, 2015, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@W Smith he bought the film on blu-ray though. I think STID is a big mess that pissed away a lot of potential established by the first film, but since he bought it, I can't see Jammer giving it less than 2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Jun 14, 2015, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I always had a crush on Nicole Deboer so I of course loved the addition of Ezri Dax to DS9. Her relationship with Worf was intriguing and I was gratified later in the season to see her and Julian hook up (he finally got Dax)! I think people are way too hard on her...
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.