Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 162 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

The war storyline should have continued into season 2, and we should have had more of captain Georgiou, with the inevitable confrontation being put off for later. An episode ends with Burnham saying "You're not Georgiou", and stabbing her.

They should have definitely committed some terrorism on Quonos, and on other worlds, just not to the scale that they were describing. Idealism's great and everything, but sometimes it needs to be challenged, and it shouldn't always win.

Also, if you're going to have someone give a corny speech, at least have them face the crowd, for god's sake!

Set Bookmark
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within


I found Season 1-2 of DS9 to be boring and cheesy, but to each his own I guess. 3-4 duds would be considered a lot these days, wouldn't it? Imagine DSC had 4 duds? CANCELLED!

I don't even remember "The Defector"...maybe I didn't see that one? You're making me want to go back and watch some TNG...
Set Bookmark
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 10:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

"I watched TNG's "The Enemy" last night and Picard just kills it in that one"

Patrick Stewart was a Shakespearean actor before he did Star Trek. Those actors are of a higher calibre than others, since Shakespeare acting is so challenging, so it's not really fair to compare Sonequa Martin Green to him.

Her acting would be considered wooden if it weren't for her "raised by vulcans" back-story. Which makes me wonder how casual watchers who don't know what a Vulcan is will receive this show.
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

When I was 10 episodes or so into the show, I thought of my ranking of worst to best captains. My list went as so:

6.) Janeway
5.) Archer
4.) Lorca
3.) Kirk
2.) Picard
1.) Sisko

A character from the Mirror Universe has more interesting aspects and elements about himself to me than actual Starfleet captains.

I'm kind of upset that this ultimately was the way his character was going. A man who was originally seen as a no-nonsense militaristic captain of a warship who struggled with regret and PTSD is actually just an eeeeeeeeevil Mirror character. I really hope they find Prime Lorca and that Michael doesn't become the captain, because I'm sick of this show trying to get me to continuously like a character by forcing her into every episode, scene and conflict.

The Georgio plotline was kind of head-scratching to me too. Why would the Emperor of the Mirror Universe put so much faith and interest in Michael and potentially damage her entire empire with Lorca running around?

The Stamets plotline was heartbreaking and interesting though, and it makes a lot of tidbits makes sense now, like how Lorca hit that override key on the DASH drive jump and why Lorca ordered Stamets to develop the DASH drive on his own.

2 and a half stars for Vaulting Ambition for me. The progressing storyline for the Mirror Universe Arc is hitting a snag in terms of developing the story and characters at a good enough pace without complete character assassination (like Lorca). I hope that this is the same case with Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum, in which that it's a smaller build-up episode for a story arc finale.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 6:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Where the hell is Admiral Cornwell!? They rescued her before entering the MU, why don't we see her at all?
Set Bookmark
Sat, Jan 13, 2018, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

@Ben Sisko,

I just got done watching all seasons of Voyager and it is easily the weakest of the shows with the exception of Enterprise. Character development was poor, most of the shows had no long-term impact on the story arc and the seasons felt less inspired as time went on. Even the chemistry on the set seemed to go backward by the end. And instead of building to some type of climax, we get a two-hour finale that appears to come out of nowhere.

Sorry, Ben, but I agree that Voyager was a disappointment.
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself


That aside, today's episode was an amazing entrance into the new arc that I'm glad is taking place (the Klingon War got a little too ridiculous and quickly resolved). After watching shows like Arrow and The Flash, it's always fun to see what characters do and how they act in a "mirror" or "alternative" universe, this case with Tilly being the captain.

3.5/4 for me. Keep the hotstreak going from the last episode as well Discovery. #FuckTheHaters
Set Bookmark
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

This final episode looked to me like they decided, since they had to put it together quickly and weren't sure where they were going, and as Jammer pointed out, to take All Good Things and redo many elements of that ending episode adapted to Voyager.

In All Good Things you have the three Picards from each of the different time periods as compared to the two Janeways in this episode. The difference is that while the three Picards are all sharing the same thoughts and never meet, the two Janeways meet but aren't sharing thoughts the way the Picards did.

In All Good Things you get an idea of what happened to the crew of the Enterprise decades in the future, but it turns out that what you see may not happen. At the poker game at the end it is pointed out that since the Picards were successful, that they are not locked into the future as we saw it and their Picard told the crew about. In this Voyager episode we are shown what happens to the crew in the future that is shown, but then it is clear that the future as shown will not happen.

In All Good Things a major antagonist from the series is brought back, in that case Q. In this Voyager episode, the major antagonist that is brought back is the Borg. And since in The Next Generation it was Q who originally introduced the Enterprise to the Borg, the entire thing sort of comes full circle.

In All Good Things, the one particular missing character in the future is Deanna Troi. They point out that she was somehow killed and that Riker and Worf had a feud that was ongoing because of it. In this Voyager episode Chakotay and Seven were somehow going to be killed in the future.

And the final action resolution in All Good Things was the three Enterprises coming together in a blaze of glory to resolve the problem. In this Voyager episode we have Voyager coming through in a blaze of explosive glory to come back to the Alpha Quadrant and destroy the transwarp hub.

And finally, you have Janeway saying, "We did it," which was kind of analogous to Picard saying, "The skies the limit."

In the end, for me, I think this ending to Voyager was not satisfying because, unlike All Good Things, the crew of Voyager could not return to normal. Their time as this family on Voyager was coming to an end. Maybe if the transwarp hub had deposited them so that they still had a year to go before getting home, they would have had time to celebrate on the ship and get mentally prepared to arrive home rather, than, all of a sudden being there. In All Good Things, what happens is that they do go back to normal. In fact, the only difference is that Picard has now joined the poker game. I liked Troi's line that he was always welcome. Perhaps if they could have had some sort of analogous final scene in this final Voyager episode, the ending would have been more satisfying.
Set Bookmark
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 9:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

As someone who used to be in the navy, I can't make sense of Lamarr being given the CHENG position. In a navy, you have these things called trades: There's engineers, navigators, people who work in comms/ops, etc.. Now I know that a sci-fi navy might work differently, but the 'trades' idea would be the same. The doctor is trained as a doctor, the navigator would have to go back and retrain if he wanted to become an engineer. Also: Isn't Lamarr a department head already? I don't understand that either: How is that under-achieving, and in getting him to fill the chief engineer position, aren't they losing another department head in the process?
Set Bookmark
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 9:56am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Why would a species that reproduces by mitosis have sexual desires? Why am I nitpicking a comedy show?
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Lorca and Stammets discussed the network spanning across multiple universes and they did a botched jump to an unknown location.

We goin' to the Mirror Universe bois. 3.5/4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I just don't buy that having control of the ship means you unlock "god mode", where force-fields erect around you whenever someone tries to shoot you, and you can just beam people away with a wave of your hand. If it worked like that, why would boarding parties ever succeed?

I don't buy that if it does work like that, that there's no easy manual override around, on the bridge, just a button you can press to turn that off.

I can't believe that Mudd could even hack the ship like that to begin with, no matter how many tries he had.

There's just too many things that this episode is selling that I just can't buy!
Set Bookmark
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 3:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Starttekwatcher "Now discovery has holodecks when a century later Riker is amazed by them in TNG pilot."

@Dobber "Sigh. Now they have holodecks. Ffs. "

Clearly, the holodeck that they have isn't nearly as sophisticated as the TNG holodecks. They're stuck in the center of the room: They can't move around, and as far as we know, the holograms aren't really touchable.
If you look at any impressive technology we have today, there was usually a low-tech version of that in the past. Like movie editing tech. With computers today, you can edit scenes together with ease. Well, there were analog versions of that in the 70's, it was just that the machine used up a whole room.

So anyway, it makes sense that they would have holodecks of some sort, just not as advanced.
Set Bookmark
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Just looking at the comments, I think Trekkies are extremely picky, conservative and/or jaded. Maybe even entitled. I don't know if this is applies to "nerddom" in general, or if it's specifically Trekkie thing, There's just no pleasing them. Instead of enjoying a good show, they pick it apart and look for anything wrong they can find, even finding stuff that isn't really there.
For example, some people are complaining that the Klingons are dishonourable. Guess what? They were like that in the original series! They must have gone through a profound social change between the original series and the Star Trek movies. They didn't talk about honour at all in TOS. In this show, it looks like the only ones that talk about that are the members of T'kuvma's cult. Also, not all Klingons are the same, etc..

Do anything different than what's been done before in Trek, and it's: "Well that's so not Trek-like, it's not in the spirit of Trek.". Stick to what's been done and "Well now they're just retreading old ground, been there done that.".
Set Bookmark
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I'm confused about Stamets; I thought he was in a relationship with the guy that died on the sister ship? How did he get over him so quickly and start dating another guy, even living with him?
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This episode is definitely centered around the characters and their development.

*We get into Lorca and see more of his dark disposition and backstory. In a dark twisted way he does care for his crew despite constantly arguing and lashing out as we've seen in the past two episodes.
*Saru is feeling conflicted and concerned about his skills and place on the ship. It's hard to imagine how it must feel when a mutineer is seem to be held to a higher standard then a First Officer.
*Stamets was the GOAT this episode with the self sacrifice. I'm starting to feel another mutiny building up between the "We Must Do What's Right" and "The Ends Justify the Means" groups.

Ultimately this was the most Star Trek structred episode so far, with an introduced A plot, touched upon B-plots and character development and it's all nicely wrapped up within the last 5-10 minutes with a slight cliffhanger for the next episode. My only gripes were:

*How did the Klingons know Lorca was even on that transport in the beginning?
*How is Lorca able to see and fight after that light torture?
*The F-bombs really threw me off and took me out of the scene. I know CBS is loving their MA rating but there's no need to go super vulgar.

3/4 stars
Set Bookmark
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 10:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I just finished watching the new Alien movie, i mean, third episode of DSC... so far, nothing... it still worries me that all we gonna get is generic current sci-fi cliches.
I think i've finally got the idea CBS have when they greenlit this show.
This must actually had started as a generic sci-fi show, but somewhere along the way, the executives realized that that wasnt enough to sell their new streaming channel. So, they rebranded it as Star Trek, toss just enough reference to actually be worth calling Star Trek and gave the same "modern sci-fi" treatment as any other ordinary show over the last 10 years.
This dark joyless mood never was the core of any Trek shows... maybe Enterprise came close with the Xindi arc, but that was crap also.
They really shouldn't made it a prequel. Trying to fit the 60's idea of the future in 2017 would be laughable, so we have all this new technology 10 years before the original story that end up feeling anachronistic to the TOS show.
To be fair, i didn't watch the whole episode... I stoped at that ridiculous Alice citations as my mind starting to wander away to the news on my cellphone. But I'll get the rest later tonight, and i'm bet i'm not gonna be surprised (in a good way).
I'm sorry, but this is not Star Trek, this is Generic Moody New Millenial "Can't Go 5 Minutes Without Intense Action or Forced Conflict" Trek.
Set Bookmark
God Bless America
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

This production is created by globalist communists. Read the actors and producers tweets! Be careful! Stay vigilant. REMAIN KLINGON!! Communist shills go to hell. Latinum haters. God Bless the free market. Commies F off.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 12:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Hahaha... don't remind me! :P
I had forgoten about that steaming pile...
But now that you brouth up TNG... in a kind of way, The Vulcan Hello/Battle was their modern version of Encounter at Farpoint. Lacking interesting story and character development but with some good eye candy. What i best remeber of Farpoint is that long and unnecessary saucer section separation sequence. Useless to the story, unless to show the awesomeness of the new special effects possibilities. Although, I think that Q had a better introduction as a villain than the Klingons. I really didn't buy much of the "keep the klingon pure" motivation.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Wow… 3 stars? I'll bet if this show was called Voyager, Jammers woudn't give it more than two.
It's only value was the production value… otherwise, very few character development and interesting storyline.
To me, the Klingons were the worst. I know that people probably lost their shit too when the Klingons became magically different on the Feature Films, but that was at least an improvement over the original ones (granted that, decades later, Enterprise gave an explanation for the change). This guys just seem more wooden than ever. It was painfull too watch them talk. As for the improvements on the technologies and set designs, thats ok… I didn't expect a wooden board full of push buttons and blinking lights or purple/lime green background lighting.
Anyway, nothing much but mindless bang bang boom bom action. This could easily be the fourth film on the JJ reboot sequence and nobody would bat an eye.
I know this wont happen here, but I would love to see some interesting episodes dealing with human and/or current debateable dilemmas. Some of the best Trek episodes i've seen were grounded on that territory (Measure of a Man, In the Pale Moonlight, etc…). Not heavy action or special effects oriented shows, but greeeeat storytelling.
I'll keep on watching at least for now. Orville started even more shitty than DSC and by the third episode has already been much improved.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Jammer, I couldn't disagree with you more. I loove sci-fi comedy: Red Dwarf, Futurama, Rick & Morty, and now this. It's funny and entertaining. Your problem is is that you're jaded and you overthink everything.
Set Bookmark
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

I caught the first two episodes at a party in NYC. Not bad, but not good enough to make me want to subscribe to All Access. I liked the idea that The Federation went through a cold war with the Klingons but never actually fought a war. This has ditched that completely. I like the actor playing Michael, but making another prequel was a bad idea.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 11:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

First, I want to say that I also agree with PZ. Those last few minutes are incredibly powerful to me. I appreciated and it would have been inappropriate to have the usual epilogue ending on the bridge with Kirk, Spock, and McCoy. One thing about this episode is that I think it makes a difference whether you first saw it with no knowledge of the episode or its reputation. I first saw it in the early syndicated reruns sometime in the early 70s. Star Trek was on five days a week in the early evening and I had gotten used to watching it each day. So when this episode came on, I had no special idea of what was coming. I remember the emotional impact of that ending as it hit me that first time I saw it to this day. It had me in tears and it was haunting me for the rest of that night. I would expect that the emotional impact wouldn't have been as great if I had known something about the episode or its reputation before seeing it. I saw The Inner Light when it was originally aired, again with no special knowledge of what was coming before I saw it. The impact of that ending was also very great for me and I remember thinking as that episode was ending that there was The Next Generation's City on the Edge of Forever. Many of the criticisms that are in the comments above from over the past few years I can understand the point of, but the key for me is the emotional impact of those last few minutes of the episode.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

"And since the bad guys disabled Voyager and took the whole crew, why would they leave a super advanced starship just drifting around in space? Wouldn't they have taken it...."

The bad guys captured the crew after they abandoned ship, leaving the ECH doctor in command. The ECH hid the ship in a nebula (nebulas always being handily available when needed).

I've been reading these comments for ages and I've often wanted to respond to complaints about all the alleged mistakes in Voyager and other Star Trek shows. There are some real goofs, but the majority of so-called mistakes can be explained away by positing some additional info that couldn't be shoe-horned into the 42-minute tv episode. Maybe the bat'leth was sent out for restoration and a substitute was temporarily put in its place - one of about a dozen possibilities that come to mind. Maybe a different kind of universal translator was installed on this planet to let everyone understand each other. Etc etc.

True the simplest explanation is a continuity mishap or the writers didnt notice the issue. But that's because they were concentrating on producing the short-form intense drama of a tv show full of hopefully interesting, meaningful and engaging characters and events.

So for most of the supposed errors, meet the writers and directors halfway, give them the benefit of the doubt and assume there are explanations not spelled out explicitly in the tight scripts. Save your gotcha comments for the really egregious mistakes and major problems of the dramas, characters and plotting, which we can argue about.
Set Bookmark
Eric Stillwell
Tue, Aug 8, 2017, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I would like to thank Jamahl Epsicokhan for the lovely review -- not sure exactly when it was written, but I'm assuming maybe a decade ago!?!

As the co-writer of the story for Yesterday's Enterprise, I'd like to thank all of you who enjoyed the episode, whether you consider it a classic or otherwise.

For those of you who enjoy the pastime of nitpicking, let me just say: It's a television show! If science fiction writing was based entirely on the proposition that everything must be logical and scientifically accurate, then Star Trek would not exist -- because traveling faster than the speed of light is not possible.

And trust me, my writing partner and I struggled through several story drafts trying to find a way to logically, factually establish a basis for Picard's decision to send the Enterprise-C back through the rift, but given that the timeline has been altered and no evidence to the contrary exists, it was Michael Piller's idea to give Guinan the extraordinary alien gift of perception through time and space. Ultimately, I think it worked nicely and established the unique relationship that exists between Picard and Guinean, especially in future episodes and even Star Trek Generations.

Peace to all! Thanks for the passion.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.