Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 55 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Fri, Oct 14, 2016, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Reboots and prequels suggest one thing: Lack of ideas, except to make money off past successful marketing and branding.

Everything has cheapened itself in the internet era. Trek is following the same pattern as... everything.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Sep 11, 2016, 8:00am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

12 episodes dealing with the smuggling, hoarding, and consumption of Romulan Ale within the Federation. There. That I'll accept as a Romulan story line.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Sep 11, 2016, 7:57am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Did you just say: "Enterprise had success (anything... Anything... Anything)" ?
Enterprise is unwatchable. Enterprise, the only trek outing to be unable to do a 7 season run since TOS, may have well focused on Archer's inability to move naturally due to Bakula's back injuries. Enterprise needed Sam.

Gorn? Sure. Lizard Lives Matter. Even the Kelvans would be interesting.

But let's be honest, Klingon and Romulan story lines are uninteresting today with loss of the Soviet Union as an evil force and fading memory of nazis, and communism and socialism becoming mainstream ideas permeating the millennial culture. Those villains do not play. They barely played well ever, to be honest, but at least we're culturally relevant.

How about a series which explains more esoteric philosophies of the Federation and its species? How money is regarded. How birth rates are maintained. How food is produced and traded through the various planets. How trade deals are negotiated. (You know, Trexit), how integration of different genders within different colonies throughout the federation goes on, how prisoners are dealt with, how many bathrooms are there... And how the federation promotes and does employee development throughout the fleet.

After all, Gene was all about situations that had real life parallels.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Sep 11, 2016, 12:21am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

In my opinion there's way too much focus on both. Many of the movies had Vulcan or Romulan intrigue. They've done it.

I would like a focus on another species. I don't have one in mind but there were many interesting ones. Maybe the Tholians. There were a couple of intergalactic origin, they'd also open up a lot.

How about the ship gets zapped to the Andromeda galaxy and they know they'll never get back so they settle down in a nice colony in the Andromeda Beta Quadrant Commerce Zone somewhere.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Sep 10, 2016, 2:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Is this like a character-portmanteau of Picard with a Pakled?"

Guilty ;)

On occasion I find myself reverting to Pakledese when in error. Nobody gets it.

You are smart.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Sep 10, 2016, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I think the CBS All Access route is the biggest barrier for this show. Not because of viewing habit reasons as Jammer referred to, but cost. Let's be honest, most of us watch Voyager and other shows on Netflix. So streaming is not the issue, nor is turning on our chromecast or Apple TV.

It's paying 60%-100% on top of our existing Netflix subscription for one show. Arguably, $6-10 is not something that breaks the budget. It's the concept that the media powers that be think this is okay that makes this nauseating.

I remember the promise of cable tv. More channels and less commercials because you pay for the content directly. Well, that was a lie. It started out okay but then reality tv took over, and now it's 12 minutes of commercials in each half hour. Cable or network. Everywhere. Plus we pay premiums as always for HBO and other movie channels. It's non stop advertising on top of fees.

I already pay for cbs with cable. I also pay for HBO on my cable subscription. I can get HBO Go for free on my streaming devices like chromecast and Apple TV. I can get other cable channels for free as well on stream because I have a cable tv subscription. But CBS wants me to double down, and they have nothing of interest. Big Bang Theory? Watching a bunch of insipid millennials is inspiring? I wouldn't watch it when included, nor when I had an antenna, but they're jacking me to pay for it a second time? It's robbery.

So I think this is a fail today, now, before it even starts. I won't be buying in. I'll wait for it to hit Netflix. And if you think all the free trek will stay on Netflix when it gets closer to launch, you're kidding yourself. All of it will disappear in favor of forcing you to pay. Whether you end up paying $220++ for DVDs or something else, you'll be paying again for known trek also.

That's my prediction. The greed knows no end.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Sep 10, 2016, 10:34am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Didn't know that.
Perhaps it's better to say "recurring alien species" not "weird forehead of the week species."

Was Lenard the first to do so?

My cousin's husband was in Who Watches The Watchers. I didn't know that until 3 months ago. I miss stuff. Make it go.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Sep 10, 2016, 9:30am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I just rewatched it last night. It's an okay episode. Mark Lenard I believe is the only person to have played 3 different alien species on Star Trek. So I guess that's something.

Personally I like Shore Leave more.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Mon, Sep 5, 2016, 4:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I believe it was said it would be a TOS incident. I've been watching ST since 1971 as repeats and don't remember Kirk encountering the Sheliak and Omega was Voyager.

These guys are generating advertising impressions and know squat. There's exactly two small paragraphs of actual detail and the rest is complete blather.

Given he'll probably get maybe 3 or 4K page views I am betting his total revenue take us about $12. Feels about right for a load of dung.

It's not you Trekker. It's how the advertising model works. Out-headline the next "writer" for a few thousand ad impressions.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Mon, Sep 5, 2016, 5:50am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I'm thinking of a Fantasy Island prequel, called Fantasy Atoll.

Every time Ricardo Montalban goes swimming in the lagoon, he winds up in a swirling Blue Hole vortex and is transported to the future only to find himself in a Star Trek episode or movie.

See, there's a Warp 3.14159 capable ship sunk at the bottom of the Blue Hole and there was an alien on the ship who was in the brig who could shape shift and move time and space after consuming a red matter pill and... And... And...

Oh crap here comes Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio and she looks pissed...
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Sep 3, 2016, 10:50am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

You'd think they'd maybe put some plants on the bridge, maybe Harry Kim could have put some Christmas lights up in his cabin window, or something to make it more friendly, after all those years.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Wed, Aug 24, 2016, 1:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Ray Walsron was my favorite Martian but never jelled in any way as a Trek character. His acting is terrible. He has ruined every episode he's in.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Thu, Aug 18, 2016, 7:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

The aliens have problems on their home world such that experimenting on alien species makes sense? While DNA may be ubiquitous through out the heavens, it seems forced at best that the anatomies from a different quadrant are similar enough that such testing would be valid. Test earth animals for the sake of earth humans -- makes some sense. But if we discover microbes on Omicron Persei 8, will they really be like us? Especially when living in sulphur springs?

This goes back to the universal translator issue ... Which also alters lip movement to sync with English words. These writers couldn't write themselves out of a wet paper bag.

Set Bookmark
Dougie
Mon, Aug 15, 2016, 10:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Well I've located the troll(s) and the sign clearly states No Feeding.

Everything is opinion. What more would we say? You like it you hate it, but as I say, you can really only comment if you've seen it. So I've got nothing else on this topic.

As to allowing edits or deletes, it's actually a common courtesy of any commercial site. By commercial site, I mean one making profit on advertising revenue generated via page views.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Aug 14, 2016, 2:01am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Again, my comment was general, but personalized by some. Can't help that.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Aug 13, 2016, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

As I'll reiterate, see it before commenting ***on actual content.***. I certainly didn't name any names. Whomever retorted feels my burn, but there were no specific accusations directed anywhere.

That said, Jammer needs to upgrade the site to include:
- rating by individual posters. Same star system. Then, summarized star rating of posters who rated next to Jammer's rating, presented as a community rating.

- flag indicating if poster has seen the content. Then there are 2 community ratings, by those seeing the content, and those pre-cogging the content.

All on the honor system of course, because, in reality, none of it matters except for some internet fun.

Jammer, I know a developer who will do the work for free. Hit me up at my email address. Site needs a solid face-lift in general and it would be a great project. Remember: people need a way to edit or delete a comment, one or the other.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Thu, Aug 11, 2016, 9:00am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

If you haven't seen it, see it before commenting on actual content. It's okay to pre screen and pre comment on what you think the production could be, but you need to see it. See the execution. Then come here and tell us what you think. But unless you come back and say "I was wrong", I will know you are unable to admit your failings.

I actually agree with Jammer. At least Into Darkness had a story. I also agree there was a deeper side to explore that was not done. STB is simply terrible from concept to execution. I would request a refund were that possible. I wasted an evening.

But it was good to get out.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Mon, Aug 8, 2016, 11:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Jason R.,
There were about 20-30 people at the 8:10pm showing on a Saturday night. Unclear how many screens, maybe 2, but Suicide Squad was showing on 5.

It's a dud. A series of Fast and Furious action sequences knitted together with useless dialogue.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Aug 7, 2016, 10:24am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Jammer said: How about a $100M or $120M budget instead of $180M or $200M? You can still make plenty of movie with that, and maybe it would be a bit more modest and maybe the profit margins would be where they need to be and the fans would be happier. Win-win.


Win-Win could also include spending the remaining $60-80M on ... a script.


I'm a huge Pegg fan from the Hot Fuzz days, but that doesn't mean he should write these things. This was terrible. I'm not sure I could stomach a weekly series shot in this framework.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Aug 7, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Worst of the trilogy so far. Star Trek is about story telling, and I can't really make out much of a story here, other than there are a lot of people in the franchise to Thank.

As my friend said who attended with me last night: "It's good to get out on occasion."

This is after spending $25 on the movie, and $28 on popcorn and pop.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 9:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I'd rather they do an episode about the ship's lavatories, who cleans them and fills the soap containers, and the cabin cleaning staff than this dreck.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jul 16, 2016, 11:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Another episode of Star Trek where these dudes have incredible trouble with women. Gene's real universe slips through again.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Thu, Jul 14, 2016, 12:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

Dorn played Klingon defense attorney for Kirk. He wasn't Worf.
Russ was on bridge as extra in The Motion Picture. He wasn't Tuvok.
So why not McNeil as Locarno in Next Generation. He wasn't Marseille lol.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Mon, Jul 11, 2016, 6:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Can I ask where the Robin Williams meme comes from? Is it just the first commenter's suggestion to such? I don't see it, not in the least.

I have always liked Frewer, although was not a Max Headroom fan although it was geared at my demographic. He was good enough for Monty Python, that's a hell of an endorsement. Take a look at Frewer's IMDb page, he's no slouch.

I do agree that it felt like Doc Brown. Having just rewatched BTTF last night, I think both could have been interchangeable at that time, but now all I see is Uncle Fester in Christopher Lloyd.




Set Bookmark
Dougie
Mon, Jul 4, 2016, 9:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

This is a classic, sorry. A TNG character having fun with a woman as opposed to some Oedipal contrivance? Priceless.

It help that I knew a gal like Vash when I was a young man back in the late 80s, and life was much more fun knowing her.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.