Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 206 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Sat, Jan 13, 2018, 8:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

This episode surely started like a parody of itself.

It slowly got better, but not by much.

I really wanted and expected Earhart to learn to pilot the ship and become a crew member. That's what the real one would have done.

No one of the 37's going in the ship and no one of the crew staying behind seems quite wasteful to me.

And the ship should have stayed for some months and shared technology with this new civilization.

This episode had the potential of being the setup of a whole season. Instead nothing of consequence happened.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sat, Jan 6, 2018, 11:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

I could watch an entire series based on Data stepping into command. One of the things that makes the first two seasons of TNG eminently rewatchable (even moreso than seasons 3 and 4) are the more pronounced interpersonal conflicts of the crew. Worf should be more out of control than he is. You see a lot of that type of writing abandoned when Pulaski is shown the door.

Brent Spiner's ability to act like a robot, and display human guile, patience, and a complete tactical awareness of complex emotional situations while in command, is a beautiful thing to watch.

A Klingon and a robot hashing out their friendship in the ready room. That is some top shelf Star Trek right there.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 6:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I mean this is a hilariously bad episode.

The Enterprise is one hour away from being torn apart so, you know, the tin can's working on it down in Observation.

Also, lines like "I feel as two-dimensional as our friends out there." Yikes.

The part that irritates me the most is the massive Troi uppercut Beverly eats in the early part of the episode, only to completely disappear afterwards. I am watching TNG for what, the 50th time through, and I finally get it. Season 2 was great and Pulaski was a better doctor.

Set Bookmark
Brandon
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 2:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

When Jammer's best-reviewed episode is the one where all the characters keep dying horribly over and over, the show can't be all that good.
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 8:54am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I loved when that hipster dude said to Alara something like, "By wearing that hat you are literally pissing on my heritage," of course, completely misunderstanding the meaning of the word "literally." Great parody/mockery of the mindset that degrades our language through constant hyperbole.
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I've noticed that on the desk in his office (i.e., "ready room), Mercer has a little model of the original Wright brothers flyer. Presumably the Orville takes its name from the younger Wright brother. Does anyone know why this is so?
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

Does anyone else think Isaac's voice sounds like Brent Spiner? I know it's not him, but it sure sounds like him.
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

Look at how First Officer Kelly Grayson is the toughest character so far -- she's the one being beaten and tortured in "If the Stars Should Appear," AND telling the guy beating her face in to go to hell! In the next episode, "Pria," SHE'S the one getting into a fistfight with the villain while the bridge crew -- including the captain -- stands around watching. Keep in mind that she's the reason Mercer got his command in the first place, and she was willing to leave the ship after he got it, having accomplished what she set out to do. Very tough, very loyal, self-sacrificing -- basically a female Captain Kirk! I think we're going to end up admiring this character after a while.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 5:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

That is so cool one of the writers stopped by.

Now that I'm watching Season 3 again (good Lord when will it end), the moment that really stood out for me was Yar's plea to stay with the Enterprise C. (Also, Stewart's performance in the episode is nothing short of unbelievable.)

Anyway, back to Yar. Every time I see that one scene where she sits down with Picard, I am immediately reminded of "Million Dollar Baby." (Imagine, this episode of TNG aired 15 years before.) A couple of similar elements at play. Notably, the warrior seeking a meaningful death.

But let's talk about Guinan a second. She takes over the role of the "outsider," very similar to the role that Clint Eastwood plays in many of his movies, in that she (and she alone) ultimately knows or does the Right Thing, however her actions or thoughts cannot be fully explained, or moreover she operates in a way that is considered morally unjustifiable/reprehensible by society/normal standards. The cop that has to go outside the law to capture the serial murderer. The coach that takes his boxer off life support and helps her die an honorable death. The bartender psychic (still serving drinks on a warship, eh?) against all reason insisting this is the wrong timeline and sending her colleague to a certain death. This is, in a sense, a form of assisted suicide. Picard is very clear that she is going to die. I love that scene so much. "Lieutenant!... Permission granted."

"People die every day, mopping floors, washing dishes. You know what their last thought was? I never got my shot."
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 4:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

I kind of expected Data to randomly shout Aku Machente! after palm punching someone.
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 12:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

This is a case where one character (Picard) goes antagonistic just to have some 'TV drama'.

Change Picard attitude, make him fully support Nikolai's plan, and the episode is consistently improved.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 4:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Just saw it, finally. Some thoughts:

* This show is designed for those who entered the franchise through the Abrams door. Whatever their words to the contrary, they clearly went "F it" when it came to continuity in production design and in-universe tech, and they don't really care what we think of them for it because GOTTA KEEP THE NEW VIEWERS. Understandable. But it WILL pull veteran Trekkies out of the immersion every once in a while. We have intelligent computers and insta-emergency forcefields in the pre-Kirk era, but Burnham has to go for an EVA ride because they can't scan an asteroid belt?

* It's nice to see Trekkian characters acting and talking more like real people, instead of the bizarrely paced, stentorian dialogue that marked the earlier series. Go watch a TNG episode and then this. The difference is enormous.

* Visuals are terrific, as expected. The cost of this kind of production suggests that CBS' decision to place the series behind a firewall must have SERIOUSLY paid off, given that it's already been renewed for a second season.

* Sonequa-Green and Jones are also terrific, to nobody's surprise.

* It's a little off-putting that the entire first two hours of the series exist almost solely to create Burnham's guilt and lack of trustworthiness. Sonequa-Green's certainly strong enough to convey it, but it still feels like the entire intrigue and purpose of the series await to be...well, DISCOVERED, har har. This premiere could have benefited enormously from taking a handful of the "arrival on Discovery" scenes shown from the end-of-hour trailer and integrating them into the end of "Battle", instead of slapping the trailer on while showing a kid T'Kuvma getting bullied before he gets shot in the back.

* Gamma Hydra, worker bee, and General Order 1 are nice subtle nods to the nerds, even if the writers feel free to toss aside other canon when it suits them (like Klingons gathering their dead).

* I didn't buy the Shenzhou being totaled. Everyone looked way too comfortable standing around holding conversations after the battle had left her adrift.

* I liked the telescope. At least there's SOME imagination here.

* The title scene is dumb. And way too evocative of Fringe.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 4:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

I wonder how long it will take Adrianne Palicki to realize what she's doing to her career and start begging Seth to write her off the show.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I'm still hung up on the part where they're making me pay for my Star Trek.

Get off my lawn!
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Fri, Sep 15, 2017, 9:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

It would appear that CBS has embargoed reviews before the first day of airing.

Normally that's a sign that they don't have a lot of confidence in the product.

A hopeful interpretation suggests that there might be spoilers so crucial to the format of the series (i.e. perhaps Discovery is from another time - kinda been my hope) that they don't want to risk it getting out.

But I doubt it.
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 5:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

@DLPB that's why I am enjoying The Expanse books and show so much.

But Star Trek has FTL travel, transporters, and almost all aliens being humanoids since the very beginning.

In fact, Star Trek is not for me 'physics science fiction', or 'biology science fiction', but 'social sciences science fiction'.

The basic premise to watch this show for me is: The writers (Roddenberry et al) were deeply aware of European Colonialism, and also were profoundly ashamed of it. So the show is a way to say: imagine a world where Europeans did not obliterate other cultures when they got better ships.

The Prime Directive is one example of it. It basically forbids what the Spaniards did in Mexico and Peru. Another example is the inter planetary species miscegenation. Spock had a Vulcan father and Human mother. There are Klingon and Human hybrids, Klingon and Romulan hybrids, and possibly more. This makes no sense in science fiction, but it makes a lot of sense in the parallel to colonialism.

This is where the apology for this episode comes from. This episode fits the parallel social narrative perfectly.
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Wed, Sep 6, 2017, 5:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

Ohh a Biology Mayor said humanoid design is improbable!

Tell you this: He is right, it is quite improbable. Humanoid parallel evolution and intelligent design have extremely small probabilities of actually happening.

It is, however, hundreds of orders of magnitude more probable than this: faster than light travel, transporter beams, faster than light communication, and most of the science in Star Trek. If you are watching this show, accept that the science depicted is only a dream without much chance of any of it actually happening.

In other words, enjoy the show for what it is, nitpicking the science will get you nowhere.
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 1:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Everyone here is talking about the episode being an euphemism for homosexuality, but at the same time, it can be taken at face value and it is still a valid point of view.

There are many asexual people now, and the dangers of pregnancy are real.

It also reminds me of the Solaria planet in Asimov novels.
Set Bookmark
Don
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 2:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

A terrible review - this is one of the best episodes. Obviously the reviewer prefers the transformers' franchise.
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Sun, Jul 30, 2017, 11:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

"I will not look in your direction", followed by such a long stare is one of the highlights of the episode, if not of the season.
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Sun, Jul 30, 2017, 4:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

Many people here complaining about the impossibility of a language that uses metaphors so extensively, while on the other hand difficult in communication is what should actually be the norm in all first contacts.

Arabic language is one language that uses metaphors extensively, it is extremely poetic and flowery compared with other languages.

Even then, we can not communicate with dolphins or whales, and they do have a language. We can only deduce dolphin's language is a series of echoes that represent 3D things in the sea.

I suspect most complains about the Tamarians language come from people who only speak one language and can't bother with subtitles.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Thu, Jul 6, 2017, 3:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

I'm going through this strange thing where I can't stop binge watching TNG. I can state unequivocally that I have a very strong emotional attachment to TNG, and almost none to TOS or DS9. At every turn, I am impressed by the writers' ability to make science fiction work in the episodic format, in a way that impacts the viewer, primarily by making the protagonists so relatable, instead of say, involving itself in overwhelmingly complicated intergalactic matters. I think that this formula is the hallmark of TNG, as it matured over the seasons into a great show.

What really stands out for me on this viewing of "All Good Things" is the absolute omnipotence of Q and consequently the "total human experience" he chooses to provide Picard with. That is to say, the writing is so unbelievably seamless from Picard's point of view, that it in effect conceals the fact that Q is in complete control of it. I have seen the TNG crew in some pickles before, but never this sophisticated expression of being taught a lesson about the meaning of life from within by an alien race. Q is God, and he totally spreads his wings in this episode. It begs the question why he chooses to do this, but of course, it's the finale, and that's all she wrote. So utterly powerful, such a correct way to end the show, and yet the ramifications of such interference go undiscussed, because the payoff is so suitable. And it is, after all, a situation perhaps we all find ourselves in. What choices do we really have in life, and how do we know if we're doing the right thing.

But I think it's not fair to call Q God because he is more nuanced than that. To the bitter end, Q is there, taunting Picard with "Two down, one to go" as one Enterprise explodes after the other. I think a good mythological analogy for Q is the Sphinx. The gatekeeper. Who keeps her minions in a state of terror. Providing Picard with a riddle he has to solve, or otherwise the demise of all humanity.

So I think there's a reason that Picard doesn't inform his crew of the big picture with the early Enterprise, and the bigger question of why three Enterprises are needed to create the anomaly. Which brings us to the riddle of the Sphinx, and the three stages of man. Each Enterprise expressed a different dimension of Picard's relationship with his crew, and the first Enterprise was about duty, faith and sacrifice. This is an important theme that was of course slam-dunked in "Yesterday's Enterprise" and I'm sure it's no coincidence that Yar is in both episodes ("You heard the captain! Battle stations!").
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Mon, Jul 3, 2017, 5:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Terrible outdated diet choices by the computer. I would have the same complain about the chocolate fudge.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 4:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

"It looks that way" is still one of the franchise's finest moments. I don't care what anyone says.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, May 1, 2017, 8:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Just how big IS this cast anyway? Aren't we up to, like, 20?
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.