Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 450 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Hello Everyone!

I liked the scenes with Seven and Doctor.

I found it interesting that Da Vinci's programming required him to get winded when running up hills (and needing help from Katarina).

Did Voyager lower their shields to beam them up, while being fired upon by 15 or so ships? Honestly, I always thought that while the shield emitters work together, it would be possible to shut one set off so they could beam through. This time, it'd be one of the lower emitters, because they were not being fired upon from the bottom. And I think this is not totally unreasonable, as they often have "aft shields are down/gone", so they turn the ship around. Turn off a set, beam, done. Voilà!

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Dom
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@Chrome, "Except the whole, you know, getting put in prison thing. Wesley would just warp out of prison and then we'd see him having a root beer float with The Traveler."

Fair enough. I did appreciate that Michael suffered some consequences for her mutiny. But that got resolved pretty quickly and within a few minutes she's back to insubordination. Also, Wesley never committed mutiny. He was annoying, but he never physically assaulted Captain Picard and tried to take over the ship.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 9:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I agree with what seems to be the consensus: this was the best, most Trek-like episode of STD yet.

However, Michael really seems to be dragging the show down. I'm actually quite interested in the other characters - Stamets, Lorca, Saru, even Tilly - but Michael is just insufferable. On any other Trek show, if any other character behaved in such an insubordinate manner, the captain would ask to see her in the ready room and chew her out. It's one thing to disagree with the captain in private or in a staff meeting, but on the bridge! (to be fair, the medical officer also seemed about to refuse Saru's orders so Michael isn't the only character with this problem). Michael is slowly becoming the Wesley Crusher of Trek. The know-it-all, self-righteous who gets away with defying the captain and expects everyone to kowtow to his/her genius. And wasn't Michael supposed to be raised on Vulcan? What ever happened to that? I'm not ready to say they should jettison the character quite yet, but she's a problem, just like Wesley was in early TNG.

Part of the problem is also that the show abandons the Pillar-style focus on characters. Each episode in the Berman era of Trek tended to focus on one or two of the main characters and give them a chance to shine (we had the "Picard episode," "Data episode," etc). Discovery doesn't do that, so we get little bits of characters in each episode, making it all feel a bit unfocused. I suspect Michael wouldn't come across as half so problematic if we didn't get so much of her. I think this problem was best exemplified by Saru's arc in this episode. This should have been Saru's story, from his POV, about how he took command and had to make tough choices. Instead, the show focused on other characters questioning his judgement behind his back, and then Saru throws a petty tantrum so Michael can look like the bigger person. Shame because I was really liking Saru up to that point.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

@Chrome: "I’m just reminded how dark and action packed that film was YET, it ended on a very upbeat high moral note. I wholly expect the same from Discovery."

That film ended with Spock acting like a gangster and punching Khan into a bloody pulp. Seriously, Spock scared me and I felt sorry for Khan. That's not a high moral note. That's a moral note that says violence is OK if you're the "good guy."
Set Bookmark
Dom
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 8:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

@Skifbo, yes, the Klingons have advanced ships, but they don't behave like a society that could have actually achieved such levels of technology. Unlike the TOS or TNG Klingons, these Klingons never really display any signs of intelligence or cunning. Martok for example talked a good deal about honor and Klingon traditions, but he was also a smart general and could be diplomatic. Discovery's Klingons seem like they're always fighting or going on about religious mumbo-jumbo. And eating an enemy's body... sorry, but that's just disgusting. Even my girlfriend watching this who is only a causal Trek fan commented that they really made the Klingons look more dark-skinned for this show, and not in a good way. I think the worst thing about the Klingons is, as others noted, they're just dull. There's no joie de vivre, no emotion, no passion.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

@Doctor Franklin, "Am I the only one who likes the Discovery Klingons?"

Probably. In all honesty, I agree that the Klingons really do come across as alien and impenetrable. But they also play into many of our stereotypes about primitives. And some of those stereotypes are pretty racist, from the extremely dark skin to the cannibalism. Nothing about these Klingons suggests a race capable of inventing the wheel, much less spacefaring ships.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Wow, extremely lazy storytelling. Did the writers even bother to think through what actually happens in a war. The Federation has a mining colony that provides a critical fuel and doesn't have ANYTHING protecting it? No ships, no defense platforms, nothing within 84 hours travel time? The Klingons aren't much better. They left T'Kuvma's ship abandoned in a debris field for 6 months with people on board! And nobody bothered to plunder the abandoned Federation ships for intel or technology. I hope both sides lose this war and the Romulans take over because this is just dumb.

The sad part is this episode had some really good ideas, especially in the second half. The show could be setting up a good classic Trek conflict between idealism and pragmatism in using the creature to navigate the spore ship. It's just being really lazy in how it gets there.

Also, I've decided in my personal canon that this show takes place in the year 2449, not before TOS. Nothing in this show seems like it takes place before TOS and it actually makes such more sense if it takes place after Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

@Idolwild, I generally agree, but what bothers me is how quickly the conflict comes. We never get to see the Federation and Starfleet in normal times in STD. We never get introduced to Roddenberry values or even the Prime Directive (despite the reference in the first episode, it's never explained). Thus, as an audience member I don't really feel as invested in these characters or this incarnation of the Federation. I don't know what they're losing or the stakes of the conflict.

Contrast that to DS9. DS9 allowed us to get to know the characters and Federation values before upending them. "Pale Moonlight" works so well because we know who Sisko is and we care about the outcome of the struggle for his soul. Section 31 seemed like such an outrage because we had become accustomed to Starfleet behaving a certain way after watching Picard and Sisko for years.

If Discovery really wants to do the idealism vs. pragmatism conflict, it needs to do a better job setting up Starfleet/Federation values (especially for new viewers). Unfortunately, Michael Burnham isn't it. She tried to commit a mutiny and assaulted a superior officer.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 11:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Hello Everyone!

@digitaurus

I believe she Did want to sleep with him: *don't you want me to give you pleasure?*, or something along those lines. When he replied yes, but he wanted to give her pleasure in return, as equals, she said she could never feel pleasure again. They talk a bit more and then the ship is under attack and it is left at that.

She didn't refuse, quite the opposite.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Dom
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

@ Latex Zebra, "I'll be annoyed if it ends up being questions and questions with no answers."

I do worry about this as well. This has the feeling of a JJ Abrams mystery box. Not EVERYTHING has to be answered at the end of an episode, but I do feel like an episode should come to a satisfactory conclusion and provide some answers. I was very disappointed that this episode ends with absolutely no hint of what that monster was. I want the show to introduce concepts and do something interesting with them, not just tease us with the possibility of interesting concepts.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

@Zimmerman: "There were still too many "Burnham is awesome" scenes added for no good reason, but it was more tolerable since we weren't repeatedly getting beat over the head with how special she was."

That does bother me too, especially because this is a character who committed mutiny and hasn't really done a whole lot to earn our respect. I'd like to see this character do a bit more to earn our respect as opposed to just being super competent at everything. I hope and think maybe they're setting her up to be a true believer in Federation values, a contrast to Lorca's cynicism. If that's the case, I'd still like to see something more done to rehabilitate Burnham.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 10:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I'm still skeptical about this show. I think @William hit the nail on the head when he said that it's not just that the show deals with dark themes, but unlike DS9 there's no joy or spark to it.

I think this episode also shows the dangers of excessive serialization. This episode didn't really have a core. It was partly to introduce Burnham to Discovery, partly a horror show, partly a high-concept episode about space-traveling fungus spores, but the disparate parts didn't fit well together into a single package. In classic Trek, if the show wanted to do a horror episode, that would be the focus. We'd have the mystery, see the monster, overcome it, and then have a resolution. Without any sort of resolution, this STD episode just feels unfinished and pointless. Like what did I just watch for the past hour? Did the show meaningfully engage with any big ideas or concepts?

I did like that we're seeing some imperfect Starfleet characters, like Stammets who has his catty moments. I like the idea of Tilly, but kind of wish they'd toned it back a bit with the whole "nerds have allergies and are socially awkward trope." And I really did not like the fact that it seemed the commander let the other prisoners attack Burnham. That's unbecoming of a Starfleet officer.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Hmm.... This is tough. I liked the first two episodes much more than I thought, but they're also not great Star Trek. I share the general sense of relief that the show hasn't been a disaster so far, but there are a few small things and one big thing that really bugged me.

Like others here, the new look of the Klingons, the futuristic/non-TOS aesthetic, the one-dimensional depiction of the Klingons, the clunky exposition were distracting but never fatal. In fact, I quite enjoyed the first 40 minutes or so. I loved how excited Michael's character was to explore an unknown object. Exploration and discovery in Star Trek - who'd have thought!

Then Michael physically assaults and injures a superior officer, and that officer in turn draws a gun on her. Forget the whole Roddenberry concept of no conflict amongst the crew. That's just an insane behavior for officers on any ship, much less a Starfleet ship! The show never really sells why they behaved in this way. If anything, Michael, who grew up on Vulcan, should be more emotionally detached and pacifist. I really don't get her character so far.

Moreover, the situation doesn't really justify such desperate measures. This isn't like the BSG, where Tigh pulls a gun on a subordinate because any delay will mean certain doom for humanity. The Klingons weren't even attacking and there was no evidence that they planned to.

Finally, it just didn't seem like an earned moment. We as the audience haven't learned to trust and respect Michael or Georgiou. I don't know them well enough to be shocked by their actions. It feels like such a major development might have worked better later in the show.

Fortunately, I was relieved that the show does treat Michael's mutiny as a serious event. Ending with a court martial makes me think that the show won't rush through the consequences for her character.

Overall, I like the show enough to give the next few episodes a chance. It's definitely a fun and entertaining show. For what it's worth, my girlfriend who was a casual Trek fan during the 90s liked it a lot. It just I hope the writing improves over the course of the show. I especially hope the writers realize that just because you can have character conflict doesn't mean you need to or should.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Hello Everyone!

The only, only thing I liked about this episode was the translator having problems to begin with. It was sort of neat to watch them talk and then a recognized word would pop in from time to time, until it was sort of normal(ish).
--------------------------

Well, this is your world, but since we just traversed a whole lot of space through a wormhole (and we have a story), it must be Our World Too!

Naaah... I don't buy it. Darned if I didn't cringe through most of it, waiting for it to end when I first saw it (and again now). I mean, don't tell a completely different race that their world is your home and that you intend to live there even if they don't want you to. Perhaps they learned the wrong lessons from the Dominion...

Just some quick thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

Hello Everyone!

It's been two years since I saw this one, but I've probably watched it 20 times over the decades. There was something about it that really struck a chord with me.

The more I think about it, the more I think it would have been better without the Romulans, but I suppose there had to be some URGENCY to it.

The creature was so, so alone, and finally found someone to whom it could talk to. And Tam was so, so alone because he had to isolate himself since he could not shut out the voices.

Symmetry...

I would have loved to see them again, either just passing through, or helping the Feds with a crisis that needed a badazz ally. When the fat hits the fan in later years, where are all of these allies they've helped? :D

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Hello Everyone!

@borusa

Hmm... That sort of scenario didn't happen during TOS, as I recall, but while I think Bones might have had more sense, he'd have gone to the person that was hurt the most and made them beam them both up to sickbay. Even if they said "NO", he'd grab the arm of the injured person, since we've seen that makes the whole party of two beam up. He'd certainly have been doing triage as Crusher was. IMHO of course.

I figure Crusher was with the most injured person, so they should have just beamed them both aboard. It wasn't as if they were new to beaming or more advanced races.

Eh, we can pick it apart, but in my humble opinion again, it was a fairly decent story and I liked it. Even if Crusher had beamed aboard, they could have kidnapped her from there with the technology they were using, as it seemed they staged the entire event to find their Doctor. I believe Crusher would have been taken no matter what they did, once she was on the planet to begin with.

There was never a time I and my friends (and there were many who watched Trek), when watching the shows during their original runs, ever said we didn't like so-and-so, or hoped a character would be gone. We just accepted them as they were and as they were written. *shrugs*. So it's hard for me to look at a character and deem them unworthy. If they have a fault it is the writers. I believe all the characters played them as they were intended to.

Just my random thoughts on the episode... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Hello Everyone!

@Brian
@Peter G.

I always thought Kirk meant Spock (half human) lived up to human ideals even better than the full humans normally do. I believe other races, knowing his lineage and the context, would understand what he meant by that and appreciate it.

Regarding color for the analogy, this is about species and not race. Apples and oranges. I do understand the concept of the thought, but I do not believe it applies here (in my humble opinion).

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 11:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

@Yanks

Fantastic! It was good to see that classic skit again. :)

RT
Set Bookmark
Dom
Thu, Sep 14, 2017, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

@methane, I second this wholeheartedly. I'm actually quite amazed at how little TV and film have evolved to account for changes in tech and delivery method. Why are shows still constrained to conventions of a bygone era? Why not have different episodes of different lengths? I appreciate that HBO seems to get it, at least to some extent; episodes of Game of Thrones do vary.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Sep 2, 2017, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Immunity Syndrome

Hello Everyone

@Alex

I've wondered about that before. My Star Trek answer is that the Vulcans demanded and received a ship of their own, because, you know, Vulcans. After it was destroyed, perhaps all parties realized that was a bad move.

My regular answer is that they just wanted Spock to "feel" the ship die, and that the crew felt "astonishment". And from that we got the Intrepid.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Hello Everyone!

@Eric Stillwell

Neat! I am glad you stopped by and it'd be cool if you posted some thoughts on other episodes as well, though not to nitpick of course. :)

Oh, and I always have held this episode in the highest regard.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

Hello Everyone!

Some, including Jammer, mentioned something about the spokesperson of the Cataai sounding off. If I am not mistaken (and I didn't look the name up), it is the same actor who was on TNG Birthright, as the thumbless alien who gave Worf the information on his Father. And allso on another episode, Gambit, where he tells them Picard had been vaporized. He played this character exactly the same way, with the same inflections, and it was distracting to me (just a little bit), since I kept thinking about the other episodes.

Now that I'm finally to the Seven episodes, I will mention again what I thought of Seven's outfit. As a former Borg, she might like the catsuit because it isn't bulky or in the way, and is simply functional. I don't see a handy zipper though, for bio breaks. But her shoes seemed to be a form of high heel. I doubt she would wear those, as it would not be helpful for much of anything, and figure she'd wear a comfortable, sturdy, shoe or boot.

As for the prurient interest in her outfit, well, in the 90's I had a nice 32" teevee, and watched the episodes on tape. Watching today, the shows are still 480, but on my rather large widescreen (and Netflix) I did notice her backside quite a few times, much more than when I originally saw them. I don't believe it distracted me, but I did have to watch the scenes twice to make certain it didn't bother me. And while I did notice the ribs of her catsuit originally, I did not realize they were a girdle that sometimes made her short of breath, or faint. I just thought they were raised parts for some decorative reason. Easier to see on the larger teevee that they don't really move. I honestly don't like them all that well.

They needed a reason to get Torres and Paris alone together in space suits, so they made a core problem, then a fetching mission with them, then the shuttle had to have a problem (Let's blow it up! That'll be different!), then they have to come up with a reason it blows up, so they have a new species that does just that, so they can float in space with nearly no air. I've heard that some write novels backwards from the ending, and I somewhat feel this episode was written that way, more than most. Not a horrible episode, but not the greatest. 2 1/2 is about right to me, with a single thumb up. IMHO, of course.

Have a Great Day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Hello Everyone!

@Brian

I believe they mentioned something about transporting heaters or something to the surface, but they duplicated and would not work. On the other hand, tents might still work duplicated, or 100 blankets might still work if they were duplicated. Oh, I found the heater lines:

KIRK: Isn't there any way we can help them?
SPOCK: Thermal heaters were transported down. They duplicated. They won't operate.

But I'm fairly certain blankets would work. Heck, they should be able to burn them as well. :)

Perhaps take the warhead out of a photon torpedo, fill it with heaters, and find a way for it to make a soft landing...

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Intrinsic Random Event
Fri, Jul 21, 2017, 3:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

OK... clearly the know the show is on the way out by now, so they're just screwin around for fun. Nevertheless, I found this to be a reasonably enjoyable midriff.

Sorry, EPISODE, I meant episode...
Set Bookmark
Intrinsic Random Event
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Yeah, this episode is definitely not what I was hoping to see when I pressed Play...
Not as completely terrible as 'Bounty', but most of the way there. Perhaps this idea could have worked if the writer had not been so determined to steer us all the way down the lite and silly path...
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.