Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 141 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Dec 16, 2012, 9:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

I enjoyed this episode for a lot of reasons, mainly because the thing that Jammer found so far-fetched (that you might be able to 'repair someone's psychosis) is not far-fetched at all. Don't we give violent offenders drugs to change their personality. Who is to say what is the 'real' them. If there was a surgery that could make a violent person more peaceful, would they opt to take it? After the change, Iko himself wanted to die. It's an interesting thought experiment.

I also enjoy it because it is so unashamedly against the death penalty. I don't care what you think of the death penalty in the real world- it clearly, obviously, shouldn't be legal in the made-up world of the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Tue, Dec 11, 2012, 10:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

I really loved this one, actually- I think it should have been the series finale. I think it not only encapsulates the Voyager missions statement (that the voyage was more important than the destination) but also shows what a profound impact Voyager had on the Delta Quadrant and vice versa. I loved Chakotay's speech about the path less traveled, I loved his passion when he argued for the merit of their journey, I loved that he finally got a great episode, I loved that it was like a clips show looking back on some of their greatest moments, I loved the end, I LOVED the Janeway/Chakotay interactions- the only way I could have loved this ep more is if Janeway and Chakotay kissed at the end. 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Dec 10, 2012, 8:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

I thought it was pretty well established in the first episode to feature the Hirogen (Hunters) that the Hirogen hunting grounds covered a massive area that stretched to the edge of the Beta Quadrant, as dictated by a network of communication relays that they used to coordinate (and Voyager destroyed- oops)- so it's entirely reasonable that they are a nomadic, wolf-like species that covers an extremely wide territory but does not have an organized government or homeworld as such.

I noticed the Jem-Hadar thing as well, but Sisko did encounter them about three months before Voyager left the AQ, so it's likely they were added to their database of alien species in order for other officers to study. More confusing is why a hologram programmed to think it was a Borg drone would cooperate with Iden and the others.

The 'irrelevant AQ information' was probably NOT programmed by the Hirogen. They probably asked to see some AQ species for them to hunt, and the technology itself gave them the associated traits of that species, just as it would if Worf asked the holodeck to create some sparring opponents for him.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Dec 10, 2012, 8:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

Loved this episode, but note that Jammer didn't even touch on the Pon-Farr storyline. And I was see why- it was totally throwaway. Such a great storytelling opportunity and they blew it!

Still, fun ep.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Dec 10, 2012, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I got a laugh out of it. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Dec 3, 2012, 5:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

I didn't think much of this episode when I first saw it, but on rewatching it last night I was actually quite stunned by how prophetic it seemed. If the US healthcare issue wasn't one of the foremost problems in the US when it aired, it certainly is now. Great example of a classic Trek allegory.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Aug 20, 2012, 10:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Awful. Just... awful. A child could have written a better return for Kes. This episode could have been awesome, but at least 2/3rds of it was just watching Kes sneak around the ship. Couldn't all of that have been done offscreen to give us more time with Kes?

I think it would have been interesting if Kes HAD returned to Ocompa and found that, without the Caretaker looking after them, they had all died in darkness. That would have been a pretty excellent reason for her fury.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Aug 20, 2012, 9:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

I love this episode- it's definitely in my top five, if not my favourite VOY episode of all time. I am stunned by the posters above who gave it zero. It's whip-smart, meta-reflexive, funny, touching, amazing script and performance from Dawson. I just love it. It's almost an apologia for all the crap VOY has given us this season, but I think it's also about Star Trek itself- the 'play that can bring peace'. Star Trek really did change the world, and I think Menosky's swansong was a tribute to that idea. I love this episode. 4 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Aug 6, 2012, 12:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

I hated this episode on first run, mainly because I was not interested in the Borg kids and thought Voyager was going off the rails. However, watching it again on 2nd run, I actually enjoyed it quite a bit- particularly the continuity with Collective and the fight with the Borg Sphere. I'd give it a 3 also.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Jul 15, 2012, 8:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

I hated this episode. Also, it was super-boring. Also: the moment Janeway put the lives of Tom and Harry at risk by not shutting down the program, Chakotay should have relieved her of command.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Jul 2, 2012, 1:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

I was largely bored during this episode. The shot of the 'Borg hanger bay' was pretty rad, though.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Jul 2, 2012, 1:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

I thought this was a lot of fun- meaningless, empty fun, but a good time nontheless. I'd give it 2.5 also, I guess, but I liked it.

Eric: You take that back.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Jul 2, 2012, 1:06am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

Snorefest. Zzzzz
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Jul 2, 2012, 1:00am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Can't believe Jammer gave this 2 stars after outlining in his review what a great episode it was. In short: it was that rarest of things, a Trek comedy that is actually very funny. 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Jun 25, 2012, 12:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

One of the best Voyager episodes overall and easily a season highlight- four stars, definitely. It's just such an interesting premise, executed well, with many sweet and intelligent moments. Loved it even more the second time around.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Tue, Jun 19, 2012, 1:18am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

This is actually one of two Voyager episodes that I specifically avoided on the original run (the other being the sequel episode) because it sounded so dire.

So I recently watched it for the first time (the first time I have watched a 'new' episode of Star Trek since the Enterprise finale aired!) and was... pleasantly surprised. It was fun. I thought the ending was ridiculous (The Doctor saying Michael was 'as real as he was' was offensive and dumb), but overall I had a lot of fun with the episode. I think 2 stars is about right, but I still liked it.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, Jun 13, 2012, 11:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

This is one of my favourite episodes- a Voyager classic and really one of the highlights of the 6th season.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, Jun 13, 2012, 10:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

Agreed with the people commending the 'epic' feel of the episode. Yes, the knowledge that the Vadwaar were never encountered again does hurt the episode some, but as an ominous 'Part 1', it does a pretty good job of showing unintended consequences. I like it.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, Jun 13, 2012, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

Boring, forgettable.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, May 16, 2012, 12:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: A Private Little War

I love this episode- it has so many great elements:

1. The 'slapping of Spock' scene- hilarious!
2. A great 'Trekkian dilemma' with no 'good choice' at the end.
3. A heartfelt and reasonable explanation of the Price Directive from Kirk.
4. A sexy lady.
5. An awesome alien monster- plus two fight scenes with said monster!
6. The classic fight music and a big brawl.
7. McCoy saying: "She's dead."

I really loved this episode.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Thu, Mar 1, 2012, 7:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

The O'Donnell scenes fall flat flat flat for me- total snorefest (although is it me or is Henry a dead ringer for Gene Roddenberry?)

The scenes on Voyager, however, are totally charming and funny, some of the best crew interaction scenes in the series. They don't completely redeem the episode, but I'm very glad to have seen them.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Feb 27, 2012, 6:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

I loved this episode when I saw it on first broadcast, but watching it again with my wife last night we were in absolute stitches, pretty much the whole way through. It's definitely been a highlight of the season.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Feb 19, 2012, 8:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I didn't enjoy this episode the first time I saw it, but that was when I was a teenager and had never heard of existentialism.

Watching it again with my wife 15 years later and two things are clear:

1. We both bawled our eyes out at the fate of the duplicate crew. It provoked a reaction. That alone is a pretty impressive feat for Voyager.
2. It's clearly an existentialist premise. So they all died and the actual Voyager didn't get their logs. So? You're going to die, too, and no-one will remember you after a few generations. Does that freak you out? Good! This episode is just everyone's life in fast-forward. We decay, we resist, we die, we are forgotten. This is probably the bleakest piece of televised Trek. It makes DS9 look like happy-fun-time land. We should applaud it for being so bold.

As for those who questioned Janeway's dedication to get back to Earth, c'mon. Let's say you went to the Doctor and he said: "Sorry to say, but you're a copy, you're not actually you." would you just stop being yourself? Could you, even if you wanted to? I found everyone's reactions pretty sanguine. It doesn't matter that they were copies, they THOUGHT they were real. That's all we ever do.

Four stars, Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Jan 29, 2012, 10:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

Nitpicks aside, this episode is just a lot of epic-scale fun. I'd give it four stars.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Jan 29, 2012, 9:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

I love that this episode has got so many comments!

Anyway I'm a huge fan of this one- the mystery at the beginning, and the second half that deals with the Doctor's breakdown. I personally agree more with Janeway's 'he's a toaster' argument, but I think this episode certainly gave a good argument as to why he is not just a hologram anymore, and I'd definitely give it four stars.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.