Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 106 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 2:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

I agree wholeheartedly with Jammer's original review, but for the same reasons would only give this 1 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 11:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I agree with a lot of Jammer's critique, but for many of the same reasons give this one 1 1/2 stars. Mark Twain was a mess. To be that non-chalant about going into the future 500 years (what's the big deal after all) and being on a starship --just amateurish writing--gave no sense or reality at all.
I did like the back story to Guinan & Picard. Other that that, I wanted to like this one, but didn't that much.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Jan 6, 2018, 11:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

I loved this one. 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Jan 6, 2018, 1:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I read a lot of the above comments, but not all, so I'm not sure where my comments will fit in with what has been expressed above.

I really wanted to like this episode (and did like a lot of things about it), but to give up such an incredible opportunity to destroy such a powerful enemy seems ridiculous. I think Guinan was right during the fencing scene when she took advantage of Picard's sympathy to defeat him. In this situation you cannot let such sympathy take away this rare chance. Like many Trekkies, I am also attracted to the idealism of the Trek universe but has Wolf 359 been forgotten so quickly? In that case, ONE Borg cube decimated dozens of starships and came insanely close to assimilating people on Earth. So many cultures had been destroyed by the Borg--didn't the Enterprise have a duty to attempt to stop the future destruction of billions and trillions of lives? I mean, I suppose this episode opened up a sliver of possibility for future negotiation, but the very tiny possibility of that happening versus the very high probability of the Borg wiping out the Federation makes Picard's decision inexcusable.

Btw, I don't remember 7 of 9 having anywhere near as easy a time becoming comfortable with being an individual as Hugh.....



Set Bookmark
Derek D
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 2:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

Positives of this Episode:
Worf: You're just supposed to sit here?...

Worf popping the bubble head

The touching scene when Lwaxana speaks about aging and loneliness and compromising.

Nothing else.

Negative of this episode:
Everything else.
The holodeck scenes--insufferable and embarrassingly bad

This one falls between Code of Honor and Shades of Gray--and yes, i'd sooner watch the latter than watch this one again
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 2:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

From the comments I read above I appear to be in the minority, but I thought Caroline Kava's depiction of Dr. Toby Russell was awful: hollow, lacking the right emotional tone, unconvincing.

I also disagree with Jammer about Worf's decision to commit ritual suicide as being "absurd." From my perception of what it is to be a Klingon, Worf's desire to end his life since he can no longer be a fully-functioning warrior makes a lot of sense, whether it is congruous with my personal beliefs or not.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 1:16am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Disliked this episode even from the opening scene with Keiko--the invasion of her mind even for a "positive" reason felt like a dangerous violation. Was not expecting, nor did I enjoy an episode centered on intense psychological rape.

I did enjoy Worf knocking out the creep with one smack.
Usually I'm a fan of Picard's speeches, but the one at the end was smug and out of place.

Btw, Riker's interrogation skills have much to be desired. Perhaps he had some gut feeling that Jev was the culprit, but even so, at the start of an investigation you should play it cool and come across as objective. Here, Riker shoves accusatorily toned questions down Jev's throat while maintaining that he was not accusing him of anything. Right.

1 star
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 12:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

As I'm rewatching Season 5 I came up to this episode and thought about skipping it because I remember not liking it before. Watched it anyway and came to the same conclusion--weak, boring episode. 1 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Wed, Dec 27, 2017, 12:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Jason R.
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 5:53pm
Picard's speech was laughable given that he strenuously argued to allow entire civilizations die (on more than one occasion) rather than violate the prime directive, but now suddenly he is going to the wall for this one little colony?

Totally agree

This episode fails on so many levels. 1 star
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 8:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

Jack
Sun, May 27, 2012, 10:10am (UTC -6)
It's just ridiculous that Romulus could ever "conquer" a planet that lies within the very heart of the Federation...how could they ever hope to hold it?...it's completely surrounded by vast swaths of Federation territory. Sela's "we'll be there, entrenched" with the likes of 2000 troops was laughable.

My thoughts exactly

Sintek
Wed, Sep 26, 2012, 3:10pm (UTC -6)
When I first saw this I was enthralled until Sela showed up. I don't know why but Crosby's acting always comes across shrill and fake, destroying any suspension of disbelief. I'm glad she left in the first season or the entire series would be unwatchable.

My thoughts exactly

Bright spot: when Data tells Sela she might consider a different job!
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Mon, Dec 25, 2017, 7:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Episode: 2 1/2 stars
Lefler/Judd: 5 stars

Set Bookmark
Derek D
Mon, Dec 25, 2017, 6:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

This has always been one of my favorites. That doesn't mean that I don't agree with a lot of the criticisms above. But I love every one of the mini-stories in here, especially Picard and the children and the HILARIOUS Worf/Keiko birth scene. As for all the discussion on rating scales above, I would say that I would rate this one 3 stars (acknowledging its many flaws), but within my own individual universe I rate it 4 stars because I just enjoy it so much (and that does not mean I place it on par quality-wise or impact-wise with Best of Both Worlds, The Inner Light, Yesterday's Enterprise, or Sins of the Father).
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Dec 23, 2017, 11:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

It's very interesting to read all the opinions expressed above. As for this episode I liked it a lot and I love Ensign Ro as a character. 3 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Dec 23, 2017, 12:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

A beautiful episode. 3 1/2 or 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 3:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

I'm glad that some of you above addressed the fact that just because Crusher is not attracted to Odan's new host does not make her homophobic. I am heterosexual and would not want to have a male partner; that does not make me homophobic. What I think the episode succeeds in making us ponder is the degree to which BOTH personality/emotionality and physicality are important in a relationship. Yes, maybe we will have "evolved" past that in 400 years, but maybe not. Maybe being attracted to a person of the same or opposite sex is biological and will not change. As it stands now, if we are not at least attracted enough to a potential partner we probably will not take the time to get to know them as a person, so the physical component is super important. What if Odan's original body stayed the same and another symbiant--with a very different personality, different sense of humor, different ways of reacting to life, etc.--was placed inside? Would Crusher have felt the same way about this new partner? Should we expect her to? What stood out to me was that ultimately the attraction between two people is going to be a combination of physical and mental.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Wed, Dec 20, 2017, 3:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

This one obviously generates a lot of mixed feelings. I fall on the side of thinking this is a very good episode. I'm another who almost never likes Lwaxana appearances, but I thought she was good in this one. One of the rare times when she lets her mask down and we can see some real emotions from her.

I do not condone the ritual suicide of one's citizens at age 60, but, trying my best to put aside my ethnocentrism, I can understand why theoretically a society would choose to go this route. That is why this one is so effective for me--because it puts into stark relief how indeed we treat our elderly. The romance, intersecting with the needs of Timicin's family and friends, and the failed experiment that could potentially lead to saving the planet with just a little more time--all this provides a stunning context from which to explore the issues of aging.

3 1/2 stars for me
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

I'm all for a little light-hearted fun and for changing it up now and then. But this was just plain stupid.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 10:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

I LOVE the episodes involving Klingon politics. For me this one is somewhere between 3.5 and 4, so let's call it 3.75. Hell, it really is a classic--4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

In his comments on June 26, 2013, William B. expressed many of my thoughts on this one. I too would have given it 1 star, but the ending embrace did touch me enough to give it 1 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 12:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

There were a few bright spots, but overall a sub-par effort. Lwaxana sleeping with the Ferengi dude and stroking his dic-, er ears was just gross and humiliating. 1 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 11:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

With it's exploration of the effects of conditions like Alzheimer's and aging, superb acting performances, and a fascinating glimpse into the seldom-revealed Vulcan mind, this was excellent.

Riker: "Is it my imagination or have tempers become a little frayed on this ship lately?'
Worf: "I hadn't noticed."
as they walk into an all out brawl. Priceless.
3 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Derek D.
Thu, Dec 7, 2017, 2:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

A good, not great episode, 2.75 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Tue, Dec 5, 2017, 11:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

I for one enjoyed the interaction between Vash and Picard. I also don't understand all the hate this one gets. I enjoyed it for what it is--a light-hearted episode about what could perhaps be the most deadly weapon ever invented (if that's possible--and I guess it is). 2 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Mon, Dec 4, 2017, 10:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

I always liked this one. 3 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 12:50am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

An absolute classic. 4 stars
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.