Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 258 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 8:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

The Delta Flyer is also where Janeway gets all her magical unlimited torpedoes from.

Shhhhhh! It's a secret!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Feb 8, 2017, 11:50am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

Tara, you seem like an intelligent person I just don't know why you're cherry picking Trek episodes to try to find things wrong in regards to how women are treated. Like that seems like that's ALL you do around here.

Don't you enjoy the shows at all? Sometimes everything's not meant to be a great battle of the sexes debate, you know?
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 7, 2017, 6:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

"While I'm at the away team. Why the heck is all senior officer go on rescue/away team? "

Oh that's been established since TOS of course, you always send the absolute most important people down on the most dangerous away missions at every opportunity!

At least TNG started to address this (a bit) by having Riker go instead of Picard, but still he's the second in command and pretty important.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 7:46am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

A great episode that can make both Chakotay's vision quests and Neelix work.
I really like when Trek explores different things like the Great Forest / Barge of the Dead / Stovol 'Kor / and yeah even the Divine Treasury.

And it goes to show that Ethan Phillips is actually a pretty good actor too!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 7:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

A surprisingly good episode, even if you could see the ending coming a mile away.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Fri, Feb 3, 2017, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"I'm prepared to attribute DS9's differentness (and greatness) to Behr alone as the coordinating force for the writing and production staff. "

Yeah no kidding! Behr is awesome. He's working on the DS9 documentary currently but wouldn't it be great to get him back to Trek for this somehow?
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Fri, Feb 3, 2017, 12:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

"And I know, characters shoud be flawed but going by what we have seen of him so far, what are even his character strenghts? I "

Um...Talaxian root pie?
There aren't many, Mr. Vulcan.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Fri, Feb 3, 2017, 7:39am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"100% agree. VOY is my least favorite because I have a lot of frustration for what it didn't do, but it probably would appear more on my top 20 list than TOS. When it was great it was great. "Blink of an Eye" is probably one of the coolest sci-fi episodes ever done. "

I agree as well. VOY is right ahead of ENT on my bottom of the list but you had some really excellent stand alones. That one I saw sort of recently where the Doctor is re-activated after hundreds of years in the museum is so friggin' good. What a great idea for an episode. Even "Caretaker" would be make it on a top 40 of mine.

Of course I could easily fill a top 20 with all DS9 or TNG episodes so being subjective would be difficult.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Fri, Feb 3, 2017, 6:32am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

"Overall I do enjoy the DS9 series.! "

That's because it's the best one!
Welcome to the fold!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Feb 1, 2017, 11:20am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Any chance of them releasing it January 2018? :D

And I agree, enough with the teasers it's just embarrassing now. Will the next one start showing the stars' names on the dressing rooms? Maybe a Klingon sash zoomed in 400%?
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Feb 1, 2017, 8:09am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

That teaser is cool, however half of it is a nostalgia trip with stuff they know we already like. We still have the flying dorito from what it looks like.

At this point, at least there's proof they have a set!
Better 8 months late than 9 months late! :D
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Jan 31, 2017, 9:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

"We must please the Picard so he will grant us favors!"

Oh no way, those lines are gold! haha!

"BTW I don't enjoy reading people's religious debates and abortion debates on this site. "

Same here, but they're entitled to a spirited debate I suppose. Luckily it's been mostly confined to this episode thread.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Jan 31, 2017, 6:17am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"I think they made a mistake about what time they are setting this in."

I think everybody pretty much thinks this. Is anybody here happy when this is taking place? The people I've talked to (and myself) want it 30 years after DS9 / VOY. It would've made a lot of sense because you could still have some cameos from characters who were on those shows, and their ages would make sense.

"Once can assume if the ratings are soft they will bring us the Ferengi and Borg in some way trying to pop ratings and keep with established continuity."

I hope you're wrong! I don't want an uncensored Ferengi knockers show!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Fri, Jan 27, 2017, 6:44am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

"Third, Data not getting jokes everybody except the viewers insists are hilarious has not been a thing for so long, I am not sure if I can call it OCC for him at that point, but I can call it embarrassing. No shortage of that for him in this. "

I saw this in the theater twice and I can tell you all of these jokes were hilarious at the time. Especially when he did the Picard impersonation. Maybe because back then we were so used to the non-emotional Data it made a bigger impact, I dunno. I didn't really like his "Oh Shit!" when the ENT-D was going down, not even back then. THAT seemed way more out of character to me.

Overall I feel like Generations is a good movie, maybe middle of the pack. I agree with you that the whole ENT-B scenes are awesome- Maybe the best part of the movie, really. All the lighting on the ENT-D seems to be non-existant, like they purposely went away from the great stage lighting the show used for years for some weird effect. I think this was a mistake. Destroying the ENT-D was horrible and I've never warmed up to the ENT-E over the next few movies (and it looks like I won't ever get that chance again).

Daresay I think Kirk is better in this movie than Picard is. It's like they saddled Picard with this crappy lightning and crappy themes and let Kirk do most of the heroric cowboy stuff to ride out into the sunset- Stuff, I may add, that he and his crew did with great effect already in The Undiscovered Country. And I like Picard as a captain / character way way more too.

Also, it's very likely Parmount could have had access to some sailing ship prop somewhere already. Or they could've borrowed an existing tourist ship from someplace (ex. the Friendship in Salem or similar) and rented some nautical uniforms from anywhere. I don't think they had to spend too much money on those particular things perhaps.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Jan 26, 2017, 6:51am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Hypothetically let's assume the producers announce a change of direction for the series tomorrow morning and decide it will be set as a long term mission in the 2500s in the Beta Quadrant. What could that mean for the series? Space to do something really different, a newer ship perhaps with a radically different design to the usual Saucer-and-Nacelle design. "

If they have to redesign the ship again and come up with an entirely different premise this is going to get pushed back so far the real Captain Archer will be able to watch it.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Jan 24, 2017, 9:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

I had the same reaction to Shelby as I did to Capt. Jelico in Chain of Command:

You hate them at first because they bust in a disrupt the nice little thing TNG has going on, but in the end you see them as not be quite so bad and learn to appreciate them.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 2:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

So first it's supposed to air this month.

Then it gets pushed back to May, but the filming starts in Sept 2016.

But when Sept rolls around, they haven't even cast anybody yet, so it gets pushed back again.

And well, etc etc then it was definitely shooting like what 2 weeks ago and now it's not until a bit later (Suuuuuuure)

And, well.. SAREK? Whyyy? I'd rather see a bunch of brand new people than re-treads at this point with this doomed series. I don't want them to bring back old characters for the sole reason I'd hate to see Mark Lenard's awesome legacy get pooped on.

Omni is right on this: CBS has totally screwed this up. This whole thing should've been so friggin' awesome and handled by people who realize just how special this franchise is (and could be again). You won't get another shot at a 50th anniversary again. Hell, the convention rounds in 2014 made WAY more stops than this year did. How is that even possible?

The last thing I want STD.. (yeah, it's STD because it sounds awful and it lingers on and on in production hell haha).. the last thing I want my awesome Trek to do is friggin' flat out DIE from it. Holy shit, guys. Do they realize how many people would jump at the chance to HANDLE THIS RIGHT?

Sorry, haha oh boy went on a ranter there, but at least we friggin' CARE about this sorta' thing.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Jan 10, 2017, 9:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I'd say the Cardassians were probably the best villains of Trek, as they're the most human (barring the Marquis of course).
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Jan 9, 2017, 8:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

Hi Ross!

I'm a musician as well (bassist for 24 years, drummer on the side if you consider that a musician lol).. Anyhow I always pay close attention to actors on TV when they're supposed to be playing an instrument and seeing if they really know how or not. Good example of faking it: Terrance Howard on acoustic guitar on an episode of "Empire". Horrible example of faking it: Any of the Zack Attack band members minus Slater on "Saved By the Bell" lol.

Thanks for the insight on this episode though. I'm not classically trained and have learned everything I know by ear / myself so this is cool insight.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Fri, Jan 6, 2017, 10:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@ JohnC:

"Melanie would never exist. "

Sure she would, she just wouldn't have Jake's manuscript in this timeline.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Fri, Jan 6, 2017, 10:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Watched this again last night. It's so good. Easily in the top 3 DS9 episodes for a reason.

However I never realized how kind of borderline psycho and pushy the girl kind of is in this:

1) She's out in the swamp, in the rain, to try and find Old Jake's house uninvited. By future standards this might be cool but if somebody did that today well it has STALKER written all over it haha.

2) Old Jake is trying to be nice and says he doesn't really have time to tell her his whole story, where she immediately responds with something like "OH I HAVE TIME!" It's like, Lady maybe he doesn't want to be bothered in the middle of the night right now?

3) Towards the end Old Jake offers her a copy of his new unpublished works- which would be a huge honor to any aspiring writer- but instead she grabs his handwritten copy and says she wants those instead. Well of course, they're only worth shitloads more haha.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Jan 3, 2017, 9:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

^^ It also kind of lets you know what will eventually happen to poor Tom Riker :( ^^
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Sun, Jan 1, 2017, 6:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

"My recollection was that as the interrogation of Tarses intensified and it became clear that his career in Starfleet was finished, that he committed suicide. "

@ Matt-

You might be remembering 'The Defector' I think it was called, where the Romulan who thought he was trying to help his people by defecting to the Federation killed himself after he learned it was all a trick by the Romulans.

And since Tarses was part Romulan, this could be it!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Fri, Dec 30, 2016, 7:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

"So the Hirogen leader who looks through the ships database and finds the WW2 data. 'Hey that would make an excellent story for a hunting game.'

But why the hell did they choose the losing side? "

Probably arrogance. "Hey, we can do it better!"
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Dec 29, 2016, 7:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

Tuvok, the Doctor, and Seven ARE the best characters on this show by far.

Tuvok as a character I think is probably even under-rated. Next to Spock, this is how you play a convincing Vulcan.
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.