Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 407 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 8:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I forget but did we ever get a real answer on why that Discovery-class ship (that wasn't the Discovery) had all those twisted and messed up dead people on it?

Or are we just assuming it was a failed attempt to get to the Mirror Universe?
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 7:31am (UTC -6)
Re: Event Horizon

Really the only thing I can remember about this movie was just how gross it was. WAY WAY more gory than I had anticipated going in.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 7:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Maybe it'll be "Maury" lol.

Jammer: 'In this episode, he WAS the father!! 4 stars, did not see that coming.'
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 9:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Peter G:

"TAS would be good for completionism but many people rave about Firefly and it's a light show overall, which might make for good watching. I'll pick the dark horse and guess Firefly will be it."

YEAH! I love Firefly, Jammer you should totally do this! You could include Serenity too. Talk about an awesome ensemble cast where everybody gets a chance to shine. Browncoats, ahoy!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I canceled my CBS-AA subscription but will likely re-up it after you guys give a few of S2's shows a viewing. I'm hopeful it'll get better, but I don't think I want to pay for another middling season if it continues like this. And I'm not paying $10 a month until 2019 whenever where the only other alternatives are Young Sheldon and CSI: Downtown lower east side Tokyo crap haha.

This is a real shame, as finally I have the opportunity to watch a first-run Trek with my kids, and this is what we got.

I listed my reason of cancelling and 'other' and let them know, albeit in a nice way. In the meantime, we always have old DS9 and TNG to rewatch. :)
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 7:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@John Harmon:

"And then you watch After Trek and see all the writers patting themselves on the back and it's both embarrassing and gross."

I've never watched After Trek until last night and wow you're right it was incredible stupid. It's set up like a Big Brother end of season cast reunion special with Julie Chen or something.. terrible. I couldn't get past maybe 5 or 6 minutes before shutting it off.

You're right though, they think they're the cat's meow for sure. I don't have a lot of confidence they'll improve much on S2.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 6:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@MiaBN:

"My optometrist will thank me for cancelling CBSAA this month. He said the eye rolling was beginning to cause permanent occular damage."

Hahahahaha!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 9:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@JP:

Oh, I 'member!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 9:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I rather liked it, but I don't know how I feel about the Enterprise at the end. The good news? It actually looked like the Enterprise and not some weird glass ship with feathers (hahah remember those from earlier this season?) but I was hoping the Diacovery could now go and do it's own thing now that this weird war is over. Maybe some exploration?

Captain Saru? Yeah!

I think they should leave TOS alone going forward. The ending theme music was just too much. Just what does this show want to be again??
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 10:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

Tomalauk: "I'll give you 30 seconds to surrender-"
Picard: "I don't even need one!"

Fucking badass, this whole episode was GREAT!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Eric:

It's funny but I rewatched "The Defector" last night (which had some throwbacks to "The Enemy" in it) and that episode is even better. Even with 10% of the budget and visuals DSC has that was an amazing episode. I didn't remember just how good it was but easy 4 stars from this guy.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 10:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@KT:

"To the people who are enjoying this series; have you seen DS9 in its entirety? how does it compare in your opinion?"

Holy God, there's an equation they made just for this sort of thing-

DS9 >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>DSC

It's not like DSC hasn't been entertaining at all, or that ALL of the characters are bad, but DS9 just smokes it. Even the first season, which has maybe 3-4 duds and some standouts. It's just not even close.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 10:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@LJ:

"And as I said above, maybe it's just me, but I don't think of Sarek as being "one of the most loved characters of Trek". In my opinion he was always portrayed as a dickish character."

Yeah, if you want beloved Trek characters I think not many can argue these:

Spock
Bones
Data
Worf

Now there are many others you could include of course, but those are solid locks with me.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 10:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Warrior:

"They got that continuity aspect right :D"

HAHAHAH!!
You sir, are alllllright!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 9:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Warrior:

Yeah, I know sorry that sounds totally shallow but man it's like every light source in the show just makes it cast a shadow worthy of song haha.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 8:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Mertov-

"The episode was well-paced despite having almost no action scenes. "

Did you not watch the 7 minute long Tyler / Burnham ordeal near the end? God, that was so painful and unnecessary. It totally killed any pacing they had going for them.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 8:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Oh and can someone please send Tilly some 60 coarse sandpaper and file that potato off her forehead? Damn, it's as distracting as SMG's "acting"

:(
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 11:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Some things were good: Saru, Stammets, MU Georgiou, the unexpected twist (again with the twists!) that hey look we found Georgiou she wasn't really eaten to death! But this was a pretty boring episode overall. There just seemed to be like ten things they touched on which doesn't really work in a show that's under an hour but here's my initial takes:

Spores grown via the Genesis device's prototype or whatever. I'm sure they touched on how they were going to grow new spores but this whole thing kind of felt shoehorned in.

MU Emporer is going to use a WMD from inside Q'onos.... A hundred years before Sisko so maybe that's where he got the idea lol.

Ash and Michael: Will they or won't hey?? This subplot was just super boring to me, even though I liked a lot of the whole Ash Tyler setup in the earlier episodes.

--

SMG just can't carry this show. She's painful to watch a lot of the time and here again for most of this one. I watched TNG's "The Enemy" last night and Picard just kills it in that one. THAT is what you need for your main lead, and she's just not near that caliber. Everything about that episode- Tye story, the acting, the characters- smokes this one, minus the visuals but of course in 30 years these will likely be dated too.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Feb 1, 2018, 10:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Ubik:

Those are good points but I think you're giving DSC's writers way way too much credit. I don't think they meant this show to come across as deep as you suggest.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 10:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Yanks:

"This is as bad as OmicronThetaDeltaPhi posting sorrows..... again.... "

Eddington sabotaged his anti-posting cloaking device! They'll have to turn around now!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 8:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

I think PU Landry WAS the real PU Landry and she was just an asshole. And as an evil asshole that totally explains why Lorca got along so well with her, doesn't it?
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 7:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

"My primary frustration at this point is that they've killed off the most interesting character (after making him a two-dimensional baddie). "

They pulled a Dukat!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 7:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

OH and now we get Capt. Saru full time, awesome!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 7:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Oh man when he said "It's our Alpha Quadrant, but...." I was hoping he was going to say they jumped past to DS9 / VOY's time. 9 months, argh!

Not a 'bad' episode but the 2 bad things that stood out to me was 1) the shoot out scene with the red force field that they somehow made super boring and 2) the cameraman appears to be on crack for half the scenes. Go back and watch this and take a look for yourself, the poor bastard can't hold still for 2 seconds lol.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Jan 25, 2018, 8:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Yeah that's more of what I meant, terrible in a "THIS is Sam??" kind of way. He was so awesome on Quantum Leap but they somehow made Archer just so blah and boring all the time. It's really saying something when even Janeway is better!*


*It's just a matter of opinion of course :D
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.