Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 369 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
David
Thu, Feb 9, 2017, 12:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

I can't understand what people don't like about this episode - I really enjoyed it! The concept was really intriguing, and Brent Spiner was great as usual. I was quite fascinated by this civilization that existed so long ago. However, there were a few issues with the episode - firstly, why were all of these personalities within Data so afraid of the sun (Masaka)? Why was "over 20%" of the ship transformed, and yet no people were killed? You'd assume that a similar percentage of the crew would have perished if this was the case. I was also really let down by the final reveal - that Masaka was the sun. Seriously?! The symbol looks like the sun, and yet this whole time they're trying to figure out who Masaka is. Early on, they even refer to the symbol as "sun like" and then at the end we find out it's... the sun. What a shock!! I have to give the episode a solid 2 stars. Someone in another comment mentioned that filming this episode took longer than usual due to the cast constantly cracking up laughing as they delivered their lines. I don't know if this is true or not, but I'm sure that it probably had more to do with Brent Spiner's voices.
Set Bookmark
David
Tue, Feb 7, 2017, 6:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

Jammer - the name "Jayden" wasn't arbitrarily chosen. In the deleted scene, the girl explains that it came from a kid's story. However, the scene is rather boring and I agree with it being deleted - no explanation is really needed for the choice of name.
Set Bookmark
David
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 10:32am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I'm surprised that nobody mentioned that Alexander Enberg who played the Vulcan ensign in this episode, is the son of Jeri Taylor! How nice it must be to have a mommy who can get you a role on TV because of who she is...
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Jan 27, 2017, 9:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

I'm surprised that more people haven't nitpicked on the fact that Dr. Tainer couldn't have gone through life not knowing she's an android. For starters, her weight would be much more than her human self - almost double. She would of course notice her incredible strength as well, and conclude that it's not possible for a human female of her age. Furthermore, has she never had an X-ray done in her life?
Set Bookmark
David D
Wed, Jan 25, 2017, 6:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Interesting how they followed perhaps the worst episode of TNG (the ghastly "Sub Rosa"), with one of the best.
Set Bookmark
David
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 12:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

One minor goof in this episode - when the Enterprise is in the sun's corona, we can see that about half the windows on the ship are lit up (which is about the usual amount). In reality, if you were that close to the sun, the light would be blinding, which would require closing all shutters/blinds on the windows of the ship. Of course, we can assume that some rooms are not occupied (such as crew quarters where the crewman is on duty elsewhere), but I still think that for safety reasons (such as, oh, I don't know, avoiding blindness), Crusher would have closed all blinds on the windows before entering the corona, or at least done so as soon as realistically possible!
Set Bookmark
David
Thu, Jan 5, 2017, 11:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

Does anyone know how they achieved the effect of having people frozen still, yet other people able to move around them in the same shot?
Set Bookmark
David
Sat, Dec 31, 2016, 6:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

After you've watched the whole episode, you realise that a few things give away the fact that it wasn't real. For one, the door to his cell in the asylum is exactly the same as the one on the stage. Secondly, during the rescue attempt, Data and Worf are both wearing black, but Data's pale white face sticks out like a sore thumb! If it were a real rescue attempt, someone else would have gone in, or they would have put makeup on Data's face to disguise him better.
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Dec 30, 2016, 2:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

What's remarkable is that Norman Lloyd who played the professor in this episode, is still alive at age 102!! This guy just might actually survive until the 24th century.
Set Bookmark
David
Sun, Dec 25, 2016, 6:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

I found it quite disturbing that the actress who played Marta was only 17 when this episode was made, while Patrick Stewart was 51! He was old enough to be her grandfather, and they were making out... (not to mention her being a minor). Then again, Stewart's current wife is 38 years younger than he is, so I suppose it was completely in character.
Set Bookmark
David
Mon, Dec 19, 2016, 12:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Regarding the comments above about the children's ages not being accurate - this is explained in the episode! The episode tells us that the characters revert back to their appearance just before puberty - it mentions nothing about a fixed number of years being shaved off their age. This is why Picard is older than the girls - because boys reach puberty later. Regarding the child actors, I actually liked them all - the actors were all decent. One of the problems I have with this episode is Picard using Alexander as a distraction for the Ferengi. I'm having trouble believing that he would put Alexander's life in danger like that.
Set Bookmark
David
Sun, Dec 18, 2016, 8:31am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

I can't believe that after the recent incident with a container falling on Worf, they didn't take steps to ensure it didn't happen again? Also, why couldn't Amanda have used her powers to bring back her parents? As for another poster "Troy" being amused that Riker would go for Soren but not Amanda, remember that Amanda is only 18 here, which is half Riker's age. She's young enough to be his daughter!
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Sun, Dec 11, 2016, 11:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

Fun and silly. Nothing to brag about. But a solid episode.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Fri, Dec 9, 2016, 11:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

And by 'better' I mean less offensive.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Fri, Dec 9, 2016, 10:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

This episode had me cringing from the opening scene, with its one-dimensional caricatures of the mentally ill standing in for genetic experimentation gone wrong. I kept waiting for it to get better. Didn't happen.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Fri, Dec 9, 2016, 10:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

I hope this is it for DS9's mirror universe episodes. TOS had the good sense only to go there once, and Enterprise's mirror universe two-parter took an original approach. This was just too much 'whatever' for me. I hope it's over now.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Thu, Dec 8, 2016, 9:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

I have no complaints about what was shown. My biggest complaint is what wasn't, that is to say the two most important conversations in the episode were M.I.A. First, the reconciliation between Kira and Odo takes place almost entirely off-camera. Second, the reconciliation between Dax and Martok's wife takes place almost entirely off-camera. C'mon!
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Thu, Dec 8, 2016, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Odd that your biggest complaints about this episode are the contrivances, but the contrivance of the Prophets simply making the invading fleet disappear you're not just OK with, but actually like.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Thu, Dec 8, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

When Kira and Weyoun were speaking early on, it struck me that they have something in common - their faith in their 'gods.' The difference, of course, is that Kira's worship is something she has struggled with, whereas Weyoun's worship has been genetically engineered into him. I suppose it's that freedom to doubt that means everything.


Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 11:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

Well that was grim. I never thought Star Trek would feature an old lady hanging herself in public.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 9:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

Glad to see at least some of you give this episode the props it deserves. It's zany, and I mean that in a good way. I'm pretty sure I never expected to see Weyoun interrogating Jake and Nog about anything, let alone the possibility of a time-traveling Willie Mays.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 6:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

Lighten up. If you're gonna have a character go wacky psychotic on you, Garak's the one.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 11:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

This was a far better send-off than the character Eddington deserved. His last-minute conversion into a Maquis spy by writers was one of the most poorly handled characterizations in a show known for its great characterizations. I would have been happy never to have had it referenced again.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 10:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Watching this episode just reminded me how special is this franchise. It's the only one that could produce it. That said, I was thoroughly prepared to be disappointed that What's-his-name Dax was responsible for modifying the flight plan. I thought it would have been way better if it had been Odo. Then it turned out to be Odo!
Set Bookmark
David
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 2:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

"I like how the doors of the Academy dorm rooms have knobs as well. Refreshing to see them have to get off their butt to answer the door." - that's one thing that ruined the scene for me. Why would they have doors that look exactly like 20th century ones, 400 years from now?! Do we have anything today that looks the same as it did in the 1600s? I don't have a problem with doors that don't automatically open (which by the way, aren't futuristic - we have these doors today), but the handle and latch looked too old fashioned.
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.