Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 1,137 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 46
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 10:42am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@Lynos

I doubt think there's anything odd about using "sir" while on duty/ working and more familiar terminology when you are not .... besides, Gordon and Ed have been longtime friends since they were training at Union Point.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 2:16am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

If it weren't for Seth MacFarlane, we wouldn't have any Orville at all.

Yes, it's only the first season and they are still feeling out the best ratio of comedy to drama, but I give Seth a lot of credit for creating believable endearing characters and a fascinating universe for them to inhabit.

Oh, and I liked this episode as well .... especially the slice of life glimpses we got in the cold open.

LaMarr and that ensign .... that scene reminded me of rooming with my buddies back in the day, very funny. ( Also, was her nipple actually visible? Maybe I'm imagining things, but it sure seemed like it for a second there).

The PB & J thing actually made me saw "aww" out loud. Ed and Kelly have a convincing rapport.

My only nitpick was the aliens looked too human, but then again, it's obvious the money was spent on set design and hiring dozens of extras and bit actors to create a convincing world.

By the way, is it really anti- religious to plausibly show how a species develops and, millennia later, eventually shrugs off a religion?

I personally think the protests from some posters aren't based on content, but on the subject matter itself.

Perhaps it strikes too close to home? Death is maybe the scariest thing there is, and some people will take affront at anything that challenges their hope/ wishful thinking/delusion that they can escape it.

If you are religious, you have to believe every religion but yours is wrong (unless you are Ba'hai or have cobbled together some personal faith based on your feelings). Don't take the history of the Word of Kelly as an attack on your faith .... take it as a logical critique of all those false religions you disagree with.

PS .... The moment with Capt. Mercer mocking Admiral Ozawa and then realizing she was still on the connection made me laugh so hard my stomach actually hurt.

Oh, yeah, almost forgot.

3.25 stars out of 4

Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 9:41am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@ Nah

The line between pretension and surrealism is blurrier than you might think.

I guess my perception of surrealism includes a true sense of earnestness about the material they are presenting. I can't help but think that Lynch often overthinks what doesn't necessarily require it, especially since he is as gifted in cimematgraphic presentation as Hitchcock or Kubrick.

In a sense, I'd say John Waters succeeds on this front more (and I'm not really his fan either).

I've always preferred my surrealism in still form: Dali, Magritte etc.

The filmic versions make me feel weirdly unclean, like i'm shaking off a bad dream or Ive taken a hit of acid hanging with the wrong people. It's a genre where a little goes a long way for me.

Even so, I still appreciate it for what it is and I see the value of surrealism, and speaking from thst position, I think Lynch could improve by self-editing more.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 9:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Everything David Lynch has made is pretentious, overlong and psychologically disturbing .... but I think he's probably as close as any director has ever gotten to recreating what the experience of having a vivid nightmare is like. It takes a certain kind of talent to pull that off consistently.

Anyways, OST I actually stuck with (mainly because the producers promised that none of the characters were in a spiritual purgatory). I allowed myself to get invested figuring the payoff would be worth it.

I found the characterizations and acting to be outstanding, particularly Sawyer, John Locke and Hurley.

I detested the final season once I realized the fast one they were about to pull. That obscure ending (implying the series is a time loop) was even more infuriating. A classic case of having your cake and eating it too.

It made me retroactively dislike the entire convoluted mythology. It's still a good show, but not something I'd watch twice (except maybe the episode where Rose deals with her illness).

BSG I just couldn't get into. The whole interstellar submarine mutiny trope didn't really work for me as a motivation to stick with a series. I also felt a few actors were miscast, at least in the few I watched.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@Dougie

You are assuming a Moclan year and a human year are the same time span.

Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 11:04am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Reading through the comments again, I haven't seen this many commenters praise the musical score since Best of Both Worlds. Glad to see I'm not the only one who noticed!

Honestly, to this classical music fan, this show is like manna from heaven. I really need a soundtrack release!!

@ Jammer

I'm looking forward to the "official" review. I have a feeling you'll like this one!

Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 12:08am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I personally don't think this is one of those episodes served by recapping/rehashing the plot. This is a story firmly in the "This is what happened" camp. The pleasure is in the ride the plot takes you on, and this one was executed (no pun intended) very competently.

I try to be rational about phobias I have, but the clown and the spiders scared the crap out of me. (Very good CGI on the giant arachnid!)

Besides the dark visions, the mystery aspect kept me guessing. I enjoyed that I couldn't see the ending coming.

I'd say this was a successfully executed foray into horror. ***1/2

Random thought 1:

Bonus points for the Bernard Herrmann/Jerry Goldsmith-esque symphonic score. This is some of the best orchestral music written in the last decade, for TV, film or the concert hall, imho. Almost no one writes this kind of music this well anymore, this show is a treasure in more ways than one.

Random Thought 2:

the crew really has grown into their roles. It really does feel like a close-knit work group or a real-life naval crew. The scene with Ed and Alara after the accident is fantastic: well-written insightful dialogue that felt like it was coming from REAL people without hidden agendas.

So many reasons to love this show!!!
Set Bookmark
Dave
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 2:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Whoever's idea it was for all of the Klingon dialogue on this show to be subtitled was a bad one. Actors have to memorize pages of gibberish for no good reason. Are there not universal translators by now. Hoshi Sato had made considerable inroads into Klingonese a century earlier, and since this show has already cited Jonathan Archer, we are in that same timeline.

Also, my mind still refuses to look at these monsters and think "these are Klingons". All in all, this show is largely a chore to watch. Between all the Klingon dialogue being gibberish, and the set design being visual overload, it's rather exhausting.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 3:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Just me openly musing, but I do wonder if the people offended by this light -hearted episode speak out as strongly (or speak up at all) about the rampant blatant misogyny and sexual violence in hip hop culture.

It's easy to criticize when you feel you're in a safe space, but if you aren't willing to be consistent in how you apply your outrage (no matter the blowback), why bother complaining?

These protestations amount to lip service, as far as I'm concerned.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Darulio is from a different species with different reproductive capabilities and different sociological mores. He is also an archeologist who spends times on different worlds with (assumingly) varied reproductive mechanisms. He shouldn't be expected to look at everything through a human lens.

I don't think it's fair to tar the character with a "rape brush" for his (plausible) biology and culture.

Maybe in the 24th Century, we humans (after being exposed to alien biologies) will have a different group of sexual mores than we have now. Kelly, Ed and Claire's reaction to this turn of events would support that conclusion.

Besides, this was Cupid with his bow and arrow comedy . . . much of the humor was in the fact that this CAN'T happen in the real life we viewers experience.

There are no love potions.

Anyways, I liked learning more about the crew and I laughed my ass off. ( I had to pause after the line about "Kelly's dry ass banana bread" . . . too freakin funny!)

Maybe not a 4 star episode, but easily a 3.25 just for the fact I busted a gut more frequently than anything I've recently watched.

PS- Loving the variety of episodes we are getting.

Next week's looks to be one of the "serious" ones! I can't wait.


Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 9:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

By the way, I am aware you were reposting a political editorial you supposedly wrote for somewhere else, but those musings (if indeed yours) were, at best, tangential to the topic.

Just wanted to clarify my point.

Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 9:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

One would think Jammer doesn't want his comments section wants spammed with third-party news editorials, but rather people expressing their own opinions in their own words.

Then again, it's not my website.

Also, I don't make assumptions about the political affiliations/biases of strangers (especially those on the internet) since there's a good chance I might be wrong. But that's just my own personal rule.

Anyways, carry on.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Do we HAVE to talk politics in regards to an episode that only tangentially deals with the subject?

Being pro- or anti-Trump has very little to do with the ethical dilemma presented last week.

I think Jammer was pretty clear we should try to stick to topics that relate to the episode ... oh, and I'm only mentioning this to try to help us stay focused, not as a personal attack.

Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 6:52am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Also, it's a bit disrespectful to call someone who like this a pom-pom waver. One could easily assert you are a STD cheerleader who feels knocking the Orville helps STD.

Leave the name - calling to the kids.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 6:50am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I personally wouldn't continue watching a show where I'd spent seven hours watching and couldn't find anything to recommend.

Just like you are within your rights to hate-watch and post snide invective, i have every right to question your motivations.

Put it this way: imI gave up on dumpster-fire STD because I HATED IT, and I avoided posting reviews because I knew I had nothing positive to say. I couldn't remain dispassionate enough to provide a review that would have anything constructive to add.

Do what you want, but I'll continue to call out what i see to be trollish behavior if I feel so inclined.

Majority rules, eh? Topical episode indeed ....

Enjoy wasting your time on a show you hate.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 7:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

They might as well get on with the obligatory Risa episode. It cant get any worse.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 4:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

It's hard to get involved in this show so far. And I just can;t take these reimagined Klingons seriously. I c an see tweaking the look of aliens with modern techniques....Enterprise did this well with the Andorians and the Tellarites in particular. But I can't look at these monsters and have my brain think "these are Klingons".
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 8:15am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

@ Dougie

Well, it's obvious you dislike the show intently.

#1. Why do you keep watching?

#2. Why do you keep posting reviews?

Someone needs attention, imho.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 11:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

@Wolfstar

The episodes are not being aired in the order in which they were filmed. I believe the second episode aired was the fourth shot and i read they shot some scenes much later to solidify character continuity.

I suspect we'll be seeing less goofs like this now that the show is finding it's audience.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Sciencefiction.com's episode review (and also Seth's Tweets) both seem to indicate this episode was gestating for at least a year and a half before airtime. The reviewer goes as far as to call it another example of the "same idea, same time" phenomenon: i.e. the invention of radio, etc.

Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 9:20am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Claire "didn't seem distressed"?!

That was her whole narrative arc for this episode.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 2:17am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

One last note: I think the Orville crew was so taken aback by the superficial similarity to 21st Century Earth that they weren't expecting it's society to be so completely different than the historical Earth they know.

I think John assumed he had basically "time traveled" when in fact he had done NOTHING of the sort.

Yes, he was acting silly, but I can see why his character would have acted the way he did.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 2:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I see some nitpicks above, but is it fair to expect the Orville to fly in and immediately have control or access over their planetwide, universally-redundant Internet?

It was mentioned during the show that the first scientists to study the planet had only sent back limited information . . . they knew about currency, but did not have enough information to know that Alara's hat would offend someone.

It sounds to me like they were doing their mission with the limited information they had.

Besides, it was nice to see that a character's foolishness can have real consequences on this show. It might be a crew of Average Joes, but even Average Joes still have standards to adhere to.

That's a promising sign for future episodes.

I also enjoyed the usage of mathematics to justify the idea of parallel evolution. I mean, the universe is probably infinite, so the odds are there are other Earths in our own universe: no alternate realities needed!

I will also preemptively mention that Black Mirror does not own storytelling that deals with the Internet as a plot device.

That set aside, I was swept away by the story (nice to John's more serious side).

The guest cast is exceptional at what their respective roles, especially the lead guest actress. I can appreciate a little artistic nod here and there: the bookended scenes are a great example of character growth through visuals. Oh, and the lobotomized Lewis was pretty horrifying/terrifying.

Interesting interaction with Admiral: I got a Prime Directive-y feel that there are limits to what a Union Captain can do in their interactions with alien cultures. I can't wait to learn more!

The resolution to the episode was a original twist: flood their newsfeed with disinformation! I enjoyed watching them concoct lies, haha. Great commentary on the social-media twits in our society.

I also must mention that the orchestral scoring was absolutely stunning (and did I catch a nod to Horner's Star Trek II theme?) . The approach to The Orville (by the shuttle) was truly breathtaking to me, visually and musically.

Another fantastic, suspenseful and TOPICAL episode of The Orville.

****

PS- A cloaking device! I shouted "No way!"

PPS- Bortus made me laugh, HARD. "I will not fail you, Captain!" "I sing." Haha, love this show!


Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 9:57am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

This is the episode that made me realize I was becoming a huge fan. Man, I've missed philosophical sci-fi without the easy answers!

(I was posting as Dave in NC, but I moved back to my home state).
Set Bookmark
Dave
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 12:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

The only time there is only one security guard assigned to escort someone someplace is when the plot needs the escortee to get away. It's a little too convenient.
Next ►Page 1 of 46
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.