Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 82 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 3:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Easily one of the best Enterprise episodes of them all. At least a 3 star rating, if not 3.5 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sat, Jan 27, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Still one of my absolute favourites in Voyager's run. There's something about this episode that you just can't help and let yourself be dragged into the drama that unfolds for the alternate crew. Every single time, despite knowing what's going to happen, I root for this crew to survive, I hope that at least the time capsule makes it. I still hate the writers for destroying that thing. Couldn't they just destroy or garble any logs about the details of the enhanced warp drive?
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Could you also review the pilot episode that preceded this? 'The Cage'. The pre Shatner debut episode with Jeffrey Hunter in. I don't particularly rate it but I'd be interested as to your overall review thoughts.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

{ his manipulation is effective and enlightening concerning a set of various characters' motives and philosophies, }

I disagree. Sloan manipulates Bashir by basically being godlike omnipotent and Bashir just blunders along in a way uncharacteristic of him. It's boring when the villain is so magically unstoppable that he succeed at everything, no matter how improbable, usually with no explanation given.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

{ I'm extremely disappointed, though I shouldn't be surprised, at all the comments complaining about Sisko's mention of racism in the 1960's. }

Why? For comparison, it would be like if a person today who was a Protestant Christian refused to go to a Renaissance Faire because it was set in England at a time when Queen Mary was executing non-Catholics.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

{ I should probably admit a personal bias up front: I'm a sucker for a good homicide investigation. }

Me too, but this episode wasn't it.

{ re: detective fiction, we shouldn't be surprised that detective fiction appeals to Odo as a genre -- he is, after all, the de facto crime-solving-head on DS9. }

Sure but the way it happened was just ludicrous.

Odo: I just instantly made a perfectly correct observation about a piece of technology I've never encountered.
Others: But how?
Odo: I suddenly have always been interested in reading Raymond Chandler stories.
Others: Well, naturally, as part of the cast you must be an expert in something that was well-known in the time period of the show's viewership.

And the idea that you "need a killer to catch a killer" was so bad. Joran murdered, therefore he automatically knows how every murderer thinks, even though this murderer was nothing like Joran in any way, and oh look at the convenience that Ezri runs into said Vulcan right about the time she makes the Adam-West-Batman-style wild deductions that are all perfect and right as he has decided to kill her for some reason even though this doesn't fit the pattern and he doesn't know she's accessing Joran to find him.

This episode was simply awful. Better than the Emperor's New Cloak, but other than that, it's at the bottom of season 7.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

IMO, they should just never have tried to make DS9 sequels to Mirror Mirror at all, ever.

{ Say what you want about DS9, it's the least heteronormative of all Trek }

1. The episode Rejoined
2. In the alternate universe, evil woman = lesbian or bisexual

So ... I guess?
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

This episode tried to hard. There was no subtlety. WE GET IT! The brother is dissatisfied with his life but feels trapped. WE GET IT. The mom is a micromanaging control-freak who treats her adult children like they are still little kids. WE GET IT. You can show us this stuff without pounding it into our heads with a sledgehammer.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

{ Even a hologram is better than Ezri in her job! What was the point for bringing her to the show? }

The hologram wasn't doing Ezri's job. He was just being a housemate who happened to be older and wiser. The key was that he happened to exist in Not Real Life.

{ Unless he's forgotten why the African American community was upset with Disney's lack of willingness to put the princess in The Princess and the Frog with a black man. }

This is very biased wording. If X doesn't happen, it doesn't mean there must have been a "lack of willingness" for it to happen.

{ There could be numerous explanations for same race coupling. Maybe Brooks and Lofton just preferred black women in real life and the showrunners ran with the actors' taste. }

That's possible, but it certainly seemed like the show's creators were very reluctant to portray any hint of a stable relationship between two humans of different races/ethnicities.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sat, Sep 9, 2017, 4:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

With the sheer number of people on the Bajoran world (surely in the billions) the idea that 50 or so would think "the prophets abandoned us, maybe these other prophetlike spirits are the True Gods" isn't unbelievable.

{ The problem for me is that Dukat has no real credibility, so too much of the episode is just listening to him talk rubbish while Kira makes boring and obvious responses that do nothing really to develop her character. }

This is why the episode sucked in a nutshell (even though it eventually got slightly interesting). Pretty much the entirety of the first 50% of the episode is either Kira arguing with Dukat or Kira arguing with Fala. And repetitive arguments between Obviously Wrong Person and Obviously Right Person are a crap thing to base an episode around, especially since none of them lead us anywhere. We don't learn anything new about Kira or Dukat's personalities, nor Fala's (not that it matters since we are given 0 reason to care about his). Neither of them wins or loses any arguments. It doesn't even feel like a verbal or intellectual chess match between them. It's just 25 straight freaking minutes of watching people go "yes it is" "no it isn't" "yes it is" "no it isn't"
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 1:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

{ With regard to acting, I always thought Lofton was a better actor than Brooks. How old was he again? That's saying quite a lot, isn't it? }

He was 16 or so. I think Lofton was one of the better actors on the show. I don't think Brooks is all that good, but the two of them work VERY well together as an on-screen father & son pair.

Not a great episode, but it did have some great lines

So honor the valiant who died neath your sword
But pity the warrior who slays all his foes
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 1:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Armageddon Game

{ As for Keiko, I thought her reaction to the bad news very believable and understated. People don't all react to death with outward hysterics, and she never really believed it anyway }

I agree. I don't typically think very highly of her acting, but it made sense in this episode. She's not so much sad as in denial (except that it turns out she's actually correct).
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 1:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

{ For that matter, is the Defiant really the ship that should be sent on a Starfleet mission like this? (Episodes like this always make me wonder who's left in charge of the station.) }

It never made sense that the Defiant command crew and the DS9 command crew were identical, instead of Defiant having it's own separate roster.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, Aug 25, 2017, 5:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

The ending would have been fixable while still leaving the "how did he die?" Davy Crockett analogy intact.

For one, don't bring the whole thing to a halt for a couple of minutes with nothing but updates on the battle from the officer at the sensor station. Keep the episode going and have quick updates every so often.

Finally, just one brief shot of Kor at the bridge of the other ship with the fire in his eyes rekindled as he's going back into battle - you don't have to show the battle itself.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, Aug 25, 2017, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

{ with the first really good Odo-oriented show in quite some time. }

Seriously. He was by far my favorite character until the writers screwed him over twice in season 6. Good to see some of the old Odo back - although he's still not the amazing anti-snark force he used to be.

{ The complication is that Weyoun-7 does not want Odo killed. He remains every bit as respectful to Odo as does Weyoun-6. This makes the strategic moments more interesting, as Damar and Weyoun-7 resort to some dangerous rationalization to write Odo off as "not a Founder," all while knowing they would be very dead if the Founders ever learned they allowed Odo to be killed. }

It's amazing how they worry about what would happend if the Jem'Hadar found out Odo was there - since the JH are programmed to not attack a Founder - but nobody ever brings up sending Cardassian ships. Maybe there aren't any near enough, but it's such a blatantly obvious thing to mention, it made no sense that it wasn't mentioned "What about Cardassians?" *presses buttons* "Damn, none of them are close enough."

It was WAY too predictable that Weyoun-6 would be dead by the end of the episode, but the death scene was still very moving. Although I did wonder, what if he would have just pressed his hand onto his face and then made a show of pain and fallen on the floor, tricking them into thinking he had committed suicide when he hadn't?
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, Aug 25, 2017, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

{ Jesus Christ, that singing episode was utterly cringeworthy, the people in the next room were wondering what in the hell I was watching. }

Yes. It was both too long - I kept wondering "when the f will this end?" and too short - there's no drama whatsoever in taking all of 20 seconds to improve from awful to amazing, and there's no drama in that this improvement is just in staying on pitch (rather than any of the 673 things that would be more important for her life at this moment). And it was done more to show off a silly singing sequence (we haven't had enough show-stopping songs yet in seasons 6 and 7 already?!) rather than to showcase any of Sarina's life. If we had got to see in more detail how her genetic abilities help her adapt and learn quickly, that would been much better.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, Aug 25, 2017, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

{ Quark: "You've never... 'coupled'?"

Odo: "Choose not to. Too many compromises. You want to watch the Karonet (sp?) tournament, she wants to listen to music. So you compromise -- you listen to music. You like Earth jazz, she prefers Klingon opera, so you compromise -- you listen to Klingon opera. So here you were, ready to have a nice night watching the Karonet match, and you wind up spending an agonizing evening listening to Klingon Opera. Huh." }

I didn't like that for 2 reasons. First of all, it's putting 20th century human relationship stereotypes onto a pair of 24th century nonhuman characters. Granted, Star Trek did this all the time.

The other thing is Odo's response should have been something along the lines of "You know I'm not a humanoid and not even a biological male or female, right?"
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, Aug 25, 2017, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

{ Sisko and Jake are believable as father and son, with scenes that resonate. }

Agreed. I'm not always the biggest fan of Brooks' acting, but he and Jake were great as a father-son pair, yes, very believable.

{ Fun episode. I didn't mind the last-minute reset solution, because it made sense that there would have been an antidote, and Kira followed a logical path to track it down. Very different from trying a series of technobabble solutions until one works. }

Yeah, it was a lot different than "quick, the show has to end, what if we hypermodulate the phase flux of the differential transometrogram to flood the station with fixtheproblemionic waves?" "try it" "ok" [poof]
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, Aug 25, 2017, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

{ The line “the only important things is not to betray yourself,” is a little bit of sophistry which really leaves a bad taste in my mouth however. }

The episode itself addressed that, I thought, with Garak disagreeing that there is any true philosophical wisdom in it and considering it just empty words saying nothing.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Aug 21, 2017, 2:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Given what they've shown of the state of medicine in the future, it's completely unbelievable that O'Brien can't play because a rotator cuff injury will keep him out for 2+ weeks. It doesn't even make sense in the context of the episode because it doesn't add anything to the story or the humor.

"Speaking of which, Worf is wasted at first. I know, he's the big guy, he's supposed to be at first. But he's athletic, and probably has a cannon for an arm. I'd throw him in right. What's Leeta doing there? She seemed to be one of the least skilled of the players..."

They are probably just hoping none of the balls ever go her way. Plus, Worf throws lefty so playing 1st base does make sense for him.

"Cirroc Lofton probably got the part of Jake Sisko because his uncle was Kenny Lofton a Major League Baseball veteran, if that's true it's a bit sad that instead of looking for the best young actor for the part they just picked him for his baseball connection!"

I doubt that back before the series they picked him for the baseball connection just for one episode in season 7. And I think Lofton is one of the best actors on DS9 anyway.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

It was interesting seeing a very cordial and compliant Romulan - makes me wonder if she's secretly plotting something or if that's really what's she's like (seemed like Kira was wondering the same thing) - maybe the writers are just trying to add some depth to them by not making all members of species act the same.

It's not that I dislike Vic Fontaine, it's just that the show's creators clearly like him a whole lot more than the rest of us do.

{ I also question the wisdom of "Starfleet officers go on rogue mission to help get Jadzia into Stovokor," arising here when O'Brien and Bashir decide to go with Worf and Martok on an honorable suicide battle mission in the name of Jadzia, a gesture that would assure her a spot in Stovokor. The sentiment is nice, but would Starfleet really permit officers to abandon their assigned posts so arbitrarily? }

I just don't like how the this episode and the last one beat us over the head with this "Quark and Bashir are madly in love with Jadzia and they can't get over it" crap. Yes, Bashir had a thing for her for a long time and cared about her, but he hasn't been like this about it in several seasons. And Quark never showed anything beyond his general anything-with-boobs-is-fair-game sleaziness, but now he suddenly always had a deep affection? Not buying it at all.

{ I particularly enjoyed Avery Brooks' restrained performance. It was subtle and much less prone to histrionics—which I think is a good thing. While I generally like Brooks' performances anyway, he does have a tendency to break out into Stage Actor Mode [TM] when his character gets worked up }_

YES. I loved when he got pissed at his Dad and just got in his face and actually *yelled* rather than just raising his voice while tal king in a real ly forced sta ca to cad ence.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 3:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

Beam-up passwords are like the subcutaneous transponders from Patterns of Force. Why not always use them? Sure was convenient they happened to institute them for this case when they had no idea they'd be needed ahead of time.

And then Spock was made a moron for not being able to figure out who is who.

And the middle third of the episode really drags. The hall of fools dinner scene is crap.

And yet I somehow liked this episode. It's not great but it's a neat little twist at the beginning and Garth is a very memorable character. And in Spock's favor he gets an understated character moment. Garth is ludicrously insisting he be addressed as "Lord". Spock simply shrugs and deadpans "as you wish" and calls him Lord Garth after that instead of stubbornly holding to a "you are not X therefore I will not call you X" principle. Garth looks partly disappointed and partly amused.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 3:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

{ This was the point at which the quality of third-season TOS suffered its final collapse, and never recovered. }

I'd say it was right after this. While this one wasn't great, it was needed - and no more ham-handed than half of TOS anyway.

For all the lambasting season 3 endures, the first half isn't too bad - yeah it's got Spock's Brain and The Children Shall Lead, but also has The Enterprise Incident and Wink of an Eye. And Is There In Truth No Beauty and Day of the Dove and For the World is Hollow And I Have Touched The Sky aren't too bad either. Granted, between two of those and Let That Be Your Last Battlefield, they really needed some shorter titles.

But after that? It's a parade of stinkers up until All Our Yesterdays, which was one last high before ending the series on an absolutely rotten note (that everyone had to wait 4 months for, at that). Last Battlefield was the last semi-good episode right before the season collapsed.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

Skeptical - that was a great analysis of the episode.

I can forgive them for reusing existing sets and costumes given the budget. And give this one a little credit for not being a "just like Earth" planet.

It wasn't all that great, but it stands out above most of season 3 as being passable.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Tholian Web

They should have eliminated the Tholians, just made it an area of space that's phasing into another dimension, and called it something different.

As it is, we build up all episode waiting to see what will happen when the web is finally complete, and then poof they get thrown clear and we never find out. It's a Shaggy Dog Story.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.