Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 730 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 30
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

L'rell: I HAVE A BOMB THAT WILL DETSROY Q'ONOS! SO I'M NOW THE LEADER OF THE EMPRE!

Klingons: Nope. *shoots L'rell*

God this whole resolution the war is just complete and utter garbage. LIke the new Klingon designs so I guess it's fitting that way.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 9:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I wasn't really a fan of this episode overall.

There was no need to make Mirror Georgiou the captain in the previous episode, since all she did in that role was take the Discovery to Qo'nos. She could have just stayed in her quarters until she led the away team. This is just another example of the show being obsessed with twists for their own sake. That unnecessary scene of tension on the bridge took time from resolving the Klingon war plot.

They made Mirror Georgiou an evil bisexual in the mould of Mirror Kira. The evil bi character is a well-criticised trope, I don't know how to feel about it here. Individual cases are never a bad thing, it's just the broader pattern across TV and film that's a bit of a problem (much like with Culber's death and the Bury Your Gays trope).
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 5:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

If someone else pointed it out, I missed it.

I wonder how they learned what Voyager did. Is there some news service letting everyone else the latest in the Borg v 8472 conflict?
Set Bookmark
Pedant
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 10:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Should be "bury the lede"

I know it seems wrong, but if you doubt me look it up yourself!
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Fri, Feb 2, 2018, 6:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

Just caught this randomly on a TV recording from last week.

Wow it's very "early TNG"... they're so overt with "this is the one who reads emotions" and "this is the warrior" etc.

I like the disability messages. I have a good friend with physical disabilities and whilst obviously I can't speak for him (unlike Riva's Chorus!) I think the point about addressing them directly is spot on, at least with someone whose mind works perfectly well. The anger was expected. You have no idea how often when I'm with my friend people talk to him "through me" or just talk to me and refer to him in the third person. His brain is fine, talk to him!

Shame he came across a bit of a creep. I could understand a romance blossoming naturally, but he just basically.... not to be crude but figuratively speaking he's shoving his doodah down her throat from the moment they meet. It's super creepy the way it's so 'forced'

I like the "Darmok" style moment between him and Troi when they have their date, though.

Worf commenting on sign language being tactical was interesting -- I know they're a bit "brute force" but they never thought of doing things the SAS way, even as if to say "go"?

Picard should be advised NOT to interrupt Data's attempt to teach him sign language - you'll be needing this for Darmok in season 5!

Ah yes it's the season with Pulaski in it. I thought she was pretty good in this one. Very much herself in terms of her determination to make Geordi "normal", but I liked how she showed offer her professional abilities while also outlining the risks and uncertainties.

I actually like the resolution, yes it's a bit simple but I have enough optimism in me for it to seem like something that "could work".

I love that Picard knows when to say "well done" - nice touch and good leadership.

The main problem is it ends too soon. How did it go?!!
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 6:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

Episodes like this, Birthright, and a few others make me wonder why they're allowed to do any experiments in Engineering. The Warp Core isn't merely like a nuclear power plant that can meltdown and wreak havoc under specific circumstances, it's also a massive nuclear bomb that will explode, killing everything on board and within a decent distance should its delicate containment field(s) be breached.

Knowing this, they still hook up random crap from the Gamma Quadrant directly to said engine core, beam space gasses into lab containers right next to it, dick around with super cool new warp fields, etc.

There's really no justification for testing new torch and lighter technolgy in the room full of nitroglycerin.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sat, Jan 27, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Still one of my absolute favourites in Voyager's run. There's something about this episode that you just can't help and let yourself be dragged into the drama that unfolds for the alternate crew. Every single time, despite knowing what's going to happen, I root for this crew to survive, I hope that at least the time capsule makes it. I still hate the writers for destroying that thing. Couldn't they just destroy or garble any logs about the details of the enhanced warp drive?
Set Bookmark
Dan A
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 9:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

I don't think Voq is gone from Ash. L'Rell is acting like he is, with her death howl, but if Voq is truly gone then what was the point of that plot? He hasn't really done anything yet and, although Discovery seems to be following the twistcentric school of TV writing, I can't believe they would have set up that whole plot just for his one confrontation with Burnham last episode.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 11:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: What Are Little Girls Made Of?

I will forever enjoy this episode because of the presence of Sherry Jackson. Trek has had a lot of beautiful women as both regulars and guests across all of its series, but few if any are as stunning as Sherry.
Set Bookmark
Aidan
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 4:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Tim C - I'm at a loss to see how Discovery is trying something new while ENT was "just reheating TNG leftovers". I'm watching ENT side by side with DSC right now and I can say that ENT had a much bolder vision with better characters.
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 5:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I'm watching this now and noticed that Data states that Riker's cranial plating has increased in size and his brain is much smaller. I guess the virus reset button restored all that brain matter and its original state. :)

Also sucks to be that redshirt at the Conn who had his spine broken in multiple places though, no viral enzyme intron resequencing to correct that I guess.
Set Bookmark
Danny1701
Sat, Jan 13, 2018, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

I always really liked this episode, but the most nonsensical part of the story was the fact that Pressman's dialogue was centered around trying to convince people that the 'phased cloak' was a good idea.

I don't think anyone needs to be convinced of that. In fact, I'm sure almost everyone in the federation thought it was a complete joke that they weren't able to develop cloaking technology. That was never the issue.

The issue was convincing people to break the law and risk the consequences of doing that. That was it.

The bridge scene near the end with Picard, Pressman, and Riker should have had Pressman trying to convince Picard why he should break the law, NOT trying to explain to him why cloaking was so good:

Pressman: "Can't you see the potential here? The phasing cloak would be the greatest breakthrough in weapons research in the last 50 years!"

Yeah, no shit Sherlock. Now make a convincing argument why the entire senior staff and bridge crew should knowingly violate the law and try to cover it up.

Had the writers thrown that into the mix, it would have made for a more believable and logical storyline, in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 8:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The first episode of Discovery that I thought truly amazing. All the others before this I have thought were either just ok or just downright bad. Johnathan Frakes amazing direction helps and the new designs for the mirror universe are sublime.

Love live the empire.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 6:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Loved the first half of the episode, as it was so well-played by the O'briens that I got misty-eyed more than a few times. Losing Molly and then getting back this scared girl who slowly makes a connection with them again hit me right in the heart.

Hated HATED HATED the second half. Having Molly sent back all alone was so out of character, especially for Keiko. She's a b* most of the time, but she deeply cares about her family. I was so shocked that neither she nor Miles even thought about going with Molly to the special care center to help her reintegrate into society.
I was even more shocked that they were both sending her back in time, without coming with her. Every parent I can imagine would follow her daughter into the past. I was literally shouting at the screen when put their plan into action.

Granted, Miles has a duty because of the war, but I would have expected to have at least go Keiko with her. They could still have retrieved young Molly, because even having young Molly interact with her mother again would have probably erased wild Molly. Alternatively, the writers could have used this chance to finally get rid of Keiko :p
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 7:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

I agree mostl with T’Paul, I’m really surprised everyone else is ok with this one. I found the narrative very concerning.

In this story, an oppressed people (the Kyrians) are to blame for their oppression by starting the underlying conflict. The oppressed people are almost universally presented as terrorists, war instigators, and rioters. The oppressors (the Vaskans) are presented as mostly nice, friendly people who never do anything wrong visibly in the story. One Kyrian is presented as good, the one who accepts his own blame for his people’s oppression (the “Uncle Tom” as it were). And once the oppressed people accept their blame, magically the oppression disappears? Really?

Look, I get it’s fiction and in this particular example “the truth” is that the Kyrians WERE a primary instigator of the conflict. And I’m not saying you can’t present a complex story story where the oppressed people are unreasonable and partially to blame along with their oppressors. DS9 did that with Bajorans all the time.

But that isn’t this story. In DS9, Bajorans were reactionary jerks and often violent but the Cardassians were duplicitous violent thugs clearly shown to oppress them. Unlike that, this story presents a one-sided narrative - oppressed people are violent and lying to themselves about the facts, oppressors are nice guys and peaceful and right about the facts. Even one scene showing Vaskan former concentration camps, or separate water fountains, or oppressing voting, or spitting on a Kyrian or whatever, might have balanced it. But no.

Again, it’s subtle and so not SUPER offensive per say but it’s got it’s weight on the scale, and I find that disturbing and can’t really enjoy the story completely because of it...
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 12:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I agree that the episode had some very awkward execution.

In terms of those suggesting Kovin is innocent, I more or less took the "nanoprobes" evidence at the end of somehow proving definitively that the weapon fired accidentally. It is very poorly explained, but that is the only reason the Doctor and Janeway would act so convinced that Kovin was innocent - if there was strong evidence he was.

Regarding the rape accusations, I am somewhat appalled as are others that so many on this thread are arguing that the majority of rape accuasations are false.

A few things I would hope most of us could agree on:
* The standard for criminal court cases, such as this, is always innocent until proven guilty and requres hard evidence. Kovin couldn't be convicted without evidence.
* There are other, lesser, standards of evidence required for other situations (e.g. keeping a job, staying at a university, etc.) - most people can be fired without cause in this country, and maybe that sucks but it's true for all crimes
* The vast majority of historical rape cases have been ignored, stifled, or shrugged off by authorities, families, or others and not taken seriously or investigated. That is the horrible history we are trying to resolve.

Jammer, again, I enjoy your reviews even years after so thanks again for all your hard work.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Dec 15, 2017, 7:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I quite enjoyed the first half of season 1. Not all of it because some episodes were a bit samey and routine in an expositionary sense. But have been some definite highlights and stand out moments throughout, thus far. Excellent but not over the top production values, special effects, and the discovery ship looks fantastically unique. Favourite characters of the crew for the actors strong character acting abilities would be, for me, cadet Tilly, saru, burnham, and sarek. The theme tune was a bout underwhelming due to no real melody hook or a grandiose enough melody of distinction. Not a patch on the late, very great, theme scores of James horner and jerry goldsmith. It'll be good tomwatch the concluding half of season, Jonathan frakes directing the episode himself. Should be hopefully intriguing.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:46am (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I thought rogue one was an excellent addition to the star wars canon. An original and interesting story that seamlessly segues into a new hope. Not much I disliked in the film at all, an interesting premise for a side story and an excellently utilized exhibition of darth vader, particularly in the last few minutes. I slightly preferred it to the force awakens. Good performances throughout, generally, and only a bit slight for the lack of a cogent film score theme. Great fun throughout the film.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 9:18am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

I think that the force awakens is overall an engaging but often pedestrian film, as far as the star wars canon goes. As has been pointed out, it has very much a feel of A New Hope- story similarities, scenes formula, diametrically opposed sides and all. It's certainly polished in all scenes, bright and breezy, much less CGI oriented (which is a blessed relief), generally good acting, funny in places, and an always stellar score by the great john Williams. Rey's theme is a favourite piece. Slightly mediocre happenings of this installment would be the lack of chemistry of the onscreen reunion between Han and Leia, the seemingly effortless genius that Rey exhibits in being an expert at everything the script entails. Piloting the millennium falcon at breakneck speed with effortless aplomb, and despite being force sensitive, and of presumably distinctive bearing, happens to be an expert at wielding a lightsaber against kylo ren. Last few seconds with rey imploringly gazing at a jaded, aged, broken looking luke atop a grand atol on Ach To is effectively grandiose. However, I enjoyed the film, in lieu of seeing the last Jedi.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Wait... McFarlane made something that's pretty much a copy of something else? Pull me up a chair!
Set Bookmark
ltdan
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 1:24am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

I liked this episode for all the reasons everyone else gave that liked it.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 2:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Could you also review the pilot episode that preceded this? 'The Cage'. The pre Shatner debut episode with Jeffrey Hunter in. I don't particularly rate it but I'd be interested as to your overall review thoughts.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

So Harry Mudd is now a psychotic murdering nutcase (time travel reset be damned).

Fuck me Discovery what the actual hell is wrong with you?
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 7:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I think what grated me more than anything in this episode was calling that monstrosity of a ship a D7.

The D7 is one of the most iconic ships in Star trek and they jusy go and butcher like everything else Klingon related.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

{ his manipulation is effective and enlightening concerning a set of various characters' motives and philosophies, }

I disagree. Sloan manipulates Bashir by basically being godlike omnipotent and Bashir just blunders along in a way uncharacteristic of him. It's boring when the villain is so magically unstoppable that he succeed at everything, no matter how improbable, usually with no explanation given.
Next ►Page 1 of 30
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.