Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 434 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jan 22, 2017, 7:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Out of universe I'm sure Luke is 100% correct and it is kind of insulting. If a COMMANDER can run a space station why can't the FLAG SHIP have a Captain as a first officer.
--------

It's more to do with the fact everyone would then call Riker captain from time to time and this is confusing in a TV show. Nah, it would be too silly to try to pull off.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jan 22, 2017, 7:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Sigh, I really wanted to like this...

And I did. 3 stars? Are you smoking pot, Jamahl? This is a 4 star - or definitely a 3 and a half star episode. We're not used to seeing the human side of Picard - and after what happened with the Borg, this was a wonderful way of addressing the long term effects he will face from his ordeal. The whole storyline with his brother was well acted, well scripted, and had a genuineness that craps all over the "shields at 22%" waffle that plagues too many scenes in Trek. Even the B stories were important and gave some depth to the characters. And it's always a pleasure to see Whoopi playing Guinan.

It was a stroke of genius to portray his brother a jealous, bitter, older polar opposite character. Instead of a silly episode where Picard has a sentimental heart to heart, we get a believable breakdown. And it's all set up properly. I've seen this episode a few times, and I always doubt whether it's the same show that gives us so much treknobabble. After the silly unrealistic "Shelby" character in the previous episode, it was great to see a believable and flawed character - and the real Picard behind the mask of captain.

It was a lovely episode.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 4:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Criticizing a character for being hot headed and unable to control themselves is hating women according to you?

LOL. Stay off the Kool Aid.

There have been many female characters I have praised over the years - and those are much better acted and scripted than Kira (Ripley, Susan Ivanova, Resistance Leader in B5 spring to mind every time) . Don't project your bigoted crap onto me, mind reader.

I don't like Kira because she is a grossly unrealistic character, poorly acted (probably because of the script/writers) and poorly scripted. It has nothing to do with her gender. I happen to also find Nog a worthless pile of dung too for much the same reasons. I dislike that character even more than Kira. Man hating now too?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Jan 18, 2017, 2:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

I'm not sure how one ends up with the views that you hold- because I have a sound and logical mind.

- I have a bad cold.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Jan 18, 2017, 2:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

1. No leaps at all. The Founder herself states her goal is the total domination of the Alpha Quadrant and destruction of the Federation. They have already killed millions. You're straw clutching again, and you know it.

2. He violated and risked the life of someone. You're again splitting hairs. He also tortured Sloan, whatever mealy-mouth excuse you can give., That actually makes Bashir reprehensible in his own eyes, your eyes, and most people's eyes.

3. This is leftist nonsense. For someone who purportedly respects all sides of debate, and accepts so called "shades of gray" in writing, you do sure come across as very intolerant to views you disagree with.

I'd never want you in charge during war time. You're a dangerous individual, who would willing sacrifice his own race for the "greater good". Except there is no greater good from annihilation and mass death from a deadly enemy attacking for the sole reason of conquering.

I'm not sure how to get you end up with the views you do - because I have a sound and logical mind.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 11:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Let me put the final dagger into this episode. Julian Bashir, our stupid leftist "hero", has decided that losing the war is a risk worth taking in order to save the life of his friend Odo. He makes a grandiose speech declaring that Section 31, and their tactics, are abhorrent to the ideals of the Federation. There is no alternate viewpoint from a neutral source; Miles O'Brien simply agrees on the spot.

Julian then proceeds to enact his master plan for saving Odo... violating the rights, and deliberately risking the life, of another individual (Sloan). So, let's recap what the writers want us to swallow:

1. One individual's life is paramount and is worth any number of other lives—even the annihilation of one's own race via a genocidal enemy. The ends (using a virus to kill the genocidal enemy) do not, and can never, justify the means.
2. One individual is expendable if it means saving a friend.

Those are two completely opposite beliefs. The doctor is willing to kill one person to save one person, but not willing to allow the death of one person to save entire races.

This episode is demented.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 9:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Ken, I'll be the first to say I am completely opposite Elliot politically and this has led to a few feuds, but I don't think he's wrong in his observations here at all. Just because he disagrees with you - or has critical views of a show you love - does not a troll make. Not even close.

Dan
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 8:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

The character of Ezri was poor. Why didn't the writers learn their lesson regarding ship "counsellors" from TNG? She's less convincing as a counsellor than Troi was—and that's saying something. As someone else (above) pointed out, the biggest issue here is that the writers are introducing a new character in the final season of a seven season show. An galactic war is coming to an end. All characters we've known since Season 1 have to be done justice too. It's a total lame-brained idea to then start writing in a new character. I think they did it because they ran out of ideas and wrote themselves into a corner. Even the war itself fell apart—the silly Dukat Fire Monster storyline being the absolute pits.

The writers were running the clock down at this point, totally out of ideas. They also introduced the Breen to waste even more time.

Saying that, some people are calling Nicole de Boe a bad actress. She is not. Have a look at her in one of the best sci-fi episodes of all time, Quality of Mercy, from the new series of The Outer Limits. It really is Troi Syndrome all over again. A bad character, shoe-horned in with a silly dead-end job role, scripted poorly. I mean, why would DS9 need a counsellor now? Why? No-one has been missing a counsellor in any of the other episodes. Sisko explains she will now be responsible for everyone's well-being. So, until now, Starfleet saw fit to leave an entire station in the jaws of mental disorder? Bollocks. The whole "OH NO! MY CLAUSTROPHOBIA IS WORSE THAN EVERRRRR!" melodrama from Garak was simply thrown into the mix to justify her existence. It also made Garak look stupid.

I don't think any of us could have made Ezri a better character. This is all on the writers.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

There's no need to "deliberately ignore"
-------

I gave you a need. It was hard for the writers to pull it off. It would have complicated the story they were telling, and they weren't prepared to invest time necessary to realize it. It's nothing to do with "canon". It's the realities of writing a fiction.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Chrome, really? Well can you tell your buddy that? He seems to believe that there are no theoretical limits to anything and so all predictions on the future are off.

I am willing to bet my life that alien systems won't interface on a space station (in fact, we won't even meet another alien race ever), and that we won't break the speed of light. Know why? Cause that's impossible.

I also know that in 300 years, carbon lifeforms will still die. And they'll still be susceptible to fire damage. But --- ohhh noooo... I can't possible know this, can I?

lol.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

When 3 alien computer systems are interfacing on a space station, pigs will sprout wings and do the air tango.

It ain't happening. It's not even theoretically possible. You'd have better hope trying to do what Tom Paris did and break the light barrier. HAHAHAHAHA!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

As for Hillary: if you think what she did was OK or in the least bit acceptable, you need your head examining. She is lucky she is not in jail - Anyone who did what she did while not being part of the protected elite would be. She lost that election for far more than emails, too. But, sure, keep crying sexism. Hillary had no workable polices; she destroyed Libya and is a war mongering nutcase that was provoking Russia. The electorate saw through it. 52% of white women voted for Trump. They misogynist too?

Get over it. The Left lost because their argument of "Trump is an evil sexist" fell short. And will continue to. You're going to be needing adult arguments in future. Pandering to minorities, virtue signalling, and slinging out stupid insults won't work now. Get that?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Accusing people who disagree with you of misogyny is old news. It doesn't work anymore. Please try to respond with an intellectual comment and not a stupid tag designed to close down debate. Cheers.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

I am tempted to give this 4 stars. It's a hidden gem, and for some reason I did not see it until just now. Here's why it's a very good episode:

Terry Farrell's acting is very natural here. I'm used to seeing a performance that's kind of phony or forced. Here she was actually acting. Whether that's because of a good director, or a good story, or the setting itself, or because she tried harder, I don't know. It might have been all of those things.

The camera work and direction was well done. The music was well done. There was a lot of good suspense here too. I liked it. And the A and B stories both finally decided to get away from Trek's "All worked out in the end" cliche drivel. What Worf did was realistic, and the tougher decision. It was a gutsy move by the writer. In fact, I think the writer deliberately set this up so that the viewer would EXPECT Worf to make the rendezvous point and to see Jadzia saved. But the rug was pulled out from under the audience instead.

Yeah, I'm gonna give it 4.



Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 9:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

Of course it was a weak and simplistic ending. The writers now want Dukat to be a fire monster villain. This is how they do it... by destroying the character in one scene. There's no justification for it. This episode also would have been far better if this whole mental illness nonsense was thrown out. It should have been done properly and without all the silly "you're evil" rubbish, as well.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 5:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Like genocide? Because that's what you're advocating if you wanted Odo to not heal them.
----------

How about putting them on trial for their lives, like we did to high ranking Nazis after WWII? That has the EXACT same outcome. They are going to be found guilty of war crimes and die. But, once again, rampant Leftism and do-gooder mentality means that the Founders escape ANY and ALL kinds of justice.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 4:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Still feeling so smug, Dave? Or waking up to the new reality I mentioned - that we're all fed up of the Left and are voting accordingly all over Europe and the US.

I'd have loved to have seen your face when Trump won.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 4:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Dear god, so many here defending that terrible deus ex machina. Whether you like or not, it is one. And even if it weren't, it's still LAZY writing. There's no valid defence for it.

At no point from here to the end can we take any threat seriously, because the magic aliens can wish it all away. And, listen up, kids: that's why good writers avoid deus ex machinas. Because it's toddler writing that wrecks tension.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 4:32am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

@DLPB - The Dominion wants good press, so to speak.
--------

Which is why they are conquering the Alpha Quadrant and killing people left, right, and centre. You aren't making sense in your defence of something that can't be defended again. The reason that my complaints aren't fixed is nothing to do with good storytelling and all to do with BAD storytelling - and making certain characters totally invincible.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 3:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

One thing could have saved this episode... Kira being killed by the assassin. It would have been a fitting end for an annoying character who could never control her emotions. It would TOTALLY fit a plausible ending for an irrational numpty.

Sadly, the writers just wanted to show us how baaaaad asssss she is. And we just rolled our eyes or laughed instead.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jan 15, 2017, 9:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

What you are suggesting is "magic wand" technology. Life doesn't work like this. And "In the future, computers have a magic ability" (which is exactly what you are saying; you just don't realize it) isn't an argument. It's desperate straw clutching.

If the most simple earth systems cannot be made compatible - even from one OS to another on the same CPU, why on Titan do you think future more complicated technologies from alien systems can be made to interact? Do you think the Cardassians got round the table smoking a cigar with Earthlings swapping notes on how to make all their tech universal across all hardware? Because even that wouldn't be enough.

The universal translator is also a completely impossible device. 100% impossible. We KNOW that. When Trek (and most) writers want to be lazy, they simply wave a magic wand. Sometimes they are simpy naive to how absurd the idea they are peddling is. There is no other explanation.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jan 15, 2017, 8:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

No. Just no. The basics of computing do not change with time. You still deal with binary information that is interpreted however the programmer decided. Again, I am telling you as a programmer that you are wrong. There is no way that alien systems can be made to work together. Zero chance. You can argue with that all you want - you are still wrong. You can argue with a plumber that a pipe with a huge hole in it can still be an effective conveyor of water - and you'll still be wrong.

The more you know about computing, the more ridiculous this episode is.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jan 15, 2017, 6:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

Why don't the Borg ever attack the Dominion?
-------

Because the writers knew this would be complicated to pull off, so deliberately ignored it.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jan 15, 2017, 5:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

Haha. I wouldn't go that far. I liked this episode, but it's a real wasted opportunity as far as what the Q is about. Q isn't about silly love stories with the odd moral message. It's about much bigger things, and this episode trivializes them.

But if you can ignore that and take this as a standalone episode - it's a lot of fun. It's definitely not one star.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Jan 11, 2017, 6:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Furthermore, to the person who mentioned that the system was a mish-mash of different alien technologies. The problem here is that this simply isn't workable in the real world. Even modern PCs have issues with device drivers becoming outdated on a newer OS - so imagine how hard it would be to make 3 totally unique pieces of hardware and software types interact? It's not remotely possible. It's only believable if you know nothing about computing.

Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.