Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 519 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 21
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 16, 2017, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

But we didn't know that at the time.
------
Yes, we did.




Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Loading of the dice*
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

As subtle as a sledgehammer. The episode goes out of its way to portray the genetically modified people's philosophy and culture as backward and bigoted—not once... but a few times. It even has Geordi more or less proclaim it, in case you missed what the writers were getting at. What did I find most amusing about this episode?

1. That Trek is pro abortion "pro choice".
2. That the argument this episode gives for genetically selected people being a bad thing is that healthy embryos which have defects are terminated - and who has the right to decide that?

So, straight away, 1 is in massive conflict with 2. Not to mention, 2 is being done for good reasons here (blindness is far more benign than, say, Downs Syndrome). 1 is usually done for selfish reasons - i.e. "I don't want a kid".

But that's not all. If we take the stance that all aborted life is wrong, because that life could have grown to do wonderful things, I hope you all stop masturbating or using any contraception whatsoever. I had a nice wank the other day - and I lost thousands (millions?) of healthy sperm that could have been the next best right wing reviewer, putting the world to rights! That poor sucker will never happen now. WHAT A MONSTER I AM!

Look, the whole logic of this episode is shoddy, because it's doing a one way street rolling of the dice set up—a hit job. AS USUAL. I agree to abortion up to a few weeks (I do mean a few), unlike most righties, but I also believe that when a baby is highly likely to be born with a disability, that should have a special consideration and be at the parents discretion in terms of how to proceed. And that I would extend for much longer than a few weeks. The unborn child is not thinking "Oh, can't wait to become a teacher". It isn't thinking anything at all.

The truth is, this episode, like most of these useless arguments, rely on emotion rather than actual science or what's in the best interest of those involved.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jun 4, 2017, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

He's a genetically enhanced genius.
-------

That wouldn't give him knowledge out of thin air. I hope you weren't being serious.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Jun 3, 2017, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Wow... it got even worse. Now Torres is a monster. Only someone deeply disturbed and nasty would do anything like that. The silly sob story isn't an excuse. Reprogramming a doctor to perform a medical procedure against the wishes of the husband and the captain and all decent values is reprehensible. Why is this episode being given a free pass? Because Torres teared up and gave a sob story? Is that all it takes for some of you guys to identify with a nasty psychopath haha? Boo hoooo. I had a bad childhoooooood.

She'd never be trusted again. By anyone. And she needed a demotion and brig time at the very least. I bet Carey was thinking "Way to go, Captain. First she breaks noses, and now she mutilates unborn babies. Still, you know best..."

As Quincy notes above, this is another case of double standards in regards to how the sexes are treated.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Jun 3, 2017, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

3 and a half stars my backside. This is am unconvincing pile of tosh. Soap opera - Kitchen sink level drama. More love nonsense with Paris and Torres - and I am to believe she didn't think once beforehand "When I have a baby, it will look a bit like me." No, she sees ridges and then goes all insane... because forced drama.

It's painful to watch.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 2, 2017, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

'Bromance' is a negative connotation - but it's benign and usually used in very good humour. Most sane people don't go off their rocker because someone uses a word they don't like. I know that's not typical these days, in the Snowflake Generation.

Having close ties with another male may make people use the term either in jest or as an insult (that goes for many words. Context is king.) As I said, it's nearly always used in a humourous way. Honestly, how is this important enough to discuss in novel-length conversations here?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 2, 2017, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Is there any time where Janeway actually says "You're right." or "Point taken. We'll find another way."

It seems to me that time after time, crew members come to Janeway to protest at her defective decisions and double standards only to be told "It's my way or the highway lol." It's basically the writers saying "Yeah, we know Janeway is being stupid and illogical, but we want to tell our story, so we've added this pointless scene to put you and her crew in their place. Double lol.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Employee not reporter. She is an employee, I take it?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

1. It was in ridiculous taste at a time when innocent people are being executed by Islamic State in that exact manner.

2. His own 11 year old son saw it - and so did others in his family. How is that any form of protest at all? It's just crappy. Even CNN has disavowed the people involved.

3. All that kind of thing does is turn more people away from rational debate - or from coming together . And it definitely hurts the Dems' cause (not that I care - I can't stand them).

4. I have more of a problem with the fact the reporter for CNN, Kathy Grifin, was involved. She has been, rightfully, sacked.

I imagine that you'd not have a problem if this had been Bernie's head? Or Obama's? Or Martin Luther King? I doubt it.

Apologizing doesn't do squat. The damage has been done and she isn't a very nice person to have done it in the first place. That brainless conduct is typical of the left these days. They like to portray themselves as the moral guardians and the Republicans as nasty... but the evidence is to the contrary.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 9:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/corrie-boss-defends-controversial-lesbian-1694860

lol. Yes you did use the show to peddle your own agenda. The bible part was completely inappropriate.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Well said, Chrome.

@Robert

Back then, those issues hadn't been done to death. They weren't tired, cliche, and in your face. And, in fact, the pendulum had swung too far right. Perhaps. Today, the pendulum has swung right over to bat-shit crazy left - and people are getting fed up of being spoon fed propaganda. As Chrome said, it's one thing to address issues organically - It is quite another to shoe-horn in your own propaganda or agenda—or add things simply to appease the diversity nuts. In fact, it does far more harm to their cause than it does help. You can't smash people over the head with token gestures and propaganda and then expect that people take the message favourably. It's a bit like how Hillary kept reminding women that she was a woman - so 52% of white women said "Go away, thanks." ;)

As I said, in the 60s, these issues needed addressing. Today, they are just irritating, and blatant, and forced in our faces for no intelligent reason.

It's happening everywhere, not just Star Trek. In Britain, many soaps deliberately push this agenda and go way too far with it. It's coming to a point where all the characters are homosexual or else deviant in some way. I recall a storyline where a "bible bashing" teen girl was suddenly a lesbian. No lead up to it... she just suddenly was, after years of her not being. The idea here was clearly a huge assault on Christianity. It ended with two girls kissing, as the camera closed in on a bible on a chest of drawers.

Can you imagine the resentment that causes? I am no longer religious in any way, but when I saw that scene, it really really irritated me as well. God only knows what it did to Christians who saw that. I will guarantee you that that storyline did far more damage to homosexuals than it did help.

Liberals keep shooting themselves in the foot. Case in point, that moronic mock Trump execution by that daft lady the other day.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 31, 2017, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

I am not sure what message Trek is trying to give out in these episodes, but there is a conflict. On one hand, we are told that exploration is the best thing ever - something any Starfleet officer should aspire to. On the other hand, we see time and time again, hostile crazy races that want to destroy/capture/subjugate Federation ships and their crew. Why would anyone want to explore when the galaxy is full of these spiteful, dangerous races?

With a crew trying to get back home, stranded in the Delta Quadrant, it's hard not to take Seska's side. Chakotay should have gone back in time and joined her. Kick Janeway out.

Also, as someone else noted, this is another episode that pussifies the Borg.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 31, 2017, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

This is really well written. A stellar acting performance too. I was apprehensive going into this after all the bad reviews, but I am glad to say they are all unfounded. This episode makes up for Sub Rosa in every way.

Well done!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, May 30, 2017, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

This is the only episode of TNG I have not watched. I turned it off very early in a long time ago- and haven't been back since. I will never watch it again.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, May 29, 2017, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

I didn't think anyone would be arguing that point, so I have rushed to judgement here. Let's face it, a rape victim is largely going to opt for abortion if she is allowed to. And I've seen a lot of people who are against abortion under ANY circumstance. I assumed that you were talking about "child" in terms of in the womb. People use child regardless.

My apologies.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, May 27, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Here's what should have happened:

"Please. You can't let the Kazon take the array. They will annihilate the Ocampa"

Janeway: "Listen. We have something called the prime directive that forbids us to interfere. But, more importantly, I couldn't give a fat pimple on my aging arse as to what you think. You brought us here against our will and experimented on my crew. What kind of "caretaker" does that? My crew is my first priority. Maybe you should have been smarter and prepared for this day - rather than sticking probes into innocent beings at the last minute? You know what you can do with yourself, don't you?"

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, May 27, 2017, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

I watched it all - and it wasn't too bad. Not bad, but not good. I didn't like the whole "Caretaker" nonsense, or the ridiculous idea that this species it was protecting lives for so few years and can mature so rapidly. Not believable in the slightest on so many levels. Turn off your brain. Janeway's decision is absurd and against the first duty of any captain. As the first post notes, the writer forgot (on purpose, no doubt) that there is such a thing as timed detonations.

Most of all, I was annoyed that this entity is given a free pass after violating the crew in one of the worst ways possible (they were experimented on - and it was very painful). You can see how brainless the writers are that they don't see a contradiction portraying this being as compassionate and caring at the same time as having it experiment on other living beings—and hoisting them light-years from their loved ones with no means of returning home.

How ridiculous is that? Just think about it. Think about what a useless writer you have to be to create such a massive contradiction with personality .

The other problem, of course, is that the Marquis become Starfleet as early as this very episode. I thought it happened later, but, already, it's obvious they rushed the story forward to create one crew. They never had ANY intention of making a believable and thought-out transition period - or a struggle between the two crews. It was laziness from the word go.

As I've said a billion times... it's entertaining. But, ultimately, this is like a packet of crisps to a glass of red wine (in writing terms).
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, May 27, 2017, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

Rape victims are responsible for their children the same as any parents. You cannot legally abandon your child just because it is the product of rape,
---------

Excuse me. Yes, you can. Abortion in these cases is 100% legitimate and anyone with a healthy brain will agree with it under those circumstances. Not only is that child likely to grow up and find out his father is a rapist, but the mother will be reminded daily by the child's presence of what happened. It is totally selfish and unfair of you to expect that a conception through a heinous act should be treated the same as through a loving and stable union. Bonkers. NO WAY.

As for adoption. Gee, yeah, cause that really helps the child. Just being given away. We have to get away from this mental illness thinking.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 26, 2017, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

@The Sisko

This might be hard for you to accept, but most of us can despise political bias and moralizing in fiction... if it is entertaining. The sad fact is that the media/TV these days is clearly leftist, and so it's all one way traffic. It can indeed get irritating for someone like me, who finds much of it not only a deluded ideology - but a sick and dangerous one, too.

No-one who purports to understand the "values" of Star Trek should be happy about the one-sided nature of today's films and television shows. Since the whole point of Trek is, supposedly, to understand other people and their opinions, which you clearly do not. Judging by what you have just said, I have to conclude that you wouldn't watch any show that disagreed with your politics. And that's very sad indeed.

Not all episodes of Trek have political bias. Not all Trek episodes beat you over the head with the leftist moralizing. In fact, I have noted many episodes that are not just entertaining (as most are), but brilliantly written. And Trek usually asks important questions and has interesting themes. If I were a bigot, I would take your advice. But I am not.

Saying that, I have no intention of watching Abrams' Trek, because, not only is he a gone in the head leftist, the latest films are brainless and without a soul - designed only around action and not around asking important questions. I'm at a loss to explain why so many "Trek fans" don't see the problem there.

Hope that explain why someone who does not share Trek philosophy can nonetheless still enjoy watching Trek. Mostly. I would also note that even a large number of Trek fans consider Gene's Utopian view of the future to be rather ridiculous and naive.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 26, 2017, 7:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Why don't you stick to the topic, Ravenna without getting your obvious 2 cents in at me while chastising someone else for doing it? Still, nice to see you understand the concept of free speech. I guess I gotta be thankful for that.

@Robert

I am surprised to hear you say that. Would have had you down as an "Evil USA for dropping bomb" type, like so many Dems are. But fair play. Also, I think we can all agree that Bush is - and was - a bad president, who had absolutely no idea what he was getting himself into with his misguided foreign interventions (which I contend were illegal). He and Blair should be up for war crimes. Anyway, this is all off topic.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 26, 2017, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

The writers say they can do it, so that's that.
---------

No, that really isn't that. When a show is set in the same universe as ours, writers (good writers) are expected to obey the laws of physics and biology as much as possible, and give good reasons for anything that is, without massive medical intervention, scientifically impossible (even then, likely still totally impossible). In this case, it was probably better not to even go down this ridiculous route.

When writers don't give good reasons, or don't spend time making believable stories, we are not supposed to sit here nodding our heads and saying "So what?" We're supposed to be angry that either they were too lazy to care, too stupid to know, or think we are too stupid to know. And when they aren't held to account, they never improve and we get an increasingly inferior product.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 26, 2017, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

It's been ages since I watched this episode, but I have paused it 5 seconds in to have my first moan about it. What on earth were the writers thinking using that corny Star-Wars lite opening as exposition? it comes across as utterly laughable hahaha.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 19, 2017, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

James. Didn't see your post. Bravo. This man-hating bullshit, and double standards in the media regarding men, has gone too far. It's gotten to the point that being a male (especially a white male) is a crime. This episode isn't even tackling anything gutsy (although it did at least show that the accusations were unfounded, which makes a change), and yet some here are throwing their bile about because the guy wasn't crucified on Seven's word alone. Real lives are destroyed by false accusations. In Britain, we've recently had a scandal involving celebrities having sex with minors - this led to several more total witch hunts that INNOCENT men had to deal with—dragged through the legal system and plastered on the front pages as paedophiles. That's what happens when your justice system and population succumb to that kind of backward way of operating.

There is a reason it's innocent until proven guilty. And it's also about time that Britain protects ALL people from accusations until they have been charged AND found guilty. At the moment, just an accusation leads to people jumping around like mindless barbarians.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 19, 2017, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

If the concept of "innocent until proven guilty" appalls them, then there is something seriously wrong with your students.
--------

What's wrong with them is years of indoctrination from media and TV shows that show things from one side of the argument. See my comment above for more.
Next ►Page 1 of 21
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.