Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 527 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 22
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

The Changelings did set off a bomb, didn't they? The episode never addresses how Starfleet will try to prevent that from happening again.
--------

Precisely. But I think we have another trekkie fanboy unable to accept the writing here has issues.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I can't make what I said any more simple for you.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

. I think his cavemen neighbor may be better equipped.
------------

HAHAHA! Let's just hope his caveman neighbour killed him - for being so stupid and unworthy to draw any more oxygen. I'd actually applaud such a writing decision.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

There are times that humans do themselves harm with paranoia and over-reactions. I see it all the time in sport, where a player is found guilty of doping and then a forum erupts with accusations aimed at other players on the most ridiculous "evidence" available "Oh, look at his muscles *snicker*". Classic witch hunt mentality.

But this episode is demented. Or, rather, the writers are. They are giving you a mortal threat—something that could easily be a war winner. A game changer. A race capable of—and SUCCEEDING at—impersonating the top brass. The top levels of command. Now, that on its own needs a massive response and some well written material in order to neutralize the threat to a believable conclusion. But, instead, they use this very real and deadly threat to say that there really isn't anything to worry about, and that the fear is all in people's heads. They are like a man with his brain hemispheres separated from one another - arguing with himself. Can you at least see how this is poor poor writing. Lazy? Silly? At least silly!?

If they wanted to show paranoia, then why the hell did they create a real and deadly threat in order to illustrate it? Paranoia and making matters worse through blind fear is only really relevant when... it really is paranoia and blind fear. Or, to put it an easier way: If someone tells you that a bunch of Vikings are going around torching buildings in the neighbourhood, and then you get evidence it's happening, and people start to panic, you don't say to them "This fear is tearing us apart. We must not give in to this fear.", and then leave it at that! You can be damn sure you would do something about it.

It doesn't make any goddamn sense!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Aug 11, 2017, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Oh, except "lol", YOU are way off. I've seen the whole series and Startrekwatcher is bang on the money. It is a FACT that this episode has little to no influence on future events. A FACT. At no point on do we hear of a changeling taking the place of - much less trying to take the place of - a high ranking Starfleet officer. This whole silly episode was simply peddling a nasty, deluded left wing piece of propaganda that "the only people we have to fear is our own ignorance and fear" - which is patently ABSURD given that the changelings can and did impersonate top ranking officials.

Lazy writing. Lazy propaganda. Whether you like or not "lol". See my other posts above.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

@Zakalwe

I don't get entertained by crap writing or stories I can't believe in the slightest - and that's where your logic fails you.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 30, 2017, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

I also see someone above noted the same but added a huge spoiler (you fool), so don't scroll up. Watch the episode ;)
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 30, 2017, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

I actually liked it. It wasn't a very good episode though. It's very likely based on the Twilight Zone episode Five Characters in Search of an Exit... which IS a very good episode.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 16, 2017, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

But we didn't know that at the time.
------
Yes, we did.




Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Loading of the dice*
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

As subtle as a sledgehammer. The episode goes out of its way to portray the genetically modified people's philosophy and culture as backward and bigoted—not once... but a few times. It even has Geordi more or less proclaim it, in case you missed what the writers were getting at. What did I find most amusing about this episode?

1. That Trek is pro abortion "pro choice".
2. That the argument this episode gives for genetically selected people being a bad thing is that healthy embryos which have defects are terminated - and who has the right to decide that?

So, straight away, 1 is in massive conflict with 2. Not to mention, 2 is being done for good reasons here (blindness is far more benign than, say, Downs Syndrome). 1 is usually done for selfish reasons - i.e. "I don't want a kid".

But that's not all. If we take the stance that all aborted life is wrong, because that life could have grown to do wonderful things, I hope you all stop masturbating or using any contraception whatsoever. I had a nice wank the other day - and I lost thousands (millions?) of healthy sperm that could have been the next best right wing reviewer, putting the world to rights! That poor sucker will never happen now. WHAT A MONSTER I AM!

Look, the whole logic of this episode is shoddy, because it's doing a one way street rolling of the dice set up—a hit job. AS USUAL. I agree to abortion up to a few weeks (I do mean a few), unlike most righties, but I also believe that when a baby is highly likely to be born with a disability, that should have a special consideration and be at the parents discretion in terms of how to proceed. And that I would extend for much longer than a few weeks. The unborn child is not thinking "Oh, can't wait to become a teacher". It isn't thinking anything at all.

The truth is, this episode, like most of these useless arguments, rely on emotion rather than actual science or what's in the best interest of those involved.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jun 4, 2017, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

He's a genetically enhanced genius.
-------

That wouldn't give him knowledge out of thin air. I hope you weren't being serious.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Jun 3, 2017, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Wow... it got even worse. Now Torres is a monster. Only someone deeply disturbed and nasty would do anything like that. The silly sob story isn't an excuse. Reprogramming a doctor to perform a medical procedure against the wishes of the husband and the captain and all decent values is reprehensible. Why is this episode being given a free pass? Because Torres teared up and gave a sob story? Is that all it takes for some of you guys to identify with a nasty psychopath haha? Boo hoooo. I had a bad childhoooooood.

She'd never be trusted again. By anyone. And she needed a demotion and brig time at the very least. I bet Carey was thinking "Way to go, Captain. First she breaks noses, and now she mutilates unborn babies. Still, you know best..."

As Quincy notes above, this is another case of double standards in regards to how the sexes are treated.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Jun 3, 2017, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

3 and a half stars my backside. This is am unconvincing pile of tosh. Soap opera - Kitchen sink level drama. More love nonsense with Paris and Torres - and I am to believe she didn't think once beforehand "When I have a baby, it will look a bit like me." No, she sees ridges and then goes all insane... because forced drama.

It's painful to watch.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 2, 2017, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

'Bromance' is a negative connotation - but it's benign and usually used in very good humour. Most sane people don't go off their rocker because someone uses a word they don't like. I know that's not typical these days, in the Snowflake Generation.

Having close ties with another male may make people use the term either in jest or as an insult (that goes for many words. Context is king.) As I said, it's nearly always used in a humourous way. Honestly, how is this important enough to discuss in novel-length conversations here?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 2, 2017, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Is there any time where Janeway actually says "You're right." or "Point taken. We'll find another way."

It seems to me that time after time, crew members come to Janeway to protest at her defective decisions and double standards only to be told "It's my way or the highway lol." It's basically the writers saying "Yeah, we know Janeway is being stupid and illogical, but we want to tell our story, so we've added this pointless scene to put you and her crew in their place. Double lol.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Employee not reporter. She is an employee, I take it?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

1. It was in ridiculous taste at a time when innocent people are being executed by Islamic State in that exact manner.

2. His own 11 year old son saw it - and so did others in his family. How is that any form of protest at all? It's just crappy. Even CNN has disavowed the people involved.

3. All that kind of thing does is turn more people away from rational debate - or from coming together . And it definitely hurts the Dems' cause (not that I care - I can't stand them).

4. I have more of a problem with the fact the reporter for CNN, Kathy Grifin, was involved. She has been, rightfully, sacked.

I imagine that you'd not have a problem if this had been Bernie's head? Or Obama's? Or Martin Luther King? I doubt it.

Apologizing doesn't do squat. The damage has been done and she isn't a very nice person to have done it in the first place. That brainless conduct is typical of the left these days. They like to portray themselves as the moral guardians and the Republicans as nasty... but the evidence is to the contrary.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 9:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/corrie-boss-defends-controversial-lesbian-1694860

lol. Yes you did use the show to peddle your own agenda. The bible part was completely inappropriate.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Well said, Chrome.

@Robert

Back then, those issues hadn't been done to death. They weren't tired, cliche, and in your face. And, in fact, the pendulum had swung too far right. Perhaps. Today, the pendulum has swung right over to bat-shit crazy left - and people are getting fed up of being spoon fed propaganda. As Chrome said, it's one thing to address issues organically - It is quite another to shoe-horn in your own propaganda or agenda—or add things simply to appease the diversity nuts. In fact, it does far more harm to their cause than it does help. You can't smash people over the head with token gestures and propaganda and then expect that people take the message favourably. It's a bit like how Hillary kept reminding women that she was a woman - so 52% of white women said "Go away, thanks." ;)

As I said, in the 60s, these issues needed addressing. Today, they are just irritating, and blatant, and forced in our faces for no intelligent reason.

It's happening everywhere, not just Star Trek. In Britain, many soaps deliberately push this agenda and go way too far with it. It's coming to a point where all the characters are homosexual or else deviant in some way. I recall a storyline where a "bible bashing" teen girl was suddenly a lesbian. No lead up to it... she just suddenly was, after years of her not being. The idea here was clearly a huge assault on Christianity. It ended with two girls kissing, as the camera closed in on a bible on a chest of drawers.

Can you imagine the resentment that causes? I am no longer religious in any way, but when I saw that scene, it really really irritated me as well. God only knows what it did to Christians who saw that. I will guarantee you that that storyline did far more damage to homosexuals than it did help.

Liberals keep shooting themselves in the foot. Case in point, that moronic mock Trump execution by that daft lady the other day.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 31, 2017, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

I am not sure what message Trek is trying to give out in these episodes, but there is a conflict. On one hand, we are told that exploration is the best thing ever - something any Starfleet officer should aspire to. On the other hand, we see time and time again, hostile crazy races that want to destroy/capture/subjugate Federation ships and their crew. Why would anyone want to explore when the galaxy is full of these spiteful, dangerous races?

With a crew trying to get back home, stranded in the Delta Quadrant, it's hard not to take Seska's side. Chakotay should have gone back in time and joined her. Kick Janeway out.

Also, as someone else noted, this is another episode that pussifies the Borg.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 31, 2017, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

This is really well written. A stellar acting performance too. I was apprehensive going into this after all the bad reviews, but I am glad to say they are all unfounded. This episode makes up for Sub Rosa in every way.

Well done!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, May 30, 2017, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

This is the only episode of TNG I have not watched. I turned it off very early in a long time ago- and haven't been back since. I will never watch it again.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, May 29, 2017, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

I didn't think anyone would be arguing that point, so I have rushed to judgement here. Let's face it, a rape victim is largely going to opt for abortion if she is allowed to. And I've seen a lot of people who are against abortion under ANY circumstance. I assumed that you were talking about "child" in terms of in the womb. People use child regardless.

My apologies.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, May 27, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Here's what should have happened:

"Please. You can't let the Kazon take the array. They will annihilate the Ocampa"

Janeway: "Listen. We have something called the prime directive that forbids us to interfere. But, more importantly, I couldn't give a fat pimple on my aging arse as to what you think. You brought us here against our will and experimented on my crew. What kind of "caretaker" does that? My crew is my first priority. Maybe you should have been smarter and prepared for this day - rather than sticking probes into innocent beings at the last minute? You know what you can do with yourself, don't you?"

Next ►Page 1 of 22
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.