Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 542 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 22
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Oct 14, 2017, 7:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

I do want to note here that I find Robert to be a very good contributor, and it would be a very boring place without divisions or conflicts of opinion. I am going to vehemently disagree with him on most things, because his political views (and that of the writers) is in many places a polar opposite of mine.

Still, I do apologize that I employ brute force tactics and that I am clearly not a people person. I find those a strength and a weakness. Generally, Robert has gotten a bit of a raw deal with me simply because I am extremely angry and frustrated with how our world works, and he represents, to some extent, the embodiment of the root of many of the causes. But that's not an excuse for how I sometimes conduct myself on here.

I doubt how I operate will change, but I want you to know that I am not oblivious to my short-comings. And I am not unfeeling.

Daniel
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 5:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

@The Ghost of Jerry Falwell

I see you don't disappoint in showing us all how lame and backward and intolerant the Left are.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Can any of you cynics even tell me what DNA stands for without googling it? All of you will say yes but put on the spot hardly anyone could type it out without errors in spelling (which shows you don't know).

------

I would also add to the above that "Real Ric" also seems to believe spelling something means you understand it. Real Ric has a lot to learn about the Real World. Look up Richard Feynman and his view on names v understanding.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

Yeah, when you keep to rational humanoid looks, you can make it look realistic. Wen you venture into squid heads... you better hope you have some impressive visuals. And even modern CGI has to be top notch to pull it off.

The Anticans didn't look as ridiculous as the Benzites. Man.... even the worst acid trip wouldn't come up with those freaks.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 6:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

I am way way more powerful than youuuu!
Picard: Yup, you are. Worf, confine her to quarters and post guards.

lol...

Trek eventually realized that fake looking monster aliens make the show look laughable. And they stopped doing it. Season 1 and 2 were suckers for it - as well as original Trek.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

Strejda
Mon, Jun 26, 2017, 3:45am (UTC -5)
@DLPB You are wrong. Nothing you said contradicts their argument. Domion wants good press BECAUSE they are conquering shit left and right.
------

Can anyone explain to the person above why what they have just said makes as much sense as the Tooth Fairy? I'm bored. No, I'll do it:

A massive conquering and brutal attack force does not care about good press. Do you honestly think Hitler was doing PR during his campaigns across Europe in WWII? Dear god, some of you will excuse any bad writing with any ridiculous crap that enters your skull.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Sep 10, 2017, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Perhaps if you'd ever had one of your loved ones killed or raped or battered, you wouldn't ask such a ridiculous question. I've had my home robbed 3 times, and all I wish on the people who did it is what they deserve - HARD LABOUR. We do it for justice. Revenge. To stop them doing it while in prison. And, yes, punishment does work if it isn't hampered by left wing obstructors and their army of lawyers - and when the punishment fits the crime. That means no TV/video games/pool tables. Prison is meant to be miserable.

Also, people who are sentenced to death and who actually get that sentence quickly (unlike America where, again, the left deliberately draw the process out to wreck it) save the taxpayer an absolute fortune with the added bonus that

a. They will not be able to appeal forever
b. They will not be in the news tormenting their victims' family
c. They will not be able to ever do it again

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 12:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

You're the latest in a long line of apologists, Sheldonari. Frankly, I am getting sick of repeating myself. When a science fiction - or any serious fiction - disregards the laws of physics relentlessly, it breaks suspension of disbelief and is a symptom of lazy writing. Telling people to accept it merely causes more of the same lazy writing. YOU may not give a toss, but some of us have higher standards.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 11:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

o all the people that are so elated that "Religion is treated with respect!": Well, look to the middle east for a place where religion is "treated with respect". Look at the people that kill hundreds of innocents in the name of God to see what "treating religion with respect" leads to as a final consequence.
--------

Spot on. You can name any fact about Islam and it's disastrous effect on humans... and it will be excused by some people. Religion in general is closed minded and the opposite of reason. It always has been. But it's worse when the prophet being followed was a murderous war-lord.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

I think Rom is an idiot savant type. Clueless in many aspects, but near genius in a few...like engineering.
_------------

You're making wild excuses for the poor writing. Real world savants aren't like Rom. His character was retconned.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

Was Keiko really possessed? Seems like her ordinary self to me.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Sep 1, 2017, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

Good:
Winn.
Discussion between her and Julian.

Bad:
Nog is an idiot. I hate this character with every fibre of my being. There is no way you can ignore a position or cultural difference that has "women are dirt and should be treated as playthings" There are some differences that aren't possible to bridge and it's absurd the writers say you can. Tolerating different opinions and ideas is one thing - befriending someone who is a complete idiot is another.

Julian not overriding the patient regarding the talks. This isn't even remotely a difficult ethical issue. Julian would have forced him into stasis immediately because to not do so would mean he is being negligent. Kira also ignores that Bareil's life is on the line - for "talks". Yeah... a life for talks. Talks we all know Winn could do on her own.



Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Sep 1, 2017, 7:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

My apologies... no death sentence for Tom. But it would be worse. He's not going to a holiday camp. Somehow the writers completely ignored that.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Sep 1, 2017, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

It was really neat of the writers to bring Tom back. After Second Chances surprised me by having no reset switch, the writers surprised me again by bringing him back in DS9 to further his story. It was a very good choice. The downside is how they ended him here, I guess. I would much more have preferred they used him for something with a longer arc and with a fitting end. I didn't like that they just captured him and... handed him over - to be tortured and executed.

It's a decent episode.

3/5
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Thanks... I guess. Not that I needed your blessing. Haha.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

The Changelings did set off a bomb, didn't they? The episode never addresses how Starfleet will try to prevent that from happening again.
--------

Precisely. But I think we have another trekkie fanboy unable to accept the writing here has issues.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I can't make what I said any more simple for you.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

. I think his cavemen neighbor may be better equipped.
------------

HAHAHA! Let's just hope his caveman neighbour killed him - for being so stupid and unworthy to draw any more oxygen. I'd actually applaud such a writing decision.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

There are times that humans do themselves harm with paranoia and over-reactions. I see it all the time in sport, where a player is found guilty of doping and then a forum erupts with accusations aimed at other players on the most ridiculous "evidence" available "Oh, look at his muscles *snicker*". Classic witch hunt mentality.

But this episode is demented. Or, rather, the writers are. They are giving you a mortal threat—something that could easily be a war winner. A game changer. A race capable of—and SUCCEEDING at—impersonating the top brass. The top levels of command. Now, that on its own needs a massive response and some well written material in order to neutralize the threat to a believable conclusion. But, instead, they use this very real and deadly threat to say that there really isn't anything to worry about, and that the fear is all in people's heads. They are like a man with his brain hemispheres separated from one another - arguing with himself. Can you at least see how this is poor poor writing. Lazy? Silly? At least silly!?

If they wanted to show paranoia, then why the hell did they create a real and deadly threat in order to illustrate it? Paranoia and making matters worse through blind fear is only really relevant when... it really is paranoia and blind fear. Or, to put it an easier way: If someone tells you that a bunch of Vikings are going around torching buildings in the neighbourhood, and then you get evidence it's happening, and people start to panic, you don't say to them "This fear is tearing us apart. We must not give in to this fear.", and then leave it at that! You can be damn sure you would do something about it.

It doesn't make any goddamn sense!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Aug 11, 2017, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Oh, except "lol", YOU are way off. I've seen the whole series and Startrekwatcher is bang on the money. It is a FACT that this episode has little to no influence on future events. A FACT. At no point on do we hear of a changeling taking the place of - much less trying to take the place of - a high ranking Starfleet officer. This whole silly episode was simply peddling a nasty, deluded left wing piece of propaganda that "the only people we have to fear is our own ignorance and fear" - which is patently ABSURD given that the changelings can and did impersonate top ranking officials.

Lazy writing. Lazy propaganda. Whether you like or not "lol". See my other posts above.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

@Zakalwe

I don't get entertained by crap writing or stories I can't believe in the slightest - and that's where your logic fails you.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 30, 2017, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

I also see someone above noted the same but added a huge spoiler (you fool), so don't scroll up. Watch the episode ;)
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 30, 2017, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

I actually liked it. It wasn't a very good episode though. It's very likely based on the Twilight Zone episode Five Characters in Search of an Exit... which IS a very good episode.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jun 16, 2017, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

But we didn't know that at the time.
------
Yes, we did.




Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Loading of the dice*
Next ►Page 1 of 22
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.