Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 496 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 20
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 19, 2017, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

James. Didn't see your post. Bravo. This man-hating bullshit, and double standards in the media regarding men, has gone too far. It's gotten to the point that being a male (especially a white male) is a crime. This episode isn't even tackling anything gutsy (although it did at least show that the accusations were unfounded, which makes a change), and yet some here are throwing their bile about because the guy wasn't crucified on Seven's word alone. Real lives are destroyed by false accusations. In Britain, we've recently had a scandal involving celebrities having sex with minors - this led to several more total witch hunts that INNOCENT men had to deal with—dragged through the legal system and plastered on the front pages as paedophiles. That's what happens when your justice system and population succumb to that kind of backward way of operating.

There is a reason it's innocent until proven guilty. And it's also about time that Britain protects ALL people from accusations until they have been charged AND found guilty. At the moment, just an accusation leads to people jumping around like mindless barbarians.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 19, 2017, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

If the concept of "innocent until proven guilty" appalls them, then there is something seriously wrong with your students.
--------

What's wrong with them is years of indoctrination from media and TV shows that show things from one side of the argument. See my comment above for more.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 19, 2017, 11:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

To some of the naysayers here: There are far more deliberate false rape accusations made by women, than there are real rapes. No series I've seen has been willing to explore what happens to a man made to feel like a criminal, doubted by friends and family, forced to go to court - all because of a malicious and lying woman.

Why didn't Trek try tackling that, I WONDER?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 19, 2017, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

====================
1) Like Jammer, I can't sign on to the notion that this creature isn't sentient.
====================

The episode doesn't say it isn't. The doctor says he can't detect it, but the Beast hunter disagrees with the doctor entirely. It's left open-ended.

====================
Naomi is a child, and children are both gullible and possessed of intense, simplistic desires.
====================

That's not the point the episode makes. Again, it leaves the jargon and reasoning to your imagination. Perhaps younger people are more immune? Or different species have different immunity? There's no way you can make that line of reasoning on what we are given. But, from what we do get, it's heavily implied that the creature can only trick based on immediate desires, and those desires have to be great in order to be seducing enough to control a person. Naomi does not have any overwhelming desires - and certainly not the mass hysteria of getting back to Earth, which doomed the crew. The episode cleverly shows that even Seven is succumbing to the control when the desire to leave is great. And that's despite her being Borg.

Whichever way you look at it, the writer(s) of this episode spent time thinking about these things. Usually, especially with Voyager, they clearly did not.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 19, 2017, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Also, what others seem to have missed is how the episode asks you to think about reality, and what is or is not real. On how wants can sometimes override logic or reality. Maybe the best parts of this episode are too subtle for most people, but I appreciated it. Especially like Outer Limit type stories, too.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 19, 2017, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

There have been seldom few Voyager episodes I have given a 9 to, and fewer still that I felt like giving a 10—but I am sure this one is deserving. It may actually be the most well written Voyager episode. The pacing is perfect, the acting is good (I know the guest star from Babylon 5, where he also did a great job), the story is very good, and the writing is well above average. Apart from some very minor gripes, not worth mentioning, this is a fun and well made caper.

It's made even better by some witty and well thought-out lines:

"This is a sick bay, not an arsenal."
"I am a doctor, not a dragon slayer."
"Oh, he's intelligent all right. Smart enough to fool your crew into taking YOU offline."
"She doesn't want to. They never want to."
"An Ishmael to your Ahab? No, thank you."

and my personal favourite:

-Please state the nature of the medical emergency.
-Your ship is being devoured; I'd say that's an emergency!

Come on, how many good lines do you want in one episode? Especially considering this is Voyager.

10/10
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, May 18, 2017, 1:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

Anything I can say here has already been said. I mean, I'm tired of repeating myself - especially when it comes to Voyager. It's a ridiculous episode that is too unrealistic to be believed in the slightest, but there's no point even mentioning that, because Voyager is simply always going to disappoint on that front. So, what else is there? Well, it's entertaining and different, I'll give it that. The writers gave up a long time ago, so there's really no point in me banging my head against a bulkhead. They just cashed a cheque and laughed all the way home.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, May 13, 2017, 8:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

**** He didn't know where they were until JAneway told him ****
-----------

He did. He knew the cargo room and the means by which they were being hidden. He could have seized them at any time.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 12, 2017, 8:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Probably weren't prepared to pay/get the actresses (or maybe I am giving them too much credit)... but since this episode really needed twins to work perfectly, it's a real shame.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 12, 2017, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

But the Left shoot themselves in the foot every time. Their condescending "you are a racist, Nazi, homophobe" responses to any intellectual debate ritually guaranteed Trump's victory. And he's still trolling them. And, I admit, I LOVE it that he is. It all blew up in the Left's face.

So, Robert, you can whine and whinge and stamp and shout - but people are waking up to how intolerant the Left is when people don't agree with them. We see it in the riots, the rubbish that's going on at Berkeley (left wing agitators and rioters trying to shut up their opponents), and with how the media and shows like Star Trek behave in general.

But Trump won. And the Right will never go away, so you best get used to it. Instead of insulting people, and shutting down debate, you'll have to learn to accept not everyone agrees with your political opinion. That's why the Republicans now hold the Senate, the House, and the Presidency.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, May 12, 2017, 1:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Robert, DLPB may be acerbic, but he was absolutely (ok, 90%) right in his post. And while he may have insulted a group of people in his post, it was you who made it personal by insulting him.
-------

Thanks for the post - and You could have left it right there. Robert didn't like that it that I called out his own bias and that of his own liberal left hypocrisy and turned into an attack on me by riding in like a white knight. Ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, May 11, 2017, 4:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Should have used the two twin sisters for this episode if they are still around.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 10, 2017, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Watched this one again and the beginning is too ridiculous. It deploys the whole "Character A is behaving very oddly, saying odd things, but to advance the plot, character B will ignore it. And if forced to listen, Character B will dismiss the conversation completely in offhand manner." I am asked to believe in the first 5 minutes alone that Harry's fiancee hears him sounding very confused, like he could have a very serious medical condition (or another major problem), but that she just tells him to go to work! It's patently ridiculous, bad writing. I HATE it when writers do that. Stop insulting my intelligence to advance the plot at all costs.

It's an entertaining episode in regards to keeping you wondering what's happening to Harry, but that's about it. The pay off isn't too great either. PS Tom Paris is Nick Locarno and always will be.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, May 9, 2017, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Younger self*
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, May 9, 2017, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

It's not as bad as people make it. It just suffers with laziness to conclude the series in a shoehorned, inconsistent fashion. But it's entertaining at least. Nice to see future Janeway isn't as naive as her older self... well, for a while at least.

Voyager was, overall, a weak series, mainly due to very poor planning. I think they originally had the sole idea "stranded ship lightyears from home", but didn't put any thought into the logistics of why a series with that theme would be hard to pull off. Repairs, supplies, fuel, time, relations aboard Voyager. Pretty early on they just threw it all out of the window and treated Voyager as if it were TNG, hopping planet to planet, telling morality tales.

With some cleverer writers it could certainly have been far better. Still, the world is better for having Voyager than not (entertainment wise).
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, May 9, 2017, 9:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Also, calling people trolls for disagreeing with you is perhaps the lowest form of intellect on the net I have seen. It happens a lot. People who disagree with you are not trolls. That isn't even remotely the definition.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, May 9, 2017, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Frankly, it's annoying. And it's not annoying because we're such fragile little snowflakes.
------

You mean because it disagrees with your political leanings? Of course you do. Star trek is clearly massively to the left - and even leftist contributors here agree to that at times, because it;s a bit hard to ignore. Robert is just pissed off that I call Trek out on it, and so are you ;)

The Right's description of Leftists as "Snowflakes" has got them running around like wild animals because it hits the nerve every time.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, May 9, 2017, 9:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Oppenheimer, on the other hand, maintained the rightness of the bombing in its time (perhaps a necessity to avoid Jetrel-like madness)
--------

No. It was because, like Feynman, he understood it was a World War and that huge numbers of allied deaths - and enemy deaths - would still have occurred without them. I just thank my lucky stars some of you guys weren't around with your useless, appeasing ways at the time. The same appeasing nonsense that made WWII possible in the first place.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, May 9, 2017, 9:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

This was a very good episode, but one that was spoiled somewhat by that which spoils so many Trek episodes: Leftist moralizing and grandstanding presented as absolute truth.

Rather than me wasting my time reviewing the episode like many others here have, let me just cut to the crunch:

Creating the atomic weapons did indeed derive from our advanced knowledge of physics, but guess what? So did nuclear energy - and, one day, much cleaner Fusion power will be developed based on that knowledge. The episode tries to make it seem like the atomic bombs were some awful horror that could be completely avoided at no extra cost. Strike 1 against the Lefties.

The scientists involved in the Manhattan Project overwhelmingly did not consider themselves monsters. For example, one of the nicest and most gifted humans ever to grace this planet: Richard Feynman. Strike 2 against the Lefties.

The Japanese Empire was, at the time, a ruthless and unrelenting power that refused to surrender. It didn't even surrender after the first weapon was dropped. Lefty toadies like to claim that the war with Japan could have been concluded without a land invasion, but history, and the interviews with all concerned since, says that they are flat out wrong. It would have taken huge allied deaths to force a surrender—and massive enemy deaths. Strike 3 against the Lefties. They're out!

This episode is how a Lefty sees the dropping of nuclear weapons—through the prism of emotion, rather than logic and knowledge and history.

I really don't appreciate this level of left wing propaganda in my entertainment.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 3, 2017, 7:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

You seem to be arguing numerous thing Chrome, and trying unsuccessfully to defend this episode from gaping issues with law and logic. Everything has already been said and your position is clear.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 3, 2017, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Also, I have hit a nerve with you simply because you are the exact kind of person I am referring to in the post. And you know it. Makes you feel uneasy. And it should. When the left stop acting like jackasses, I will stop calling them out on it.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 3, 2017, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Err, no. I don't think I will Robert. I wasn't even replying to you; I was agreeing with another poster. If you can't stomach other people's views and the fact Trek has a serious left wing bias, YOU go somewhere else. You don't get to tell anyone what to watch or what to review, and I will not be listening to your "advice", so get used to it and get lost ;)
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 3, 2017, 7:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

The Man, this is the second time this thread that you have used ad hominems. Your response to Elliott was just a pure antagonistic response. You also did it to me on another review. Please quit it. Either debate the points or don't bother replying. It's easy.

Dan.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 3, 2017, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

J.B. Nicholson

I read your whole post, and you are correct. The issue, like always, is gung-ho leftist writers, who don't know how to write a believable strong/smart woman. The most shocking thing is that they don't see that their heavy handed approach backfires. Rather than people seeing Torres as deserving and clever, they see an out of control person, unable to keep their emotions in check (exact same problem with Kira from DS9, which I was labelled a sexist misogynist for pointing out lmao).

The reality is that the leftist writers, safe in their lovely middle class, rural upbringings, are woefully out of touch with the general public and with reality itself. To them, a strong woman needs to act like "a man" - and this means the stereotypical aggressor, or smarmy intellectual. In other words, the writers are projecting their OWN BIAS onto the episode. "Gee, how can we make her look strong and independent? I know! Let's show her beating up her male superior officer, outwitting him at every turn, and then being promoted above him."

All that needed to be done to make this a respectable story was to have a disagreement between Janeway and Chakotay regarding who is next in line, have both candidates face off a few times, and then a respectable meeting between all concerned. It would still have tension and conflict in it, but it wouldn't have a chief engineer who breaks noses and laughs about it. It would also be believable.

As you pointed out, if we reverse this episode and make Torres a man and Carey a woman, people around here (including the media) would be screaming to high heaven about how sexist the episode is. Can you imagine them showing Torres having her nose broken by a male officer? No, neither can I. And that's why the writers are leftie, awful hypocrites. Like always with the left, hypocrisy is their soulmate. It really irritates me, and it doesn't make me watch the episode a second time.

It's the exact same thing with race and religion, too. It's okay to show a white person being made fun of, but not black. It's okay to show a bible being destroyed on television, but not a Koran. The left just don't know when to stop. And it's shows like this where they are free to make their wildest dreams come true and peddle their agenda.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, May 3, 2017, 5:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

She accused someone of raping her. If you aren't going to accept reality, then I can't help you.
Next ►Page 1 of 20
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.