Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 565 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 23
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 12:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Go start your own site, with your own reviews. Find your own audience, who agrees with you, if that's what you really want.
---------

This is an open forum for people to air their views. You're a bigot.

As for this episode, it sucks. Like most of S7, it's illogical and forced and stupid and dumb. Characters are not behaving remotely like they should be. Characters are being allowed to live, simply because they are established cast. Motivations make no sense. A book spurts fire after blood lands on the pages.

And this Breen race... Whose stupid idea was it to make it so that we can't understand them, but everyone else can? Where are the subtitles? Instead we have the farcical: Beep Whine Beeeeep! "Yes, exactly my thoughts. We are definitely able to do X that you just mentioned to me, but I am repeating so the audience can gain exposition."

Dear god... what a mess!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jan 4, 2018, 9:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

maintaining that the human species is a fixed, unchanging and created form,
-------

Errr.. that's because we are, Elliott. Scientifically, our genetic code is essentially unaltered. A human today would be able to produce offspring with a human 300 years from now. You're supremely delusional if you think even 1000 years has any meaningful effect on human biology and mental state.

Even the lion rips the deer apart. Conflict, tribalism, aggression - are all built into us. If we one day genetically alter ourselves, then, yes, there would be a real evolution in what it means to be human. But Trek doesn't subscribe to that, so your beliefs are just simply wrong.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Jan 4, 2018, 9:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Edouard
Fri, May 29, 2015, 6:08pm (UTC -6)
I hope you realize the US forces bombing and invading countries after countries are here represented by the Jem'Hadar.
-------

Whereas the Middle East became Islamic due to a gust of wind. You should be glad that the US is the world superpower and not Pakistan or North Korea. But, whoops... more self hate and delusion from a lefty.

This episode is a typical S7 outing... CRAP. Without logic. As someone above points out, it is jam-hadar packed with every silly cliche in the book. There is no suspense, because the writers shoe-horned in all our heroes and didn't have the guts to kill any of them off. What was the point of setting up a deadly opponent if you are then going to hamstring them when the plot inconveniences you? This rubbish has always bothered me, but it will bother an audience growing up to A Song of Ice and Fire even more.

It would help if the writers had really studied proper conflicts and the politics of war... but they've simply brisked over it in some shitty academic book or other. That's why the O'Brien trial in Cardassia was so abysmal, too.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Jan 3, 2018, 5:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

Who said they hated it? They just wanted to move to the next episode and skip the dire writing. There's nothing the matter with that. Personally, I watch them all. Apart from Sub Rosa.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Wed, Jan 3, 2018, 5:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

When you're having to come up with bad explanations that the writers didn't even give us, that's the time to realize it's bad writing.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

The vast majority of historical rape cases have been ignored, stifled, or shrugged off by authorities, families, or others and not taken seriously or investigated. That is the horrible history we are trying to resole
-------------

And a hell of a lot of those allegations of rape were false accusations that led to the destruction of lives. When will you be tackling that injustice, I wonder? Most rapes aren't ignored at all. They are fully investigated. And when the allegation is false, the guy is still dragged in for questioning. When it's someone famous, this is plastered all over the news, causing even further embarrassment. Have you ever been the victim of that? Regurgitating what you hear on CNN is not evidence, and nor are studies by biased left-wing think tanks.

Real life is more complicated than what your post suggests.



Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 9:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

Opening scene: Keiko is mean to Miles, as usual. I would have taken that Jumjum stick and dropped it on the floor and walked away.
-----------

I'd have shoved it somewhere. There are actually a lot of people who make apologies for Keiko and claim that the hatred to her is based on hatred of women in general. But there's no getting away from the fact that she is nothing but every man's worst nightmare for a future wife.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 6:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

Oh... I already wrote that. I must have been drunk in September. I don't remember writing that at all :P
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 6:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

The hilarious thing is... Keiko is no different before or after this possession hahaha.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 5:05am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

Watched this one again...

The ending is even worse than I remember. Sisko lecturing Worf that he should be prepared to lay down the life of his crew in the middle of a war by firing only when a target is confirmed. Directly stating it's his duty as a Starfleet officer to be negligent to those under his command in order to be of most "moral". What a total joke that is. I do wonder what some of these deluded writers would think if they were drafted into the army and made to fight, rather than hiding behind their mansions and keyboards.

And it's nature to defend yourself when under extreme stress. Even friendly fire occurs from time to time. It's awful, but it does happen. The writers are so useless at times. So so useless. Can't they get any message across without it going against nature, or logic, or both?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Dec 29, 2017, 3:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

It took me until right near the end of the comments to find a person I agreed with:

-------------
Eric
Thu, Jan 5, 2017, 12:49pm (UTC -6)
I found the premise of this episode to be so unbelievable as to make everything else unwatchable. So, you can just split off the hosts like they are just Lego pieces? And they can go into a shape shifter as well as "solids"? Like a little puff of smoke after some chanting? Ridiculous.
----------


Well said. This episode is almost as ridiculous as Threshold, and it's being given a free pass. Biology and science don't work like this. Good sci-fi doesn't work like this. This story isn't even internally consistent. It's ridiculous enough that we have to see this utterly ridiculous plot place consciousness and memory into comparable humanoid subjects... but then suddenly a totally alien lifeform (Odo) is able to participate. Just like that! Writing is sooooo easy when you can just make anything happen and the fanbase ignore it.

And Quark wouldn't have sabotaged Nog.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 7:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Body Parts

Odyssey47
Mon, Sep 5, 2016, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Considering humanity is about to conduct it's first head transplant, I bet a fetal transplant isn't very implausible especially by the 24th century.
----------

A fetal transplant to a completely different species? Just what crack pipe are you smoking from? Science called... It doesn't work that way. Why the writers did it is beyond me. Probably just scraping the barrel.

As for what people are saying regarding Keiko and Molly, oh, how I agree. I cannot stand them. Can't abide them! Keiko is an insufferable feminazi, who browbeats the hapless Chief into submission at every opportunity (and the actress seems to me to be playing herself), and Molly stares blankly ahead like she has no soul speaking in a deranged monotone voice (O - K - Mo -mmy!").

If Chucky saw Molly, he'd leg it.

And, on a serious note, I find that kids like Molly (because it's not her fault she's behaving this way) are the result of poor parenting; a lack of love or parental contact especially. No kid should be behaving in that manner if they've been brought up right and don't have some medical issue, like autism.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

"Interesting, for aliens supposed to be out of linear time. "

They should understand linear time as well as Sisko does. Since he explained it to them!

------

And if you explain non linear time to a human, they'd get it, would they, Rob ;) ?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 1:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

And for the record, Elliott is right. This episode is just stupid. 4 stars only after copious amounts of LSD. Jake and Nog truly are annoying. The stories, the bad acting - the utterly pointless presence of these two.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 1:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

Don't know how many times this needs repeating to you guys, but DS9 departs from Roddenberry's vision so far almost entirely due to it plagiarizing B5. There is no mystery there.

As for this episode... I just wish Nog and Jake would go away. Just imagine how much more actual grown up plotting we could have. The whole "find a card" quest is something a child would write. I don't find it funny... just annoying and offputting. This is what sci fi has been reduced to here? Following 2 brats around as they hunt down a baseball card from a nutcase? Count me out.

Shame, too, because Winn and Weyoun are here.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Indiscretion

It's just a dumb contrivance to make Kira and Dukat a little more friendly toward each other.

-------

Exactly. As for what the writer wrote regarding the choice of scene.... lmao. Just utter garbage. Kira and Dukat aren't just enemies and Kira wouldn't be going on a mission with this guy anyway. She'd point blank refuse to do so. Dukat is directly responsible for numerous murders of her people.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 10:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

@Skywalker

Your explanation would be good, except Starfleet isn't modern Earth. It's the future, where, apparently, we are all much more enlightened. It's been shown with other races (that blue thing in TNG) that no special favours are made.

Nog wouldn't just be allowed in. It's that, or Starfleet is not enlightened and is grossly unfair. Choose...
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 10:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

The Founders' fondness and trust for Odo often undermines their own schemes throughout the series, so it's actually really important that it's presented here.
-------

You can make that argument, but it in no way at all refutes the lack of logic in this episode. The numerous things mentioned in this thread. Also, I'd argue that the Dominion was continually retconned throughout the show to create various contrivances. "Oh, we can't do X, cause of Odo!" "Oh, we'll behave like megalomaniacs and conquerors... but not in this one case... because of Odo!"

I think far from it being consistent and making sense, it's quite the opposite.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 8:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

Chrome, is there ANYTHING about Trek you won't come riding in to defend, despite how preposterous you sound? Just accept that bad writing exists and that this episode is choc full of it.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Dec 19, 2017, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

I'm not sure why so many 'really' crept in there :P

As for why I think it's garbage, that would be off topic here, wouldn't it? Check for my review of it on imdb - DLPBurke

Sadly, imdb have recently changed the GUI into a difficult monstrosity.

The joker has no motivation other than "I'm evil". Logic is thrown out of the window to make the plot work and for the characters behave the way they do. The whole thing is badly written. Anything can happen at any time for any reason. It's dull, lazy writing. To quote myself:

"In order to make the Joker a super villain, Nolan made everyone else a super moron."



Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Dec 19, 2017, 7:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

I do like Lore. But I'd also say he wasn't well fleshed out. They didn't really want him to be really. He was a twisted, badly programmed nuisance, who was an antagonist for Data. I don't really read much more in than that.

Plus, anyone who wants to turn Wesley Crusher into a torch can't be ALL bad.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore


So, villains need clear backstory and motivation? I think The Dark Knight's Joker would disagree.
_----------

Dark Knight and that whole trilogy are badly written garbage. So, yes, good fiction does require it.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 12:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

"He certainly was"

No, he wasn't. He was having war declared on him by Britain and other countries as part of a coalition, because he was blatantly breaking international law. It's amazing you've had the gall to even write what you have.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Oct 14, 2017, 7:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

I do want to note here that I find Robert to be a very good contributor, and it would be a very boring place without divisions or conflicts of opinion. I am going to vehemently disagree with him on most things, because his political views (and that of the writers) is in many places a polar opposite of mine.

Still, I do apologize that I employ brute force tactics and that I am clearly not a people person. I find those a strength and a weakness. Generally, Robert has gotten a bit of a raw deal with me simply because I am extremely angry and frustrated with how our world works, and he represents, to some extent, the embodiment of the root of many of the causes. But that's not an excuse for how I sometimes conduct myself on here.

I doubt how I operate will change, but I want you to know that I am not oblivious to my short-comings. And I am not unfeeling.

Daniel
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 5:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

@The Ghost of Jerry Falwell

I see you don't disappoint in showing us all how lame and backward and intolerant the Left are.
Next ►Page 1 of 23
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.