Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 458 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 19
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Mar 15, 2017, 3:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Clearly my comment went over your head, Linda. I am talking about genetic engineering - Designer babies. We're well on our way to that kind of future. That's if we don't kill ourselves beforehand. The signs don't bode too well for us, to be honest.

@Victor

I was merely bringing up a sport. I could have brought up virtually all of them, since men at dominating - and will continue to dominate - at all of them. I didn't bring up tennis or any physical sport to show male superiority in intelligence. HIL-AR-IOUS :P For that, you should look to MENSA, chess, inventors, scientists, and even influential writers. You don't have a leg to stand on. Facts don't care about your feelings. Nor do I.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Mar 13, 2017, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Weasley response. It's like saying Hitler is a great man and well suited for the role of German leader, because he has great oratory skills and was polite to his dog, Blondie.

It doesn't change the fact he left Germany in rubble. And Brooks is a crap actor, despite the cherry picking.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Mar 13, 2017, 7:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Except "college graduates" is a flimsy and loaded statistics. It doesn't tell you anything about what those people graduated in. You let me know when women are competing equally with men in chess, darts, snooker, and tennis, yeah? And when inventors and scientists are generally women, as opposed to overwhelmingly male. Good luck!

@linda

You are correct. It could well be that our days as a species are numbered in favour of something more intelligent - but I get the feeling it will be via the tampering with genetics.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Mar 13, 2017, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

NASA and other organizations like you to keep ponying up the dough. They know very well that the distances involved and the logistics of us ever getting far enough into space are not realistic. We can barely even reach the bottom of our own ocean. Sci-fi is fun - but, it's just that: fiction.

There is nothing obnoxious or ignorant in pointing out that inertia dampers are impossible - that warp travel is virtually impossible - that time dilation is real - that oxygen supply, food supply, fuel, life expectancy, and other problems are real. These problems are basically dooming us to an eternity in this solar system. It doesn't matter whether you agree with me or not - Those are the facts. Even communicating with another intelligent race is ridiculously limited due to the light-speed barrier.

I know people are going to argue over this for a long time, but assuming that humans are still around in 1000 years, I have a feeling that their optimism will be far lower than it is today.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Mar 13, 2017, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I am willing to bet that there ARE aliens comparable or greater in intelligence than us somewhere in the universe (although, that is by no means certain), but we, as a species, will never see one, as it is nearly impossible. In fact, I said impossible before, because it basically is. Breaking light speed in the manner Trek does is totally impossible. Not even in question, really. It will never happen for a variety of reasons— Mathematical and practical.

===============
@DLPB

You really are an arrogant and obnoxious bellend.
=========

I have a feeling you weren't going for irony with that post, so I have to assume you are as thick as shit :P
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Mar 2, 2017, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

A very good episode. Worf episodes are usually good. Gowron and his actor are always a great addition.

"What kind of fools do you have working for you, Picard?"

"Have you ever fought an idea, Picard? It has no weapon to destroy. No body to kill."

"A clone? Did you really think you would get away with this kind of fraud, Koroth? I will have you and this abomination put to death!"

Hahahaha!

I also liked how they didn't reset the ending - that Kahlass became the emperor.

In the end, it's an episode about faith - and it's done in a respectful way, rather than an all out bigoted assault, which many writers choose to do. Well written, well acted, and a satisfying ending. 9/10.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Mar 2, 2017, 7:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

*over hyped.

Additionally, I thought the next episode, Family, was far better.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Mar 2, 2017, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

I find this two-parter to be the most hyped episode in the history of sci-fi to be honest with you. I think it's a good 8/10, but people go on like it's The Inner Light or All Good Things. It is not. I can understand that it's exciting with the Borg and all, and people get sucked in to the idea of Picard becoming one. Ooooo, how will he be rescued?

But, come on, does anyone else here realize what they did to the Borg? They turned it from a savage killer into battle of the week, and it started right here. The very idea that Picard would be savable after this ordeal is just ridiculous. We were told originally that once you were assimilated, that was it. And, even if that were not the case (it was), it breaks all suspension of disbelief to accept they'd ever manage to find him and retrieve him from that deadly Borg ship. That alone knocks a mark off for me.

But the entire thing was designed to play on people's love and fear of the Borg. It's got a lot of fizz, but no pop. It's got drama (actually melodrama), but it's all artificial and phony. There might have been a real tension there if there were any chance that Picard could be lost forever, but we all knew that the main cast was protected from death on TNG.

I'd have to watch it again, but those things stood out to me - along with that awful Shelby character with her silly hair-do. I didn't take her seriously as an opponent for Riker, because she was poorly written and the acting was over the top. It was like she'd just come from some hair salon job and walked right onto the set to say her lines.

I'll have to watch this again soon, then I'll probably be able to give this some pros and some more cons.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Mar 1, 2017, 6:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

I don't think I really need to state the obvious, do I? This finale is one of the best put to television. So far, the only TV shows I've give top marks for the finale are:

Babylon 5
Star Trek TNG
Breaking Bad

I think that's it. Firefly had a decent ending episode, but it wasn't really a proper ending, because it was stupidly cancelled.

So, with that said, let me run down which episodes in TNG I gave a 10 rating. I'll need to watch them all again to note the 9/10 ones.


10:
Reunion (possibly)
Redemption (possibly)
Ship in a Bottle (possibly)
Nth Degree (possibly)
Firstborn (possibly)
Cause and Effect
Yesterday's Enterprise
The Inner Light
Chain of Command Part II
Tapestry
Parallels
Family
Q Who
All Good Things


No. No "Best of Both Worlds". Why? Because I think it's got too many contrivances, it dumbed down the Borg (and relegated them to pure rating gatherers), and it had that god-awful unrealistic Shelby character. I will give it an 8. It was decent and entertaining, but the hype it receives is hilarious.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Mar 1, 2017, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

You know, I had always thought of that bit as being implausible. And yet: consider the fact that Korean Air Lines CRASHED a 747 because the first officer, who realized the plane was about to do controlled flight into terrain, said nothing, because that would involve contradicting a superior.
---------

Yes, and you seem to have missed the point. This is a rare occurrence and is taught to pilots as an example of what not to do. And that's the case even though it's 2017. Trek is our future by hundreds of years. Any space faring race would have learned these lessons a thousand times over.

The original poster is correct. No space faring race would conclude that waiting was beneficial to safety... because it isn't. This isn't a lone pilot making a mistake - it's an entire planet's philosophy on a serious protocol. Your comparison is utterly bogus.

It's a fun episode overall, but there are some serious issues, like the aforementioned. The biggest of all is how stupid they made the Klingons in Trek. Couldn't we have had a prideful, warrior race that was at least believable? The writers were out of their depth. Take martial arts - There is a discipline, especially at the highest levels. It's an art form. The Klingon captain in this episode is the worst of all. He's psychotic.



Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Feb 27, 2017, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

Oh, and Crusher pissed me off, too. After the whining about being nice to ol' Hugh the friendly Borg, she would've been packing in minutes.
------------

HAHAHAHA! Here here.

I still enjoyed this episode and it does ask a fundamental question of existence. I do agree with you that it wasn't handled too well, though.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Feb 26, 2017, 9:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

I suggest that, rather than laughing your head off about the past, you direct your criticisms to the present. I.e., nearly every Muslim majority country, where child brides can be legal, child sex legal (as young as 9), FGM perfectly acceptable, slavery (in some places) still exists, and where basic human rights are absent (see Saudi for the best example of all).

But, no, you'd rather attack a country that, while not perfect, is a damn site better. The West allows affords you the freedom to post your ramblings online. I am getting so so fed up with people like you. And the anger I have is catching on very fast with the majority of the West. You'll likely have to sit through 8 years of Trump - and I sincerely hope you have to squirm through the leadership of Le Pen and Geert Wilders.

Your double standards aren't being tolerated anymore. People like me are taking charge of the lunatic asylum those like you created.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 7:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I should also note that since I posted last, various arguments I have read have shown me that my opposition to the 2nd Amendment was in error. I still don't like the idea of a population being able to buy weaponry, but I like the idea of liberty being eroded and violently replaced even less. And that's what the 2nd Amendment is there for. It's primary focus is to stop a hostile take over. One of the first things the Nazis and other totalitarian governments did was to remove any means that the population had for fighting back. I have also seen that Switzerland has its own form of the 2nd Amendment and does not seem to have the same gun problems. This is a much more complicated issue than I gave it credit for.

Also, my view on abortion has changed. I am now against it in all cases, apart from where the mother will likely die, where the mother was raped, or where the child is likely to be born with a defect. Again, it's a complicated issue. I am certainly against our current use of it - basically a form of contraception. It cheapens life.

Just thought I'd clear that up. It's always possible to reevaluate ones ideas - if one has an open mind.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 7:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

And I call on you to stop trying to close down an interesting debate and an interesting thread. The whole point of Star Trek and shows like it is - on some level - to provoke discussion on important issues.

Set Bookmark
dlpb
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Explorers* heh.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 3:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

It was bad enough already, but when her powers would have come in useful but interfered with the story the writers wanted to tell, she was either not on the bridge, or some sort of issue stopped her telepathy. So they just cheated whenever necessary. Blatantly. They really shouldn't have bothered adding her character at all.

And you're right on Worf. His advice was always ignored, and often stupidly. "Captain, going into this nebula is extremely dangerous for little gain. " "We are explorer's Mr Worf. Shut it."
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Feb 14, 2017, 7:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

Because Starfleet is stupid and would prefer this evil man to carry on abusing hundreds of lifeforms for his own titillation. I'm glad that the writers decided to show that the machine weighed up the good and the bad and made a decision not based on emotion.

I believe that is the true meaning of the scene that is lost on most people.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 10:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

There isn't anything wrong with that dialogue if the "I wish I could tell you" is an introduction to more information. It isn't being used as "I wish I could tell you. Bye." It's being used as "I wish I could tell you. Check this out..."

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMAtGaTl6WA

More Benny!!
Set Bookmark
DLPb
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

I agree, Bob. I really like this episode, but the solution by Mary Sue (again) - and this religious-like nonsense spoiled the ending. It's still an episode I rewatch a lot, though.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

A very decent episode. I didn't see the twist coming, either. It was a believable and nicely written episode. Some very nice acting, and it's always nice to see some of Trek's biggest guest/recurring actors. A solid 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Feb 9, 2017, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

LMAO Walter!

I always end up rewatching episodes, like this one. Another thing struck me. What, exactly, do these people offer? If a bunch of savage outcasts wanted to come back to your world after you'd made it nice and homely, you'd only allow it if you needed something. Some sort of mutual benefit. There doesn't appear to be one here. Basically Picard is asking one side to make all the concessions for absolutely nothing! In fact, worse than nothing - because it will cost money and probably lives to get these rockers back integrated.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jan 29, 2017, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Bravestarr
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 12:29pm (UTC -6)
Ah yes, Nog. DS9's version of Wesley Crusher. Does anyone else get irked by how much the producers focus on this little fucker?
----------------

HAHAHAHA! YES! ME!

Nog is by far the most annoying and useless and shoehorned character in DS9. He's just there to give the actor a job. I can't stand any scene he is in - and the writing for the character is piss poor!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jan 29, 2017, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I always skip this. I try to watch it, but it's impossible. I can't stand Nog. Jake is a pointless character too with a daft "reporter" job to keep him in the show. And then we are forced to believe these naive teens are running a star ship. It's cringe inducing. Unwatchable.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Jan 22, 2017, 7:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Out of universe I'm sure Luke is 100% correct and it is kind of insulting. If a COMMANDER can run a space station why can't the FLAG SHIP have a Captain as a first officer.
--------

It's more to do with the fact everyone would then call Riker captain from time to time and this is confusing in a TV show. Nah, it would be too silly to try to pull off.
Next ►Page 1 of 19
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.