Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Dctr
Sat, Mar 10, 2018, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

@DLPB There is simply not a shred of evidence to suggest that a majority of rape accusations are false. There is on the other hand a great amount of evidence that suggests that not only are most cases of rape not reported at all, and that those that are routinely end up being ignored or badly investigated, today.
Here, I was quite disappointed since the episode started with what could have been an interesting examination of this kind of case. The episode ultimately tried to go both ways: putting Voyager on the other side of the "aliens make false accusation" story and an examination of a rape accusation. The way the two were put together was disturbing.
Set Bookmark
cdczombie
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 6:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

My 2 cents, when Peter's mother died, why didn't Bones try and resuscitate her? They just stood there. At least try and do CPR, right?
Set Bookmark
SolidChamp
Tue, Aug 2, 2016, 10:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Finally decided to post a comment on this excellent website, since I'm picking and choosing episodes to watch on blu-ray with the help of Jammer's reviews.

My only minor nitpick with this episode is the missed opportunity that is the ending with the Bozeman. I believe it was covered in a novel in the EU, but it's really compelling to think about what would happen with the Bozeman and its crew after the fact. It almost feels like it could have provided a chance to make a two-parter, with the second episode being completely different from the first, dealing with the politics and ethics of bringing an old, obsolete ship and her crew into the modern age.

Just a thought.
Set Bookmark
Soundchaser
Fri, Mar 6, 2015, 7:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I'm still kinda new to Star Trek, since I'm exploring it starting last year. I first saw the 2009 reboot and then got interested in the old TOS movies, watched them all and then finally the TNG movies and the TNG series. (and Into Darkness) I checked out the TOS series as well, but I only liked few of the episodes...(I love the Kirk crew, but most of the stories are really silly and stupid to me) Until now TNG is THE Star Trek to me and I like the series the most, and I'm also a huge fan of the "The Inner Light" episode, which is my favourite one of the whole series.

I now went on to DS9 and wanted to give this series a chance. Unfortunately most of the first three seasons was disappointing/average to me, as I always see much potential in the characters and many stories, but it rarely works for the whole episode imo. I still find TNG much superior in story telling than DS9 until now.
I just startet season 4 today and already liked the first two episodes, but damn, THIS third episode here...I think I've found my "The Inner Light" of DS9! What a brillant episode! I loved it from the start and I still can't stop thinking about it - it's the same as with "The Inner Light". I'm curious how the series will continue from now on - until now I really like the fourth season. ;-)
Set Bookmark
SolidCastADM
Fri, Dec 7, 2012, 7:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Riker has my favorite line from this episode: "I don't know what you did Sir, but it looks like everything's back to normal."
Set Bookmark
wildcolonialboy
Wed, Jan 4, 2012, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

I was actually really disappointed, because in the end of the T'Pol Archer scene, it kind of intimates that her strong opposition is due to her Trillium addiction.

I really would like to have seen some stronger opposition from the crew, and really think they could have had a better confrontation between Archer and Damar.. I mean, alien captain dude.

Archer was too angry, I wanted to see him upset and apologetic. He was a bit too swaggery considering he was really doing something quite unseemly.
Set Bookmark
wildcolonialboy
Wed, Dec 14, 2011, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

I'm surprised no one has mentioned (as far as I can see) what really stuck out to me; Garak says (paraphrasing), "If you want to ensure the Romulans see evidence of Dominion duplicity, we're going to have to manufacture that evidence".

This comment is so much more troubling in light of the Iraq War that occurred several years after Deep Space Nine finished.

This episode, with Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges, really evokes a certain prescience in light of what has occurred since 9/11.
Set Bookmark
DC
Sat, Aug 6, 2011, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Menagerie

Regarding "The Menagerie" having a framing device for the clips that is "a little forced:" A little? It's incredibly forced. For one thing the legal proceedings make no sense (Spock pleads guilty, then gives testimony? Then is found guilty by the panel but still gets to present evidence? Trespassing is punishable by death, and is the only death penalty still on the books? WTF?). It's so ridiculous that the only reason to watch is to see how it ends, and one of the episode's strengths is how it weaves in the ending from "The Cage" to show Pike's fate.

If you haven't seen Futurama's "Where No Fan Has Gone Before" it's highly recommended. Being more familiar with the movies and only seeing the episodes occasionally when I first saw it, I got all the series-wide parodies, but it has some really spot-on parody of "The Menagerie" and "The Squire of Gothos" (which you're way too harsh on in my opinion, that's a 3-star for me if only because Trelane is a fantastic character fantastically acted) in particular. Not just the Pike wheelchair reference, but Zap Branigan's line that trespassing is punishable by "four consecutive death sentences" is even more hilarious now that I've seen "The Menagerie."
Set Bookmark
KingofMadCows
Wed, Dec 22, 2010, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

The episode's message was pretty obvious and a bit preachy but it did have some subtle touches that people don't seem to have noticed.

The one aspect of the sanctuary district that few people seemed to have picked out is how a large number of its residents, perhaps even the majority, are mentally ill. There was that one crazy guy that Dax had to deal with, which was pretty obvious and played for laughs but there are hints all over the place that suggest the sanctuary districts are the asylums of the future.

Sisko and Bashir were automatically assumed to be "dims" when they were processed. Bashir talked to Sisko about a schizophrenic he saw on the streets. Many of the people in the background behaved like they had mental illnesses. The ghost leader clearly had some kind of personality disorder and it's suggested that most ghosts have anti-social tendencies.

Clearly, the writers were aware of the huge number of mentally ill people in the homeless population today and how it goes unrecognized by most people.
Set Bookmark
KingofMadCows
Tue, Dec 21, 2010, 1:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

They never actually expanded on the no money concept. For all we know, it could just mean that there's no government backed money.

The Federation government provides the basic needs for people like food, water, and shelter, but if you want something more, like your own shuttle craft or holosuite, you'd have to work for a privately owned business.
Set Bookmark
Kingofmadcows
Wed, Dec 15, 2010, 5:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I should also add that the "what is reality" part of the episode is reminiscent of "All Good Things." Remember Q's lesson for Picard in that episode, "For that one fraction of a second, you were open to options you had never considered. *That* is the exploration that awaits you. Not mapping stars and studying nebulae, but charting the unknown possibilities of existence."

In a way, the Prophets were teaching Sisko/Benny the same lesson, giving him/them a glimpse into the mysteries of existence. I think that this also illustrates how DS9 focuses more on the social science aspect of science fiction while TNG focuses more on the natural science aspects.
Set Bookmark
Kingofmadcows
Wed, Dec 15, 2010, 5:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I think some people are missing some of the finer details of the episode. This episode does make the obvious statement that racism is bad but it also examines racism in the kind of detail that you don't find on television.

Think about it, Benny Russell basically writes the story of DS9 but DS9 never made a big deal about the fact that Sisko is black. If you just read the DS9 scripts and ignore the parts that describe Sisko's appearance, you won't even know what Sisko's race is since it is never brought up except in this episode and another episode in season 7. The writers could have easily made Sisko Asian or Hispanic or Caucasian or even a woman and it wouldn't make that much of a difference on DS9's story just like how they could have made Picard Italian or Portuguese instead of French and it wouldn't have much effect on TNG.

The fact that Benny Russell was so insistent on making Sisko black even though it would have no impact on the story is an excellent illustration of the mechanism of racism. Racism isn't just about how one groups benefits from the suffering of another group. It's not just about the physical oppression of a group of people. It's about the suppression of ideas. That is the true evil of racism that this episode is trying to show us. It ties everything a person does, everything a person is, to their race so that you can completely dismiss that person's feelings, thoughts, and ideas based on something as superficial as their skin color.

Also, this episode serves to remind us that segregation was not that long ago. There is the notion in society today that segregation and slavery ended a long time ago. There are plenty of people out there who think that slavery ended hundreds of years ago. In reality, institutional racism wasn't really abolished until 1968. When you see an African American with grey hair, then that person lived during a time when black people were beaten by the police and lynched by mobs.
Set Bookmark
KingofMadCows
Sun, Sep 26, 2010, 6:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Having the Breen join the Dominion was a great idea. I like how this alliance was foreshadowed by the season 5 episode where Worf and Garak were captured by the Dominion, and we saw a Breen in the Dominion prison camp. Considering how both Bashir and Martok were replaced by Changelings, it is possible that the captured Breen may have been replaced by a Changeling too. Maybe that's how the Dominion got the Breen to join them.
Set Bookmark
DC
Mon, Mar 24, 2008, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

A couple comments on how this season would eventually build into DS9, the best Ster Trek series bar none. (I don't care what anyone else says.) Partly for these reasons, two of the best "arc" episodes in TNG are here, and their ramifications would carry for years to come.

First of course is "The Wounded," which is an easy 4 stars for me. I actually thought Maxwell was one of the best guest Starfleet characters on TNG because he was unhinged. It made him very interesting, and the fact that he was probably right about the Cardassians sets up how devious the Cardies would be in future stories. I love the Cardassians, partly because they were the best race devised in TNG. Screw the Borg! (J/K) Without "The Wounded" there's no DS9, or even Voyager. Of course one shouldn't judge an episode on future ramifications. I think it's a fabulous ep on its own, and its long-term setup is a major bonus.

Then there's "Reunion," which is another 4 star in my book largely for the introduction of Gowron, as well as the high drama of K'Ehleyr and Duras being killed. Worf's characterization is perfect here because he breaks Starfleet protocol, and Picard's dressing down of him is also wonderful.

Looking back on this episode, given where Gowron would go in DS9 episodes like "Tacking into the Wind" (a personal fave of that series), I've re-thought my suspicions regarding K'Mpec's death. In this ep Worf and the rest of the Starfleet characters think Duras poisoned him, but I wonder... The only proof of wrongdoing on Duras's part is that one of his bodyguards sabotaged the one meeting. Worf suspects Duras because he knows his family has no honor, but Gowron's background isn't well-defined. Indeed Gowron only accedes to the chancellorship by default. K'Mpec's death became an unsolved mystery. After the aforementioned DS9 eps, I think Gowron poisoned K'Mpec. He was no brilliant chancellor either. Storytelling like this is one of the reason why I'm a Ronald D. Moore fan.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.