Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 42,235 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,690
Set Bookmark
SuperSpaceVirus
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

This episode served as proof that they should have canceled Voyager and instead replaced it with a series about Captain Sulu's adventures on the Excelsior.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 6:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I'm reasonably confident that the powers that be have completely butchered the pre-show publicity. Based on that assumption, I really don't think we know that much about what the show's actually going to be like at this point.
Set Bookmark
Ton Loc
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

This is the review that completely removes Jammers credibility with me. This was an effing masterfull episode. 4 stars easy. Sez Me.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Some of you take these shows way too seriously! Iove this episode. It's not even a "guilty pleasure" for me. I outright love "Genesis." I also loved "Masks" and "Sub-Rosa." Those are some of my favorite S7 episodes. Yes, it didn't make sense but it was highly entertaining, which is all that matters to me!
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

"This episode establishes into Star Trek canon that the most powerful weapon in the galaxy is a Malon Garbage Truck. "

Well, second most. Most powerful is apparently 1 Omega molecule. One of Voyager's silliest conceits was establishing so many ridiculously superlative phenomena.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

navamske said:

"The entire time I was watching and listening to him, I was aware that he was Jason Alexander"

That's a large part of why I don't enjoy most movies, generally only ones with largely unknown actors. I can't watch a film starring, say, George Clooney or Brad Pitt or Leonardo DiCaprio without being so aware that I'm watching George Clooney or Brad Pitt or Leonardo DiCaprio that the experience is diminished.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

A person being "cured" after Borg assimilation wasn't a "never happened before" thing, but it is rare. I always thought it would have been an intriguing notion if they had it that a person who has been assimilated by the Borg and then restored was thereafter immune from it ever happening again. In such a case, the Borg Queen's machinations with Seven of Nine, rather than just instantly re-assimilating her as some here indicate should have happened, would make considerably more sense.
Set Bookmark
RMS81
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

This is by far the worst Star Trek film.

Not only did the characters often act totally out of character, it's almost as if the writers and director barely watched the series.

The point of Star Trek is to present alien cultures that reflect on aspects of the human condition as a kind of metaphor. This does nothing of the sort.

All it does is present an evil alien that could basically be interchangeable with any other action flick villain. It was painful to watch and it seemed like they were writing the film with a mass audience, rather than a Trek audience, in mind.

Whereas TNG and DS9 (and often VOY) were usually very intellectual, this feels like dumbed down sci-fi without any complex allegories or philosophical statements.

Set Bookmark
Dave
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 3:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

There's a Bajoran aboard here, and we saw one in Learning Curve. It seems awfully soon after Bajor's liberation in 2368...surely no Bajoran had time to enter and graduate from Starfleet Academy by the time Voyager launched. Perhaps we can assume that these two either enlisted or were Maquis.

But then there's Seska. She was an ensign, which means she spend four years at Starfleet Academy (which in hindsight was quite an effort to establish a Cardassian cover), and that means that she first entered Starfleet Academy while Bajor was still in Cardassia's clutches. That should have been suspicious at least.
Set Bookmark
The Dreamer
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

@dgalvan
Additional Bits and pieces of the Crusher Family/Picard history are touched on in the TNG episodes
Encounter at Farpoint;The Bonding,; Family; Violations ;Attached all contain details that flesh out this story arc, no specific episode focuses on it though

Set Bookmark
RMS81
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Along with the baffling Sela storyline from Season 5, this is one of the most confusing and incomprehensible episodes of TNG I’ve seen. 
The concept of ancient alien figures altering current technology to share a mythological story is intriguing; the episode didn’t make it very clear whether all of these figures were real people in history, or whether they were avatars of deities in this alien culture.  I lean to the latter explanation.
I agree with other posters who said the episode felt a bit hollow and meaningless.  We don’t see how these figures from an ancient alien race have any consequence or importance for the lives of current Starfleet officers. 
We don’t really even know anything about this alien race, so we aren’t very invested in its background, and we don’t learn anything new about the regular charaters (or see any character development) so I had no emotional response to the episode other than boredom
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Kim: "I've always wondered what it would be like to date an alien."

Hasn't he already? Twice, IIRC.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

"And my point it that "red carpet screening impression" are completely meaningless. It's 100% aritifical hype (have you ever heard of a negative red carpet reaction for anything?) which means absolutely nothing. "

Of course I have. Plenty of times early reviews or first impressions of various TV shows have been mixed or negative. That doesn't mean that we should put absolute faith in those, but it's neither stupid nor naive to be enthused by positive news. I will most definitely wait to see the show for myself before I form my own opinion, but that doesn't mean I can't welcome encouraging early words.

That is completely different from what you've been doing on this site for months: incessantly hating and dissing a TV show based on practically nothing that is indicative of the final's product quality. I mean, I get that you might not be overly happy with this continued prequelitis syndrome or that you might not like the Klingon redesign from a purely aesthetic or canonical perspective or that you are uncertain about the implied "darkness" of the setting. But those things, while certainly legitimate things to worry about from a subjective standpoint, stand in no direct correlation with Discovery's level of quality.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

Tom said they "could use an extra hand", so Chakotay was going to go, but B'Lana decided to go instead.

But then...Vorik left. So the net number of "hands" never changed.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I'm still hung up on the part where they're making me pay for my Star Trek.

Get off my lawn!
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Thanks for the heads up, Alexandrea. I've been gauging reaction to see if this is worth following, but I'm glad to not have bothered past the first episode.
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

@Chrome, if you have read every review Jammer has done on this show then it's the mistakable conclusion that he is disappointed with this show as a whole. And I just want to voice my opinion that I disagree wth that general sentiment and am very fond of this show as a whole.
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Circle

Some of the guest acting was atrocious. The Bajoran Minister and the Bajoran war hero talked in flat, super-quiet tones that sounded like Kira had got them with rohypnol, and they sucked the life out of every scene they were in. We're talking Voyager's extras levels of acting here. Was Rick Berman involved in this episode?

This is in marked contrast to the brilliant, natural and frequently urgent acting from everyone else. The main cast have definitely found their comfort zone and the writers are mining DS9's premise for all it's worth. That's why this show will always be the best of Trek.
Set Bookmark
digitaurus
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

In this episode we learn the consequences of refusing to sleep with Riker. I'm guessing if he HAD slept with her he would have found a way to stop her without vaporising her.

Seriously, was this kind of sexist behaviour acceptable back in the 80s?
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I'm not very optimistic about this show... I hope I'm wrong, but it seems like they didn't learn their lessons from Enterprise for one thing, and for another I'm afraid this series will be too Abrahms like for its own good. The Dominon War storyline to me worked well because 1) There were seasons of build up to it, that made us care about the characters and setting and then feel the shock of our beloved Federation going to war. 2) We didn't know how it would turn out, what the total damage would be or if the Federation would even survive. 3) The Dominion was a fresh, exceptionally powerful adversary that brought in new interesting threats for our characters to face, like the Shapeshifting founders, the drug using, cloaking Jem'hadar 4) the threat united the Alpha Quadrant in a galactic "world war".

Basing the series around conflict with the Klingons just can't get me near as excited as I was about the Dominion War. It just feels stale, it's been seen before in TOS and the films. I'm not saying that they couldn't make some good material out of this premise, but it just feels limiting. Even in Voyager, not one of my favorite series BTW, they had the Borg as a good fresh nemesis for our heroes (even if they were a bit neutered compared to how they were originally presented in TNG).
Set Bookmark
Alexandrea
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

The episode trumps itself up to deal with issues in the Trekkian tradition, but it emphatically does not. For anyone who works with issues of sex changes at birth, gender identity, circumcision, or other questions fumbled by the episode, it varies between poorly handled and outright offensive. The episode clearly wants to follow in the tradition of TNG's "The Outcast," but its politics are ten steps backwards from a 25-year-old hour of television.

Let's begin with a throwaway scene separate from the episode's primary issues. Yafit the blob-alien has faked illness three times in order to hit on the ship's doctor. When she confronts him on it, he insists she go out with him, and on her refusal, he protrudes a phallic shape and tells her there's more where that came from. She shoos him out of her office.

Overt sexual harassment on a Union starship is evidently no big deal. "Hey, it's just comedy!" you might protest. First, it's not very good comedy. Second, MacFarlane is claiming to create aspirational science fiction, a future where humanity has progressed beyond what we are today. Today, we have protections against workplace harassment. If our brighter future is one where we're expected to laugh it off, count me out.

This principle applies to the way the episode (and so far the series in general) handles all of its issues. The Orville's failure to move beyond sex as a physical binary shows that the writers are not attuned to dialogues in 2017, or even the 1990s, to say nothing of presenting a more enlightened future than the present day. Since Moclan males can lay eggs, what it means to "be female" becomes even more absurd--evidently it means to look and sound like what we expect from a woman.

Is the show making a point about infant circumcision? Not really, considering the practice is used as an example of something the Union is fine with.

Is it engaging in meaningful dialogue about infant sex "correction" operations for intersex children? Hardly, since the writers clearly did no research and treat the operations as if they can be performed with no risk to the child or long-term health consequences for them as adults, as if making a baby "male" or "female" is a straightforward endeavor.

The only point the show can claim to be making is that being a woman is not a disability. The episode preens as if this is some kind of progressive point, but it is not. TNG in the 80s would not have stooped to presenting such a theme as a message; it took the point in principle for granted (even though it took some time for us to have a woman captain in practice). The Orville revels in its nostalgia, but it is not acceptable for its politics to represent a regression from decades past.

MacFarlane's brand of crass comedy isn't just a tonal mismatch with sincere sci-fi. His particular choices fundamentally undermine any attempts to aspirational science fiction the show might have.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 9:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

@Paul M.

"I trust it's not that hard to notice the difference between:

(a) Huh, these long unusual titles seems cool. Hey, first red carpet impressions are positive. Hope these things bode well for the show!
(b) Prequel! Hate! Dark'n'edgy! Hate! Swearing! Hate! New Klingon design! Hate!"

I trust it's not that hard to notice the difference between what people like me and Robert any many others have actually posted and the moronic strawman you've just set up.

And my point it that "red carpet screening impression" are completely meaningless. It's 100% aritifical hype (have you ever heard of a negative red carpet reaction for anything?) which means absolutely nothing.

So yes: Getting all excited over those "reviews" is hardly what I'll call a rational response. At least your so called "haters" are basing their opinions on actual content that has been established as being part of the show, rather than on a manipulative marketing hype that means nothing.

And really, this isn't an issue of "pro-Discovery" vs "anti-Discovery". There plenty of people out there who liked what they saw in the trailers and are looking forward for the show, and that's great. There are also many people who have negative opinions on the show for the stupidest reasons (like those who complain about having a black female lead... how these people became Trekkies in the first place, boggles my mind).




Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 7:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

@Sheap

"Here it's supposed to be used to show that women aren't inferior to men, but the reality is that they are physically weaker, and Alara is only so strong because she's a member of a super-strong species."

I think the point here is that even though women are *on average* weaker than men, the individual differences are so great that in renders such gross generalizations meaningless.

Even here on earth, a fit woman would be stronger than a male couch potato.

At least, that was my own take on this.

"The Union doesn't seem all that united. They probably shouldn't even call the Orville a Union ship, but rather a Terran ship."

It is certainly less "united" than the UFP.

The Union reminds me a bit of the present day UN: It's an organization with lots of lofty ideals, but in the end the members pretty much do what ever they want. The Union seems to be a little more formal an alliance, but not by much.

And I don't see any contradiction between this and the Orville being "a Union ship". Space is a natural place to have joint ventures of this sort, and we already see this kind of international cooperation today with the ISS and SpaceX. And people tend to require a higher standard of themselves in space: Out there we are no longer Americans or Europeans or Asians or whatever... We are all representatives of the human race.

Set Bookmark
Sheap
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 6:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

To give an example of the sort of thing I'm thinking of for why the Moclans might be right to go all-male, consider the Asari from Mass Effect (a true single gender species). They prefer to mate with non-Asari, because the offspring of a pairing of two Asari sometimes turn out to be vampires. Maybe there is a similar problem with the offspring of heterosexual Moclan couples (but which might have had advantages in the past).
Set Bookmark
Darren
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 6:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

Well, I just signed up for CBS All Access .... I fear that no matter what potential this show might have, it's not going to live up to it, and that no matter how much I might hope to like it ... it's just not going to work. But it's allegedly Star Trek, so I have to give it a try. Between the first week free (with two episodes coming out today) and then just $5.99 for a month's worth (four more), I'll get six episodes to start with. Perhaps after those, I'll know whether I'll be continuing or not.

I wish I could know in advance, so maybe I would've just not signed up at all; but the consolation is, if I do end up liking it and turn out to be wrong in all my suspicions, I won't miss out. And should I find that it indeed isn't truly Star Trek, then I suppose it'll send a clearer message to CBS once I cancel.

It's been a conflicting and disappointing ride--but now, it's nearly time. Engage ...
Next ►Page 1 of 1,690
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.