Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
John Clark
Sun, Jan 10, 2016, 3:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

Clark

I want to know how the duplicate Riker was shot. It's obviously the same actor, yet they appear in the same frame, even in front of each other, moving around. How do they do this?
Set Bookmark
Clarky
Sun, Sep 21, 2014, 10:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: Confessions of a Closet Trekkie

Ah! So there is hope for me yet, even if I can remember begging my parents to stay up till 8pm to watch STO, on TV, in black and white!
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sat, Feb 23, 2013, 10:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

While the interacts between the two Torres proved interesting, this episode only gets, at most, two stars from me.

I'm sorry, but it's like, no one even cared that the Vidiians had killed off one of the crewmen. Not only that, but these people are systematically rounding up people from around the galaxy and harvesting their organs.

I don't care for the whole "they're trying to protect themselves" argument. You don't kill other people to protect yourself. What makes them any more special than others. And what exactly happened to Janeway's promise that she'd destroy them if they messed with her crew again?

If it was Sisko, he would sent a few well-aimed photon torpedoes their way. God, I wish it was Sisko.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Mon, Feb 11, 2013, 2:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

I have to say, I agree with Banjo and Michael. While I can see where Janeway was coming from, I had no sympathy for the aliens. Yes, it was sad that they were dying of a disease. But I lost sympathy the minute I learned that they were killing others to preserve themselves. I'm sorry, but murder is murder. They're no more special than anyone else, so why is it they feel justified in killing someone else for their own selfish desire to keep living.

Even though everything worked out in the end, I wouldn't have allowed the situation to get as far as Janeway allowed it to.

And to echo someone else's post, if you only needed one lung to survive, why didn't they just take one?

Now, we've got this dying species that's most likely going to continue killing other people in order to stay alive.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Mon, Feb 11, 2013, 12:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

I took away that the message of the episode was that beauty is what you make. Believe in yourself, and you'll be just fine. You don't need shallow products or whatever to create some phony sense of self-esteem.

Mudd described the drug as "taking what you have and giving you more of it."

In the end, when Eve took the fake drugs, but still became beauty, it was sort of an obvious way of saying that she was beautiful because she believed in herself rather than relying on some drug.

I think it was really relevant when you realize that most women on television in those days (and even today) tended to be oversexed nymphos with thick layers of makeup and beauty products.

Yeah, I know, that sounds kind of lame. I'm slightly annoyed by myself typing this, but that's what I took from the episode, at least.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 10, 2013, 12:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

I enjoyed this episode but a few things bothered me.

1. The Kazon live as a tribal culture on a planet with no water and as far as we can tell, few resources. The only group we see who live in a modern setting is the Ocampa, and even then, they were "blessed" with those comforts by the Caretaker. So, how is it that the Kazon are capable of building these large starships with weapons that seem to overpower the Voyager. When Janeway supplied them with water, they seemed to revere the Federation crew as 'gods,' but suddenly, they're capable of taking them on in battle. It just seemed a bit...off.

2. Have been forgotten that bombs exist? I mean, the Maquis were resistance fighters. They had to be familiar with concept of a device that exploded after a certain amount of time. Couldn't that set a bomb on the installation, and use the installation to go back home before it detonated? But I guess, we wouldn't have much of a series then...

3. The way Tuvok and Janeway interacted with each other, I thought he would have been the first officer.

Other than that, I enjoyed the episode. The premise sounds interesting. I can't wait to see how they handle it.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Mon, Feb 4, 2013, 1:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I'll admit that the conversation between Sisko/Yates put me off at first. It felt out of place; however, I've found myself thinking the same thing that Sisko brings up to Kassidy.

I think it makes sense considering Sisko's earlier experience as Benny Russell.

While I do kind of like that they made a small acknowledgement to it (It's always felt weird when black characters were participating in time periods where they would not have been welcome. Mark Twain's "dark fellow" comment when referring to Geordi in Time's Arrow comes to mind), the whole "our people" comment was a bit off-putting.

In my opinion, phrases like "our people"' creates an us vs. them mentality that would only serve to create a larger divide between people of different skin colors. That's the last thing we need. Other than that, it was...sensible, I suppose. I can definitely understand where Brooks is coming from. I'd be lying if I haven't had the same thoughts myself.

Race issues aside, I liked the episode overall. It was a fun outing. And the duet at the end was pretty awesome. I say this as someone who usually hate cheesy musical numbers. The whole "Do-Re-Mi" scene in "Chrysalis" made me want to throw up.

3/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 3, 2013, 4:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

I'd give this one two stars at most. The way she came to the conclusion that the murderer was a Vulcan was stupid. People tend to smile when taking a photo. How is that any kind of lead?

The episode was okay. Not good.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Jan 31, 2013, 10:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

So, after the countless times that the Prophets have aided the Federation, they still can't accept that these "wormhole aliens" are real. You don't even have to accept them as gods, but its stupid to write them off as non-essential the way the Federation does.

From the moment they stopped the Dominion reinforcements from getting through the wormhole, I would have been doing my best to keep them on my side. And if that meant leaving Sisko on DS9, then so be it. I hate how the Federation was constantly giving Sisko crap about the Prophets when it was clear they wanted to see Bajorans thrive.

Even people like Bashir had this smug attitude that they weren't really there. Did they seriously think Sisko was making this up? They seemed to act that way, at least.

As far as the episode goes, I'm conflicted. This is my first time watching DS9, but I knew Dax would die since the first season because I had accidentally read about it on another website. Her death didn't touch me at all the way I thought it would. She was my favorite character, but her death felt kind of wasted. It felt like they killed her just so they could. I will miss her in Season 7 though. That's for sure.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Wed, Jan 30, 2013, 1:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

If you see this episode for what it is, a more lighthearted departure from an otherwise depressing season, it's actually quite enjoyable.

For one, this season has to be the highest death count in any Star Trek series. Not to mention, the previous episode, "Valiant," basically ended with a starship full of kids being blown up.

Ferengi episode aren't particularly outstanding or good, but in my opinion, zero stars is a bit harsh. I'd rate it as 2 stars at least. I mean, we did just witness Ferengi culture shift from a patriarchal society that treated women as slaves to one that's at least starting to acknowledge women as living beings.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Tue, Jan 29, 2013, 7:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I have to agree with Benny26. I thought this episode would end with some kind of mutiny, where the level-headed cadets take over the ship from the delusional fanatics with a death wish. I was kind of surprised when the episode ended by basically killing everyone on the ship except Jake, Nog, and Dorian.
Set Bookmark
David Clark
Tue, Jul 17, 2012, 2:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

@Jake

I agree that DS9 had its own cliches. That wasn't my point. My only point was that TNG never did action very well, and this episode has it on display. The only point of bringing up DS9 was by way of contrast, DS9 did action much better than TNG did. Hell, even Voyager and Enterprise did action better than TNG. Note, this does not make them better shows.
Set Bookmark
David Clark
Thu, Jul 12, 2012, 10:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

I think the TNG cast was simply not suited for action oriented episodes. They never tried many, so this wasn't a liability for the most part, but when they did it, it usually didn't work. I also think that this was what finally did in the TNG franchise with the last two movies. Both Insurrection and Nemesis depended to a large degree on action to carry the movies forward, but fell flat. For sure the scripts were not that great, but I think this is due to the fact that it's just really hard to write action for these characters.

Anyway, I think this episode showed it in spades. My first reaction to remembering this episode after your review was that they should have put someone other than Picard as the one defending the ship. But then the question is who would be better for an action oriented episode? Unfortunately the answer is: No one.

Or think of it this way, keep the same plot, but put it on DS9 and have Sisko replace Picard. The action would have been much more fluid and entertaining because either Brooks as an actor or Sisko as a character simply does action better than Steward/Picard. Come to think of it, most of the DS9 actors/crew could probably have made for a more fluid episode.

I don't intend this as a critique of the actors, but more as a critique of the writers/producers for creating stories that were hard for the characters/actors to pull off.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.