Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 406 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 8:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

"But what makes the "Apocalypse Rising" different from the "To the Death" is that it was gripping from start to finish to the extent that it didn't challenge my suspension of disbelief the way "To the Death" did."

I disagree, I think this one's a very underrated peek into the rare (only?) occasion the Dominion and Starfleet work together. Though I do like AR as well, I just think it's full of hilarious examples of the point you're making here. I highly recommend that comment section next time you view AR.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 8:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

@Tara

To be fair, Picard actually did run down the list of the three requirements the show set for sentience. Plus, we don't really know what property laws were being challenged here. It could very well be relevant that a machine has a life-like existence in order to qualify as non-property.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Feb 16, 2017, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

"To better summarise what I've been trying to say, any mission that requires an implementation of a warship is very likely to need a MACO-like team on it."

Maybe by current era standards, but there's already a precedent that Starfleet Officers are Jacks-of-all-Trades. I mean, I get what you're saying, but this episode is hardly the worst offender given the urgency of Sisko/Weyoun's mission. What about "Apocalypse Rising" where Starfleet sends Sisko, O'Brien, and the newly solid Odo undercover to overthrow the head of the Klingon Empire?
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Feb 16, 2017, 2:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

@Filip

"This wasn't an unplanned event."

So, DS9 getting one of its pylons obliterated by rogue Jem'Hadar and then teaming up with other Jem'Hadar to help obliterate was all part of Starfleet's plan? Genius!

Seriously though, Weyoun depicted the situation so dire that he *needed* Sisko's immediate help. Otherwise, Weyoun could've just waited for more Dominion back-up. There's nothing in this episode that suggests Sisko had the leisure to ask Starfleet for special trained ops. This whole situation caught DS9 off guard, and the imminent threat of rogue Jem'Hadar understanding the Iconian gateways put a clock on the whole mission.

Now as for why DS9 doesn't have MACOs ready to go? Heck, the station was just finally assigned a Captain after 3 years. The station is still a frontier for Starfleet, and Sisko does his best with what officers Starfleet gives him.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Feb 15, 2017, 10:43am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

@Peter G.

You're right, after reading the script, I see it's this episode where Data says he's never killed before. Though in that same conversation he tells Fajo that he's perfectly capable of doing it. Data even starts to describe the difference between self-defense and murder.

Perhaps the writers wanted us to struggle with the question of when it's justified to kill. But I still question why they wouldn't allow Data to defend his decision to Riker later. I suppose the interview quoted above shows that it was indeed too much of a hot-button issue to push on a Data's character. His lie to Riker gives him a clean way of avoiding controversy.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Feb 15, 2017, 10:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

@William B

You're making a huge assumption that Data's never needed to kill before as part of his Starfleet career. In fact, I don't think Starfleet would allow Data to serve if he couldn't use deadly force when necessary. If that were so, he couldn't follow orders like a normal officer and he'd be a total liability in a combat situation. The fact is, we *do* see Data kill dozens of Borg and never get questioned about it (Star Trek: First Contact).

But even if we accept the idea that Starfleet would frown on Data killing in any situation, it still seems off that Data wouldn't tell Riker, at least in private. The two are friends, after all. After putting up with Fajo's deception, I'm sure Riker and Picard would quickly and easily defend Data's actions here.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Feb 14, 2017, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

Though I do agree with Tara that it's confusing that Data would lie to Riker. If it was justified self-defense or defense of others, you'd think Data would just say that. I believe one of the commenters above nailed it with the out-of-universe explanation that there just wasn't time in the show for that type of conversation.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Feb 14, 2017, 9:32am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

@Peter G.

We don't know if he was actually going to shoot to kill Fajo though. Data could've fired a warning shot to let Fajo know he was serious, or he could've shot his foot or his hand just to incapacitate him.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Feb 14, 2017, 9:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

@Tara/Peter G.

If you read one of the interviews with Shari Goodhartz, one the writers for this episode, it's stated they actually wanted to make it ambiguous as to whether Data fired or not. So Data's explanation of "something must've happened during transport" can be read as the truth.

@Peter G.

It's interesting you'd bring up Asimov as that was exactly what I was thinking. Actually, this scenario does play out in Asimov's novels, such that finally a ZEROth Law was created: A robot may not harm humanity, or through inaction allow humanity to come to harm. It seems that in this episode too, Data created his own Zeroth law, and decided that through inaction *humanity* would come to harm. I would read those moments of him hesitating and appearing to compute to be, like you said, coming up with this solution for this particular puzzle.

Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 8:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

@Filip

O'Brien's your weakest example. O'Brien's early years in Starfleet were spent the Cardassian War. Miles was a soldier before he got into engineering.

And if you watch "The Way of the Warrior" again you'll note Sisko and company had been preparing for a Dominion incursion which led them to beef up the station's defenses. I would be shocked if they didn't perform battle drills as a part of this preparation.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Feb 10, 2017, 9:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

@Warp10Lizard

Meanwhile in the White House...

TRUMP: I just read that a classic episode of Star Trek was banned by the previous administration. Ridiculous! We'll bring it back in 3D!
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Feb 9, 2017, 11:50am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@tara

Like I said, it's implied authority because of the logical reasons I suggested above. You see it talked about in "Second Chances", where the Riker clone isn't automatically promoted to commander like his counterpart was, but rather needs to undergo some serious debriefing to be caught up and capable as an officer. Let's take a real life example, though. If a Civil War general leaped into the middle of WWII, do you think they'd give deference to that general's opinions on how to take on Germany without some serious retraining from WWII-era generals?

It should also be pointed out the episode painted a scenario where Garrett and her crew would die either way. In the "present", the Klingons were a threatening and real force that can make short work of the Enterprise-C even if it did stick around.

Finally, you answered your own question about why an episode where Picard jumped wouldn't casually send him to his death. We're already invested in Picard, he's not a guest actor who the audience could let go of without a making a big deal out of it.

I agree this episode could've spent more time on Garrett's decision, but with Denise Crosby guest starring, the episode instead ended up spending most of its time on that decision and what kind of sacrifices Tasha was willing to make.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Feb 9, 2017, 10:51am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Also, we should acknowledge that Picard never gave any direct order to Captain Garrett. In his conversation with Guinan, he said he'd be "asking" the Enterprise-C to go back. In the end, Picard persuaded Garrett to go back because she agreed it was the right thing to do. It wasn't a matter of chain of command or pulling rank.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Feb 9, 2017, 10:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@tara

"Picard has zero authority to order the Ent-C anywwhere."

I don't know if the temporal prime directive states this specifically, but it's heavily implied throughout the series that the captain of the current timeline holds rank over time jumping crew-members. If it were otherwise, the Captain Picard in "Time Squared" could've started barking orders and lower officers as soon as he gained consciousness. The same goes for the captain of the Bozeman in "Cause and Effect". The bottom line is, you can't expect to jump ahead a century or so in time and expect to keep the exact rank and privileges you had a century ago.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 9:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Of course, the out-of-universe explanation is Rule of Funny. :)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 9:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

"But... in Booby Trap, why was the holodeck program recorded? Do they always record the goings-on in there? Why was there a program to be found of them? It should have just been Utopia Planetia, same as when Geordi started the program. There was no reason for her to ever see anything, because there should't have been anything to see."

I always figured that there was a text log written into the program that includes dialog spoken by holograms. After all, our computer scripting software contains prompts and dialogs. So, while Leah was looking over the log admiring Geordi's work, she saw her name and the text attached to it, and decided to play out that timeframe to see with her own eyes what Geordi had done.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Feb 5, 2017, 2:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I agree with Jason R. here. Considering that "Booby Trap" was about getting enticed by technology (both ancient and modern), you have to remember that the Enterprise computer made the holographic Brahms in a manner *the computer* thought would comfort Geordi. Geordi never asked for the computer to make holo-Brahms anything more than have a personality so he could *work* better with her.

Also, remember that Geordi shut down the program because he recognized how unrealistic it had become.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Feb 2, 2017, 12:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Yes Jason R., but you're talking about falling in love with characters and identifying them which is true for the main cast, but it's a bit of a stretch to say that love extends to their fictional descendants. I can't say that I saw any of the charm of Jadzia Dax in Yedrin Dax, for example. So despite the fact that I like Jadzia Dax, it's hard for me to sympathize with Yedrin. Is that the actor's fault? Possibly!
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Feb 2, 2017, 10:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

@Jason R.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Warp10Lizard was specifically talking about the descendants, which were guest stars in this episode. In which case, I think he has a point; the guest actors we were supposed to feels pangs of conscience for because they'd be lost if the DS9 crew leaves pales in comparison to the lush DS9 universe outside this episode that we already love. You can't even compare the two, so it's hard to side with the colonists.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Feb 1, 2017, 9:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

@Filip

All those officers have hand-to-hand combat experience from fighting the Klingons in that season. Dax most of all, as her previous host Curzon was a great fighter, not to mention Jadzia's combat performance in season 2's "Blood Oath".
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jan 31, 2017, 4:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Alternatively, Worf knew Bashir would be miserable on the path to Kal'Hyah, and got a little pleasure from making his romantic rival squirm.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 27, 2017, 1:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I wouldn't call this movie bad per se, it's just underwhelming. Like, bringing Kirk and the TOS crew back could've been a big deal, but it wasn't. For one thing, they could only get three TOS actors on board with the script (Nimoy turned it down). But even the ones they got like Shatner underperformed. Basically, Kirk was brought back to Picard's time in order to do something Picard should've been able to handle himself. Compare this to Nimoy's role in ST 2009, where that crew absolutely needed Future Spock in order to thwart the monster that Nero had become.

And then there's Data acting like !NotData. I mean, I get that Spiner wanted to explore a bigger acting range for his movie role, but Data just felt wrong the whole outing. The emotion chips turns him into a buffoon, unlike his usually relatable character. We see by the time First Contact rolls around, they've mostly reversed this emotion's chips power over Data.

So yeah, I think Jammer's review is fair. It's a serviceable story that checks all the boxes, but doesn't hit the level you'd expect from the first theatrical TNG piece.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jan 24, 2017, 9:56am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

@Peter G.

In that sense, it's a shame Denise Crosby didn't stay around past the first season. If viewers can look back at the early seasons of TNG and pass over Yar, it looks like an important role the producers intended to include is lacking.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jan 24, 2017, 9:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Tara, I'm not disagreeing with your point, I'm just suggesting that you left out one of the best characters of the first season. And no, a Judge Advocate General is not comparable to a holo-bimbo.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jan 24, 2017, 9:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

You can't talk about season 1's female guest stars and not mention Captain Phillipa Louvois, the JAG who oversaw the hearing in "The Measure of a Man". She has to be one of the best-written female guest stars in the franchise.
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.