Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 477 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 20
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, May 22, 2017, 8:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

@Gooz

"And Ezri's comment to Bashir. Really? It would have been Bashir?"

Maybe Ezri's projecting her own feelings onto Jadzia. At least, I think this was the writers' attempt to foreshadow the Ezri-Bashir ship. Though, in all fairness, seasons 1 - 3 did tease a Jadzia-Bashir romance quite a bit.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, May 19, 2017, 2:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

@Steven

It's interesting that you didn't like Marta Dubois' work here but, although it's your lead-in, you never explain why. Where did the actress underperform? What actress do you think could've played this part better? Or is that you just don't like the character of Ardra and aren't really taking performances into consideration?
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, May 17, 2017, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I get it. It's just not a good analogy. B&R was financially successful while critically panned while Beyond was critically successful but only somewhat profitable.

In any case, we agree it's a little premature to guess what the fourth movie will bring, which makes Jason's statements sound grossly uninformed.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, May 17, 2017, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I don't know, "Batman and Robin" was relatively even more profitable than Beyond, so if the next ST film is as financially successful as B&R, you won't get your wish.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, May 17, 2017, 8:57am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Some folks are talking as if there isn't already a fourth movie in the works with many of the same people involved.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, May 15, 2017, 10:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

I don't get the Sword Art: Online connection.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, May 15, 2017, 12:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

Worf's got a strong arc on TNG too (which continues into DS9). Wesley has an arc, for what it's worth. There are even signs that Q shows growth throughout the series.

While I understand the technical reasons for TNG's characters to remain static and familiar, it is curious to see that a show with Voyager's premise lacked character growth. Janeway's development was inconsistent, Seven tried to do things like explore romance only to not change at all. The biggest character arc had to be The Doctor's, with him practically becoming the anchor of the ship.

It's been said before, but I think Voyager just wanted to have its cake and eat it too (i.e. TNG/TOS-like adventures in a completely alien quadrant).
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, May 13, 2017, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

Sorry, Prinna should be Perrin. Silly auto-correct!
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, May 13, 2017, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

@Jason R.

"But where is he finding these human women willing to devote their lives to him?"

Simple, Sarek's a prestigious Federation official and some women are attracted to that sort of prestige. As for the human side of the equation, wasn't Sarek a Vulcan ambassador to Earth granting him ample opportunity to meet human women?

What's more, this episode really only shows a slice of Prinna's role as Sarek's wife during a time in which Sarek desperately needs special care. For all we know during Sarek's healthy life, Prinna influenced Federation trade deals and policy along with Sarek, it's just not relevant to this episode.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, May 13, 2017, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

Is it so hard to believe Sarek likes a certain type of woman? Is there something wrong with that?
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, May 12, 2017, 10:14am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace

@TB

Excellent analysis, I definitely think those elements were what held the prequels back. Incidentally, I did watch this one again recently and I'd probably put it ahead of Attack of the Clones now, because Qui-Gon's at least a relatable character. Unfortunately for Clones, it suffers both from having terrible leads, but also way too much cluttered scenery. Like you say, having memorable and relatable scenes and characters can go a lot further than trying to have fancier special effects.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, May 12, 2017, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

@Skeptical

All I'm saying is that you can tell a story with Christian values or any religious values without explicitly mentioning the religion. Lord of the Rings is a great example of fiction that's highly influenced by Catholicism in imagery without a single character being religious per se.

I agree it may have been interesting to explore how Sisko's family may have reacted differently if they were of a different religion, but then again at least Jake is pretty well indoctrinated with Federation values, so there's at least conflict to that degree. Offhand, I'm curious as to why you think Joseph Sisko is Christian, is it because he played a pastor in FBTS?

I've heard things about Roddenberry's religious views on this board before though I haven't read anything specific that confirms any of it. I will say that at least some of the writers were Christian, or at least pro-Christian. Look no further than TOS's "Bread and Circuses" in which McCoy describes the Christianity as "a philosophy of total love and total brotherhood."
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, May 11, 2017, 11:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

Brilliant episode, both in conception and execution of time mechanics. Star Trek often dabbles in time travel, but this one's great for how the time alterations feel like a localized phenomenon. Such care was put into little details like rapidly moving time altering Picard's fingers as he touches rotting fruit.

It was also fun to see a mystery unfold; at first it seems like a standard Romulan plot, only to be revealed that the Romulans are just as much victims as the Enterprise crew.

One final thing I like about this episode is the unusual away team. Picard, Troi, Geordi, and Data is definitely not the normal complement but they work really well together.

4 Stars
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, May 10, 2017, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

@Skeptical

I'm a Christian and I have zero problems with Christians not being present in a futuristic and alien setting. It would feel more than anachronistic to do otherwise. Instead, I'd prefer the writers used cultures within the show's fictional universe to represent Christian values (it happens quite often with Bajorans and even the Federation itself).

The writers of this show are not anti-Christian or atheist, but they do recognize the audience they wrote for *is* predominantly Christian. Thus, to try and break the audience out of its value comfort zone, the writers will bring up alien religions and even lesser known Earth religions because it feels *futuristic*. It's not a double standard, it's a Sci-Fi creative writing method that's existed for centuries.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, May 10, 2017, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

@Robert

"Actually the whole stupid thing pisses me off. 7 years ago Janeway picked the Ocampa over everyone who would die over the next 7 years. In Endgame Janeways picks Seven, Chakotay and Tuvok over everyone that Voyager would help over the next 19 years."

I think they were trying to show that over 26 years Janeway would regret her (naive?) ideals that got Voyager stuck in the first place, and again on multiple occasions. I consider that a reasonable circumstance for a change of character.

It's nice that (younger) Janeway doesn't buy into the her jaded future, and I think that at least stresses that the prime timeline remains hopeful and idealisticas does its Janeway from earlier in the series.

I agree with Jammer's review, so I won't go much further on this, I just want to reinforce that Voyager got *some* things right with finale.

On a side note as a TNG fan, I would never consider Nemesis to be the end of that series. All the TNG movies are woefully out of touch with the series, so if you're searching for a symbolic ending and not just a chronological ending, I think "All Good Things..." still caps off TNG just fine.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, May 7, 2017, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

I don't know, you're both pointing out great failures of Kelsey's operation, but I think it was written that way to show you that this group bit off more than it could chew. Being able to board the ship without knowing much protocol may have been what made the heist seem like a golden opportunity at first, only to proven dreadfully wrong. I mean, you guys tout this group's sophistication, but Kelsey also lacked basic knowledge vital to the mission like "the proper handling of trilithium".

It's an interesting question, one I might like to hear the writers address, but I don't think it would've changed the direction of the plot whatsoever, just a few dialogue changes.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, May 6, 2017, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

That changes nothing. I'm aware that John Richardson is the head of the US Navy, but I could never pick him out in a room.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, May 5, 2017, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"But Star Trek isn't a contemporary drama. When it is "talky", it is talky about universal humanistic themes which should work equally well in China and Europe as they do in America."

Not that I disagree with your comment about values having universal appeal, but I think that Moonves was making the simple point that heavy conversation without action is less interesting to international audiences than heavy conversation with action. Star Trek has the advantage of being both types of show, depending on where the writers want to take it.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, May 3, 2017, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

I didn't defend this episode entirely. I think Troi's line about everyone telling the truth makes this one a little confusing, especially since witnesses give polar opposite accounts. Still, I appreciate what the writers were trying to do, and it's fun toying with the idea that everyone approaches a scene differently, something evident by this very thread.

So it's a good high concept with flaws.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, May 3, 2017, 10:08am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@Linda

Picard was convinced sending the Enterprise C back was correct, but not that Tasha would go on board. Those are two separate things.

Denise Crosby voluntary left the show because she didn't like her role in season one. However, she requested to be put back on this show and even to be on DS9 and Voyager, so take of that what you will. "Yesterday's Enterprise" is apparently Crosby's favorite episode.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, May 3, 2017, 8:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@Linda

Guinan's talk with Yar wasn't just about giving Yar a reason to go back in time. Remember that Picard was unwilling to upgrade the Enterprise C for fear of what it would do to the timeline? He was also against Tasha going back originally until he realized it was Guinan's idea. The writers must've seen a need to address that.

It was also nice to give Guinan and Yar a scene together since they never got to meet in season 1.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, May 3, 2017, 8:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

No one's arguing that, please see above.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, May 2, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@Linda

Well, I didn't mean offense I just want to point out that Guinan's words more accurately describe a fate of dying to Armus than you summarized.

And yes, Guinan was trying to provoke Yar because she knew Yar would be left with an empty death in the prime timeline. Normally, Starfleet officers do not mess with the timeline by regulation (even for romance) but the Enterprise crew has faith in Guinan's species ability to understand time. Thus, Yar did need Guinan's push.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, May 2, 2017, 10:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

@DLPB

It requires intent to mislead under common law, which is the question the jury will be asked to decide. Again, this is all academic since the actual facts of alleged rape were never given.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, May 2, 2017, 3:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Funny enough, this discussion of meaningless death is based partially on Linda misremembering the actual line:

"TASHA: Where am I supposed to be?
GUINAN: Dead.
TASHA: Do you know how?
GUINAN: No...But I know that it was an empty death. A death without purpose."

Which I think reflects on William B's comment that Armus killed out of sheer malevolence and Tasha's death neither served a purpose of furthering the mission or appeasing Armus. Surely, if the crew talked to Guinan about the incident, they'd mention the senseless cruelty of Armus.

Finally, the word "meaningless" does come into play later in this episode when Riker is describing the imminent deaths of 125 Enterprise C crewmembers. A statement which Data is quick to correct is indeed not meaningless.
Next ►Page 1 of 20
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.