Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 381 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I didn't mean radio, but that counts too!
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Fox local television, home of Married With Children, The Simpsons and Family Guy itself, has a much broader audience than cable's Fox News radio.
Set Bookmark
chris
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Eye of Jupiter

“This is Gaius Baltar” and “it feels like I am back in home”.

“We come in peace” and “we are throwing in Baltar” by Brother Calvin,

some of the coolest and most hilarious lines of this season.

As for the cliffhanger, indeed nobody believes Adama will nuke the planet next episode. As nobody buys the Pegasus cliffhanger or the “Mr Worf, fire” line. But still I think they are all well acted and add a lot in the series feel.

...
Set Bookmark
Chris
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 6:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Am I missing something here? All this talk about whether or not they would have left part of Cardassian OS running but surely, if they did, as part of the treaty there would be some sort of long term support agreement with the Cardassians to help if any bugs cropped up? Why the hell did they not simply contact the Federation and/or Cardassian command about this issue as soon as it arose and get someone to given them the override codes they needed?

I couldn't find any indication during the episode that the security protocols had cut-off external contact. If they had, it would of helped maintain my suspension of disbelief. As it was, it seems like they made a mountain out of a mole hill on this one.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 7:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

There is one HUGE plot hole here that I haven't seen mentioned, making this one of the silliest episodes, regardless of the decent drama. The defiant was supposed to have gone back 200 years to that planet to create the colony. BUT, this defiant, does not, it is purportedly in the present time. Meaning, it could not have created the colony even if it stayed, the colony had already been created and existing for 200 years at the point at which this episode's events are taking place. It means NONE of this episode makes sense! How the crew, and inhabitants of the planet, and the watching audience, don't see that, amazes me.
Set Bookmark
Chris Papadopoulos
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 7:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I think 2.5 stars is generous. This is a very poor episode that treats the viewers as idiots. Fancy production value can only get this series so far.
Set Bookmark
chrisx
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 12:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Bastille Day

Janeway would have just beamed the ice in Voyager's tank, job's done, lol. :P

I dont get it, there are thousands of people onboard the ships, why only the prisoners should risk their lives to extract the water? And what if a prisoner is old or unable to labour, won't he get "freedom points"?

The elections idea was neat on the other hand, so we can have a political drama aswell!
Set Bookmark
chrisx
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 9:35am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

I can explain. It sucks because... well, it DOES and I am sure it will be cancelled next year while DIS will get a second season!
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 4:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

@Dexter Morgan JJ Abrams is considered "The Next Spielberg" and Donald Trump is president. Standards are looooooooow.
Set Bookmark
chrisx
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 6:51am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

Please allow me a lame question. At some point Adama says "Jesus"... was there a Jesus in Caprica world aswell?
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Amen, @Startrekwatcher. You said it all.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 9:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

War drums right out of the gate, huh? Broken Bow was better, and I could feel Akiva Goldsman's influence throughout this thing.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Thanks for the heads up, Alexandrea. I've been gauging reaction to see if this is worth following, but I'm glad to not have bothered past the first episode.
Set Bookmark
Chris P
Sun, Sep 3, 2017, 10:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

1. - Wisq and Andy's Friend are a credit to what human wisdom can look like and should be examples to aspire toward for most of the rest of the commentators on this site. It's been very sad for me to see so many people show so little imagination or recognition of what they're seeing and instead choosing to just draw comparisons to previous episodes, tell us how they feel, or, worst of all, insert their 20XX political views into their perception of what they saw in the episode. Some of all of that seems okay, but it makes up such a great portion of what gets typed in these episode followups that it leaves me feeling that the entire point of Star Trek and science fiction remains beyond the viewers, who seem instead to want to subject matter to cater to their personal ethics.

To have the occasional folks use their minds to delve deeply into the philosophy of Star Trek and to imagine the future uncolored by the present is great fun. I recommend reading the posts by Andy's Friend in the comment thread for Season 2: Cogenitor.


2. - You can use the keypad to break out of quarantine?

3. - Either nobody had ever left a buoy until the humans or the Organians were preventing it. Either way, the Star Trek Universe is just as - if not more - tumultuous and brutal as the Warhammer 40k one.

4. - There's no way for the doctor to do surgery while in a bio-hazard suit? We can do that in 2017...
Set Bookmark
chris
Thu, Jul 6, 2017, 1:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

As of today's viewing of "End game", it completes my watching of everything that is Canon all shows. 62 years old and still trekking!
Set Bookmark
Chrissy
Sun, Jun 11, 2017, 11:49am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

I disagree about the anecdote that Tom and Harry shared in the opening. It was another bit of childishness by Tom in particular, those pranks are only funny to elementary school students. I was happy when Janeway brought it back to a mature conversation.
Set Bookmark
ChristineNotChapel
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

Good catch Trek Fan. I like to think that Spock removed only Kirk's love for Rayna, not the entire experience of meeting Flint. Maybe since she was an android and he may have felt embarrassed at not having detected her non-humanity, Spock though it prudent to remove his unrequited love so he wouldn't angst over it needlessly.
Set Bookmark
ChristineNotChapel
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 8:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

"I SAID DIG!" *POW!*

I don't know why I love this so much! I keep rewinding - best moment of the entire episode! 😅
Set Bookmark
ChristineNotChapel
Mon, Jun 5, 2017, 1:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

Early on, just after our heroes meet Alexander for the first time (giant shadow - tiny man - sooo 1960s!) there's a point at which Parmen (or someone) summons Alexander, and he goes "Excuse me, someone's waiting for you..." then he jumps around and scurries off backwards to the next room with a look of fright on his face. That moment freaked! me! out!! 😨 It didn't help that it was late at night and dark and quiet in the house. Yikes!
Set Bookmark
ChristineNotChapel
Mon, Jun 5, 2017, 10:42am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

I've been watching the episodes in star date order according to "the star trek chronology project" (which I think I found in a comment on this site) so it was interesting to see this episode follow Elaan of Troyius, where Kirk fell head over heels in love. Then the very next mission he's asked if there's anyone else in his heart and he says "Nope, nobody" and proceeds to make wedding plans. He must have hit his head on every step falling down into the obelisk because those Troyian tears were pretty potent. I imagine that might have factored into reordering the episodes when they went to air.
Set Bookmark
ChristineNotChapel
Mon, Jun 5, 2017, 10:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

Wow, Spock sure put on his sassy pants this morning!
Set Bookmark
Chrissy
Wed, May 31, 2017, 7:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

I agree with most of this, but think that Janeway disregarded the actual harm done to the crew. The memorial essentially assaulted people, causing mental harm - how could anyone argue for not deactivating it?

As for Neelix, I dislike his character too much to care what he thought.
Set Bookmark
ChristineNotChapel
Mon, May 8, 2017, 1:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

The Klingon reminded me more of a Ferengi, opportunistic but foolish.

I'm enjoying rewatching the entire series, glad I found this blog to help clear some stuff up.

Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Mar 13, 2017, 5:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

Just adding to the praise here: a top-notch two-parter and excellent character work by everyone involved. Tight scripts like these make me love this show.
Set Bookmark
Chris Harrison
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:51am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

@Quincy

In the first part of your analysis, you complain that Lineage is bad because it's not sci-fi. You then go on to define two tropes of the sci-fi genre: "science" and "far reaching implications" of ideas.

The problem with your analysis, is that Lineage ticks both of those boxes. The genetic manipulation angle is definitely science. And the implications of that genetic manipulation and how far a mother could take it, is definitely a "far reaching implication" in my book.

I think what you are really complaining about, is not that it isn't sci-fi (which it definitely is) but that it's not action-adventure (a genre Trek has only ever nominally belonged to).

The rest of your comment is just incoherent rambling. Especially your half-formed rant about something to do with rape and sexual equality.
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.